8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

DELL Studio XPS™ 13 & 16 Notebooks, Finally, 1GB ATI Mobility Radeon HD4670!

TSOnyx_black
post Apr 9 2009, 07:25 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Apr 9 2009, 06:51 PM)
New Member here.
My Specs:
Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T9550(2.66GH, 6MB Cache, 1066 MHz FSB) edit
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium SP1 64 bit Edition (English) edit
Microsoft® Works 9.0 (Does Not Include Microsoft® Office 2003/2007 Software) edit
16" 1080p WUXGA (1920x1080) RGBLED Full HD Display with 2.0MP webcam edit
4GB (2 X 2GB) Dual Channel 1067MHz DDR3 SDRAM edit
320GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive edit
Slot Load 8X DVD + /-RW Drive with double layer write capability edit
512MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3670 edit
Integrated CREATIVE Sound Blaster® X-Fi MB Audio Software Solution edit
Intel® WiFi Link 5100 (802.11a/g/n) Half Mini-card (MY) edit
Dell™ Wireless 370 Bluetooth Module (MY)

Bought it outside of malaysia coz currently studying abroad. It was either this or HDX 16, but the HDX 16 with the same specs is way more expensive. Had the chance to play both before buying coz a friend already own a HDX 16.(1 fren also own the HDX dragon,a 20" monster, he lugs that to class LOL).Plus, Dell's Screen is much WAYYYYYYY NICE. The real Beauty. Took a while to save up money lol. Tried to avoid nVidia dis time coz had VERY VERY STUPID GC problem with my S41. Makes me hate nVidia kaw kaw...........

Really loving it rite now.
Welcome FrostLance, where did you purchase this notebook, just out of curiosity.

TSOnyx_black
post Apr 10 2009, 11:01 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(FrostLance @ Apr 10 2009, 12:38 PM)
aiseyh man. i think about rm6k? not sure coz bought a lot of things at that time lor. bought it at a shop, not online.

BTW, what graphic driver u guys use? any good modded Ati drivers?
im kinda new with ATi
I use Driver Heaven's Mobility Modder.net; just download any desktop ATI drivers and mod the drivers using the mobility modder, then you'll get the latest updated drivers.
I've just installed ATI Catalyst 9.4 on my notebook.
TSOnyx_black
post Apr 14 2009, 07:47 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(zhouyeong @ Apr 14 2009, 02:21 AM)
hey guys, i'd like to ask how's the touchpad performance for sxps1640?
as i've seen in the review, it's a synaptic type but it's always better to ask from the owners of sxps1640.  biggrin.gif
Any touchpad should keep most notebook users happy, though I have to say touchpad that doesn't support scrolling is a turn off for me, that's probably a thing of the past for modern notebooks.
TSOnyx_black
post Apr 16 2009, 02:46 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(theBigO @ Apr 15 2009, 01:37 PM)
I think it all depends on the processor and the application you use. Read in many review that the base P8600 processor should be ok. The more demanding the processor is, the more heat you will get. And of course if you play a lot of 3d games, you can expect some heat issue. Buy a cooler, or use it in a air con enviroment should be ok. I have no problem with the heat.
Or when you're in a country with cool weather, that keeps my notebook happy and under control. biggrin.gif
TSOnyx_black
post Apr 16 2009, 09:22 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(theBigO @ Apr 16 2009, 08:24 PM)
Anyone having problem with the DVD drive????  After inserting a disc, i try to click on the dvd drive icon on my computer,  it cannot detect the cd and auto eject. Try other several disc and the same thing happen. Anyone have any solution to this? Thanks.
I played/ripped a couple of CDs with my BD drive and it worked fine.
TSOnyx_black
post Apr 20 2009, 08:26 AM

449 posts

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Apr 19 2009, 10:51 PM)
then since we can get the what X-FI SOUND BLASTER SOFTWARE thingy downloaded at the dell website,why would the dell still sell it for rm28?or its the matter whether can we install or not?
The Creative Labs Sound Blaster X-Fi MB available on Dell's website is merely an update; you still need the base software.
In essence you need to purchase the software from Dell in order to apply the updates from Dell's website.
It's not a necessity to get this audio software because the Studio XPS primarily utilizes the IDT sound driver for audio purposes. Creative X-Fi is a software (not hardware, that's IDT's job) audio enhancement, if you're into gaming, then Creative's proprietary EAX sound effects engine might appeal to you.

