Home Theatre LCD and Plasma TV Discussion Thread | V3, Which is right for you?

slk5538
post Jan 7 2009, 09:50 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 6 2009, 05:25 PM)
what point is that ar? cos why talk about the LCD panel itself unless you can watch LCD TV without backlight ?..
the Life of the LCD is quoted by it's backlight.. you have to take it as that.

Agree with you biggrin.gif , not point in having a TV that you can't watch.

The life span of LCD's backlight is considered "kaput" when it emits less that half from its original level, somehow similiar to the criteria for Plasma.

LCD life span itself does not equal to life span of the LCD backlight to certain institutions, after considering certain LCD panel that actually allow the backlight to be replaced eventhough the cost of replacing the backlight after a few years could be more expensive than buying a new TV tongue.gif

Here is some info on the market report on the life span of LCD and Plasma for those who is interested to learn more

http://www.associatedcontent.com/article/1...span_myths.html

and for those who encountered sales person who tried to sell you LCD or Plasma based on the life span, tell him to get over it, its is no longer the issue, the TV is more likely to be "kaput" by other faulty parts before the LCD's backlight or Plasma gases is wore out

bro ar188, you seems very knowledgeable on these TV thingy, mind if I ask if your profession involve you in this or you are one enthusiat in these things ? I am actually looking for some sifu to help me with some PQ problem that I had with my set, if you can help, then I would be verrrrrrrrry happy to PM you to tell you my problem notworthy.gif
slk5538
post Jan 7 2009, 04:47 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Jan 7 2009, 11:42 AM)

HDMI or s-video normally come as a package. I just bought the TV - dont really like the free cable, its not that expensive if u search outside. Wanna V.good cable - need to spend more la..
Not sure about this, cnet asia reviewed that cheap HDMI and expensive HDMI makes not different if they are less than certain length (If I remember correctly, then is 5m)

Anyone who has experience in this can share? I am still using the free HDMI cable that comes with my DVD player la ...
slk5538
post Jan 8 2009, 08:59 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(carte82 @ Jan 7 2009, 07:36 PM)

you are right. HDMI is digital so it's basically u get it or null. so don't listen to the ppl and get those monster cable.
get those cheap from Amazon (USD9.99) with V1.3 . All are same except pricing.
Thanks for your clarification
slk5538
post Jan 8 2009, 02:25 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Jan 8 2009, 09:04 AM)
HDMI/Optical/some Coaxial transmit signal in 101010101001010 (digital format), need not to worry about lost of data. Soem HDMI are now over 10 meters already. Whereas analogue cable - Component/RCA/S-video will has some lost of data if the cables are kept long - that why u are advice to keep your cables as short as possible.

Cost/price depend on the makes/material use to make the cables - low price=low cost material/ high price=better quality/insulation/grade/etc material.

If not all the quality one from distinct cable producers might as well sell like those in Giant - may be their entry level one is a bit above the standard/cheap/free cable.

As a rule of thumb - you budget on cables/connector should be around 10% of your AV setup..( spend more if you have the punch!!)
So, does the higher price cable = better PQ if all other set up remain the same?

You only mentioned that high price = better quality/insulation/grade etc material but if we do not get better PQ then what is the point?

If delivers better PQ then of course worth consider la
slk5538
post Jan 9 2009, 08:08 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(ic-klass @ Jan 8 2009, 09:39 PM)
A "very Good" high-end product will last/satisfied u longer. True technology change rapidly nowdays. But if u "invest" in a good top-of-the-range, be sure that it will continue to give you satisfied PQ comparing to the "new-entry-level" machine. Plus, manufacture will continue to provide the extra feature (which doesnt come in entry level product) and develops new tech base on yours.

