Sugar Glider V8, Cute Pocket Pets!

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 02:01 AM

www.suggiesathome .wordpress.com
12,047 posts

Pet shack should give since I got it from them. If tak da, then you can buy pvc pipe to cut into the crossbar's length.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 02:09 AM

12,047 posts

Yes. It is provided by the company that produces the wheel. According to their website:

http://www.transoniq.com/tidbits.html

It says the "Glider Guard" is provided for free. Dunno still have at pet shack or not. If habis, you can just use normal PVC and put in the metal rod in the middle of the wheel.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 02:18 AM

12,047 posts

Just ask them if got the Glider Guard or not.

anyway, found this cute sugar glider toy. I saw ToyRus selling the Littlest Pet Shop, but I didn't manage to find the Sugar Glider.

Also, safety tips for us. Keeping your sugar glider safe.

http://network.bestfriends.org/Blogs/PostD...13c5bae&bp=3796

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 11:36 AM

12,047 posts

100plus, need to shake out the gas as gliders cannot burp so if got gas, can cause serious tummy problem.

Anyway, 100plus and Gatorade is for dehydrated gliders, those that are sick or have no energy or experiencing diarrhea. For constipation, use fruit juice like apple juice or cranberry juice. If it is a urinary tract problem, means while peeing the glider hiss, then use 100% pure cranberry juice, not those campur campur with other fruits.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 01:40 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(pink_baby @ Sep 27 2008, 12:57 PM)
can i give apple juice or cranberry juice to minnie everyday??how to feed them??
Yes, you can but then just a teaspoon will do.

QUOTE(exoduskeira @ Sep 27 2008, 12:59 PM)
hey hun when will u be in fluff? this sunday right? can help me a lil with the nails of my little ones? sasha is still new to me i doubt she'll let me file her nails..
Yah, will be there tomorrow. Sure can help, just come on over around 2pm onwards.

QUOTE(exoduskeira @ Sep 27 2008, 01:08 PM)
from wut ive read so far and from wut ppl tell me i suppose places lyk pet shack and fluff will be able to help u with their nails.. i have that fear too.. i tried filing mumble's nails but he didnt let me grab hold of his paw.. so his nails are half filed.. XD..  whistling.gif  hahaha.. i wanna join lil suggies talk so i get to noe more about em.. i think i did a bad job handling mumble as i didnt noe wut to feed and some ppl tell me just feed apple la.. the fishing worm(meal worm) also can.. hahaha.. i noe better now thanks to this forum.. hey about the leucistic gliders right apparently the ownder of 1 utama pet exhibition is getting a few.. tho he said if costs a bomb for each.. 5000 USD.. muh gawd.. doh.gif
Nail trimming is pretty easy once you know how to hold your glider properly for nail trimming....

Wow, that guy briniging in leucistic? Long time I never chat with the owner, didn't know he wanna bring in. If they breed, then 1 joey mungkin rm10k LOL... just a maybe.... but then that's too much to pay for a glider unless that person who buys is a collector.

QUOTE(faerieC @ Sep 27 2008, 01:11 PM)
isit normal for joey to lick their urine when they sleeping?
cos i see evtime Milly sleeping, she will lick her down part
I don't think she is licking her urine, she is just cleaning herself.

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Sep 27 2008, 01:27 PM)
its called grooming if not mistaken cuz they tend to do it while inside their pouch to clean themself smile.gif

Added on September 27, 2008, 1:29 pmkeira : u mean the owner of the pet exhibition goin to bring in leucistic? wow!! he dare to bring in as he knows there;s ppl looking for that glideR? laugh.gif
This morning your sms scared me leh. Luckily everything ok.
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 02:53 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Sep 27 2008, 02:12 PM)
Mijah : this morning I heard a nonstop crab from Dakota which I never hear from her before... >< when I go check on her... she was stuck inside my air-cond... =.=" I'm scared till death and I tried to open the air cond to let her out which she manage to crawl out her self after awhile.. then I go check on her and she's perfectly fine as her legs also walks normally and I check both her hind legs also nothing wrong... I'm so worried bout her adn keep on checking her... but she seems to be okay as she keep on running on me and not really jump here n there and she keep on grooming me till I pet her to sleep..
You jaga jaga, check your air cond. If needed, get wire mesh to cover up any open space/hole on the air cond.

