cherroy
post Sep 7 2008, 09:57 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Sep 7 2008, 12:40 AM)
brows.gif Earning money via trading is most stressful. I believe i have many white hairs now.  icon_question.gif

Seriously, you guys should take a look at FKLI.

GO to your brokerage, ask questions, attend education seminars. You will find the futures market here one of the ways to make kopi lui.

Be careful though, don't overtrade and have big positions.

Maybe we should a new thread of Futures market and derivatives (CPO)

What ya think master cherroy?
We had those thread already. Just less people interested in it. Also I don't recommend to newbie (specifically not familiar with futures market) and those can't absorb the risk of it. It can be very risky game if not know how to manage it.

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/494353/+40
http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/602533/+60
cherroy
post Sep 8 2008, 10:33 AM

25,802 posts

I can't get into the futures market qoutation on both investment house online website, it is another break down occurs on futures market Again? doh.gif
cherroy
post Sep 8 2008, 10:38 AM

25,802 posts

Thanks feralee. notworthy.gif

May be recent of few days heavy rain causing the server catching cold again. doh.gif sweat.gif

Added on September 8, 2008, 10:41 amToday all up kau kau, deep green around the global, (due to bailout plan of Fannie and Freddie, might be a short term event, don't overly bullish, short term wise market can up several hundred points, no problem but long term issue still remain unknown), KLSE might be the one will end in flat or red as well, by seeing the volume and trading pattern. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 8 2008, 10:41 AM
cherroy
post Sep 8 2008, 12:49 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(skiddtrader @ Sep 8 2008, 11:46 AM)
Hmmm Cheeroy, what's up with the ratings? I just noticed it. Anyway, I rated you Good, but no effect also?  blink.gif
Still under beta stage as Pana pointed out. smile.gif

Added on September 8, 2008, 12:50 pm
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 8 2008, 11:54 AM)
bila wan to naik kapal?  brows.gif
Hurricane is coming in fast and furious, the sea out there is rough at the moment. So becareful. Hehe. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 8 2008, 12:50 PM
cherroy
post Sep 8 2008, 02:39 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(panasonic88 @ Sep 8 2008, 02:23 PM)
omg captain, the ship is sinking!
Captain stays in land, not on board yet. haha biggrin.gif

Added on September 8, 2008, 2:45 pmFinally Futures market re-open. This year don't know how many times already futures market break down, loss count already. doh.gif

This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 8 2008, 02:45 PM
cherroy
post Sep 9 2008, 11:06 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sharesa @ Sep 9 2008, 10:41 AM)
yesterday BNM's intervention lead our currency to 3.41.
Today, back to 3.457.
I don't think its a good idea to use up reserves to prop up the currency at this point of time. They should wait & see in medium-term.
Yesterday is not BNM intervention but a broad based dropping of USD due to Fannie and Freddie bailout. But USD on strength again today. I don't think current USD rebounding is due to better US economy ahead but rather a massive shift of fund around the globe due to deleveraging and unwinding of carry trade.

FYI, BNM lastest foreign currency reserves stood at 122 billion USD equivalent Rm400 billion.
Generally it is not advisable to any central banks to intervene, market will correct themselves, most of the time intervention won't have a great effect or minimal effect Except HK whom managed to fence off the hedge funds and speculators back 1997 crisis time

Malaysia has already rack up the foreign currency reserves since 1997 crisis due to constantly trade surplus.

I just want to add few point,
A weaker currency never a good sign of strong economy. A country economy strength is from both export and internal demand. In fact, internal demand is always the key of health of economy. The more export the more income of the domestic economy which eventually transform into a better domestic economy ot internal demand. If export is flourishing but internal demand is weak, then there is something wrong in between already. (That's the main problem Malaysia is facing)
In fact if a country can self sustained, then export is not an important aspect. You produce your own foods, own product, you consume within and self sustained also can be a dynamic economy (typically like US), internal economy is the one the matter the most, not its export. Export is like icing on the cake. Just extreme illustration point (I knew in current globalisation, export and trade also an important part. Economy is always about flow of money in the between.

If one country is constantly relied on weaker currency to export, it is similar for company out there that always relied on selling cheaper goods compared to other in order to drive the sales. Instead company should focus on to have better value on the product itself. Price war (weaker currency) never end and it will hurt your bottom line over the long term. You must create a value added product which people willing to buy over you compared to competitors even though price is slighly higher.
The analogy is same as buying electrical appliance. A xyz brand tv from China the sell at 1,000, a Sony TV sells at 1,200. No doubt, xyz still sellable, but the Sony TV won't lack of buyers either. So you can always relied on xyz cheapo brand to drive you sales, because to replace a xyz brand, it is easy for someone to come out another one. But to beat down Sony, then competitors will have hard time to do it.

