5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Studying in Australia (V 2.5), All users: read rules on first page

Cheesenium
post Nov 13 2008, 06:53 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(alwayshappy @ Nov 13 2008, 05:55 PM)
im curious you are buying AUD in bank draft, TT or the AUD notes?
If you're buying the notes, the rate will be higher than bank draft.
Get a bank draft.It's safer and easier to carry over there.
Cheesenium
post Nov 17 2008, 11:32 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(soontheam @ Nov 17 2008, 10:37 AM)
Don't expect it to fall forever.. in fact expect the MYR to fall when the politicians' "Our economy is strong" argument begins to leak big time...
Thats what i worry the most. sweat.gif
Cheesenium
post Nov 21 2008, 11:35 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Yeah,i just booked my flight back to Sydney for next year.It's much cheaper than usual.
Cheesenium
post Nov 27 2008, 01:16 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(empire23 @ Nov 27 2008, 12:55 AM)
Goddamit, i trusted a friend to keep my place in good shape and he ;

1) Rakes up a 1600 dollar telstra bill downloading Animu (makes me hate downloading whores more)

2) Screws my housemate's car. It doesn't help that we use that car to get to GC to drive taxis.

3) Has used my PC without my explicit permission and not only that, now the graphics output is problematic and artifacting (i purposely downclock the PC before playing games due to the summer temps)

f***!
I also hate download whores.

Ruin my RA3 beta too.

Nothing much i can do about it.

I tak suka,i keluar.
Cheesenium
post Dec 9 2008, 10:31 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Dec 9 2008, 06:46 PM)
Can someone help me in budgeting here? I really need help as next year will be my first time going Australia to study. No experience at all.

Can someone please tell me the maximum price my dad should send to me every month just for expenses and rental? Cause he ask me to give him a budget and list him down the details.

Eg.

Rental                  --> $300 per week
Food                    --> $150 per week
Electricity and gas --> ??
Mobile                  --> ??
Internet                --> ??

Can someone please help me figure out how much would the electric, mobile and internet fees will sum up to? Really need help  unsure.gif  And if there's anything i miss out please tell me  ohmy.gif
Where are you going by the way?
Cheesenium
post Dec 10 2008, 12:18 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Dec 10 2008, 12:13 AM)
Me going in February ;D Me lonely over there =((
I mean where,not when?

Which city are you going?Different city got different living cost.
Cheesenium
post Dec 10 2008, 11:15 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(booby @ Dec 10 2008, 03:35 AM)
Oh. RMIT City Campus, Melbourne. cry.gif
Alright.Dont think i can help you then.

Different city.

QUOTE(Sophia228 @ Dec 10 2008, 10:55 AM)
My education consultant told me that if i want to renew my passport, i can show something like (aus student pass or what, i 4got, just an evidence tt i'm going to study) and i can get half price
Unless you are Australian PR or citizen,you cant get "half price".
Cheesenium
post Dec 10 2008, 12:55 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Dec 10 2008, 12:25 PM)
i think she is referring to the cost of passport renewal, not the tuition fees.............. biggrin.gif

yes, there is/was a discount, don't know if it still available........but seriously, saving rm150 when you are preparing to pay between a quarter to one million studying in oz......... shakehead.gif
Might as well just get the passport asap than waiting to save that few hundred ringgit.
Cheesenium
post Dec 16 2008, 12:01 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(adrian7386 @ Dec 15 2008, 10:04 PM)
how about homestay?my parents want me to stay it
Okla.Thing like internet connection can get quite annoying.
Cheesenium
post Dec 16 2008, 11:57 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(tsm @ Dec 16 2008, 07:36 AM)
Not really. Now, I'm homestay, this month my quota is 20 peak period and 40 off peak. Normally, I share with another student (one or two, normally one) but this month and next month, I use all. Hahaha

Homestay gives you some great experience, you can understand Australian culture faster.

Food wise, it is really depended on what are your preferences. If you don't like western food then homestay might not suitable to you. But one of the great thing is you don't need cook, don't need to go market every week or sometimes you need to go twice a week. Besides, it is really save a lot of time. However,  you will miss asian food but you can go to your friends' house and cook it or eat out (slightly expensive, once a while is ok).

For rules, it depends different homestay. Some people cannot bring their friend while some homeparents don't mind it. Some family don't allow you to online after 11pm. Some need you to bath within 4 mins. The rules are varied from house to house. So far for me, I have no problem.
In my homestay,internet is a pain in the ass because some people just like to use all the cap up by himself.Then,the cap burst at the end of month which is hell for me.

Other than that,im fine with it.Food wise,it's good because they prepare a wide variety of food.They also dont limit me what time i come back etc.
Cheesenium
post Dec 17 2008, 01:33 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(wl555 @ Dec 17 2008, 12:09 PM)
one more question ----
usually it takes how long to apply & get a student visa ?
About 2 to 3 weeks.
Cheesenium
post Dec 17 2008, 01:58 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(wl555 @ Dec 17 2008, 01:42 PM)
What is overseas student health cover  (OHSC)  ?
it is mentioned in my offer letter ....
It's basically a health cover that will cover part of your medical fees,in case you are sick.