QUOTE(jcmf @ Sep 27 2008, 02:13 PM)
ALL ARE BASED ON MY OWN OPINION thumbup.gif  thumbup.gif

Ok, will do. I will be updating the 1st page info soon. Got lots to add.

QUOTE(faerieC @ Sep 27 2008, 02:36 PM)
de style they sleep is gulung like a ball rite. so every time she sleep on my palm,she will suddenly wake up n lick her down part, and there's urine wor.
Ohhh.... I guess she malas to come out to pee so she just lick it up. Well, it is not harmful as mother gliders lick up their joey's pee. I still find it odd, never seen it with my gliders, or maybe I just tak perasan since I don't let them sleep on my palm. They always pee on my shoulders or arm.

Added on September 27, 2008, 2:59 pmI refound the article I have been looking for on the dangers of garlic, onion, lima beans and soy. Read here:

http://www.glidercentral.net/ubbthreads/ub...ima_B#Post69759

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Sep 27 2008, 02:59 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 06:08 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(electroyid @ Sep 27 2008, 05:00 PM)
hun... i saw a glider eat its poo.... izit ok also...???
Animals eating their own poo is cause of a few things..... firstly is to get extra nutrients. How often does this glider eat it's own poo?

http://www.sugarglider.com/glidergossip/to...756&whichpage=1
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 09:12 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Gr3eN @ Sep 27 2008, 07:13 PM)
Hv a question here...
Y some SG's tails so big(fluffy) and some small? I mean adult...nt joey.
And y the shape of the end of the tail is different? Some tails ended like 'u' shape and some like 'v' shape..
Every glider can have different fluffy tails. Some can be very fluffy, some just fuzzy but adults should never have rat tails.

U shape and V shape, all part of how the fur grows at the point of the tail. Like human lah, some can have thick curly hair, some would have straight but sparse looking hair....
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 10:30 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Gr3eN @ Sep 27 2008, 10:05 PM)
White tip is most common in the wild??
Read the comment by SugarGliderForest.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ZusPLqFbkk
Is tat white tip SG? Y so big? and the tail sooo long? rclxub.gif
Oh... those in the vid, not all are sugar gliders. Some are Mahogany glider, which are bigger than normal sugar gliders. The white tipped ones are a subspecies. Petaurus breviceps ariel. It is a species with a white tipped, not really a mutation.

Added on September 27, 2008, 10:40 pmHere are some pictures of different gliders and possum.

Leadbeater's possum

Brushtail possum

The genus Petaurus:

Petaurus australis - Yellow Bellied Glider

Petaurus gracilis- Mahogany Glider

Petaurus norfolcensis - Squirrel Glider

-no pic found-
Petaurus biacensis - Biak Glider

-no pic found-
Petaurus abidi - Northern Glider

Petaurus breviceps - Sugar Glider

There are 7 subspecies of petaurus breviceps

* P. b. breviceps (Waterhouse, 1839)
* P. b. longicaudatus (Longman, 1924)
* P. b. ariel (Gould, 1842)
* P. b. flavidus (Tate & Archbold, 1935)
* P. b. papuanus (Thomas, 1888)
* P. b. tafa (Tate & Archbold, 1935)
* P. b. biacensis (Ulmer, 1940)

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Sep 27 2008, 10:40 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 10:47 PM

12,047 posts

Alot of the subspecies cannot find pics on the internet. Quite hard, I tried already. Even looking for the Biak subspecies also hard and there is a possibility Malaysia's glider population could be from Biak Island. So really dunno lah, all I care is that we have sugar gliders as pets hehehe.

The squirrel glider has the fluffiest tail.

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 27 2008, 11:13 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(Gr3eN @ Sep 27 2008, 10:59 PM)
Wow...squirrel glider has nice tail...like it.
I may need some help in future as i has a female having joey(s) IP.
I'm 1st time grandpa...learning to look at the lump to know hw many joey(s) IP bt still dun manage to get it.
Will post pic when free.
Yah, that has a very fluffy tail. I also like.

Here is a vid by BBC on Mahogany gliders.
http://www.arkive.org/species/GES/mammals/...racilis_15.html

Joeys IP, yah, posting a pic would help. Currently 2 of my joeys are not fully OOP yet, head still stuck inside the pouch but most of the body is out.

