4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Compaq Presario CQ40 AMD Series V1, Turion X2, HD 3450, RM2k!

iRonTech
post Dec 5 2008, 03:47 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(cannavaro @ Dec 5 2008, 03:14 PM)
Are you sure?  brows.gif

RM1649 CQ40-126AU = 250GB HDD, HD3450 with 256MB dedicated
RM1549 CQ40-115AU = 160GB HDD, HD3200 shared

willkhor, I'm absolutely sure that the 133/34AX can support 4GB.
errrr....ya hor.. additional 90GB & 100Mhz sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 5 2008, 03:34 PM)
Its not the motherboard. Its the processor (Integrated Memory Controller in it) accept 800MHz.

Added on December 5, 2008, 3:39 pm
What is the real different between these two models?
CPU 2.1GHz vs 2.0Ghz & HDD as cannavaro state above
iRonTech
post Dec 5 2008, 04:55 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

is CQ40 Hdd using WD scorpion sata?
iRonTech
post Dec 9 2008, 09:23 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(Vernon @ Dec 7 2008, 02:11 PM)

honestly cq40 is really a hot lappy, mine when gaming will probably go to 100++celcius, when playing nfs undercover. other game is around 90++celcius. somemore in aircon room.... sweat.gif  but i do believe that no more than 110 celcius is ok cos the pc components can tahan more than that.

why not choose nvdia graphic card?? cos their graphic card cannot tahan high tempreture, why? cos their soldering on the board got problems. there already a lot of news about this incident. do google. tongue.gif cos i scared they will appear on the 9200 series, so i choose ATI insteat of Nvidia, i dont want to return my laptop to hp as i'm overseas now, its too frustrate when u are waiting ur laptop back from service center and will dunno take how long.... sad.gif

Added on December 7, 2008, 2:13 pm
i'm curious why a lot of ppl say 64-bit OS no go???
i'm using it now, and its just same as 32-bit OS.... sweat.gif driver is not a problem, u can always download from hp support page...
the software?? there is WOW64 for 32-bit software to use....
which gpu built urs? 3450? 3200? what's the temperature on the CPU/GPU/HDD??

sweat.gif 100++ can boil egg redy..

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Dec 9 2008, 09:24 AM
iRonTech
post Dec 11 2008, 09:39 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 10 2008, 07:24 AM)
willkhor, any freebie when buying cq40 series? or HP cut price till so low and without giving any freebie?

mouse, backpack? or only got 50 free voucher for Watson? = =

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 10 2008, 12:24 PM)
Sorry bro, forget to put some details. biggrin.gif 

I would like to know anything about any AMD-Based notebook whether it is Turion X2 or X2 ultra with HD3200 graphics. I can't wait for next year as this is a Christmas gift for my sis.

QUOTE(huifang87 @ Dec 11 2008, 01:33 AM)
I plan to buy a COMPAQ 133AX, can anyone recommend me where to buy is most cheaper?
brows.gif poison the CQ40 with HD3450 HD Video & 3D games ---> http://www.xici.net/u12615022/d81122586.htm ( sweat.gif anyone kind enough translate it to full english?? nah...since google/babel fail...)

QUOTE(kingknight79 @ Dec 11 2008, 08:09 AM)
Hi Guys,

May i know 1GB+1GB RAM will be faster than one 2GB RAM? Coz the CQ40 model is running dual channel. Thanks!
for sure dual is faster than single

Added on December 11, 2008, 10:41 amhow come this thread moved to Q&A ?? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Dec 11 2008, 10:41 AM
iRonTech
post Dec 12 2008, 09:50 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(dek_ang @ Dec 11 2008, 01:11 AM)
just bought a new 1...biggrin.gif
how does it go so far??

QUOTE(Aries_Shadowheart @ Dec 11 2008, 08:38 PM)
sorry for any inconvenient., but can someone answer my question..

dont think so..

QUOTE(mfashraf @ Dec 11 2008, 11:38 PM)
I have a prob. Mic isn't working. Running on Ultimate 64bit. Please help. Thanks in advance

QUOTE(keith87 @ Dec 12 2008, 01:33 AM)
hi,thx for ur reply..
i had update my graphic driver,and i had pull out the 1gb ram..so my lappie onli got 1 ddr 2gb ram
i found 1 thing..
sometime i on my lappie,no lag at all..
sometime i on my lappie,daaamn lag..

normally cases like this,will be what problem?
lag abit still acceptable,but mine is over ad.
i right click anything or i open a new folder or window,its take me atleast 6sec..

what should i do now?
sweat.gif sweat.gif is the CQ40 quality problem?? or the driver compatibility's issue??

