6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Pwnagetool/Quickpwn & "yellowsn0w" 3G Unlock, »2G/3G Fw 2.2.1 Unlocking&Jailbreaking«

frozzbyte
post Jan 3 2009, 12:57 AM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

@jimi7
Make sure u take both files in AddressBook folder and its the correct path as in /private/var/mobile/library/addressbook and not /private/var/root/library/addressbook.
frozzbyte
post Jan 3 2009, 01:07 AM

3,657 posts

Yes ... just copy and paste back after restore. Make sure the permission is correct or u'll face a problem like 1 forumer did in iphone club (where he can't edit his contacts).
frozzbyte
post Jan 4 2009, 11:21 AM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(rx330 @ Jan 4 2009, 01:44 AM)
guys, i join the dark side finally blush.gif
er... how the hell can i play mario ar?
i google aredi, still tak paham
Aik ... sudah tukar ka? brows.gif
frozzbyte
post Jan 4 2009, 08:56 PM

3,657 posts

@Stamp
Lesson for the day

"Don't do any jailbreaking at 2.30 am or something silly will happen"

laugh.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif
frozzbyte
post Jan 13 2009, 12:47 PM

3,657 posts

@beemer
1. Depends on the situation on using pwnage or quickpwn. If u are at the latest firmware then it would be wise just to use quickpwn. Quickpwn will only jailbreak your phone as in opening the system for 3rd party apps like Cydia/Installer. It's roughly a 5 mins job if you do it properly. Pwnage on the other hand can create a custom (not customer) firmware containing cydia/installer, not updating the baseband, changing the boot logo and so on. So next time if you restore with the custom firmware, you no need to go thru the jailbreaking stuff again. It will be done in the custom firmware.

Regarding Cydia vs Installer, yes few of us found that Installer 4 is a bit unstable (and unpopular nowadays). You have the choice to pick both of just one of it in bot pwnage and quickpwn. There is no such thing that quickpwn will install both and can't choose. You can browse thru iclarified to see how the interface or how both program works as an extra homework.

2. Custom firmware is a modified version of the original firmware that include custom boot logo, cydia/installer, jailbreak etc. So if you need to restore your phone, just use the custom firmware and everything will be done for you. No need to restore with original firmware and jailbreak with quickpwn.

3. Depends on why it failed but i think all of us did not face any fail JB. If you did encounter that (touchwood), u can restore back and use quickpwn to JB or use the custom firmware that you created in pwnage tool to restore. It's up to the user actually.

Hope that answer your questions.
frozzbyte
post Jan 13 2009, 12:48 PM

3,657 posts

The answer also too long so take long time to reply.

Added on January 13, 2009, 12:49 pm
QUOTE(aliatome1 @ Jan 13 2009, 12:47 PM)
I got a US 8gb Locked Iphone using T.Sim.That day I got a problem and I restore it back using I tunes.Now I got a problem ,it just stuck at Emergency call only.The phone said its a wrong sim card .I even cannot use t sim card.Any advice?Can I jailb or ysnow this phone .Now the phone stuck in my drawer..even cannot use as I pod..pity me...
Yes i pity you coz u don't know how to read the pinned thread. The answer is in there. Try opening your eyes and read.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Jan 13 2009, 12:49 PM
frozzbyte
post Jan 13 2009, 01:07 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Jan 13 2009, 12:54 PM)
Thank you so much for reading the thread mate. Not everyone has that much patiences to read 68 pages. Awesome mate. Cheers

As for your questions, here are some answers:

1) If you're on Mac, I would highly recommend Pwnagetool as i do use it to JB lot's of iPhones. Installer has gotten better since the last updates. I have it just incase.

2) Even tho you may have the latest firmware, you can use Quickpwn to JB but i would choose to use Pwnagetool for all my JB's. I prefer to customise my partition and what i would like to install from Cydia.

3) Just reJB again if it fails with Pwnagetool.

As frozzbyte has answered you. He's the man and truly a master in iPhone.

Cheers
Where got la sweat.gif . U la the master. I noobie maaa.
frozzbyte
post Jan 13 2009, 02:27 PM

3,657 posts

Aiyaa ... the 'redsn0w' thing just came out in the dev team twitter la. No one here now what izzit except for the dev unless one of us here is the dev.

