Aifontriji-hang-while-installing-apps-syndrome, Symptoms and steps on how to recover.

frozzbyte
post Aug 26 2008, 12:44 AM

Feeling butthurt lately? Like I care
3,657 posts

Got myself in that situation just now with paypal but not until have to restore back. This happen when i use the appstore. Like string said ... it might have something to do with the appstore itself.
TSstringfellow
post Aug 26 2008, 12:45 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(gpsp @ Aug 26 2008, 12:40 AM)
Can you actually feed the koi now? the last i play on my friend's iphone, if you touch the screen, it will create ripples and scare all the koi away. Thats the only thinkg you can do.
Yes, you can feed the koi now. It's called Finger-nibbling.

http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore...=286420263&mt=8
nokia2003
post Aug 26 2008, 12:46 AM

5,786 posts

QUOTE(surpent @ Aug 26 2008, 12:40 AM)
@nokia

Aku baru jer restore 3g aku guna backup ej pasal nak balik all sms, calendar dulu, tahu apa jadi, pertama my celcom tukar jadi o2-uk (ej aku dlu mmg saja buat o2-uk), yg kedua tetiba jer dlm setting international wujud negara Malaysia....
hmmm, saya rasa kalau saudara menggunakan "backup" dahulu memang ada masalah seumpama itu. tetapi, senang sahaja untuk menyelesaikan masalah pertama saudara itu, cuba untuk muat-turun aplikasi make-it-mine ciptaan erica sadun semula daripada cydia dan pilih "revert".

This post has been edited by nokia2003: Aug 26 2008, 12:47 AM
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 26 2008, 01:48 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

t/s steps same as if the phone non 3G?
neekun
post Aug 26 2008, 01:51 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 26 2008, 12:24 AM)
Additional addendum:

Also make sure that you have inserted your sim card, and get a signal, showing "My Celcom" or "Maxis" or "Digi" displayed, signifying you have coverage. This is IMPORTANT to fully-unlocked Aifontrijis, as your backups are TIED to the sim that it was backed up upon.

I learned this just now when, the initial restore from my latest backup failed, because I could not get a signal in, meaning no Celcom coverage. The backup failed, and on the iPhone it shows a popup message saying backup could not recover because iPhone is either locked or out of signal coverage.
Ooo..thanks a lot String. I will make sure my Digi sim is always inserted for is doing restore. But just wonder if i subscribe to let say Celcom and did not do a backup and phone crash, upon restore with Celcom sim card inserted, does it work? unsure.gif
JasLyn
post Aug 26 2008, 01:54 PM

Kernel Panic
724 posts

heheheee... pucat jugak eh string heheheheee... This is d best part of having stock unlocked unit... restore suka2 without headache and itunes keeps all d apps purchased on apps store...

But what if we log in to other pc/mac itunes and sign in to our acc? does d purchased apps will be there? (I dont mean backups)...

This post has been edited by JasLyn: Aug 26 2008, 01:55 PM
neekun
post Aug 26 2008, 01:54 PM

I'm a Mac
2,570 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 26 2008, 12:32 AM)
99 cents is a good deal for me. They've added new features and listened to the reviews and requested features asked from the review posted by those who had bought the app.
Yea yea..Koi Pond is cool, for just USD99 cents! I turned it on at my workplace...listening to the sound just to calm me down when I am stressed up haha...

Added on August 26, 2008, 1:57 pm
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 26 2008, 12:45 AM)
Yes, you can feed the koi now. It's called Finger-nibbling.

http://phobos.apple.com/WebObjects/MZStore...=286420263&mt=8
Or shake shake your phone and see the food drop into the pond where the fish will come and makan smile.gif

This post has been edited by neekun: Aug 26 2008, 01:57 PM
TSstringfellow
post Aug 26 2008, 02:08 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(d3vilzzzz @ Aug 26 2008, 01:48 PM)
t/s steps same as if the phone non 3G?
Should be the same, as long as it is running on the same firmware version.

QUOTE(neekun @ Aug 26 2008, 01:51 PM)
Ooo..thanks a lot String. I will make sure my Digi sim is always inserted for is doing restore. But just wonder if i subscribe to let say Celcom and did not do a backup and phone crash, upon restore with Celcom sim card inserted, does it work?  unsure.gif
I cannot answer this as I have only tried this with my Celcom sim. The backup did fail until a signal is received, so it could be either it wants the carrier that it had backed up with, or possibly any valid carriers. In the case of fully unlocked units, if it is the latter, it should not be a problem at all.

QUOTE(JasLyn @ Aug 26 2008, 01:54 PM)
heheheee... pucat jugak eh string heheheheee... This is d best part of having stock unlocked unit... restore suka2 without headache and itunes keeps all d apps purchased on apps store...

But what if we log in to other pc/mac itunes and sign in to our acc? does d purchased apps will be there? (I dont mean backups)...
Yup, pucat beb. tongue.gif First major glitch there.