This post has been edited by Onyx_black: Apr 20 2009, 08:28 AM
TSOnyx_black
post Apr 20 2009, 03:58 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(Dackson @ Apr 20 2009, 03:37 PM)
haiz ...

none of GC can play Devil May cry 4 in full Graphic setting @.@
My friend use 9600GT & ati 4870 also facing lagging while that devil may cry 4 in full texture ...
Quadcore also can not @.@ 

ATI 3670  .... dont need to said ~
What can you expect from a humble GPU in our notebook? Studio XPS series aren't gaming notebooks to start off with.
It's one of those games like Crysis that you either play it with an extremely powerful desktop (no, notebooks won't cut for the job) or bite the bullet and bare with the low framerates and stutter rich gaming experience.
TSOnyx_black
post Apr 20 2009, 06:55 PM

449 posts

First post updated with more review links and revised formatting for specifications of both notebooks; it makes more sense for potential owners to know the available customization options as opposed to the base configuration.
I might add links to essential drivers/firmware for our systems, but that remains to see if I have the spare time to do so.

Added on April 20, 2009, 10:20 pm
QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Apr 20 2009, 04:57 PM)
Hmmm...then can we get and install the creative lab sound blaster thingy by ourself manually by downloading it from other internet website instead of buying it from dell to save the rm28?

Anyone,pls give me opinion on this notebook?is it good?do u guys recommend me buying this notebook for playing high graphic required game like devil may cry 4 etc and downloading anime for whole or 2 days or more days continuously and doing things we will do on a desktop daily?

The offer that dell offers now rm3999 for a dell sxps 16 notebook is it a good deal since it does not have any promotion or free gift or free upgrade?

Oh n can someone pls tell me how to get a dell sxps notebook discount coupon which is valid in malaysia?thanks.
One question: Do you think it's necessary to have that software? If no, forget about it; if yes, then you have to purchase it online along with your system configuration when you're customizing your Dell system.

This notebook is new, so it's zippy for a year or two. For now, it's quite a beast with a proper set of hardware (though it comes with a hefty price tag). This notebook can handle old games pretty well; new games at lower resolution or detail settings. I never leave my notebook to operate for a day or more but it should be fine with proper cooling/heat dissipation, a notebook cooler for instance.

This post has been edited by Onyx_black: Apr 20 2009, 10:20 PM
TSOnyx_black
post Apr 24 2009, 09:16 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(RMaliff @ Apr 24 2009, 08:57 PM)
Yay. My xps 16 finally arrived. Looks even better in real life =D
Congrats rclxms.gif , give me your specs so I can post it on the front page.
TSOnyx_black
post Apr 26 2009, 11:22 AM

449 posts

QUOTE(RMaliff @ Apr 26 2009, 06:45 AM)
Woot. Just flashed my BIOS, new audio drivers and new gpu drivers.

Added on April 26, 2009, 7:15 amHow do I check my HDD brand and info? Without opening it of course.D:
Go to "My Computer", right click on "C" Drive, choose "Properties" then choose the "Hardware" tab and you'll find the model/serial number to your HDD.
Mine's ST9320421ASG, just type the whole thing in Google and there should be results for your hard disk.
TSOnyx_black
post Apr 26 2009, 09:22 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(Angelpoli @ Apr 26 2009, 09:08 PM)
hmmm.smile.gifi want to ask whether dell offer a 3 year international warranty for all dell notebook such as inspiron,latitude,xps,studio,vostro n etc...?cause i going oversea next year n would like to have an international warranty for it.
http://www1.ap.dell.com/content/topics/top...c=my&l=en&s=bsd
http://support.ap.dell.com/support/topics/...nsferMyWarranty

The warranty is applicable within Asia Pacific region. If you're going to study in Australia, that's alright.
TSOnyx_black
post Apr 29 2009, 12:40 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Apr 29 2009, 10:24 AM)
Hey guys! I'm new here. I just placed my order for Studio XPS 16. Woo~

My specs :
-Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor P8600 2.4GHz
-4GB Dual Channel 1067MHz DDR3 SDRAM
-512MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3670
-Windows Vista® Home Premium SP1 64 bit
-320GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
-Integrated CREATIVE Sound Blaster® X-Fi MB Audio Software Solution

I'm joining this family soon. Man... Just can't wait for my baby to arrive~
This is my first laptop. LOL. I'm going for college on May. =) Hoped that I'm welcomed here.
I need more details on your specs, refer to the owner's list at the first post and give me the missing info. Thanks.
TSOnyx_black
post Apr 29 2009, 07:36 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Apr 29 2009, 04:26 PM)
Sigh.. Just received a call from Dell that the EON bank credit card can't apply for Flexi pay. Plus, so sudden my dad changed his mind on that Studio XPS 16... I might getting back my Studio15 that I'd chose in the first place. Argghh.

I need help.