Instead, what Malaysia needs to transform is to increase productivity and changing into high value added industry to transform into a better economy. Solely always relied on weaker currency to drive export won't be good for long term. As weaker currency means higher inflatoin, lower internal purchasing power for Malaysian.

Just my 2 cents.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 9 2008, 11:27 AM
cherroy
post Sep 9 2008, 11:36 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(kinwawa @ Sep 9 2008, 11:17 AM)
good job Cherroy as always! back to stock market discussion pls wink.gif

"lack of internal demand" ...this is wat US is facing rite now isn't it?

"Instead, what Malaysia needs to transform is to increase productivity and changing into high value added industry to transform into a better economy"- this is for m'sia to move forward rite? instead of being just a mere 'manufacturer'??? V need Steve Jobs here!
The problem US currently facing is not lack of internal demand, but lack of money to spend on it, tongue.gif due to credit crisis aka banks reluctantly to lend while reduce their balance sheet size.
FYI, US people has negative saving rate, while Malaysia has more than 35% saving rate. So basically different scenario, different problem to tackle.

We don't need Steve Jobs, Japan, Hk and Singapore is the leading example how you transform the economy.

I don't want to drag into political stuff, better stay within scope of finance. Just like we said political instability now, so lead to lower stock market and economy outlook. So with that poor outlook, then we make a decision on out investment target either to invest in US or other currency etc. That's all.
Don't need to comment what is wrong on political side, as this thread is always about $$.

Cheers.

cherroy
post Sep 9 2008, 11:49 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(sharesa @ Sep 9 2008, 11:34 AM)
But Cherroy, what I understand is , since our currency was unpegged, Bank Negara has been doing monitoring of our currency as well as keep it in check, so that it is not out of line with regional currencies. That means intervene on their part.
As for yesterday's strengthening of Ringgit, it should have been opposite way because the news of rescueing Fannie/Freddie case attract investors buying USD for hope of bit of economy recovery. So, there might be some sort of intervention otherwise it may drop to > 3.50.
As for today, crude oil continue dropping, investors still believe the rescue plan is workable, USD continue strengthening.
Juz my opinion.
Currency is unpegged but not freely trade. RM still can't be traded in overseas freely, still have some control and restriction.
BNM intervention should always keep in small scale, and not to interfere the market movement. Intervention by central banks always have in the market, to prevent speculators taking advatange or manipulation.
Just what I mentioned yesterday significant rise of RM/USD is because of global event, rather than intervention by BNM to prop up the RM.

It depends on how you look on the bailout plan. USD should fall with the plan. With the bailout, US gov needs to raise more than 200 billions and potential more to support the business of both. So more money need to be borrowed from overseas in term of T-bill or print more money. So with the basic of supply and demand it should fall.

But USD is on the way up trend for the last month or so already, due to deleveraging and unwinding carry trade around the globe. There is no coincidence, Yen rising, USD rising while emerging equities market and high yield currency being down so sharply, it means money is flowing in risk aversion side after commodities bubble delfated.
cherroy
post Sep 9 2008, 02:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(tkwfriend @ Sep 9 2008, 12:05 PM)
i just came across in journal of economic. it say malaysia grow are usually depend on stock market. so if stock market do badly mean that not much people having extra money.

now my question is when is the right time to do business? if a cafe businss in food will it able to sell well? what is the first industries will affacted?

heavy industrie
F&B
bank
and the list go on.

i just came out some stupid thinking, will china one day close it market again for certain period and after reopen again? this something telling me something
It is the other way, because stock market will react ahead of economy about 6 months to 1 years ahead aka what you see on the current what stock market is something they want to tell you that the economy situation down 6 months or more down the road.

Economy doesn't depend on stock market to grow, but stock market is depended on economy to move.
cherroy
post Sep 9 2008, 03:17 PM

25,802 posts

Just to share information,

Lastest IPO (Vastalux, O&G related) going to list next week, its IPO is only being subscribed 5%, 95% remaining, no taker! Underwriters need to take it all up sweat.gif
cherroy
post Sep 9 2008, 03:51 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(lklatmy @ Sep 9 2008, 03:44 PM)
Underwriter jiak ka liao,may push up to distribute leh! biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Underwriters become major shareholders of company. tongue.gif biggrin.gif
cherroy
post Sep 11 2008, 10:35 AM

25,802 posts

Here we go for the 3 digit. whistling.gif
2 years of upside bull run now down into the drain for KLCI. yawn.gif

Global equities market still under pressure after Lehman report.

cherroy
post Sep 11 2008, 10:56 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Sep 11 2008, 10:37 AM)
LOL! You should see all the remiser here Cherroy, all pergi minum kopi at 10 am.

Norm only mah yawn.gif
That's why they proposed to shorten trading time.