It's very hard to stay in touch with the latest gadget/tech. Only if you are filthy rich, and can afford to change the gears week-in-week-out, then you are im-par with the game. Plus, our culture also isnt consumer oriented. Places in the developed country has shop that u can trade in your ols set and get a new one, someone later can buy this "aged" product to upgrade their setup, you can do garage sale and people still bought ur good second hand items - here in malaysia, second hand item is like garbage (no good value).. cry.gif
Agreed, technology changes fast, you need to have a thick wallet to keep up the pace. Look at the CES 2009, I think HD Ready made up of only 20%, the rest are all Full HD model. If that pace continue, we might not see new HD Ready model by end of this year.

Added on January 9, 2009, 8:10 am
QUOTE(ic-klass @ Jan 8 2009, 06:16 PM)
You are correct. The best way is to try each and everyone of it. But in an ideal world, that is nearly impossible - you need to be mega-rich and stupid to buy the whole brands. That's where "product reviews and user comments" come in. You can set the cable of your choice and google for its comments and reviews.

Compare it with others within the same price range. The source of the comments and reviews also need to google it wisely. I use those like what hifi/what homecinema - mostly UK base. dont really like those done by Cnet - their customer reviews so-so la.

So, u asking: "High price will Definately give me better PQ?" The simple answer is NO - you cant make a proton Sawi to run like a civic by bolting down a good spark cable, cant you?? No need to buy high-end cable if you sets are not in that range of categories. So, it best to start with a good quality AV setup first - then it will be easy to choose ur cable.
Basic thiings like gold-plated connector is definately better than those silver one. Good "insulation" and transfer will minimised data loss. High grade components delivers better PQ/SS

Then again, PQ is in the eye of the beholder. So trust ur eyes - others are only guidence,

Like i said earlier in my post - cables/connector roughly is about 10% of ur AV setup.

And uses Reviews and Comments as a guide...

Thanks bro

This post has been edited by slk5538: Jan 9 2009, 08:12 AM
slk5538
post Jan 12 2009, 09:09 AM

114 posts

WW III just started ? tongue.gif (The Brits VS The Yanks?)

This post has been edited by slk5538: Jan 12 2009, 09:11 AM
slk5538
post Jan 13 2009, 08:08 AM

114 posts

Glad to see peace between you ar188, and you ic-klass. Really enjoy reading your postings ... hmm, not that i enjoy seeing the war between 2 forumers, but you guys seems so knowledgeable, and i think most ppl would benefit from reading the few postings from both of you earlier ...

I had never compare a BD sources on Full HD Plasma and 42" 428 b4 ... after reading your posts, feel really like to go to shop try ask them to try for me brows.gif

Anyway, cheers
slk5538
post Jan 14 2009, 08:05 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(volcane @ Jan 13 2009, 07:18 PM)
I think of getting a Plasma but was a bit put off by the glass panel it used. I think this mainly due to my hall setup where there is light source behind me. The glossy glass front surface of a plasma screen will produce mirror-like reflections that compete with the image being displayed and this get reflected. Would like to know how your handle this?

Or should I get LCD... Thanks.  smile.gif
If you really like plasma, then try to alter your light source. If it is a window, then put up thicker curtain and etc. If you light source is not alterable (which I don't think so), then you should really consider LCD. Light reflection on Plasma screen could really add strain to your eyes.

This post has been edited by slk5538: Jan 14 2009, 08:06 AM
slk5538
post Jan 14 2009, 03:07 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(99below0 @ Jan 14 2009, 11:30 AM)
I think you should add, "an LCD with a matte screen". Many of the latest LCD TVs are coming out with reflective screens, and so will be in the same boat as a Plasma.

On a side note, I've noticed Panasonic's plasma screens deal with overhead lighting better than LCDs, which tend to wash out as their matte screens capture the light. Reflective LCD screens don't seem to have this problem but then they reflect front lighting... smile.gif

Different brands also reflect light differently (eg, LG plasmas reflect a lot more than Panny's multi-coated panels) so shop patiently and carefully. Visit many shops with different lighting environments and you will get a good idea of how the various panels handle the lighting, e.g. Tesco has very bright top-lighting, small outlets have loads of sunlight from the front, Harvey has a dim environment much like your house ambient light.