Studio 15 build.

Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor P8600 (2.40GHz/ 1066 FSB/ 3MB Cache)
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium SP1 64 bit (English)
Topo Black Colour with Black U-Trim
Microsoft® Works Include Microsoft® Office Home & Student 60 Days Trial Pre-instal
1 Yr Ltd Hardware Warranty, InHome Service after Remote Diagnosis
15.6” 720p WLED (1366x768) Display with TrueLife™ and Built-in 2.0MP Web Cam
4GB (2X2GB) DDR2 SDRAM Memory
320GB SATA 7200RPM Performance Hard Drive
Slot Load 8X DVD+/-RW Drive with DVD+R double layer write capability
256MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4570
Integrated CREATIVE Sound Blaster® X-Fi MB Audio Software Solution
Intel® WiFi Link 5300 (802.11a/g/n) Half Mini-card (MY)
9-cell Lithium Ion Primary Battery
Dell™ Backlit Keyboard with Touchpad (English)

Total price : RM3,661.00
Studio XPS 16 build.

Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor P8600 (2.40GHz/ 1066 FSB/ 3MB Cache)
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium SP1 64 bit Edition (English)
Microsoft® Works 9.0 (Does Not Include Microsoft® Office 2003/2007 Software)
1-year XPS Premier Service with 1-year CompleteCover
16" 720p WXGA (1366x768) WLED HD Display with 2.0MP webcam
4GB (2 X 2GB) Dual Channel 1067MHz DDR3 SDRAM
320GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
Slot Load 8X DVD + /-RW Drive with double layer write capability
512MB ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3670
Integrated CREATIVE Sound Blaster® X-Fi MB Audio Software Solution
Intel® WiFi Link 5300 (802.11a/g/n) Half Mini-card (MY)
6-Cell (56WHr) Li-Ion Primary Battery

Total price : RM 4,460.00
CAN SOMEONE TELL ME WHICH WORTH MORE THAN? I'M FEDDUP WITH THE DECISION NOW. SIGH.
It's all about balancing the wants and the needs; for a student like you, weight more on the needs.
What's the reason your dad changes his mind?

Added on April 29, 2009, 7:39 pm
QUOTE(barium025 @ Apr 29 2009, 04:28 PM)
i emailed dell regarding the tv tuner issue n here's the reply:
They should've said so on the customization page; what a great excuse.

This post has been edited by Onyx_black: Apr 29 2009, 07:39 PM
TSOnyx_black
post Apr 29 2009, 08:48 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ Apr 29 2009, 08:11 PM)
but which will you recommend me to take?
maybe the price i guess, he seems okay last night. but i can feel it he's not that happy today. kinda like a big burden for him. so decides the best for a win-win situation. =)

anyway. does studio 15 that comes with 256mb ATI HD4570 can handle games like Left 4 Dead and CoD 4?
Yeah, maybe that's bothering him, our parents don't print money so we'll have to make do with what we have.

If I'm not mistaken, yes it does come with the aforementioned GPU; it's more powerful at handling games then the Studio XPS's HD3670. For a rough estimation on how that GPU fare, head over to NotebookCheck.net.
TSOnyx_black
post May 2 2009, 09:18 AM

449 posts

QUOTE(rickysay @ May 1 2009, 11:06 PM)
well then, i guess it's a good thing i uninstall that load a crap.

btw, anyone getting annoying startup installation message from windows sidebar during startup? i kept getting preparing to install bluetooth software... wtf is wrong with that.
Then disable the Windows Sidebar.
The SoundBlaster Advanced MB enables you to play games using Creative's EAX technology; music might sound better, but there's no accurate way to measure this.
TSOnyx_black
post May 3 2009, 11:53 AM

449 posts

QUOTE(rickysay @ May 3 2009, 11:18 AM)
yea i do know its caused by sidebar.exe(windows sidebar) cause i've tried disabled that and during the next startup the annoying message wasn't there.

How can one uninstall and reinstall windows sidebar?
You can't uninstall it, it's part of the OS. The most you can do is to disable it.
http://www.vista4beginners.com/Windows-Sid...-complete-guide

TSOnyx_black
post May 8 2009, 12:44 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(barium025 @ May 8 2009, 11:21 AM)
regarding my not-so-bothering tv tuner issue:

past few days dell sent me a DHL shipment slip to send my unit back to them without notify me what's going on. during our last email communication which i already post earlier, the issue was left unanswered on the possible cause of action. i was still waiting for them to propose a solution for that up to the moment i received the shipment slip. since nothing is writtenly stated, i just ignore it since im not planning to let my unit go.

