4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Travel Bandung

Listiani
post Apr 5 2011, 01:28 PM

Yeah, I always stay at Progo Hotel. The owner is Pak Henry. If anybody wants his hp number can pm me.

QUOTE(rushrush @ Apr 5 2011, 01:23 PM)
Nevland,
The kind of budget that you have will get you a room at Hotel Progo, located just 250m away (or it is less?) from the Jalan Banda/Martadinata aka Riau road junction where some 5-6 FOs clustered (Heritage, Cascade, Summit, Stamp, Formen). You can't go wrong...it's the nearest hotel to the FOs!
Listiani
post Apr 5 2011, 02:24 PM

OH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I went to his shop too because of the fabric selection. A friend getting married and we went there to buy the material biggrin.gif Since we, the ladies are soooo good in selecting material, we can tell the quality by looking at the fabrics. laugh.gif

However, all hope are not lost yet. As you said, the fun part looking for good items with good price. Hubby and me went to BABE (Barang Bekas) and found new HUGO Boss jacket (out of season of course) for RM60 (can't remember the exact figure but is within that figure). ORIGINAL HUGO Boss jacket & my husband grinning from ear to ear everytime people compliment his jacket tongue.gif

QUOTE(rushrush @ Apr 5 2011, 02:10 PM)
BTW, do not expect 5 star treatment at Progo! It's a basic 50-room 3-storey hotel converted from a hostel some 15 years ago. Some of the newer rooms are on the upper floors. Hot water a bit slow due to low water pressure; and for breakfast it's better you bring your own instant noodle! But in terms of location its unbeatable! I wanted to stay there last Nov (I had stayed there once before) but was shocked when told it's fully booked for the whole of Nov, Dec 2010 and first half of Jan 2011; testimony of its popularity!
Yep! Since Bandung became popular with M'sian and S'pore tourists, not to mention those from Jakarta, prices of just about everything have gone up all the way without signs of abetting! However, for ladies looking for high quality fabrics, do visit Pasar Baru, there are many, many shops but there is one that is owned by a Japanese-Indian (Japanese Citizen of Indian ethnicity) ... yep.....a "Japind".....hard to believe but its true - I didn't believe it when my friend told me about it until when I met this guy in person. This Japind proudly boasted that nobody else in Pasar Baru can match his prices for Japanese and Korean fabrics. This guy showed me his clientele list + namecards + samples of Purchase Orders from the big Fabrics stores in KL - Gulati's, Jakel, Maya, etc.....you name it he has it.... even UMNO bought from him for their Wanita uniform! No wonder when my other half went to Jalan TAR later she confirmed prices in this guys shop is between 30-40% of those sold in KL. I won't name his shop cos I don't get paid to promote him!
For those going to FOs, beware only 30-40% of the goods are original rejects/seconds/overruns/old stocks etc. The rest are cheap imitations from China or Indonesia....but then again for me that's the fun part - trying to find the original items! For branded leather goods, 100% fakes! You are better off in Petaling Street!
This post has been edited by Listiani: Apr 5 2011, 03:21 PM
Listiani
post Apr 5 2011, 03:19 PM

Goodness!!! Same here. I went to Bandung at least 5 or 6 times a year!!!! Just for makan and shopping. Sometimes, if I miss Browniess Kukus, I fly there on Saturday morning and return on Sunday evening. biggrin.gif laugh.gif laugh.gif

Yes, we must be patient when looks for certain items. rclxms.gif

Setia Budi Seafood is new to me. Never been there yet. Should give it a try thumbup.gif

QUOTE(rushrush @ Apr 5 2011, 03:07 PM)
Listiani,
Looks like you and me have been to the same places! Hehehe..... I've been to BDG five times (heck, maybe more!) since 2008 and my wife have made it a compulsory annual shopping trip!
Like you said, all hope are not lost yet...... recently I saw on internet ..in Spore someone selling Armani Exchange T-Shirts (Made in Peru) for SGD49 ...approx RM115; he claimed these were retailing at SGD100. I bought four of those at Rumah Mode at about RM35/pce; I had bought exactly the same one before at AX store at Pavillion for RM220! And yes...all of them are "Hencho en Peru"! I almost cried.......mixed up between exasperation and happiness! Worth being the first guy at Rumah Mode that morning.....I was there at 9.30 sharp and just barged in - turned out there was a staff briefing and store only open at 9.45am.
BTW, D'Cost Seafood as Setabudi is very2 highly recommended ...... "Mutu Bintang Lima; Harga Kaki Lima" ...........its cheap and great service (They use PDA or IPOD to take orders, hows that!)
Listiani
post Apr 6 2011, 08:10 AM

Rushrush, I didn't know about certain manufacture in Malaysia until my German friend shop like mad for Adidas product in KL. I asked him Adidas is German brand why bother to shop here to which he reply, waaaaaaaay much cheaper here in Malaysia compare to Germany smile.gif

The Indonesian artist shop in Rumah Mode too. Saw Luna Maya while doing my shopping several years back. I swear if Ariel were with her, I go and terkam Ariel. Muahahahahaha!!