If in office, you will see many playing games as well. May be can play some LAN games together also. Hehe. biggrin.gif
cherroy
post Sep 11 2008, 11:04 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(fergie1100 @ Sep 11 2008, 10:55 AM)
erm.... still dun understand on the whole procedure & how can some1 make $$ in FKLI  tongue.gif
let's say 2day is 11th Sept.....  u short 1033 on tomorrow? & what's Bid/ask? tongue.gif sorry ya? dun understand how a future contract works....
btw, PANAMY suspended 2day?
No lah, just no transaction.

The trading is identical to normal shares, but futures contract will be expired at the end of their month. So September contract will be traded until the last day of the September then it will expire and settled which you make the differentiate of it.
cherroy
post Sep 11 2008, 11:30 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(fergie1100 @ Sep 11 2008, 11:23 AM)
today is 11th wor.... how can u short something in the past?
so let's say if u are not able to buy back at the price lower than 1033, u'll make loss?

Guys, thanks for the explanation.....tongue.gif my remisier dun have patience explaining all these to me tongue.gif
September is current spot month, it will be traded until 31st September. Then expired and settled (settlement price is based on last half hours of average price based on cash market (KLCI).

Yes, trading is about making money through differentiate in price.

cherroy
post Sep 11 2008, 11:43 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(DJWC @ Sep 11 2008, 11:39 AM)

Just curious to know more about the FKLI.
  Let us say that end of september the KLCI is 1010 points. If u buy 1 lot of contract in FKLI at 1030 points. How much have u made from there ? Are they looking at the cash market to do the calculation or vice versa ?

Second, What is long and short ? Any given example,I'm just a noob.  laugh.gif
Then you lose 20 points.

1 point = Rm50 so you lose 1K + commission (commission is Rm25 per transaction, settlement fee = RM1)

So total loss = Rm1,026

Yes cash market is the settlement target, by using last half hour of average. There is specific FKLI thread which can google upon the details.

Long = buy first
Short = sell first

cherroy
post Sep 11 2008, 03:40 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Sep 11 2008, 03:24 PM)
Yalor, i thought can go down 1030. SIGH... cry.gif
Rescue team arrived, should have temporarily support and technical rebound. Can't straight away go down 1,000 without any bounce mah.
cherroy
post Sep 11 2008, 04:08 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(ts1 @ Sep 11 2008, 04:02 PM)
Eventually those money r belongs to us la..this EPF has been supporting IOI n related counters dun knw loss how much aldy
Probably, they are supporting Sime at the moment. whistling.gif
cherroy
post Sep 12 2008, 11:14 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(AdamG1981 @ Sep 12 2008, 09:36 AM)
The risk is significant in derivatives but many investors that i know personally do not have the necessary risk management. To make money in FKLI, one must have strict discipline and not be too greedy. I know some investors would like to hold & hold till they make multiple points profit. Due to the futures volatility nature, take the profit from the table. Even if you make RM 200 a day, 20 trading days will equal RM 4000, which is more than what our current undergrads or junior staff is making.

I do understand your situation on overnight positions but that's the entire reason why sometimes i am relunctant to keep my positions open overnight due to DJIA volatilty.

Recently, FKLI rallied to 1095, the day budget was released. If we were to short after the budget release, we would have made 60 points X number of lots.

Hence my current strategy is to wait for FKLI to rally 50-60 points, and then i will short 2-3 lots. Due to the anemic volume, there's no way, KLCI can sustain a meaningful rebound.
AdamG1981,

I knew what you are trying to say. But this statement can give a wrong illustration to those newbie to think making money is easy which might lead them to forget the risk behind of it. smile.gif

No one is perfect in the market, once stumble into it or market goes against unpredictably then it might as well Rm4000 loss as well. While working class surely can get few K in the end of the month, while for full time traders if one is not well capitalised then, one might struggle to pay the their monthly bill if market condition is not favourable to them.
It is all about $$. Without $$, it is like a gun without bullets, useless.

Most norm people out there are not good in managing the risk and highly discipline on it aka they know how to make profit but don't know how to cut loss in trading which can lead to 'deep hole'. Instead they bet more on it when market goes against them, in the hope of averaging down and 'revenge' (emotional weakness/mistake) which is a big big mistake in term of trading.

No offence, just have been involved in market for long time, and had seen many example and human mistake.

There are a handful of succesful traders in the market, but there are 12303 number of failed traders as well.

Don't mean one can't be full time or professional traders, but just to remind the risk involved and remind on especially newbie in the market to prevent them to think it is wasy to make money in the market.

Just my 2 cents.

This post has been edited by cherroy: Sep 12 2008, 11:15 AM
cherroy
post Sep 12 2008, 01:58 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(haksam @ Sep 12 2008, 01:27 PM)
May i know hangus in sense of?
Just like you fried a mee goreng. You pour in mee ($$), sauce ($$), then wok fire too big until your mee ($$) become hangus instead become tasty (making profit in term of $$). So nobody want to eat now. biggrin.gif

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0424sec    1.59    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 12:48 PM