today DHL called me asking whether my laptop is ready for collection and i told them i didnt get any solution proposal from dell yet and did not know what will i send my unit over for. i told them i'll clarify things with dell first n will let them know should the package is ready for shipment.
few moments later dell called me and inform me that they would refund me full amount since nothing can be done for the tv tuner.

now, should i do that? i mean i dont need the tuner anyway, it just im looking for compensation of not being able to use it, not like im hating the whole laptop.
Two ways I can look at this issue:

1) Enquire Dell whether compensation or refund for a sinlge component is possible (in this case, the TV tuner).
2) Consider the issue unsolvable and just leave the TV Tuner as it is and tell Dell it's fine (that way you don't have to ship your notebook to them and save you some grief).
TSOnyx_black
post May 9 2009, 05:30 PM

449 posts

QUOTE(zorbyss. @ May 9 2009, 04:30 PM)
hmm. anyone has the best way of cleaning off the fingerprint laptop?
can anyone suggest a good headphone, cooler, mouse for this laptop?
Wipe the palm rest area with a moist cloth?
No idea what's the best out there; I have a pair Sennheiser HD 437 headphones, a Cooler Master Notepal W2 and a Razer DeathAdder gaming mouse.

Added on May 9, 2009, 6:00 pm
QUOTE(tarm86 @ May 8 2009, 07:35 PM)
hi add me to ur list of owners..tq

Intel® Core™2 Duo Processor T9550(2.66GH, 6MB Cache, 1066 MHz FSB)
Genuine Windows Vista® Home Premium SP1 32 bit Edition (English)
1-year XPS Premier Service with 1-year CompleteCover
16" 1080p WUXGA (1920x1080) RGBLED Full HD Display with 2.0MP webcam
3GB (2 X 1GB) Dual Channel 1067MHz DDR3 SDRAM
320GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive
Slot Load 8X DVD + /-RW Drive with double layer write capability
Integrated Sound Blaster Audigy ADVANCED HD Audio Software
Intel® WiFi Link 5100 (802.11a/g/n) Half Mini-card
Targus Soft Hug Backpack 17" (Black/Blue)
Did you purchase Microsoft Works 9.0?

Added on May 9, 2009, 6:02 pmDell XPS 16 gets extra glossy Crimson Red option.

It looks like this: http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...&#entry24565281

This post has been edited by Onyx_black: May 9 2009, 06:02 PM
TSOnyx_black
post May 10 2009, 05:24 PM

449 posts

Dell Malaysia no longer offer TV Tuner & Remote Control as an option for customizing the Studio XPS 16, not sure what's the reason behind it.
Might be the problems faced by some of the users not getting broadcast signals from local TV stations at certain locations.
TSOnyx_black
post May 11 2009, 11:45 AM

449 posts

If you're talking about specifications and not price point, it's debatable.

CPU options:
BENQ - Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor P8700 (2.53GHz/ 1066 FSB/ 3MB Cache)
DELL - Including and up to Intel® Core™ 2 Duo Processor T9800 (2.93GHz/ 1066 FSB/ 6MB Cache) **

RAM options:
BENQ - Up to max 4GB 800MHz DDR2 SDRAM
DELL - Up to max 8GB Dual Channel 1067MHz DDR3 SDRAM **

HDD options:
BENQ - 250/320/500 GB (5400RPM - SATA)
DELL - 320/500GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive & 128GB SSD **

GPU options:
BENQ - ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 4650 **
DELL - ATI Mobility Radeon™ HD 3670

WIFI options:
BENQ - Intel® WiFi Link 5100
DELL - Including and up to Intel® WiFi Link 5300 **

Screen options:
BENQ - 15.6" WXGA (1366x768), 16:9 LED backlight, UltraVivid widescreen display with 220nits, Response Time:8ms **
DELL - 16" 1080p WUXGA (1920x1080)**, 16:9 RGBLED Full HD Display**, average 232.1nits**, Response time: ?

Audio & Mic options:
BENQ - Built-in 2.0W speaker x2 + Built-in Microphone x1
DELL - 7 Watt Integrated Stereo Speakers with Subwoofer + Dual Digital Array Microphones **

Dell Studio XPS 16 can be customized to a powerful machine and in many aspects even better than BENQ Joybook s57; the only thing the s57 win hands down is the GPU, that makes the s57 a boon for casual gamers. BENQ Joybook s57 is a good notebook, I'm not saying otherwise.
For price point, that's a different story. There's always a reason why you pay more for the Studio XPS 16, the technology implemented in this notebook are more advanced plus the leather etc.

This post has been edited by Onyx_black: May 11 2009, 03:15 PM

8 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0279sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:46 PM