This post has been edited by Listiani: Apr 6 2011, 08:10 AM
Listiani
post Apr 6 2011, 01:41 PM

I never seen foreigner 'attacking' Rumah Mode before probably I always come early even before the shop open and leave 1 or 2 hours later. Must be interesting view. Heheheheheh!!

I agree. Rumah Mode is slightly expensive than other FO but I like their stuff more.

Yeah, living in KL has its advantage. I'm from Sabah but husband is KLites. My family (especially the girls. I have 5 sisters) always kirim barang if I go to Bandung. Originally I want to go Bandung next month but my husband ajak pergi Kuching. Revive our memory during our honeymoon in 2001. Hahahahahah!!

This FO in Buah Batu was mentioned in the booklet I got from Progo Hotel. Unforturnately none of the taxi driver and van driver I hire know this place. We were lost along the way. Do u have the full address and phone number is possible?? I was really pissed off with the drivers.

BTW, don't forget to go to Sehat Spa for massage. Me and hubby also love kena massage and pamper. laugh.gif

quote=rushrush,Apr 6 2011, 09:42 AM]
G'morning Listiani biggrin.gif
Gals & guys,
I wont' be surprised if you get to see famous Indonesian artists at Rumah Mode; like I said earlier the cream of Jakarta society shop there. Once when I was there, three busloads of students from an international school in JKT stop there and of all the sudden you have Arabs, Africans, Westerners, East Europeans, Japanese and ..the most beautiful of the lot...hehehe... South Americans jammed into all the spaces at Rumah Mode! And before you know it....all the best T-shirts were gone!! Another outlet where there's a strong possibility of you rubbing shoulders with celebrities is "Rich & Famous" FO near Holiday Inn, at Jalan Dago, it's purposely designed and named to attract the celebrities (pls google for interview with Perry Tristianto)

BTW one word on Rumah Mode.....price wise slightly more expensive than other FOs and they do sell fakes - e.g. Hugo Boss jackets - I saw these being sold by the kilos in Shenzhen! (Yep, not by piece or dozens but by weight!)

Listiani, I envy you senang pergi BDG cos for me it's not easy...distance (I don't live in KL), family, work commitments etc conspired to limit my trips there 1-2 a year only! Lagipun I still have not worn my Tommy Hilfiger, Ashworth and DKNY shirts from my last trip! And my wife belum habis buat baju kurung/kebaya semua 20 pasang kain beli at Pasar Baru!

Before I forgot, there is an obscure FO located at Buah Batu, south of Bandung by the name "Paberik Badjoe". I "accidentally" went there once when was I was lost - due to miscommunication with taxi driver - its located in the middle of an industrial area far from the tourist areas. Locals said its the best place in BDG to buy "sisa ekspor" because its attached to a huge textile factory! Didn't have time to properly check it out since had to leave fast due to roads around it already starting to "macet" due to factory workers streaming home. maybe its worth checking out this place.

BDG is not just purely for shopping, like Listiani mentioned,it is a good place to wind down after a hectic time at work. The scenery, dining, spas and old colonial architecture simply exudes certain charms that made many M'sian fell in love with the city. wub.gif ....(well, I have to declare I don't get paid by Bandung tourism board!!!) rolleyes.gif

[/quote]

Listiani
post Apr 7 2011, 09:23 AM

Thanks a heap Rushrush. U save my life rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

QUOTE(rushrush @ Apr 6 2011, 02:39 PM)
Listiani,
Info on Paberik Badjoe: Please check this link for the review on this place:-
http://mignonesia.blogspot.com/2011/03/ano...in-bandung.html
Jalan Soekarno-Hatta Nomor 571, Bandung, West Java 40212Jl. near Buah Batu-Samsat junction?
Listiani
post Apr 25 2011, 09:32 AM

Bandung still a shopping place. The only think that u must have sharp eyes and patience. U must browse slowly. Your patience will pay off biggrin.gif

