what about plasma superb motion vs lcd 100Hz??
Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?
Sep 25 2008, 07:49 PM
2,654 posts Joined: Dec 2007 |
what about plasma superb motion vs lcd 100Hz??
Sep 25 2008, 09:51 PM
QUOTE(law1777 @ Sep 25 2008, 07:49 PM) any comment?Added on September 25, 2008, 9:58 pm QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 25 2008, 08:08 PM) i can give thumbs up for Philips TV in general. though havent seen that model you mentioned. those PF9XXX series should be very good. PFL9xxx series has 100hz and 2msi had a mind set to get a sony V series TV when i was shopping for it 2 years ago....till i saw the Philips sitting beside it with better picture quality. This post has been edited by law1777: Sep 25 2008, 09:58 PM |
Sep 26 2008, 10:30 AM
sometimes automatic just dont suit our eyes.. my old samsung hdready has game mode i switched it on while playing games but i just dun like it the contrast/color/brightness/sharpness. lol funny
so plasmas are still winners out there.. |
Sep 26 2008, 10:48 AM
plasmaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa forever!! no nid switch this and that on off on off like lcd tv veryyy confusing..
Sep 26 2008, 12:27 PM
QUOTE(99below0 @ Sep 26 2008, 12:09 PM) Assuming you are buying for watching movies, Picture Quality (PQ) is by far the most important. All the tech terms in the world does not matter if the picture doesn't look good. Don't buy on brand. Use your eyes and audition every set carefully with multiple sources. Get the set with the most pleasing PQ to your eyes. Take your time and go to many shops. It will get fun after a while when you start noticing how different TVs look different. good one!! look at what u r using for. astro/dvd/vcd use hdready enuf. bd/bdgames fullhd. and audition them with ur eyesFullHD is only useful if you are watching Blu-Ray sources, playing PS3 or using as a large monitor. If watching DVDs or Astro, HD-Ready sets frequently look better because you don't have to upscale so much from the base resolution. |
Sep 26 2008, 06:16 PM
Sep 27 2008, 12:09 PM
QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 27 2008, 12:33 AM) If you want to connect your PC, go for LCD. They have better and higher resolution than plasma. Even better with full HD 1920x1080. thats not possible to me to play my pc games with 40' panel not even 32'. my mouse and keyboard couldnt move so far away from my laptop. lolz...Playing strategy games at that resolution with a 40" panel really a thrill This post has been edited by law1777: Sep 27 2008, 12:10 PM |
Sep 27 2008, 04:00 PM
Sep 27 2008, 05:31 PM
QUOTE(welwitchia @ Sep 27 2008, 05:28 PM) ^ Hmm.. I guess u'r eyes can adjust to the flickers? they do flicker but the problem is how obvious it is? if its very very minimal then its really fineDunno, after watching it for about an hour or so, it gets better. Then again, the flicker happens in all Plasmas. |
Sep 29 2008, 12:28 PM
true.. plasma u can use for whole life because its most advance in technologies. lcds keep changing and adding new features
Sep 29 2008, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(rthj @ Sep 29 2008, 02:15 PM) u can view panasonic(sg) website for their latest news in the latest plasma that they are doing. can say the progresses are very minor only.. if u compare plasma to lcd.. lcd are walking bigger steps and bcoz of that u will miss alot more latest features from the lcd u own today. hope u guys understand what im trying to say.. hehe cheers |
Sep 29 2008, 02:42 PM
QUOTE(99below0 @ Sep 29 2008, 02:36 PM) Don't go by room size. Size of the TV depends on your viewing distance. Tell us so we can help. Also, type of TV (LCD/Plasma) depends on what you are viewing most often: is it Astro, DVDs, Blu-Ray, PS3, PC, etc? how bout giving me your recommendations? im 10ft away from my wall which i will be mounting. im using it for bd/ps3 only..The more info you can give us, the better our recommendations will suit your need. |
Sep 29 2008, 03:39 PM
QUOTE(99below0 @ Sep 29 2008, 02:56 PM) 10ft means minimum 42". 37" is too small at that distance. Even 50" will look okay at 10ft. Astro, DVDs, TV will look best on Plasma. Plasma's are a little iffy on the PC part though (cause of burn-in issues with extended PC usage). bro.. how bout me? also 10ft away using it for BD/PS3.. plasma or lcd best??If you're going to use more than 2 hours of PC at a stretch, then go with LCD. I'd say, Sharp for PC, Panny for upscaled DVD, and LG60 (Scarlet) or Toshiba for Astro, DVD, TV. Added on September 29, 2008, 3:02 pm True. But that also means the LCD you buy now doesn't have those technology yet. While Plasma's already look good. |
Sep 29 2008, 06:17 PM
QUOTE(HornyAngMoh @ Sep 29 2008, 06:12 PM) I think for u.........go for the Panny Full HD 50". I am in a similar sitting position using it for BD & DVD mostly 'action' movie & some movie got dark scene ( as in horror movie ). Fast action & dark scene is not suitable for LCD got blurring effect & cannot show the dark part. Poke in to my 'review' on plasma ( it is in my signature ). thanks bro for the recommendationsJust my 2 cents worth! |
Sep 29 2008, 07:06 PM
Sep 30 2008, 05:50 PM
QUOTE(luige @ Sep 30 2008, 05:24 PM) your lcd tv/plasma cannot downscale anything i guess? u have to downscale something using the source=player/ps3/avr... correct me if im wrong =)i mean.. your astro decoder doesnt have the ability to downscale This post has been edited by law1777: Sep 30 2008, 05:51 PM |
Oct 1 2008, 11:07 AM
if u wanna use all kinds of source together.. dun get a full hd. if u r only using for blu-ray/ps3 u can take full hd
Oct 3 2008, 10:33 AM
the best lcd tv? Philips 52,47,32PFL9703/98 with 100hz and 2ms surpassed samsung's 4ms
Oct 3 2008, 04:20 PM
QUOTE(bmipp @ Oct 3 2008, 11:48 AM) the response time is indeed wowing, and latest LCD design of Philips really commensurate with their vision of having boom design, are they using the same source? playing the same film? and set at the same mode? me myself dont have the chance to see side by side though.. and yes i know philips' price can make my wallet bleed. erm how bout samsung series6 also 100hz and 4ms.. any comment?however the PQ and price of Philips are not as good as some of the competitors..say LG for the latest LG42P60FR.... have you compared them both, i have the opportunity to see side by side, as i must say the Scarlet (LG42P60FR) is indeed won over, philips response time is indeed faster, but if i'm not wrong Scarlet is at 4 ms and i can't see much difference though (human eye have constraints This post has been edited by law1777: Oct 3 2008, 04:50 PM |
Oct 3 2008, 05:40 PM
QUOTE(bmipp @ Oct 3 2008, 05:15 PM) only go for the A650 series...these are the best series recommended by AVSForum, i think because of the 120Hz thing..other series the PQ not as good...i also happen to compare side by side for A610 and A650 ... then how bout latest philips 47' vs lg 60FR 47' vs samsung 650 46'?? which one winning?? |
| Change to: | 0.0447sec
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:14 AM |