DELL Studio XPS™ 13 & 16 Notebooks, Finally, 1GB ATI Mobility Radeon HD4670!

teNtiOn
post Jun 14 2009, 11:37 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(tarm86 @ Jun 14 2009, 12:52 AM)
the biggest problem for us now is that no manufacturer release laptops with good specs and good design.. either look like a brick with good specs... or look fashionable but performance subpar.. the only thing that make the sxps 16 stands in the crowd is the full led screen with backlight and latest montevina chipset and ddr3... too bad the gc not up to par with the market's current trend of 9600gt

if the hdx16t wrer rm700 cheaper .. i would rather get the hdx... too bad its out of my budget...
nvidia fanboy spotted. the gpu of sxps is built as 9600gt's competitor lah. other higher offering from ati will trash it out of water. and you forget the ddr2 version of 9600gt from hdx16t performance is even lower from what i read.

This post has been edited by teNtiOn: Jun 14 2009, 11:37 AM
teNtiOn
post Jun 14 2009, 02:20 PM

683 posts

GT 130M isn't far superior from both HD3670 and 9600GTM, it's just the higher clocked version of 9650GTM which is the higher clocked version of 9600GTM. based from 3dmark06 it's just few hundreds higher.

considered the way HP always using ddr2 version gpu for their laptop, i'm not surprised the one in the new hdx16t is ddr2 as well. though i'm not sure on it.
teNtiOn
post Jun 14 2009, 02:55 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Jun 14 2009, 02:35 PM)
ya GDDR3 130M gT is just about 1k highier than ATI 3670 GDDR3 on 3DMarl 06 only^^
by the way pls go to see other benchamark like Crysis... is about double ^^3DMark Ventage ^^
where you get the benchmark from? anyway 3dmark vantage is not the ideal benchmark for gpu alone.
teNtiOn
post Jun 14 2009, 10:01 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Jun 14 2009, 03:14 PM)
go notebook review see ^^
I think SXPS 16 benchamrk for crysis hv ...
only some notebook hv those benchmark ^^
o so you mean that benchmark but i dont see it's double over there. average 17 on 130M while average 12 on HD3670 for high setting. both are not playable if you're seeking smooth game. anyway i dont think that chart is really that accurate. for example my sxps score about 4.9k for 3dmark06 while it shows 4.7k maximum. i'm able to play FEAR 2 on maximum at more than 30fps sometimes while it shows less than 30fps for FEAR which is an old game few years back. totally inaccurate to imo. although i havent tried FEAR on my sxps, but an old 7600gt can handle it almost everything max out and more than 30fps.

QUOTE(Dackson @ Jun 14 2009, 07:29 PM)
ati faster, nvidia slower...
ati better in wallpaper resolution, nvidia better in game ^^ (pls correct me if I'm wrong)
the brand means nothing, it's the chipset they implement that can be used to compare.

This post has been edited by teNtiOn: Jun 14 2009, 10:03 PM
teNtiOn
post Jun 14 2009, 11:21 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Jun 14 2009, 10:56 PM)
hv you see which driver they using + processor too !!
I only tested Devil may Cry, is about 20fps ~.~ minimum !! That Devil May Cry 4, run = slowly walk in high setting =.='''''
swt ... I'm looking at medium setting ... high setting sure both can not play  rclxm9.gif
even 4650 also can not play at high setting ^^ min 21.8fps ~.~'''

to gaming in high setting to gaming laptop, SXPS is not gaming laptop it's for movie  wub.gif
hm.. not really as i dont really believe that chart 100%, just like it listed HD4570 faster than HD3670 few months back which makes everyone crazy about studio 15 and called it faster than sxps 16.

and again i can only say you have a bad driver over there when playing your dvm4. a gpu that can handle crysis on medium high setting and get more than 30fps (tested myself) is never going to get less than 20fps in dmc4 imo. it's almost impossible like your case around 20fps in minimum.
teNtiOn
post Jun 17 2009, 01:23 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Jun 17 2009, 12:19 PM)
if wnat to wait ... wait until Calpella & GC DX11 coming out la ~
SXPS 16 may using it !! (or those old component will become cheaper can buy in bulk)
you'll end up forever waiting for a laptop because new things coming out every few months.

This post has been edited by teNtiOn: Jun 17 2009, 01:23 PM
teNtiOn
post Jul 7 2009, 04:06 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(DoomRAVAGER @ Jul 6 2009, 10:27 PM)
HD3670 is not really a gaming card... It can play most games with medium settings except super modern demanding games like Crysis or Far Cry 2...

HD 3670 is OK for video en/decoding, editing etc.

HD4670 is somewhat better for games, it can play older and most new games with high settings, demanding games like Crysis will need medium to run smoothly.

BTW anyone know what model the 256GB SSD is in the XPS 1640?
mind to share where you get these information from? my hd3670 can play most new game when i bought it few months ago with high setting and medium high setting for crysis, though not on full hd resolution.

and since when video en/decoding/editing is based on graphic card? it's done by CPU and has nothing to do with graphic card based on what i know. unless it changed recently.

both consumer cards there are gpu card that built for gaming purpose. it's still a gpu for gaming even though only able to run at low setting. they are just different technology in different time frame.

QUOTE(shanecross @ Jul 6 2009, 10:22 PM)
Well are the GCs really bad till ppl want to change?
the gpu is not really that bad, it's comparative with 9600gtm which included in most higher end laptop in malaysia awhile back. however it's kinda old technology that can't be matched with today's demand.

