4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Bottom

Air Cooling Discussion Thread V3, Database, FAQ, Guides and Discussion!

ham_revilo
post Apr 16 2009, 08:17 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Apr 16 2009, 04:06 PM)
got all 3 of them for RM170... abit cheaper tongue.gif

Gotta say, it was a challenge trying to figure out how the hell do you even attach the fans... even after looking at the instruction sheet.
Took me 30 mins and a few cuts of the fins on my fingers before I figured out the rubber vibration dampener thingie had a slit in the middle to fit into a fin, and then boom, I figured out how to do it xD Real challenging and fun =D

Gotta test my new mobo+processor once my Vista download is complete tongue.gif
the rubber part is a lil difficult to install during first time only. and if you regularly take it off and on, it would be alot easier as the rubber will become more elastic. other than that, everything is quite easy. with the SS kit, i feel the RS is easier to mount compared to intel ori hsf laugh.gif

anyway share some result once your rig is ready brows.gif

ham_revilo
post Apr 17 2009, 04:53 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Apr 17 2009, 04:10 PM)
Hmm, preliminary playing around with my new E8400 @ 3.0Ghz (No OC) with Xigmatek Red Scorpion, TX-2 TIM:
38c Idle
45c Gaming (WoW)
58c Intel Stress Test x 10 repetitions
Is that normal? or high? xD

But what actually alarms me more is the 'systems' temperature sensor is showing me 50c.

Not gonna do an actual real more 'scientific' tests until I'm sure everything in the computer is actually working properly o.O (Hence no proper formatting and screenshots and whatnot as in post #1)
i would say quite normal. air-cond room? my result is quite similar. with lower idle temp but load temp using IBT is around 55-60c smile.gif

if you were to compared with intel hsf, the difference would be like 10-15c tongue.gif

ham_revilo
post Apr 17 2009, 05:51 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(Hikaru @ Apr 17 2009, 05:43 PM)
but yours is OC'ed @ 3.6Ghz while mine is stock speed @ 3.0Ghz
Non air cond room. In fact, a very hot room with 1 fan only x.x
nope.... those temp is stock. what im running now... but now, it shows higher slightly due to the dust in my hsf. its been a long time since cleaning my rig sweat.gif

ham_revilo
post Apr 18 2009, 04:42 AM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(Protester @ Apr 17 2009, 06:19 PM)
My Gcube 3870 goes 95c playing l4d. damn
easiest way to reduce the temp is to replace the TIM with TX2 brows.gif

ham_revilo
post Apr 18 2009, 05:32 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(Protester @ Apr 18 2009, 06:09 AM)
Really?. but i never remove a gc heatsink b4.
removing gc heatsink is very easy. unscrew some of those screws only. no hook or anything. the best part is, when you remove it, you feel that your card is like a cheapo card coz you will see that it is just a piece of pcb with a core on it tongue.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(deejay220989 @ Apr 18 2009, 09:56 AM)
What about 8800GT? My 8800GT went up to 75C when playing The Last Remnant ><

ThermalRight HR-03 Plus is one good heatsink..but pricey and take up alot of space after installing a fan..
not sure how expensive is HR03 is but i think xigmatek battle axe should be able to do the job and iinm its not really expensive too smile.gif

ham_revilo
post Apr 19 2009, 12:20 AM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(atomik @ Apr 18 2009, 09:29 PM)
wc kit like mine (h20 compact swiftech) is differs by 2-6c depends on ambient with TRUE..

better stick with 120 extreme or prolimatech megahalems..

the ex engineer of TR and the pirce rm29X.XX..

prolimatech megahalems beat the TRUE 120..

here the review
no offense bro, i dont really trust benchmark review's review. before this, i read some of their coolers review and there are quite alot of them are bias. in fact, alot of review over the internet are bias. anyway from the review, the difference are only around 2-3c. so, i think its quite debatable.

ham_revilo
post Apr 19 2009, 04:27 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Apr 19 2009, 02:12 AM)
Hey guys, been thinking... to either buy Xigmatek RS S1283 or Xigmatek  archilles S1284. i have compared the frostytech's review between this two.. seems the S1283 is better with low and high fan temps. But im not sure whether it's under load or idle temps.

