6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?

law1777
post Oct 15 2008, 10:31 AM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(pspfan @ Oct 15 2008, 10:15 AM)
correct!!! py800 takde THX bros

Added on October 15, 2008, 10:16 am
your py800 got flicker prob with ps3 on 24p? funny..
your py800 doesnt have flicker at 24p switched on for movies? AVS forum and asia.cnet said if the 24p is turned on the py800 and py850 gives flicker to your movies..
law1777
post Oct 15 2008, 12:34 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

so does anyone here already had the chance to compare both PY800 and PY850? i know both of them gives flicker at 24p switched on. but i heard that PY850 has inaccurate primary colors. asia.cnet take PY850 as their editor's choice but not PY800 which has highly accurate primary color. wonderrrrrrrrrrssssssss...
law1777
post Oct 15 2008, 12:52 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Oct 15 2008, 12:48 PM)
The problem with u is that u read way too many review and forums. In fact I'm guilty of that too... blush.gif
Remember one thing, there will never be a perfect LCD/Plasma. Also, factor in your viewing environment. I'm pretty sure a lot of ppl here have less than ideal viewing environment. Bottom line is, if you are happy with the PQ, just purchase it.
Sometimes I wonder, what's the point of "calibrating" it to perfection when u are not satisfied with the end results. These days, as long as the picture is satisfactory, I'm ok with it. I rather enjoy my movie rather to constantly nit pick on the PQ. It gets pretty tiresome.

Can I nit pick about my PY800? Sure I can.. I already found faults with it the first day I had it... but like I said above, I've grown tired of finding perfection which i know will not exist within my budget.  biggrin.gif

Oh well, just my 2 cents.
bro.. you're not answering my questions ler. i just want to know PY850 really has inaccurate primary color or not? im only confused with asia.cnet and cnet US review on this model. US rather take PY800 as their editor's choice but not PY850. I JUST WANNA KNOW cry.gif hmm.gif

p.s : i dun have a budget problem and this is why i want my plasma to worth my every single penny. i dun wanna buy a high-end tv but with bigger faults than its only premium tv

This post has been edited by law1777: Oct 15 2008, 12:55 PM
law1777
post Oct 15 2008, 01:06 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(welwitchia @ Oct 15 2008, 12:57 PM)
I doubt anyone can answer your question here.. how many of us here will buy both 800 and 850..I think the more important question is, even if we have both units side by side, how many will have the proper equipment to detect that the 850 has "less" accurate primary colors?

I guess what I'm trying to say is..don't read too much of these reviews. U are buying a TV to enjoy la.
alrite thanks bro.. i just want my plasma to worth my penny forget about their 24p flicker. guess i'll just take the 800.. has only 3hdmi ports rite?
law1777
post Oct 15 2008, 01:36 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

i guess the price difference is about rm3k if im not mistaken. well i've searched over the net. seems US panasonic really is different from ours. their PY800 has 4hdmis, thx, x.v color, game mode, 10bit.. but ours cry.gif

i guess only the 850 is almost same as their's
law1777
post Oct 15 2008, 02:00 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

OLED tv faster come out and can shut up my mouth. really tiring...
law1777
post Oct 15 2008, 02:43 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

the most common issue is with the 'how long can the OLED tv live'. due to their organics are very sensitive towards the air

This post has been edited by law1777: Oct 15 2008, 02:44 PM
law1777
post Oct 15 2008, 04:07 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(99below0 @ Oct 15 2008, 04:02 PM)
I doubt many Malaysians would care about "accurate" color reproduction. I'll bet you 99% of the man on the street would look at a perfectly-calibrated accurate colored set and say "why your high-end TV color so dull one-ah?, buy-lah Sony Bravia, color so nice...".