QUOTE(ryl @ Apr 25 2011, 09:29 AM)
So basically Bandung has nothing much to offer anymore? I wasnt expecting a branded t shirt for a price of RM15-20 range. But probably something which has a brand in it and reasonably priced at RM30-40.  And besides traveling by airplanes to Bali, will there be any other convenient mode of transportation from Bandung to Bali? And lastly, do you have any recommendations on the tour guide? Shall we go by personal contact or private companies? Thanks.  smile.gif
Listiani
post Apr 25 2011, 09:57 AM

Not all brand are imitation. If you know where to go, u will find branded item with lower price compare to what we have in Malaysia.

QUOTE(b3ta @ Apr 25 2011, 09:46 AM)
honestly if u go to bandung for cheap branded (imitation?) goods ur missing out on why bandung is known as a fashion district in indonesia
Listiani
post May 17 2011, 08:29 PM

You can call Pak Yanto. HP +xxxxxxxxxx9. He speak good English as he normally handle foreign tourists.

QUOTE(tyj82 @ May 17 2011, 03:14 PM)
I going bandung next week...
din book hotel yet..

What is good one to recommend ? Current have in mind
1. Novotel
2. Sukajadi
3. Amaris Chimanuk very budget

I also need a driver anyone can pm me a recomended driver speaks english
This post has been edited by Listiani: May 18 2011, 11:24 AM
Listiani
post May 20 2011, 10:28 PM

Driving in Bali and Bandung are different. I don't it is a good idea to self drive in Bandung. If u think driver in KL is crazy, Bandung is crazier. I normally self drive if I travel but not in Bandung. I am not up to take the challenge driving in Bandung biggrin.gif

QUOTE(halftothemax @ May 20 2011, 05:28 PM)
-self driving in bandung-

hi guys,

im going to bandung for a week on coming July. Going with 3 of my fren
I'm planning to rent a car and drive it by my self like a did in Bali.

Have anyone done this before?
i think the heavy traffic is not a problem for me, last time, everyone keep telling me how hectic the traffic at Bali, yet i still drive comfortably to any of my desired location. Thanks to bro stimix for helping me setting up my nokia-garmin gps with indonesia map smile.gif

Stimix: i dont have to download any indonesia map anymore right? can just use existing indonesia map that i used in Bali last year?
Listiani
post May 24 2011, 08:38 AM

I couldn't agree more. I prefer Amanda than Kartika Sari. thumbup.gif

QUOTE(aliqueamyrei @ May 23 2011, 05:11 PM)
I went to Bandung from 2 - 6 May. Cowboy stail. No tourist guide. Just randomly ask people how to go and which angkut to take. 5 days is not enough for me and my wife to shopping. We don't even have time to go to Tangkuban Parahu or Kawah Putih.

During 5 days, we went to Pasar Baru to buy some Jubah and kain. The jap cotton and viscose is so damn cheap. My wife shop like crazy. Dun remember how many millions she burn.

Then we went to Paris Van Java because some locals told us the environment is nice during night. The stuff selling there is quite expensive.

The best shopping spree for me is at Jln Trunojaya. Distro heaven. Even my wife also suddenly fall in love with those distro brand. I grab a few unkl347, screamous, trident and neps. Got great discount + voucher which can be redeemed on the dot.

Later we went to Rumah Mode for another shopping spree before take off.

About the food, we only buy from the stall. Nasi Goreng biasa already so delicious. Then we try alpukat (tak sedap), bakso, batagor (addicted), pecel lele and nasi uduk. The bakso is so big.

For those who want to try the brownies, I suggest to go for Amanda instead of Kartika Sari. I think Amanda is more deli than Kartika Sari. Tasted and confirmed by me and my wife. Yours I dunno. We bought 4 Kartika and 3 Amanda for our relatives and friends.

When we arrived at LCCT, Kastam hold us for baggage inspection after we told them we just back from Bandung. They ask for receipt but I told them I left it at hotel. Then they asked whether the price of total items exceed RM1000 or not. We just say nope and they let us go. Phew..

We plan to go again next year..perhaps for business purpose..
Hee..

Added on May 23, 2011, 5:20 pm

Just use angkut bro. Much cheaper. Use taxi or supir if u want to go for sight seeing at Tangkuban or Kawah Putih. Me and wife use angkut to go from Ciwalk - Pasar Baru - PVJ - Rumah Mode - Jln Trunojaya. Yeah u will get so damn tired carrying you shopping stuff but it is fun!
Listiani
post May 29 2011, 09:52 AM

Got. Ciater. If you go to Tangkuban Perahu, you can stop at Ciater hot spring on the way down back to the city.

