70 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Bottom

Nokia Nokia N79, Nseries with style and features

knuckleballer
post Nov 15 2008, 02:19 AM

♥ Ferrari ♥
2,156 posts

yeahh. agree. if got xenon , sure take d. but nokia music still cant beat sony quality. sighs. can hear the big diff in my speakers. tak syok
myf76
post Nov 15 2008, 09:18 AM

For gps, if only use the basic maps, the street view for malaysia may have been pre loaded in my set, so no data download. except for satellite imaging, must download data.

In my package, nokia give 2 free n-gage games, one serial for activating one of the pre-installed n-gage game in the phone, and one serial for downloading star wars game and activate the game.

QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 14 2008, 10:32 AM)
ok since i only got this phone late afternoon, i still havent figure out yet what everything does so I will give you my first impression in points form.
1. the phone seems to look better now. not that i say this because i bought it but i wasnt impress with the looks when i saw it at the shop. now i feel its quite an elegant phone. mine is white. no fingerprint marks like black phones.

2. the keypad was flimsy when i first tested a dummy set and a demo set. but mine, i get a solid feel. Its hard to sms while not looking at the keypad cause you cant feel where the keys are.

3. i really like the sliding switch to lock and unlock the keypad. no need to press menu and *

4. when i put on the red or white cover, it does changes theme to match. but the themes are just colors, no patterns. so in the end, its really not a big deal function.

5. there are some pictures stored in the memory card. i played them thru and they look really good and sharp on the LCD. One thing I cant figure out, when I play them as a slide show, the "power saver" or maybe the "screen saver" function still kicks in when the slide is running. I wonder how to overcome this.

6. there are ngage games stored in the memory too but i think they are trials.

7. it comes with plenty of ring tones.

8. camera: the noise is so apparent during night shots even with flash on. havent really play fully with the camera yet.

9. the phone feels heavy and slim

10. the camera's LED are very bright. i wonder how to use them as a torchlight.

11. i tried to use GPS, but Im wondering do I need to download maps?

12. camera - shots can only be taken with the dedicated camera button at the side. i wish the navi wheel button can be use too but no. The side button is hard to use unless you turn your phone sideways

13. the navi-wheel is on the smaller inner button. I thought it was the outer ring like N78 but no. Its too sensitive to use and always overshoot its intended target but otherwise cool. Sometimes nothing seems to happen until it suddely kicks in. You wont understand this until you have one to try.

14. there is no worry for white sets to get dirty or fade color as it is underneath a clear plastic.

so far im really happy with it ! icon_idea.gif

Added on November 15, 2008, 9:26 amI did not charge until 8 hours, i think that is for charging NIMH batteries, they termed it trickle charge. LitIon charge until full only but full charge and discharge for 3 cycles to optimise its capacity.

QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 14 2008, 10:34 AM)
the phone seller says I should charge it for 8 hours initially but i got a feeling that is wrong. I only charge it till it says "full"
what say you?

Im going to sync from Outlook too. How to make sure it syncs from PC to Phone? I dont want it to sync from Phone to PC and wipe out everything since the phone is empty.
This post has been edited by myf76: Nov 15 2008, 09:48 AM
idoblu
post Nov 15 2008, 10:51 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

hi

i cant find the serial number for the star wars game. where did you find that?

btw is there a way I can set Contacts display to show both name and numbers?

This post has been edited by idoblu: Nov 15 2008, 10:56 AM
idoblu
post Nov 15 2008, 10:54 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(coldfission @ Nov 14 2008, 01:17 PM)
white color wont fade? i doubt that.. i hvn compare grey and white phone. i personally do think white looks better. however im afraid the white color will become milky white after 1 yr. i hv 3250 XM edition which is red and white and the white color become yellowish after 1 yr. I wanted a white n79 but after further consideration i might juz stick to grey version. So for those n79 white user.. wat say u? is white easy to take care or wat?
go take a look at the phone and you will see that there is no direct contact with the "paint". both grey and white will have the same resistance to dirt or fade as they are covered in plastic.

Added on November 15, 2008, 11:06 am
QUOTE(hypermount @ Nov 14 2008, 02:06 PM)
Hi guys justa question does N79 have 3D hardware acceleration? What about N78?

N95, N82 all got.
according to this review it doesnt have 3D hardware acceleration
http://mobilearsenal.com/review/nokia_n79_...u_hardware.html

This post has been edited by idoblu: Nov 15 2008, 11:06 AM
SerioseCat
post Nov 15 2008, 01:26 PM

501 posts

for those with AP sets, may i know whether ur sets have those foreign logo on the body of the phone or in the menu options? For example, Orange, Telstra, Vodafone.

The main reason why i hate AP sets are these. if u managed to get an AP set without these logos do tell me ur seller please.
idoblu
post Nov 15 2008, 01:30 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(SerioseCat @ Nov 15 2008, 01:26 PM)
for those with AP sets, may i know whether ur sets have those foreign logo on the body of the phone or in the menu options?  For example, Orange, Telstra, Vodafone.

The main reason why i hate AP sets are these.  if u managed to get an AP set without these logos do tell me ur seller please.
NOPE,
yewz
post Nov 15 2008, 02:21 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 15 2008, 01:30 PM)
NOPE,
hi ,
ur hp got can type and read chinese onot ?
did jssim says can upgrade once they got da chinese software ?
coz im still considering wan take from him onot ?
how bout his servce?~~smile.gif
hypermount
post Nov 15 2008, 02:47 PM

Patriot!
1,636 posts

QUOTE(SerioseCat @ Nov 15 2008, 01:26 PM)
for those with AP sets, may i know whether ur sets have those foreign logo on the body of the phone or in the menu options?  For example, Orange, Telstra, Vodafone.