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 12 2008, 08:48 AM)
arh~~~

pc fair come already!!!!!

tomolo go buy cq40-126au liao....yeah~
how abt u, spade? brows.gif
oh ya, we nid driver for the wireless in 126au? where can dl it? i cant find in the hp website....another thing, mobility modder din support ati 3200 GPU....so i get the driver from 115au hp website.
sweat.gif how can the MM left out 3200... even the x200 inside the list doh.gif
iRonTech
post Dec 13 2008, 12:44 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

laugh.gif just notice 115 no bt..

got my rm1549 cheapest unit, good thing is it did come with XP & Vista drivers CD, both OS installation with few clicks result with charm. later try some games.

free gift: headset/2gb pendrive/cooler pad/lock + XP & Vista drivers CD brows.gif at least 'something' there

addition 2x 800mhz sodimm, future up the 7200rpm hdd
iRonTech
post Dec 13 2008, 12:58 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

pc fair the biggest HP booth

opps..forgot free optical mouse too.. all these free gifts say if worth Rm50, + the most important XP & Vista drivers CD, i got my own cheapest & value for $$ laptop ?? laugh.gif
iRonTech
post Dec 13 2008, 01:45 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

cyberlink dvd playing behind while updating sp1

iRonTech
post Dec 13 2008, 05:57 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 12 2008, 10:40 PM)
What is your temp reading on CPUID Hardware Monitor? Strange this hardware monitor can't show GPU temp for this particular notebook. How about yours?
no sensor the ATI igp

QUOTE(purplelized @ Dec 13 2008, 02:38 PM)
hey guys...i nid your help
i m using cq40-134AX...its very hot
i check using an software it says 80 degrees
izzit normal? anyway 2 make it cooller?
its normal for amd mobile cpu

erm..i'm bit worry left bottom lcd since the heat extraction system windows beneath there... will it melt the lcd plastic? laugh.gif
iRonTech
post Dec 13 2008, 06:52 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 13 2008, 06:26 PM)
I recreate the partition using Vista installation wizard. Still haven't found time to really work with the notebook.

Added on December 13, 2008, 6:29 pm
The biggest HP booth is runned by Thundermatch. I bought 2 126AU but no CD Driver and any freebies.
Please upload you driver somewhere so that we all can share from you.
erm...unsure, the booth opposite acer with hp printers

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 13 2008, 06:30 PM)
yeah!
back from pc fair with my lovely cq40-126AU!!!
icon_idea.gif icon_idea.gif congrats

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 13 2008, 06:32 PM)
What freebies you got bro?

Got the CD Driver? Can upload somewhere so that all can share from you?

Added on December 13, 2008, 6:32 pm
And nVidia too.
i wish to share out but umobile bb upload... sweat.gif

QUOTE(shady @ Dec 13 2008, 06:39 PM)
dont worry plastic can withstand more than 200C. the best way for cooler operation is dont block that exhaust part.

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 13 2008, 06:44 PM)
The thing is the design is flawed. In normal use the back of the LCD screen will somewhat block some of the hot-air flow.
erm.... let's hope the lcd good quality...

btw..i havent tested the dead pixels.. tongue.gif
iRonTech
post Dec 13 2008, 07:53 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 13 2008, 06:55 PM)
It is Thundermatch.

Added on December 13, 2008, 6:56 pm
Ooohhh, Umobile slow?

Added on December 13, 2008, 6:57 pm
BAD design by HP or Compal rather. biggrin.gif

I have tested it and mine is perfect. Well, we can't do anything if its not. doh.gif

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 13 2008, 07:43 PM)
HP got diff shop selling ler...each side of them diff shop de....i buy from mobility square...

i have driver cd...

but now i cant install the vista cd....sigh....waiting...maybe later go buy vista cd....maybe my fren cd got prob....
erm...both the thundermatch & mobility square same? btw mine was from mobility square smile.gif

oh yah, its worth to install the amd core optimizer as it will gain some performance thumbup.gif say about 8-9% (i run performance test)
http://www.amd.com/us-en/Processors/Techni...1_14098,00.html
iRonTech
post Dec 13 2008, 08:01 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

shocking.gif how come? my vista business went smooth only
iRonTech
post Dec 14 2008, 10:25 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 14 2008, 07:38 AM)
Install the driver first. Then the score will go up.

Care to share the drivers? biggrin.gif

Added on December 14, 2008, 7:40 am
Here are mine:

Desktop performance for Windows aero = 4.1

3D business and gaming graphics peformance = 3.8

Added on December 14, 2008, 7:45 am
I would say its no more than NVidia.

Added on December 14, 2008, 7:46 am
Yes! And Thundermatch (where i bought mine) did not. doh.gif

Added on December 14, 2008, 7:48 am
If you ask from Thundermatch they boys will tell you to get it from the internet. doh.gif
patient....uploading both the drivers biggrin.gif

anyone know what is the virtualization tech inside the bios? what program gain advantage on this?
iRonTech
post Dec 14 2008, 01:44 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

o.O.. TQ

CQ 40 AMD XP Drivers here..

http://www.4shared.com/dir/4067770/b0cb43cb/sharing.html

for video driver go amd.com dl the ATI Catalyst Control Center

Vista afterwards

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Dec 14 2008, 01:45 PM
iRonTech
post Dec 14 2008, 03:50 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(Spade @ Dec 14 2008, 02:02 PM)
Thanks for uploading it bro.