One man's meat is another's poison. Once you tune your set to your personal preference, almost any TV is going to look the same, cause you would have set it to look the same. smile.gif

After messing around with so many TVs, I'd say that all the TVs are very close together in terms of PQ, once you've tuned it a bit. So what's the deciding factor for me? Long warranty, baby. biggrin.gif

... and, err, good PQ of course...

but it was Panasonic's 5-year manufacturer warranty that did it for me. smile.gif
yes.. warranty is very important to us who given so much of our money to invest on something. PQ.. as long as it gives u a 'wahhh.. wow.. diao la so nice wan' its enough icon_idea.gif
law1777
post Oct 15 2008, 05:39 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

latest generation plasma can use for pc at full resolution ok?? =.=

This post has been edited by law1777: Oct 15 2008, 05:40 PM
law1777
post Oct 16 2008, 10:41 AM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(g5sim @ Oct 16 2008, 02:42 AM)
HDMI what? Think Display Port!

APPLE is already whining about HDMI saying that it cant even transmit resolution to its 30" beyond 1080p monitors laugh.gif Display port is license free and can support higher resolution than HDMI.

me thinking PS4 and XBox 720 will have Display port for gaming beyond FULL HD - literally making Blu-ray - secondary in term of picture quality
lolzzzzz.. HP also have display port monitor 24inches already cost rm12k. now u wan to talk about Apple product with display port? lolzzzzzz!! i wait u buy one and show us all ok. as soon as possible remember once u buy take picture and post here!! and Apple saying hdmi cannot give 1080p to its beyond 30'?? how come they so useless?? haha ps4 and xbox 720?? ps3 and xbox360 these few years only start raising and good games start coming in u want ps4 and xbox720 already? nevermind if u can wait for at least another 10years. that time will be old uncle playing next-gen console. rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
law1777
post Oct 17 2008, 10:48 AM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(andyz @ Oct 16 2008, 10:25 PM)
http://www.theinquirer.net/gb/inquirer/new...ght-beat-plasma

LCD quality catching up to Plasma

Backlit screens looking good

LCD SCREENS sporting new backlight technology which is supposed to provide them with plasma picture quality are hitting the shops in the next couple of months.

So far LCDs have been doing well only in the budget and smaller screen markets because the picture quality has not been as good as plasma.

But Samsung and Sony are introducing new LCD television sets to Australia that feature built-in LED (light-emitting diode) backlighting, which they claim provides improved picture quality while slashing energy consumption.

Standard fluorescent tubes used in regular LCD TVs cannot be individually controlled. The new technology is made up of numerous tiny lights which adapt to the picture and allow much sharper colour and contrast.

Kurt Jovais, director of marketing at Samsung Australia, told the great unwashed that LED backlighting was a quantum change in the technology. We guess he means that the technology can only be seen if you are watching it.

Samsung’s first batch of televisions with the technology under the bonnet are called the series 9. It has a dynamic contrast ratio of 2,000,000:1 compared with the 10,000:1 to 70,000:1 range of ratios normally associated with LCD.

This means more brightness, colour, and the contrast that is on a par with plasma ratios. µ
adui.. do some more research la.. they r even doing OLED already which is more superior to LED lo my dear brother.. series 9 will be gone in 2010 when they introduce OLED. or u can go on to wikipedia and search for OLED =)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HwuSH10zdhk

This post has been edited by law1777: Oct 17 2008, 12:18 PM
law1777
post Oct 17 2008, 04:04 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(panafone @ Oct 17 2008, 03:32 PM)
are plasmas still susceptible to burn ins. i'm planning on getting one for gaming. should i consider lcds instead?
brother.. latest generation plasma still have burn-ins but very very minimal already. plasma has 0.01response time which is good for gaming but if u really really dont want burn-ins and image retention then i suggest u just get LCD. but again.. plasma burn in is already very very minimal..
law1777
post Oct 17 2008, 10:01 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(peter32 @ Oct 17 2008, 07:49 PM)
How long a stationery image appear on plasma screen will cause a burnt in?
according to reviews.. most of them said after a very long period of watching the same content!! hours? not so sure
law1777
post Oct 18 2008, 11:19 AM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(slk5538 @ Oct 18 2008, 08:16 AM)
Are we talking about burn-in or image retention? I tot major plasma producers already claim that burn in won't happen in the newer generations plasma?

hmm.gif are these producers hiding something from us, the consumer here?

