stalker alert. hahahahaha.
nope. AFP on the net! tongue.gif
QuackSilver
post Jan 5 2009, 01:32 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

guys, some of the posts here are more suited to kopitiam. if you want to chat, you can do so by PM, alright?
StarGhazzer
post Jan 5 2009, 04:35 PM

太空人
5,355 posts

QUOTE(jdreamer @ Jan 4 2009, 11:35 AM)
Well, I have health condition so I require to find a suitable hospital for my future follow-ups. I know about Alfred and actually, I am planning to go for it as well.

Do I need to call or something to make appointment first? What's the procedure?
hey man,

For your question regarding healthcare, I would suggest you to at least get yourself a regular GP once you're in Melbourne. The specialist healthcare system over here usually requires a referral from GPs or hospitals, unlike in Malaysia where you could easily walk in and register yourself. Furthermore, bear in mind that specialist clinics in public hospitals usually have a waiting list as long as the Nile, so you may want to search for private practices instead if money isn't a problem/if you are desperate.

In your case where you might need regular reviews, I think you probably need to enquire OSHC (or Medibank should you decide to get it) regarding the insurance coverage and any possibly rebates or subsidisations. As far as I know, the basic OSHC package which students often obtain are pretty useless as it leaves out many services.

Healthcare, in particular specialist care, without any health insurance in Australia can easily burn a gigantic hole in your pocket. Which part of Melbourne would you be staying? It'll be easier to find a hospital/clinic nearer to your place, yet most of the consultants over here may have their private practice in random places which are far away from their practising hospitals. The Alfred is a major trauma centre in Victoria, but that doesn't mean it lacks adequate services that you need. I've no experience with Alfred so can't really provide more information on it. If you're near the CBD then RMH or St. Vincent's would probably be your alternative choices.

At the end of the day, I'll still advise you to go through a GP during initial stages especially if you aren't familiar with the system. GPs are the portal or gateway to tertiary care and they would have lots of connections around.
DjKenji
post Jan 6 2009, 08:26 AM

650 posts

Is that possible take IELTS in Malaysia easy get high score than Australia? (Academic)
limeuu
post Jan 6 2009, 08:32 AM

12,291 posts

QUOTE(DjKenji @ Jan 6 2009, 08:26 AM)
Is that possible take IELTS in Malaysia easy get high score than Australia? (Academic)
no
KVReninem
post Jan 6 2009, 10:46 AM

IX
5,369 posts

QUOTE(wengjoe @ Jan 6 2009, 11:28 AM)
higher the better  rclxms.gif

because i'm going back this 11 for my summer holiday
and? sweat.gif
caspersky
post Jan 6 2009, 01:43 PM

517 posts

Have you actually compared both of them? A friend of mine told me about a guy who failed few times scoring an average 7.0 but got it done after he took the exam in his own country. It might be mere luck or perhaps it's true that Australian examiners are more strict.
Thalmes
post Jan 6 2009, 02:26 PM

Genie Pig!
1,799 posts

QUOTE(DjKenji @ Jan 6 2009, 08:26 AM)
I thought now don't need IELTS anymore ? All of my friend who went last year and this year ... Don't need IELTS ... Just your current academic result then you're on
TShaya
post Jan 6 2009, 02:44 PM

Sarawakian first!
2,067 posts

QUOTE(caspersky @ Jan 6 2009, 01:43 PM)
Have you actually compared both of them? A friend of mine told me about a guy who failed few times scoring an average 7.0 but got it done after he took the exam in his own country. It might be mere luck or perhaps it's true that Australian examiners are more strict.
Remind me to write up on IELTS for the front page eh?

There is a lot of misconception of IELTS. It is NOT a test. It is an assessment system on English language COMPETENCY, and the grade you get grades you on your level of proficiency of English.

IELTS is quality, not quantity. You can write 3 pages, but if it is riddled with grammatical errors, poor spelling and punctuation, you're not really going to get much.

If you look at the criteria for a IELTS 6:
CODE

6 (Competent User)

Has generally effective command of the language despite some inaccuracies, inappropriacies and misunderstandings. Can use and understand fairly complex language, particularly in familiar situations.

It doesn't mean you're a native speaker. Even a IELTS 9, which is defined as a native speaker, is still considered a native speaker of the English language AS A SECOND LANGUAGE. That said, if you do achieve a 9, your grasp of English is probably better than some people in English speaking countries in the western world.

As it is a international benchmark, in theory a 6 in China should be similar (note similar, NOT the same) to a 6 obtained in Malaysia, or a 6 obtained in China. Of course, like any language, it is subjective, and dependent of the marker, but there is a publicly known marking criteria. Unlike SPM or even 1119, where no one knows what the criteria is. Sure, you can say it is based on the British "o" levels, but no one will ever call the Peroudua MyVi a Japanese car despite having it based on a in Daihatsu.
cheese86
post Jan 6 2009, 02:55 PM

790 posts

QUOTE(KVReninem @ Jan 6 2009, 10:46 AM)
and? sweat.gif
because i'm bringing back AUD to spend

that my point,the higher the currency the more i will get when i exchange back into MYR
J0shua
post Jan 6 2009, 03:00 PM

46 posts

QUOTE(Thalmes @ Jan 6 2009, 02:26 PM)
I thought now don't need IELTS anymore ? All of my friend who went last year and this year ... Don't need IELTS ... Just your current academic result then you're on
No need IELTS? r u sure? How come not need english proficiency? or just specified for some of the university only?

:J0shua
QuackSilver
post Jan 6 2009, 03:18 PM

O-ha!
3,258 posts

the question on whether or not you need to sit for IELTS is a matter for your education provider to decide. its not the same for everyone
Thalmes
post Jan 6 2009, 03:44 PM

Genie Pig!
1,799 posts

QUOTE(J0shua @ Jan 6 2009, 03:00 PM)
No need IELTS? r u sure? How come not need english proficiency? or just specified for some of the university only?

:J0shua
Just apply for your school first before going for IELTS ... in Melbourne ...For Trinity College = Doesn't need IELTS / In Perth ... For Canning College = Doesn't need IELTS either . I asked my agent about the IELTS and she said nowadays students don't have to take it anymore unless stated by the school that you're applying .
J0shua
post Jan 6 2009, 04:43 PM

46 posts

oic. I hv get an condition offer letter from UNSW. It does not req the english proficiency. I m a diploma graduated student. So I will try to contact the them as well.
Thalmes
post Jan 6 2009, 04:47 PM

Genie Pig!
1,799 posts

Yes...Call them and have everything confirm . Congratulations by the way
J0shua
post Jan 6 2009, 05:14 PM

46 posts

Yup. They have received my documents and clear all the outstanding req.
Now I stil waiting for their answer. Anyway, thx.

;J0shua
kwh1989
post Jan 6 2009, 05:59 PM

412 posts

hey guys, im goin to melbourne uni this coming feb, so, juz wondering regarding the mobile phone plan, wut r u guys using? wic plan is best value for money without free phones? i dun wish to change my N82 nw. kinda confused wif how the plans work there, sorry for the noob questions
giomanach
post Jan 6 2009, 06:34 PM

488 posts

Hey, I wanna ask sth xD
Where can I see the list of approved doctors for my medical check up to apply for the visa?

126 Pages « < 116 117 118 119 120 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:46 AM