AMD/ATi HD 4000 Series Discussion V4, Just added: HD4830 benches!
owikh84
Oct 17 2008, 11:33 PM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(cyew86 @ Oct 17 2008, 11:28 PM) http://extreme.outervision.com/psucalculatorlite.jsptry this, should be around 350W only last time the seller told me even 500W can support HD4870 Yeah 500W can power up the 4870 but not that stable for sure. I've had a bad experience running 4850 on 550W true power
owikh84
Oct 21 2008, 06:45 AM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(linkinpark @ Oct 21 2008, 12:47 AM)  Can someone tell me wht this tiny little switch do?  Is the switch movable? For GS, the Turbo switch is located close to the back panel.
owikh84
Oct 22 2008, 06:54 AM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Oct 22 2008, 03:37 AM) I've OC'ed my card but when I open my CCC overdrive, it cannot show the both clocks. Why? U've re-installed the CCC & forgot to unlock the ODrive?
owikh84
Oct 22 2008, 07:12 AM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(XiuKeong @ Oct 22 2008, 07:03 AM) It says "The AMD overdrive cannot open .........." It happen to me once, I re-installed the CCC & problem solved
owikh84
Oct 25 2008, 08:03 AM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(king99 @ Oct 25 2008, 07:29 AM) If I want to buy a 4850...should I get the Normal Fan or the Zalman Fan (Gigabyte punya) Gigabyte 4850 w/Zalman? The fan is pretty loud cos its speed cannot be controlled and running at full speed Gainward 4850GS is highly recommended!
owikh84
Oct 25 2008, 10:33 AM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(raynmay @ Oct 25 2008, 09:09 AM) 4670 or 3850 which 1 better? edit:typo Read this: 4670 vs 3850
owikh84
Oct 25 2008, 04:12 PM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Oct 25 2008, 02:29 PM) my 4870 @ 865/950 idle @ 30 -35c. 100% load nvr more den 45c......................  & not even air-con room. Wow the core clock is so high. Mine can clock to 800/1050 max. Higher get artifact.
owikh84
Oct 25 2008, 05:04 PM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(raynmay @ Oct 25 2008, 05:02 PM) i thought difference at rm100+-?but 4830 is tempting Of course tempting lar cos it's one of the family members of the 4800 series.
owikh84
Oct 25 2008, 05:44 PM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(S4PH @ Oct 25 2008, 05:35 PM) need some info from sifu's here as i c in the ATI overdrive tool i can only OC my GPU max 790MHZ and the memory max 1100mhz does the new riva tuner allow me to oc higher? any other OC tools that u pro's here use to OC the 4870? this happen to me too when using CCC 8.10. This issue didn't exist for 8.7. When OCed to 800/1100 using ATI Tools, after running 3DMark06 it'll auto change to default clock @775/1000.
owikh84
Oct 26 2008, 09:34 AM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(commandboy @ Oct 26 2008, 09:30 AM) dam,how come mine updated 8.10 performance reduce a bit ...  8.9better to me  Upgraded from 8.7 to 8.10. Vantage improved a lot! But OCbility is reduced.
owikh84
Oct 26 2008, 10:01 AM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Oct 26 2008, 09:43 AM) T.T! cant wait for my 4870... need monday... haihz stupid sure reach .... so now 8.11 still in beta?? Aiyo, calm down bro u should get ur card on Tuesday. Monday is Deepavali. Yeah it's still beta: 8.11 RC1 (8.542)
owikh84
Oct 26 2008, 10:34 AM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(tellmewhy @ Oct 26 2008, 10:25 AM) I thought Omega already stop producing drivers since long time ago. Link
owikh84
Oct 26 2008, 10:51 AM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(commandboy @ Oct 26 2008, 10:30 AM) owikh84, is it worth changing from 4850 to 4870? performance improve how many%? as i know price need top up +-300 n i heard 5000series n direct x 11 will be announce next year , should i wait? Yeah, I must say that changing from 4850 to 4870 giving me a huge improvement in terms of gaming especially on high resolution, considering DDR3 vs DDR5. I hv no idea whether waiting for 5000 Series is worthy or not until it is launched.
owikh84
Oct 26 2008, 11:20 AM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(viperiii @ Oct 24 2008, 05:40 PM) ATI 4830 PROS AND CONS: PROS: 1. BEST VALUES OF $$ now.. 2. reasonable good performance. 3. UVD 2. 4. best value card before the direct x 11.0 released. 5. reasonable overclocking capabilities. CONS: 1. still consume a lot of power, but better than GT9800 counterpart. 2. still generate a lot of heat. 3. no direct X 11.0 native hardware supported. 4. overclocking might lead to instabilities due to a lot of heat generated. nVidia: GeForce 9800GT is more powerful than Radeon HD 4830   Source
owikh84
Oct 26 2008, 07:43 PM
i7 Clan
QUOTE([fr33dom�) ,Oct 26 2008, 07:24 PM] not yet dl....Zzz.... so no choice for run 3DMark06 in vista??  Huh? 3DMark06 cant run on Vista meh? I'm running it in Vista without any hitch. When it's asking for Dx 9 during installation, just install it. It won't harm the existing Dx 10.
owikh84
Oct 26 2008, 07:57 PM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(blindbox @ Oct 26 2008, 07:50 PM) I don't know man, I see techpowerup was mad enough and overclocked their card with REFERENCE COOLER. What they got was a 3 degrees C bump(from 86 to 89) and a 4850 performance. Their card is missing 80 shaders too. Keke, crazy TechPowerUp ppl. If they were using the missing 80 shaders for 4830, then the result was not valid anymore cos ATI has promised that all the 4830 will be flashed with fixed BIOS before shipping to distro.
owikh84
Oct 26 2008, 08:12 PM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Oct 26 2008, 08:00 PM) so i guess the "real" 4830 will b a bit more powerful. y wanna use 06 wen got vantage? Vantage is damn time consuming.
owikh84
Oct 26 2008, 08:31 PM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(tech3910 @ Oct 26 2008, 08:22 PM) only load slower................... but honestly speaking, 3dmark06 is more interesting 2watch wen its running. Yeah, it will be more interesting if sound or music is included. U know watching the Charlie Chaplin's shows is so boring. Added on October 26, 2008, 8:32 pmQUOTE([fr33dom�) ,Oct 26 2008, 08:31 PM] don know wtf now no more pop out for install the directX9 then when run the 3DMark06, will hang there for long time wif no respone.... then uninstall many time oso same....haiiz give up oready...@@ Go download the latest Dx9 at Microsoft download site This post has been edited by owikh84: Oct 26 2008, 08:32 PM
owikh84
Oct 26 2008, 08:54 PM
i7 Clan
QUOTE(takercena @ Oct 26 2008, 08:46 PM) Not really. The 4830 is expected to be only 8 Euros (~RM36) cheaper than 4850. Nobody will choose 4830 over 4850 if that tiny price difference. I think it should be cheaper than the rumoured.
owikh84
Oct 26 2008, 10:47 PM
i7 Clan
QUOTE([fr33dom�) ,Oct 26 2008, 10:39 PM] juz now run my 4870 Palit Sonic on 3DMark Vantage...GPU only 7939, izzit too low the points?? izzit the Processor will effect the points ?? bcos mine one is E7200 .... not yet OC... Normal clock @750Mhz? If yes, then it should be fine. My Gainward 4870GS GPU score is 8000+ for 750Mhz, 9000+ for 775Mhz.