Which one will hold the temp better for load temps? Some coolers are good with keep the temp low during idle, but when load it goes skyhigh.. so i dare not just to look at idle temps cooling.

the S1284 has 4 heat pipes while S1283 has 3 heatpipes.. but reviews state that the S1283 wins the S1284 by 2~3 C... so... i need help here..

if you are comparing RS and archilles, my advise is go for RS. it perform better than S1284 and its cheaper too smile.gif

ham_revilo
post Apr 20 2009, 12:50 AM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Apr 19 2009, 04:42 PM)
i see.. so now i see the point of Xigmatek putting a fourth heatpipe to the S1284 is total crap..? haha..

if im not comparing these two, i suppose u will adding a CCF for comparison? LoL...
imo, the whole S1284 is more like a cosmetic cooler. nice on the outside poor in the inside tongue.gif

but if you are using an AMD rig, then S1284 might be suitable. the extra pipe will benefit AMD proc as their procs has larger surface area smile.gif

CCF on the other hand is a good cooler but then not all mobo can support it.

but if you have the extra budget, like protester said, get TRUE. you dont need doubt the performance for the time being
ham_revilo
post Apr 20 2009, 11:46 AM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(Protester @ Apr 20 2009, 01:10 AM)
you sold me CCF and now u say i'm saying it right vmad.gif
you also didnt ask me to recommend you what cooler tongue.gif sell of your CCF and get TRUE lo whistling.gif laugh.gif

QUOTE(derek87 @ Apr 20 2009, 08:48 AM)
That extra budget is not worth it for what im using it with.. LOL... i see... cosmetics.. haha.. Im also afraid getting a CCF... coz it's so dxmn huge... im afraid that i'll have problem having the HSF hitting on my NB and my rams... lol.. even if my current mobo can support it, in the future, i'll still need to purposely buy a mobo which can support, it's like im getting tied down by the HSF already.. lol..
hahaha.... im sure u will be changing to TRUE soon?  tongue.gif

btw, which TRUE is good? i saw there are a few thou..i din really bother to look at it, coz the prices are shining too brightly.haha.. correct me if im wrong..
there is actually 3 kind of TRUE. the normal version aka ThermaRight Ultra Extreme, TRUE copper which the whole HSF is fully Copper, and TRUE black. imo, just get the normal TRUE. copper TRUE is damn expensive and that goes with black. get true and do push pull config then it will pawn most air coolers and results might be even close to some WC setups brows.gif

TRUE normal

True Black

True Copper

This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Apr 20 2009, 11:50 AM
ham_revilo
post Apr 20 2009, 01:55 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(hilmiangah @ Apr 20 2009, 01:24 PM)
but those Transformers cooler is threatening the TRUE to fight for no.1 air cooler on 1366 platform.
which transfomers cooler you talking about? did you meant V10 hmm.gif brows.gif

ham_revilo
post Apr 20 2009, 04:14 PM

I
6,583 posts

i see... megahalems looks promising but im still waiting for more reviews on it. currently there isnt much review about this cooler on the net smile.gif

from current reviews, the temp difference between this with TRUE is quite close. nothing more than 5c.
ham_revilo
post Apr 20 2009, 07:58 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Apr 20 2009, 07:02 PM)
I noticed TRUE doesnt have HDT, hmm... i thought HDT is better due to the DIRECT HEAT Transfer? haha...

anyway, how much is a TRUE normal? u're making me itchy of adding up my budget to get a TRUE. LOL...

TRUE COPPER IS WAY TOO HEAVY IMO....... ><!!! i read some reviews about it... it doesnt live up to the hype ppl gave. Not sure about how true the reviews are..
yeah, HDT concept is better but still there is alot more aspect on how a cooler perform smile.gif it could be the fluid inside the heat pipe or the design of the fins and etc. imo, RS's HDT works very efficiently on lower clock where the temp is not that high. but when it comes to higher clock where your proc temp is very high, thats the point RS fail to perform. and of course that is base on my personal experience. other might have their own POV smile.gif

QUOTE(derek87 @ Apr 20 2009, 07:44 PM)
even the normal one is so expensive.. oh oh my... haha.... really have to think twice. If u were me, which will u choose? RS S1283 or TRUE? lol... btw im gonna use it on a QX6800 clocked 3.5~3.6ghz running 24/7...  my TT beetle cant withstand the heat from QX6800 after OC, or else i wont be changing my cooler.. lol...
its a easy question though. firstly, ask yourself this question:

if you can answer that, then i thiink all the other question can be solve. and take note that, TRUE doesnt come with fan so you need to buy another fan for it

but for me, i think RS would be just fine for me. but you are on quad so expect to hit around 40c on idle tongue.gif
ham_revilo
post Apr 20 2009, 09:01 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Apr 20 2009, 08:18 PM)
yeah im willing to spend RM2XX for a cooler IF it's really better than RS which is a RM130+ (rockrock) cooler.

lets say, QX6800 @ 3.6ghz.

RS runs at 40C idle 60 load

then TRUE runs at 38C idle 55C load.. i will definitely choose TRUE. haha...

my question is, is that EXTRA RM100 worth the performance i get from TRUE?