Just sit back and relax .. no need to get headache coz too excited thinking what color of snow after this.

icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif icon_rolleyes.gif

Added on January 13, 2009, 2:28 pmwww.redsn0w.com

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Jan 13 2009, 02:28 PM
frozzbyte
post Jan 21 2009, 01:36 AM

3,657 posts

@Rinyuu
Maybe becoz you're using the wrong firmware as stated in pwnagetool?

iPhone1,1_2.2_5G77_Restore.ipsw firmware is for 1st generation iphone. If yours is the 2nd generation as in iPhone 3G then it should be iPhone1,2_2.2_5G77_Restore.ipsw. The warning is sooooo obvious as it state that you are using the wrong firmware bundle.

frozzbyte
post Jan 21 2009, 01:58 AM

3,657 posts

@Rinyuu
Where did u download the firmware? Apple webpage as in here?

Try to put the pwnagetool in a folder on the desktop and with that firmware.

Added on January 21, 2009, 1:59 amp/s - make sure the file size is 245.6 MB for the firmware.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Jan 21 2009, 01:59 AM
frozzbyte
post Jan 21 2009, 02:12 AM

3,657 posts

I'm using pwnagetool 2.2.1 in 10.5.6 and did not face any problem. Maybe u want to try downloading the firmware again and make sure the size it correct. From the looks of it, yours failed the file(hash) check.

BTW ... you want to make a custom firmware or just jailbreak? If just jailbreak then why not use Quickpwn?
frozzbyte
post Jan 21 2009, 02:22 AM

3,657 posts

That should be correct. The pwnagetool itself maybe the culprit?
frozzbyte
post Jan 22 2009, 03:15 PM

3,657 posts

@squarefight
Which generation of iPhone is yours? That info can help in determining the problem.
frozzbyte
post Jan 22 2009, 03:24 PM

3,657 posts

White colour and it's from UK. It's iPhone 3G and it's a locked set. U must use yellowsn0w to unlock it. How to use yellowsn0w, there's a thread discussing about it. It's a simple process.
frozzbyte
post Jan 22 2009, 03:31 PM

3,657 posts

@squarefight
Did you read the first page? shocking.gif Obviously u didn't.

Please make some effort to read the pinned thread. It's there for a reason and we don't encourage spoon feeding here. No serving on a silver plater. And if you really don't understand .... here's a really simple guide to follow http://www.iclarified.com/entry/index.php?enid=2538

Still don't understand that? Then u might need to contact hanxz for some premium service.
frozzbyte
post Jan 28 2009, 08:11 AM

3,657 posts

Just some minor bug fixes.

iPhone 2.2.1 Software Update

This update contains bug fixes and improvements, including the following:
- Improved general stability of Safari
- Fixed issue where some images saved from Mail do not display correctly in the Camera Roll

frozzbyte
post Jan 28 2009, 11:54 AM

3,657 posts

Why want to fix something thats not broken? The 2g baseband don't have any issues so it does not warrant for any updates. Even if they do upgrade the baseband, iphone 2g are pwned at every level.

Added on January 28, 2009, 11:58 am
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jan 28 2009, 11:49 AM)

lolzz.. thats Y i never do customize anymore
its pain when u do restore & setup it again as previously..

use default interface only.. sigh again  yawn.gif
Hahahaha true true. I just spent 2 days of the CNY break to restore and customize everything back. But the speed gain and no crashes are worth it. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Jan 28 2009, 11:58 AM
frozzbyte
post Jan 28 2009, 12:12 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(gengstapo @ Jan 28 2009, 12:05 PM)
i do not mean it to be fix, just hope there will minor update to enhanced it more(if available)
and i do know it pwn-able every level..  blush.gif
Err sorry bro if the statement sounded harsh blush.gif sweat.gif . Biasa la ... opis so kosong and so sleepy. Maybe the aftermath of 4 days cuti. I know you know dat ... u iphone sifu notworthy.gif

My point was ... If i were apple, people don't complain so why bother to update.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Jan 28 2009, 12:16 PM
frozzbyte
post Jan 28 2009, 12:46 PM

3,657 posts

Bro david

Seems clippy have new features. Anyone tried it? Looks promissing.

Added on January 28, 2009, 12:47 pmHahahaha ... me also coz just restored my phone 2 days ago. Xkan mau restore lagi. Haiyaa ... 2 days of CNY holiday wasted on dat.

This post has been edited by frozzbyte: Jan 28 2009, 12:47 PM
frozzbyte
post Jan 29 2009, 12:59 PM

3,657 posts

QUOTE(mikestrok @ Jan 29 2009, 09:56 AM)
Bro,
I've successfully unlock/jainbreak/upgrade my iphone..
How ever, the buttom half touch screen are not responding..
I think thats is why i cant slide to open to spring board and slide to answer..

*I've tried to reset by pressing the Home and on/off button for more than 10 times..*
Looks like a dead strip to me. It's the LCD problem and the only way to rectify it is to replace the whole LCD. I got one phone with that problem also.

6 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0453sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:44 PM