This post has been edited by teNtiOn: Jul 7 2009, 04:53 PM
teNtiOn
post Jul 7 2009, 06:10 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(shanecross @ Jul 7 2009, 05:55 PM)
any photos? or are there even any major diff?
i remember there's no major differences except having a better gpu. maybe more heat?
teNtiOn
post Jul 7 2009, 11:31 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(DoomRAVAGER @ Jul 7 2009, 08:56 PM)
Info is from Notebookcheck, and my own experience with SXPS 16. Maybe they got it wrong, I dunno. But I'm personally not seeing very good performance on 1920x1080 res, have to turn it down to be able to put games like World in Conflict on High. Except Crysis. What resolution are you using?

Video en/decoding was based on the GPU since the introduction of technologies like ATi's Avivo and nVidia's CUDA. Ever heard of Badaboom? Get with the times or do your research before trying to look clever.
Notebookcheck is never an accurate source for benchmark so i'll give it a pass. for resolution i did mentioned it's not under full hd. one should never bother gaming high demand games on laptop with full hd resolution unless it's something from alienware/sager.

i would take back those words but still video en/decoding is not 100% based on gpu, it's just accelerate the process in many cases speed it up. what i know is badaboom is not free and ati avivo converter is never really a success with plenty bugs and so. anyway i did mentioned unless it changed recently.

This post has been edited by teNtiOn: Jul 7 2009, 11:33 PM
teNtiOn
post Jul 8 2009, 08:29 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(DoomRAVAGER @ Jul 8 2009, 08:35 AM)
And I know video is not 100% GPU. It's an example of parallel processing.

Anyway, on another topic, does anyone know what brand Dell MY uses for its 256 GB SSD in SXPS 16?
to me it's just something like gpu acceleration in photoshop cs4. imo it shouldnt be included for gpu recommendation as it wont bring very significant upgrade comparing to cpu. and after seeing some of the encoding quality out there using it, i would prefer using cpu and free converter for better quality. smile.gif

it's from samsung.

QUOTE(yie_ann @ Jul 8 2009, 04:18 PM)
What should i do now? cry.gif  cry.gif  cry.gif
that's too long.. try calling and chase them for your laptop. i received mine within 1 week during chinese new year.

This post has been edited by teNtiOn: Jul 8 2009, 08:30 PM
teNtiOn
post Jul 9 2009, 12:25 AM

683 posts

QUOTE(soradidi @ Jul 8 2009, 09:55 PM)
is it worth to buy a studio xps 13 right now as they got RM600 Instant Cash Redemption which is only valid between 12-1pm on 7th July to 9 July 2009.

and other than that:

with Dell special promitions:

1. RM 200 Instant Cash Redemption
2. Get FREEUpgrade to McAfee® SecurityCenter™ 15 month!-Expires on  30/07/2009
3. Get FREE Upgrade to 500GB* Hard Drive !-Expires on 30/07/2009
4. Get FREE Upgrade to 4GB* Dual-channel DDR3 SDRAM !-Expires on 30/07/2009
will the Rm600 Instant Cash Redemption "overwrite" the Rm200 Instant Cash Redemption?

and ho ya, and Microsoft® Office Home & Student 2007 OEM Version is now rm49 ... is it worth ? how abt the market price ?
i think you can use only 1 instant cash redemption. not really sure though, maybe you try to put in the coupon and test? i think it's worth it if you're after 13" laptop, that's around the lowest price i have seen. not really sure about microsoft office, maybe someone else has an answer?

QUOTE(DoomRAVAGER @ Jul 8 2009, 10:31 PM)
I guess that's true. ^.^ By the way, just reread my previous post and realised that it maysound a bit offensive.  sweat.gif  My apologies if I have caused offense, I meant it more in a tongue-in-cheek half-humorous manner. 

Thanks for the info about the SSD, I was planning to give my current XPS 16 to my brother and get a new one once the HD 4670 became available, and was wondering whether the SSD was worth the extra RM 1800+ and half capacity of 500GB 7200 RPM HDD. Is the 500GB HDD also from Samsung?
it's ok.. it's worth it if you want faster and cooler hdd but it's a no imo.
teNtiOn
post Jul 9 2009, 01:37 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Jul 9 2009, 11:55 AM)
Hmm. Does 4670 released for Malaysia's SXPS1640 yet? I just checked but nope.
i think you just answered your question.

QUOTE(soradidi @ Jul 9 2009, 01:13 PM)
With above promotions, the studio xps 13 still cost around RM3700.... haiiiz~ kinda pricy
but that's around the lowest price for that model.
teNtiOn
post Jul 11 2009, 12:05 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(farz_marz @ Jul 10 2009, 10:11 PM)
does anyone have the webcam/facial recognition software. i format my computer and suddendly lost those software. already google it for many time and still didnt find it.. anyone know where should i get those software back? already check my reinstall cds but still dont have it.
seems like a lot ppl need that.. i've downloaded it before but lost the link, will try to upload for you later.
teNtiOn
post Jul 11 2009, 07:58 PM

683 posts

QUOTE(farz_marz @ Jul 11 2009, 03:25 PM)
can u upload it for me pls? i really need it smile.gif
here you go.. few different minor as well..

http://rapidshare.com/files/254543195/Fast...nition.zip.html
http://www.zshare.net/download/625238298149bc39/
http://www.badongo.com/file/15944392
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=EMVJO930

5 Pages « < 3 4 5Top

0.0420sec    0.42    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 12:29 PM