Anyway, if you know of someone who had burn-in in their plasma then mind to share under wat conditions the burn in sets in? game for hours, astro's logo etc?

plasmas are mainly for viewing superb movies or gaming(after 100hrs break-in)

why do u wanna use plasma for astro(so low quality source)??

if you're so afraid of burn-ins or IR plz i advice u dun buy plasma or else every time u watch also not enjoying

Added on October 18, 2008, 11:20 am
QUOTE(msiathot @ Oct 18 2008, 11:14 AM)
Spotted a 37-inch Samsung LCD TV (Series 4) ad (Courts) in The Star yesterday.  I think it is an ideal size (between 32 and 40 inches) for most bedrooms.  It puzzles me why 37-inch LCD TVs are hard to come by in Malaysia with an exception for Panasonic and perhaps another brand or two. Most LCDs sold here are 32 inches and thereafter 40 inches and above.
dun choose your flat panels according to your room size.. follow the distance

This post has been edited by law1777: Oct 18 2008, 11:20 AM
law1777
post Oct 18 2008, 12:20 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(msiathot @ Oct 18 2008, 11:47 AM)
You have raised a valid point about the distance.  It's about 8ft between my usual position on the bed and the TV.  A 32-inch unit, obviously, will be small while a 40-inch unit will be just too large for an average bedroom in newer homes in Malaysia.  Not many have the luxury to live in a 24-80 ft link home with bigger bedrooms.

Perhaps, a 32-inch TV will be adequate if I were to live in a "pigeon hole" room in a condo at HK or Spore!
dear bro.. 40inch for 8ft distance is still quite small
law1777
post Oct 18 2008, 08:55 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(gsdev @ Oct 18 2008, 08:00 PM)
This is my experince, I have the panny 42 Plasma 80HM. It has been burn in now more than 200 hrs. If i watch a movie say Star World after 3 hours there will be image retention of the Star World logo. It can be seen on whiteback grounds for maybe 20-30 minutes when i switch channels. It is gone after that. This is image retention only not Burn In image. I am not so worried about burn in any more.
u've been break-in for 200hours la!!! not burn-in >.<
law1777
post Oct 19 2008, 02:06 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Oct 19 2008, 01:24 PM)
Bought it from COURTS. Only 2 set left when i bought it. blink.gif  There is one on display, and i choose the other one which is still in the box. They offer 7 days free exchange policy and standard 1 year manufacturer warranty from Panasonic.  biggrin.gif
I just bought a What HI FI? Sound and Vision magazine this morning, and found out that this model has won the BEST Premium 32inch HDTV AWARDS for 2007. Nuff said. icon_rolleyes.gif
u better sure its the exactly same thing from the magazine. because uk and us tvs are different from ours. our models doesnt seem to be advanced like theirs altho in the same generation and same series
law1777
post Oct 19 2008, 02:21 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

like our 800 series would be TH-50PY800H and TH-50PZ800U is for US. same series, same level but not same model code comes wif different specs.. so u cannot compare their review to our models
law1777
post Oct 19 2008, 03:10 PM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

QUOTE(elwwmatrix @ Oct 19 2008, 03:06 PM)
Just checking the UK version of Panasonic LX700MK, the 1 main difference is the HDMI input. The UK version got 3 HDMI input, and our Malaysia only got 2 Input. Hehehe. Others are the same.  rclxms.gif
great!! hope u enjoy
law1777
post Oct 20 2008, 10:22 AM

DreamMan
2,654 posts

your laptop doesnt have a hdmi port huh? thats bad

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0429sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 09:59 AM