Cheesenium
post Dec 17 2008, 09:20 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(wl555 @ Dec 17 2008, 02:03 PM)
Thanks you cheesenium ~~
as i know you are now in unsw , right ?
do u have any comment doing COMMERCE in unsw ?

and how is the living expense ?
around how much per week a student usually spend ?
Yeah,im currently studying civil engineering in UNSW.

I dont really have much say about UNSW's commerce courses because im not currently studying commerce but they are well known in commerce,other than engineering.Facility wise,i would say it's well equipped.Teaching,im not really sure but from what i know,UNSW emphasize a lot on their teaching quality and constantly improve their teaching.

I spend about 350 per week.The expenses could be lower if you eat out less or hang out less.
Cheesenium
post Dec 17 2008, 10:50 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Kwang Hui @ Dec 17 2008, 10:31 PM)
350 as in RM or Australian dollar? I heard that the cost of living  smile.gif in sydney is extremely high? Coz I plan to take up construction management in UNSW.
I mean in australian dollar.Sorry for that mistake.

You probably spend about 1k+ per month but the spending could be lower if you save etc.
Cheesenium
post Dec 18 2008, 03:15 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(Kwang Hui @ Dec 18 2008, 11:59 AM)
Can I survive abt A$ 1200 in sydney? Do I need expenses more or less than that amount of money? icon_question.gif

How about the cost of the accomodation? Is it cheaper to stay in the campus accom, or outside?  icon_question.gif
Should be enough with $1200.Not really sure about the inflation there.

QUOTE(wl555 @ Dec 18 2008, 12:29 PM)
Anyway,thanks you cheesenium !
Actually unsw is my 1st choice ...if i can get credit transfer from them .

I heard that it is hard to get a place for on campus accommodation in UNSW , and it is more expensive compare to outside ,is it true ??
is it easier to get an offcampus accommodation ? normally how does it cost ?
I would like to know more about the accommodation options in UNSW, do you mind tell me more about it ?  tongue.gif
On campus accommodation are very difficult to get,generally.They cost from $300 per week till $450.

Off campus accommodation would be much cheaper.$100 should be enough for you to get a single room shared with 2-3 house mates.

Just a note,if you want going to Aus to study(this applies to any city),try to go there early to find your accommodation.
Cheesenium
post Dec 18 2008, 04:18 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(wl555 @ Dec 18 2008, 03:24 PM)
Thanks for your advice !
In your previous post,
spending $350 per week include accommodation (rental,utility)??
Yes,it includes everything.

It's just an average value la.
Cheesenium
post Dec 20 2008, 11:39 AM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Booby,Im the webmaster of Malaysian Student Organisation in UNSW.

No one updates their site during the holidays because there are no events during the holidays.Same thing for a few other university's Malaysian clubs in NSW.

Never judge a club by it's website.It might look dead on it's website but it could be one of the most active clubs in the uni.

I believe everyone here face the no friends problem when they study aboard the first time.It's normal.

Lastly,dont expect everyone here to spoon feed you information or whine just because we dont spoon feed you.
Cheesenium
post Dec 20 2008, 07:51 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(kamagotchi @ Dec 20 2008, 01:00 PM)
how the heck did u get into the MSO committee? Hehe, congrats bro. Just be friends with the elites and u'll get higher positions in no time. Maybe in MASCA or something.

Just be extra friendly and make the first moves while making friends here, especially with the Aussies.
They did have an email for those who are interested to join the committee.I just join it as a few of my friends are joining or already part of it.So,might as well just join in the fun.

Still,i probably just stop at MSO.Dont think i'll go all the way to MASCA level.Too much work for me.
Cheesenium
post Dec 23 2008, 06:06 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(J0shua @ Dec 23 2008, 05:22 PM)
Hi! nice to meet u all. Any1 from UNSW?
I hv get an offer letter (software engineering) from UNSW.
May I noe How u guys accept the offer?
Accept offer by "accept online" or return the letter by pos malaysia?
;J0shua
If im not wrong,you just accept it online in my unsw.

I accepted online last time.It could be bloody slow with Malaysian connection.Then,probably you can arrange your next year's timetable.

Welcome to UNSW,by the way. smile.gif
Cheesenium
post Dec 24 2008, 06:24 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

QUOTE(J0shua @ Dec 24 2008, 11:07 AM)
icic.
u r from which campus?
I get kensington campus.

According to the offer letter req the documents, reply letter and payment (deposit) as well.
But the staff from UNSW just req the documents only.
;J0shua
Im studying in Kensington Campus.I doubt that you get to study in UNSW's Canberra campus or AFDA as AFDA is for arts courses.

If you are doing engineering,commerce,medicine etc.Probably you are in Kensington campus.

QUOTE(J0shua @ Dec 24 2008, 11:21 AM)
r u from UNSW?

According to the letter,

1. documents req by condition letter
2. reply letter (Acceptance of Conditional Offer)
3. OSHC payment
4. tuition fee payment(deposit)
5. Visa information

;J0shua

Added on December 24, 2008, 11:41 am

hi chris. Nice to meet u.
then, how with the payment, visa and OSHC?

The letter mention that I ned to reply this form with the payment (deposti), visa and oshc etc.
can u simply describe how ur procedure when u accept the offer?
omg, quite blur le. haha

;J0shua
Just do what is required on the offer letter.As long as you finish the things that require on the letter,you'll be fine.

For the payment,just use bank draft.Easier.Or credit card,if you like.

5 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0541sec    0.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 11:35 PM