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Sep 27 2008, 10:59 PM)
me?? laugh.gif why sudden ask??
cfp : yeah.... have to master their languagae first.. haha anyway... long time din see u.. how u do? chika n the rest?
hun : the squirrel glider looks so fat and a bit.... xD but the tail so big and fluffy!! btw.. can I ask some wire mesh from u? the one that u use for ur chin yest is wire mesh rite?
The one I have is PVC... not wire but then can use lah. Come next week, will give you some.

Added on September 27, 2008, 11:14 pmhttp://www.arkive.org/species/GES/mammals/Petaurus_gracilis/Petaurus_gracilis_00.html

Another vid of Mahogany glider. Nice gliding one.

This post has been edited by crazymouse_yyh: Sep 27 2008, 11:14 PM
TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 28 2008, 01:05 PM

12,047 posts

QUOTE(muchan86 @ Sep 28 2008, 04:15 AM)
jon : yeah.... glitter from brian smile.gif haha mochi I helped u answer tongue.gif

Reanne : slurp does contain yogurt? is it? oh.. I get it... is that one of the reason if we fed yogurt we no need to feed slurp cuz later too much yogurt?
Yes, it contains yogurt, not too much, small amount. You can still feed yogurt but yogurt on it's own, can feed 2 to 3 times a week. Just a teaspoon would do. Overseas, a teaspoon is shared by 2 gliders normally hahah.... coz their bodies are small, so a little would do.

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Sep 28 2008, 09:37 AM)
cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif cry.gif
cheetah.. escaped! Last mid night i went to the bathroom and to my shock I SAW GLITTER roaming around.. I screamED! Faster put her back inside her cage.

BUT.. CHEETAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I Keep finding him.. he's no where to be found! Im so sad.. i cant stop crying when i thought of him.. i duno where is he now.. how he's doing.. he may have gilde to the trees outside my balcony. But there's so many predators outside.. im worried!

All i hope is he will find his way back home! is it possible? i miss him so much, pls come back home!
Oh dear, do not give up searching. You have to search all over your home. Like last time one girl Caren, lost her glider and thought really lost forever but she found it inside her dustbin sleeping. I lost 2 gliders before and found them sleeping in some plastic bags in the store room. Cheetah maybe still in your room. Look at every corner, in small areas, inside clothes, towels, shoes, plastic bags, old newspaper. Gliders would search for dark areas.

If he gets outside, normally joeys cannot survive. No food.... cats..... owls.... snakes....

QUOTE(^MochI^ @ Sep 28 2008, 11:21 AM)
i looked every corner of my house. i dun hav shoes placed on the floor. i dun think he'll have anywhere to hide. i even drag out the cupboards/cabinet. i still cant find him.. can home gilders survive outside in the wild by its own?

IF....IF he dont come back.. i just wish he can survive, be on his own and becareful of predators. May him enjoy his freedom of joy.. and live happily outside.
Normally joeys would not survive for long. They would soon become hungry, and search for food, if cannot find food, it would be weak and easy prey. Joeys that are not bonded would not be able to find their way back. Rarely gliders find their way back coz the outside of their home is unknown and no other glider taught them how to survive in the wild.

Just keep looking.

QUOTE(aurion @ Sep 28 2008, 12:21 PM)
[/spoiler]

Hun, How bout this one? The Greater Glider (Petauroides volans)? It looks like a koala cross with a cat and a glider. From what I read, it can be as large as a house cat.

Added on September 28, 2008, 12:45 pm
Don't you get any wrong impressions, mister. biggrin.gif . We are just friends. Haha. You saw both Judy and Meegy? Where abouts? Pets Wonderland?
Oh yah, Greater Glider, I also forgot.

Now I'm off to Fluff heheheh...

TScrazymouse_yyh
post Sep 28 2008, 09:27 PM

12,047 posts

My experience with free range gliders, it is scary coz like lost gliders. Still Mochi, don't give up. I think tonight he will come out to look for you. Keera and Kiah does this. They always free range and sleep where they want that I cannot find, but at night like 2am they come out to find me.

Anyway, who balik kampung needs Instant Slurp? So far 11 gliders tried and love it. I need more people to try on their gliders.

6 Pages « < 4 5 6Top

0.0530sec    0.91    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 17th December 2025 - 08:53 AM