Its for virtualization thingy. Normal Windows user will not need that.

Added on December 14, 2008, 2:06 pm
Its depends on which core 2 that you are using. Some 35W and some 25W. ATI chipset is more power efficient compared to Intel.

Added on December 14, 2008, 2:14 pm
I can't see option to switch from AHCI to IDE in the BIOS for 126AU.

Care to give some short guide on how to install WinXP in this case?
use nlite bundle in the sata drivers / msdn xp sp3 disc (available dl from msdn) / F6 using floppy

Added on December 14, 2008, 4:22 pmo.O load in 2x 2GB ram still Single Channel??

This post has been edited by iRonTech: Dec 14 2008, 04:22 PM
iRonTech
post Dec 15 2008, 07:59 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(daymond85 @ Dec 14 2008, 07:21 PM)
no..... vmad.gif
since it so cheap le...nvm... thumbup.gif
btw, how to open wireless? why i press the button on top but i cant see anything pop up in my lappy?
mobility square CD just driver w/o HP wireless manager, good enough to me i dont need those fancy wireless software make windows heavier

QUOTE(dotcom @ Dec 15 2008, 02:02 AM)
just sent it back to HP damansara service center wit ur receipt. i got a CQ20 last month and a faulty LCD which the LCD light will turn off adhoc. they replace box to box.  biggrin.gif

got a cq40-125ax free dos on pc fair as well on sat..... come back discover the lcd cover got few hair line scratches .. bloody hell ppl... i think they must have upgrade the free 1gb ram for me accidently creating those scratches... anyway...this model is a good buy.... RM1849 package with free 1gb (total 2gb ram), HP headset with Pendrive Envo 4gb dumbdrive with antivirus 1 year license, cooler pad, mouse.  thumbup.gif
1gb x2 ?? is ur windows showing single or dual channel memory by CPUID / AMD Overdrive ??

hmm.gif its weird... I tried 2x1GB 667 / 2x2GB 800 both the result still showing Single channel...anything to do with AMD R7 chipset software need to be installed??
iRonTech
post Dec 15 2008, 11:18 AM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ Dec 15 2008, 10:53 AM)
What model are you on? I'm on 126AU. The "channel" section on the CPU-Z is greyed out for unknown reason even when I put in 2X2GB.

Added on December 15, 2008, 10:59 am
I thought you must have certain amount and criteria for the dead pixel (as per warranty document) before you can claim warranty. Lucky for me I have non of them.  thumbup.gif
115AU. Erm...my guess something to do with HP BIOS? (has disable the memory remap??)

anyone of u success the Dual Channel on any CQ series?
iRonTech
post Dec 15 2008, 02:08 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ Dec 15 2008, 11:29 AM)
Memory remap? I don't see anything like that in the BIOS setting.

I think we should ask people who bought the AMD CQ Series with Vista preinstall to comment on the Dual-Channel issue. Anybody here who bought CQ with Vista?
erm...not that. some infor mention abt that feature. im still figuring out y its disabled... sad.gif

QUOTE(cracksys @ Dec 15 2008, 01:36 PM)
nope. i bought 125AX and install Vista myself. dual channel it is. no screenshot cause if i run CPU-z, it shows "You're running from your office PC. Wait untill you get back home, god damn it!" message.
shocking.gif HD3450 made the different?? hmm.gif hmm.gif
iRonTech
post Dec 15 2008, 03:04 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(cracksys @ Dec 15 2008, 02:12 PM)
no la, i'm just pointing out that model with pre-installed Vista is not the only one able to support dual channel (eg. my laptop)

QUOTE(nakTT @ Dec 15 2008, 02:45 PM)
How can that happened?

Added on December 15, 2008, 2:47 pm
At least we can see if any user of 127AU (Vista pre installed) have the same Dual-Channel issue in CPU-Z as the 126AU (No Vista) users.
QUOTE(nakTT @ Dec 15 2008, 02:49 PM)
The reason I ask is because I wanted to make sure. Who knows they accidentally disable Dual-Channel (or at least info about it that can be read by CPU-Z) on 126AU.
erm.... ok...will try load in some F03/21 bios & see biggrin.gif

QUOTE(bluefries @ Dec 15 2008, 02:49 PM)
guys i need help....i install Windows XP but seem like before format section it turn out blue screen...any idea ? need sata driver isit?

if need.. where can i find leh ?
http://www.4shared.com/dir/4067770/b0cb43cb/sharing.html
iRonTech
post Dec 15 2008, 03:34 PM

Access Denied
8,621 posts

QUOTE(nakTT @ Dec 15 2008, 03:10 PM)
Where did you get the BIOS. How can you be sure its for you model? I would love to get my hands on 126AU BIOS, any idea where to find? smile.gif
hp.com.my , driver support part search ur model

oh yah, will vista not activated effect the dual channel? tongue.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0490sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 04:46 PM