The main reason why i hate AP sets are these.  if u managed to get an AP set without these logos do tell me ur seller please.
You can get from Renee for Telstra AP set with no logo - better deal than the shops that I've gone to which have those AP sets with logo with slightly higher or smilar price.

Added on November 15, 2008, 3:03 pm
QUOTE(idoblu @ Nov 15 2008, 10:54 AM)
go take a look at the phone and you will see that there is no direct contact with the "paint". both grey and white will have the same resistance to dirt or fade as they are covered in plastic.

Added on November 15, 2008, 11:06 am
according to this review it doesnt have 3D hardware acceleration
http://mobilearsenal.com/review/nokia_n79_...u_hardware.html
thanx great info there.

This post has been edited by hypermount: Nov 15 2008, 03:03 PM
andrekua
post Nov 15 2008, 03:04 PM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

I got a chance to play with N79 while sending my N85 to change language at Telstra. What surprise me is the zippiness of the unit. Faster than N85 as well. Taking picture seem fast, which makes me wonder issit the unit faster or was it due to it running on phone memory than memory card. Still I would pick N85 due to the screen.
yewz
post Nov 15 2008, 05:34 PM

43 posts

QUOTE(andrekua @ Nov 15 2008, 03:04 PM)
I got a chance to play with N79 while sending my N85 to change language at Telstra. What surprise me is the zippiness of the unit. Faster than N85 as well. Taking picture seem fast, which makes me wonder issit the unit faster or was it due to it running on phone memory than memory card. Still I would pick N85 due to the screen.
u change language at telstra ned 2 pay or not ?
harry_harry
post Nov 15 2008, 05:57 PM

36 posts

Izit possible that N79 ap price will drop to RM11xx b4 2009?
SerioseCat
post Nov 15 2008, 06:23 PM

501 posts

@andrekua

how extensive is Telstra AP set service center? do they have in LYP?
charles_nkj
post Nov 15 2008, 07:02 PM

125 posts

can anyone enlighten me abt this fone ap n ori set? hmm.gif hmm.gif
mainly, abt the:
1. bulid quality...
2. can i upgrade firmware thru the nokia website
3. reliablity
4. warranty, gerenally on how is their service? (i noe this 1 is depend on the ap co.)

since i never buy ap fone b4... i need to clarify these issues 1st b4 getting 1 rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
besides, the ap n ori price gap is rather BiG.... tongue.gif tongue.gif
thnx in advance

This post has been edited by charles_nkj: Nov 15 2008, 07:02 PM
-Torrz
post Nov 15 2008, 07:18 PM

◕‿◕
2,095 posts

I think this music speaker > N82's. Still Xenon plays a major role for supporting the pricy N82 tongue.gif
idoblu
post Nov 15 2008, 07:24 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(charles_nkj @ Nov 15 2008, 07:02 PM)
can anyone enlighten me abt this fone ap n ori set? hmm.gif  hmm.gif
mainly, abt the:
1. bulid quality...
2. can i upgrade firmware thru the nokia website
3. reliablity
4. warranty, gerenally on how is their service? (i noe this 1 is depend on the ap co.)

since i never buy ap fone b4... i need to clarify these issues 1st b4 getting 1 rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
besides, the ap n ori price gap is rather BiG.... tongue.gif  tongue.gif
thnx in advance
hi

1. build quality is very good imho
2. yes can upgrade
3. reliability - i dont know cause i only had the phone 2 days but so far no lag. dem fast infact
4. warranty depends on who is the AP distributor.

This post has been edited by idoblu: Nov 15 2008, 07:24 PM
SerioseCat
post Nov 15 2008, 07:59 PM

501 posts

is the photo quality difference noticeable between xenon and LED flash?
-Torrz
post Nov 15 2008, 08:00 PM

◕‿◕
2,095 posts

A slight difference if you look closely.

and i thought you have to dl the Nokia Program updater from the wbesite to upgrade firmware?
hanieyf
post Nov 15 2008, 08:49 PM

X-alienware m17x soldiers
1,698 posts

QUOTE(SerioseCat @ Nov 15 2008, 07:59 PM)
is the photo quality difference noticeable between xenon and LED flash?
xenon flash = stadium spotlight

led flash = ur study lamp tongue.gif tongue.gif

Added on November 15, 2008, 8:50 pm
QUOTE(-Torrz @ Nov 15 2008, 08:00 PM)
A slight difference if you look closely.

and i thought you have to dl the Nokia Program updater from the wbesite to upgrade firmware?
yes, u need to download nokia software updater first then u can update ur phone firmware

This post has been edited by hanieyf: Nov 15 2008, 08:50 PM
andrekua
post Nov 16 2008, 01:48 AM

NO!!! IT'S HIM!!!
3,887 posts

QUOTE(yewz @ Nov 15 2008, 05:34 PM)
u change language at telstra ned 2 pay or not ?
No need pay while under warranty...

QUOTE(SerioseCat @ Nov 15 2008, 06:23 PM)
@andrekua

how extensive is Telstra AP set service center?  do they have in LYP?
The SC in LYP is so small... more like a counter nia...

This post has been edited by andrekua: Nov 16 2008, 01:51 AM
SerioseCat
post Nov 16 2008, 10:59 PM

501 posts

zitron for RM1630 or AP for RM1260?

haizzz...decisions

70 Pages « < 7 8 9 10 11 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.40    6 queries    GZIP Disabled