I think most of the fun in owning a widescreen is in the shopping and comparison part, so... happy shopping! ;-)
agree with you, generally, LG's plasma is more reflective than Panasonic's plasma.

slk5538
post Jan 15 2009, 08:02 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(guess19 @ Jan 14 2009, 10:10 PM)
sony lcd? i think its the best . change me
It is again depends on personal taste la ....... many ppl feels that Sony & Samsung's LCD lacks colour accuracy, Panasonic's colour is more real ..

Again it is depends on PERSONAL PREFERENCE! It is your money, if you have tested / compared most TV sets in the store and decide that you like SONY the most, then go ahead and buy it ... no need to post here and challenge ppl to change your mind la tongue.gif
slk5538
post Jan 15 2009, 01:45 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(wenhsiung @ Jan 15 2009, 09:21 AM)
Comparing side by side in the electrical shop may not give you the right lead. Reason, they could use different connecting cable, from HDMI, Component, S-video to even composite.

If you visit harvey norman, try to peek from the connection setup, you won't be surprise that they do use even composite on certain models. I saw them hooking up JVC with composite, but HDMI with samsung, pioneer with components.. etc... blush.gif

A quick guess, if particular brand didn't offer good enough incentive for the retailer, why bother pushing for them.  hmm.gif
When we said comparing the models in the store, we don't mean by just walk in the store and look at which TV gives you the PQ that suited you the most. doh.gif

One is expected to get the shop attendant there to use the same set-up (meaning same source/player, same type of cable, same settings on the sets and etc.) to compare the TV. Pay attention to the shop's lighting environment also.

Also, one is expected to bring along your notebook, or BD or DVD even the made by Jack Sparrow one (whichever is your primary source of entertainment) to get the shop to try them for you.

If the shopkeeper refuse to do that for you, then forget about that shop and you can always look for one that will do that.

After that you can decide either Plasma or LCD is to your liking, or which brand you prefered, even Haier so what? It is your money, and your TV for you to watch. No need to cares about what others think la .... and remember some ppl has less sensitive eyes than others, that is why a lot of ppl are happy with what have ... nod.gif

This post has been edited by slk5538: Jan 15 2009, 01:53 PM
slk5538
post Jan 17 2009, 08:03 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(overfloe @ Jan 16 2009, 04:34 PM)
surely the tv will look very weird!
Depends on personal taste la, and i think if we see more TV of this aspect ratio or even one day this become mainstream like the 16:9, then ppl can accept already.

I remember when SHARP introduced the 16:9 TV to the local market in the early 90's, many ppl commented the TV looks weird, and of coz, many say cool oso.
slk5538
post Jan 28 2009, 09:21 AM

114 posts

QUOTE(michaeltan1943 @ Jan 27 2009, 10:00 AM)
A few years ago, when you were a small boy in school, and could not piss straight, a 50 inch plasma was RM35,000. Today, it is RM5000.

Who would ever think it would drop from RM35K to RM5K in 5 years?

So what is stopping it from dropping to RM999?

My first basic handphone was RM4000. Today, RM80 also can get better ones.
Save the posts that were laughing at you and refer them back to what they had posted when the price of 50" drop to RM 999.

My Toshiba 34" CRT cost RM 9,000.00 15 years ago. What is the price of 34" CRT now?

slk5538
post Jan 28 2009, 03:28 PM

114 posts

QUOTE(ar188 @ Jan 28 2009, 11:40 AM)
actually, I you can find me a new toshiba 34inches CRT at RM999 I dun mind getting one..  biggrin.gif
I have to say a good 100Hz CRT still very good PQ when watching SD sources like astro/DVD etc.
oi bro, you trying to pull my leg izit? tongue.gif

You know most manufacturers do not sell 34" CRT in Malaysia anymore ba coz most ppl when going bigger screen will get LCD liaw ... You can still get 29" Toshiba CRT for less than 1k

Agreed with you, SD source is best viewed using CRT TV.

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0236sec    0.38    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 06:08 PM