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ May 29 2011, 12:14 AM)
bandung got hot spring?
Listiani
post May 29 2011, 07:19 PM

I don't remember if got hotel or not because normally we went them for day trip after Tangkuban Perahu. The place is not big so I don't see the need to overnite in that area. But on the way to Tangkuban Perahu got hotels. At nite that place is very cold like Genting Highland or Cameron Highland.

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ May 29 2011, 05:30 PM)
ah ic.. they have hot spring hotel? can stay there? or only go n see see , use, then leave?
Listiani
post May 30 2011, 08:17 AM

No, the hot spring is like in Ranau Hotspring in Kota Kinabalu National Park. You can take your bath or soak your feet. The place is not very big.

QUOTE(AngelLingLing @ May 29 2011, 11:24 PM)
ah icic~ means not like those taiwan/japan style type?
Listiani
post Jun 27 2011, 10:43 PM

FO are aplenty in Bandung. It depend which FO do u want to go. For me, I prefer FO in Jln Riau and Rumah Mode.

QUOTE(Burger2 @ Jun 27 2011, 10:27 PM)
Hi, this will be my first time to Bandung next month, had booked the hotel - The Majesty, wondering how far it takes to go to those FO area?

Listiani
post Jun 28 2011, 08:00 AM

We did. Pls browse the thread.

QUOTE(Sh@rty 5 @ Jun 28 2011, 02:27 AM)
tongue.gif  time to share some valuable info on prices of products in FO?  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Listiani
post Jun 28 2011, 09:16 AM

Majesty hotel far from the city. Located North Bandung.Near Pasteur toll plaza. Unfortunately your hotel is further out from the city and near to the exit to highway to Jakarta. To reach Majesty hotel is very jam ler. rclxub.gif

Rumah Mode located at Jln Setiabudi. FO in Jln Riau area are Heritage, Cascade, Secret, Terminal Tas and many more. I couldn't remember all coz too many tongue.gif My favourte is Secret and Heritage.

QUOTE(Burger2 @ Jun 28 2011, 08:30 AM)
Thanks Listiati. Say i would like to go to the FO in Jalan Riau and Rumah Mode, any idea how far it takes from The Majesty hotel to the both FOs?
Listiani
post Jun 28 2011, 12:19 PM

Clothes for women and men. Shoes, bags. Stuff like that. Different FO carry diffirent brand and fashion of course. My recommendation is Rumah Mode, Secret and Heritage.

QUOTE(zaff1984 @ Jun 28 2011, 11:12 AM)
luxury brand? can you explain more stimix..? its original?
im aware that there are alot of FO, are they mostly sell the same thing?
Listiani
post Jun 28 2011, 01:06 PM

Brader stimix, Bandung is not as cheap like before. I remember the first time I came to Bandung when AA open the route, I nearly pengsan at every FO coz it was dirt cheap. Now, so so lah. But still, I like to buy woman's pyjama in Heritage. Everywhere in KL I won't get that pyjama for RM15 1 pair. At least RM30-RM40.

QUOTE(stimix @ Jun 28 2011, 12:29 PM)
Yeah diff FO selling diff brands and some famous brand repeated lor..Infact beside Rumah Mide, there is one selling mixed brands + Indonesian own brands. The indonesian version indeed cheaper but not as cheap as I expected.

Original- No idea, looks more like replica AAA to me haha. But I saw some of the brands also available here in our own FOS.. well..slightly cheaper in Bandung lor but not much..So instead of Bandung, You can get some of the rejected goods from our FOS or Reject shops too ..well lack of brand lah haha
Listiani
post Jun 29 2011, 10:39 PM

Majesty Hotel very far from the city. Located near Tol Pasteur (exit to highway to Jakarta). To go the Bandung town takes sometimes because of jam not 12 minutes. You shud hire driver and car to bring u around for shopping.

QUOTE(Burger2 @ Jun 29 2011, 08:14 PM)
Hi all,

Need your advise here...

I will be staying in The Majesty Hotel in Bandung, according to their website, it is like very close to the airport, and 12 minutes to the down? Is that true? My main purpose of travelling to Bandung is only shopping, no sight seeing, do you think it is worth to hire driver? or just take taxi?

Thanks...

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0199sec    0.67    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 06:02 PM