Purchased apps will only be available at the PC/MAC you downloaded to. If this is done over a spread of different computers, then it may prove to be troublesome to fetch them all in. You can opt to download them again, your iTunes account keeps track of all your purchases and if you chose to purchase the same app again, it will remind you that the app is already purchase, and you can redownload the app for free if you like.

QUOTE(neekun @ Aug 26 2008, 01:54 PM)
Yea yea..Koi Pond is cool, for just USD99 cents! I turned it on at my workplace...listening to the sound just to calm me down when I am stressed up haha...

Added on August 26, 2008, 1:57 pm

Or shake shake your phone and see the food drop into the pond where the fish will come and makan smile.gif
Yup, or let them finger-nibble from you. Soothing......
JasLyn
post Aug 26 2008, 02:11 PM

Kernel Panic
724 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 26 2008, 02:08 PM)
....your iTunes account keeps track of all your purchases and if you chose to purchase the same app again, it will remind you that the app is already purchase, and you can redownload the app for free if you like.
Ahhhh... what a relief... i'll keep that in mind and TQVM icon_rolleyes.gif

Masamune
post Aug 26 2008, 02:20 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Hey string i got a similar problem as you..
Was installing some big file in cydia and i fall asleep without plugging in the power cable to charge..
Woke up and unable to on..so i went to charge..
And then when reboot i got a slightly different problem as you though..

The touch screen become unresponsive..
As in when i key in my sim pin number..
I have to press a number..then the home button only the number is inserted...
Weird...

But i restore it using itunes and all is fine..
TSstringfellow
post Aug 26 2008, 02:32 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

It is good that nothing seriously bad had happened to you. iTunes 7.x is already buggy as it is, I dont want it complicated further by adding Cydia into the mix.

My "Applications" tab on iTunes shows that I have 2 apps having new updates, but when I click it, it spits out "All applications are updated". In the AppStore on my Aifontriji, it states I have 4 updates for the apps installed on it, a major discrepancy there between the AppStore on Aifontriji and the "Application" tab on the iTunes. After what had happened before, I am doing the app updates SOLELY on the iTunes to avoid further complications. No more fooling around with the onboard AppStore on the Aifontriji to install these updates, or buying new apps for that matter, until Apple fixs these glitches.
Masamune
post Aug 26 2008, 02:49 PM

Just A Kid
1,228 posts

Yeah..the appstore in iphone also..
Until now after so many updates of app..
I can never update using appstore except once..
Always fail..and i have to use my pc to update..
TSstringfellow
post Aug 26 2008, 03:00 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(davidgary73 @ Aug 26 2008, 12:33 AM)
Hai..Hate the stuck logo situation. Glad the restore brings back everything String. Never know what wil happen but better to have backups.

How's your trip?
Sorry, I must have missed out on your question about my trip. Didnt go anywhere while I was in Tokyo, it was a Time Out for me. Went to the airport, grab something to eat, and then go back watch Olmypics closing ceremony. tongue.gif

Today going to Paris. Segway in the morning, and the rest of the day at DLP, until closing time. Looking forward to their Fireworks. biggrin.gif

welwitchia
post Aug 26 2008, 03:27 PM

1,219 posts

Well, don't really have an iPhone 3G but I guess I can ask the question here. blush.gif

I bought Texas Hold Em using the iPhone but it never appears on my iTunes.
The only other app I have is Crash Kart and that appears in iTunes.

I don't even have Cydia or Installer installed on mine.

Any ideas on how to get my Texas game in my iTunes?

Thanks!
Seaedge
post Aug 26 2008, 03:32 PM

Safe Trader since 2005.
5,172 posts

welwitchia, one question.

what firmware is ur iphone?
welwitchia
post Aug 26 2008, 03:33 PM

1,219 posts

^ 2.0.1
TSstringfellow
post Aug 26 2008, 03:54 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

Log into your iTunes account, and navigate to the Texas Hold Em app page, and click purchase. If your Texas Hold Em is tied to that iTunes account you have just logged in, a popup will come out stating that you have already purchased the app, and ask if you would like to redownload it for free.

welwitchia
post Aug 26 2008, 04:12 PM

1,219 posts

^ Cool, thanks.. If I get billed again, I'm going to hold u account. ;-)
TSstringfellow
post Aug 26 2008, 04:28 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

If you get billed, I'll gift you Texas Hold Em.
TeK_KeN
post Aug 26 2008, 07:10 PM

rcctl
1,540 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 26 2008, 03:00 PM)
Sorry, I must have missed out on your question about my trip. Didnt go anywhere while I was in Tokyo, it was a Time Out for me. Went to the airport, grab something to eat, and then go back watch Olmypics closing ceremony. tongue.gif

Today going to Paris. Segway in the morning, and the rest of the day at DLP, until closing time. Looking forward to their Fireworks. biggrin.gif
oh you are a traveler String?how many time you usually take flight in a month?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0175sec    0.65    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:23 PM