For eg, im a photog too.
a normal 70-300mm lens costs around RM700
a professional 70-200mm lens costs around RM2000

the normal one has longer zoom than the proff one, but picture quality wise the proff one is FAR more superior than the normal one. That extra RM1300 is worth the price/performance i get.. but IF the proff lens is JUST a tad bit better, then no point spending that extra RM1300 on that lil bit of extra performance.

i dun want to touch on water cooling though, i know it's better. but all the hassle for it.. Nah.. forget about it..

btw, the cooler im using now was built for the P4 age. i tried running QX6800 @ 3ghz, and temp was 47C++ idle and IBT load shows a 75C / prime95 shows 70C+ on load.. crazy isnt it? haha...
then in your case, i think TRUE fits you better since you are willing to spend more for performance. i seen before, TRUE beating RS around 3-5c. i heard, TRUE will do even better on higher temp. and with pull push config on TRUE, it will almost pawn WC brows.gif i heard from some forummer that the results are almost the same biggrin.gif

even bro BigSaver said its on par with his ALC. and ALC is around RM600-800 iirc (not sure whats the price now)

QUOTE(atomik @ Apr 20 2009, 08:37 PM)
@derek87

why not click here

hopefully can save ur pocket moneh ..
S1284 actually doesnt really perform that good bro. i have seen how it performs and for that price i would say its not worth buying. even RS is better smile.gif

ham_revilo
post Apr 20 2009, 09:06 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Apr 20 2009, 09:03 PM)
so the normal TRUE will do enough justice? I dun need to get the copper or extreme one right?
normal TRUE is Extreme nod.gif the full name is "ThermalRight Ultra Extreme". Hence, the name TRUE. the old one is 120 Ultra which has lesser pipe smile.gif

and yes, TRUE is good enough. and get yourself 2 good fans then you will see your TRUE rocking your proc laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Apr 20 2009, 09:07 PM
ham_revilo
post Apr 20 2009, 09:11 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(derek87 @ Apr 20 2009, 09:07 PM)
btw, prolima megahalems is selling for 89AUD in aussie which is RM231. How much is it selling over here?

http://www.pccasegear.com/index.php?main_p...oducts_id=11125

i dun mind putting that into one of my options. tongue.gif
from what i seen so far, the performance is on par with TRUE. difference of 2-3c only. but still, its new so not much review on it too. waiting for ppl here to review brows.gif

just found out CEX selling at RM295.

http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...0&hl=megahalems

Added on April 20, 2009, 9:15 pm@derek

go here so that you dont get confuse tongue.gif laugh.gif

http://www.thermalright.com/new_a_page/pro...ooler_1366.html

This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Apr 20 2009, 09:15 PM
ham_revilo
post Apr 20 2009, 09:21 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(BigSaver @ Apr 20 2009, 09:16 PM)
ALC i order from caerllun USA bulk coz me rm400 only..huhu..i tot can beat my true..but..aiseh..on par..maybe ill try on my PII setup comings soon.
QUOTE(derek87 @ Apr 20 2009, 09:18 PM)
woah! RM295.. that's way too much.. im guessing they couldnt get direct order from prolima.. Australia is already selling things at higher prices than malaysia.. lol...

thanks for the link.
since both of you are thinking of changing coolers, hurry get the transformer and do a review here at lyn brows.gif

now im starting to poison myself doh.gif laugh.gif

This post has been edited by ham_revilo: Apr 20 2009, 09:22 PM
ham_revilo
post Apr 21 2009, 02:09 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(jcyl2 @ Apr 21 2009, 02:00 PM)
jus asking.. with the price of rm200+, got recommendation of a good fansink cooler?? my proc q9550 burning hot la..
i was thinking of cooler master v8.. isit good?? got any better with the same price??
since you are willing to spend RM200++ then i would say, go for TRUE. should be around RM250-260 iirc.

if not, xigmatek RS also would be okay. price is around RM130-150. remember to get a TX2 too.

last choice would be CCF that, if your mobo can support smile.gif

ham_revilo
post Apr 22 2009, 05:56 PM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(Protester @ Apr 22 2009, 04:46 PM)
BUMP for the guy above^.

btw, i is few alittle sapraising when i got nbtd and change my Gcube 3870 TIM to TX2. reduce 3-5c. now idle @ 51-55. ambient is kinda warm. Normally 57-59 idle. I believe it can be better if proper application of TIM is done. But since the gpu core like barton , small IHS. kinda hard for me to apply TIM.
i told ya tongue.gif laugh.gif

anyway the chip is small so just a small dot of TX2 will do. and a very good improvement from your result thumbup.gif

ham_revilo
post Apr 23 2009, 01:36 AM

I
6,583 posts

QUOTE(jcyl2 @ Apr 22 2009, 10:18 PM)
ic.. okay.. will visit tat shop again..
went there today.. alot things out of stock.. @_@
so did you manage to get your TX2? if not i think i can help you but that require postage if you dont mind laugh.gif tongue.gif

ham_revilo
post Apr 23 2009, 02:31 PM

I
6,583 posts

can show pictar here? but if its a normal ATX casing then it shouldnt be a problem smile.gif

4 Pages < 1 2 3 4 >Top

0.0314sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 02:43 AM