Home Theatre Best HDMI DVD Player Ver2.0, I've found mine. Have you
Aug 25 2008, 07:20 PM
2,316 posts Joined: Jul 2007 |
Mine is Pioneer DV-400V.
Aug 29 2008, 07:22 AM
QUOTE(moomoos @ Aug 28 2008, 11:27 PM) any members of tis forum tested the pana S53 or 54 ??? wat say bout the JVC 650. Hmm!!!! no USB support only Is your TV use a full HD panel? If not, try not to upscale to 1080i, jerk/blur/judders during moving scenes are more common for interlaced picture. Try to use 720p instead and see if the problem still there or not.Added on August 28, 2008, 11:46 pmActually tink of getting the Sony 708 to pair wth the Sony 50" KF 50E200A LCD projection set, i must admit i'm very fussy,i want the best for that particular range. i thing the 708 should match the LCD TV, but sad to say it doesnt have USB port. Have anyone tested this partner, does the picture jerk when it does panning, when upscaled?? thanks |
Sep 9 2008, 09:03 AM
I'm waiting for the Toshiba XDE DVD player.
Sep 15 2008, 07:50 AM
As much as I like standalone BD player, it is really wrong to say PS3 is not a better BD player. It is still the best BD player in the world now. Maybe in future when there are better standalones, that statement could be true.
Yeah, I'll be getting the XDE for my 2 racks of old DVD collection, but I will never buy new DVDs anymore, all new movie purchase from me since October last year are only in BD format. |
Sep 15 2008, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(ALPS2008 @ Sep 15 2008, 06:07 PM) Movies on BDs are now released day-and-date with DVDs bro. There's not even minute of waiting. Added on September 15, 2008, 6:47 pm QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 15 2008, 11:13 AM) Once you get into BDs bro, you will not buy new DVDs anymore. Just start your BD venture and only then you'll understand. This post has been edited by aiman04: Sep 15 2008, 06:47 PM |
Sep 16 2008, 07:23 AM
The day you buy your first BD is the day you'll see the end of new DVDs for you.
Sep 22 2008, 07:33 AM
QUOTE(MyDevil @ Sep 21 2008, 04:47 PM) So, they have 70 titles? Well, how come I have more then them? Show off. |
Sep 23 2008, 10:22 AM
If the ahem DVD is a direct replicate of the ori, then it should be fine. Most ori DVDs are double-layer (DVD9), so if the ahem is single layer, most probably they've re-encode to lower bitrate, resulting in inferior quality.
How to know? Just insert the disc into your DVD-ROM drive in your PC, and see the properties. If it's more than 4.3GB, then it's double-layer. And most DTS track on ahem DVDs are rubbish, they've used the original Dolby Digital track to re-encode to DTS, if they set the settings right, it could sound OK. If the source original DVD already have a DTS track, then that could be the real thing. |
Sep 24 2008, 10:01 AM
QUOTE(mikapoh @ Sep 24 2008, 09:31 AM) ~ Do u mean I cant really enjoy the true DTS sound by playing ahem dvd evethough it is copied from blu-ray disc? Glad to help bro. I have watched ALIEN 4 on BD copied disc but seems cant hear any surround sound although the front 3 speakers keep pounding. Have anyone watched this movie through original dvd or blu-ray disc ? Did you get the surround effect ? I am hoping u guys dont get the surround effect too from blu-ray disc, if not, I really have to dig my pocket for the hardcore blu-ray disc later....... That "BD copied" Alien 4 DVD is confirmed as not a copy from the BD after all. FYI, all Alien movies have not been released on BD yet! I've not watched Alien 4 for very long time, hated it. |
Sep 24 2008, 02:39 PM
Only pan & scan anamorphic Panavision or opened-up Super35 movies for home video will fit your TV fully.
Otherwise, there will always be black bars if the movie is wider than your TV. How big the bars depends on the movie's aspect ratio below: Common Theatrical Movies = 1.85:1, 2.35:1, 2.40:1 Normal TV = 1.33:1 Widescreen TV = 1.78:1 So for 1.85:1 movies (i.e. Jurassic Park) on a widescreen TV, there will be a very thin black bars, while for 2.40:1 (i.e. Casino Royale) movies will have the thickest black bars. Some animated movies are framed at 1.78:1, so that will fill up you widescreen TVs in full. Why is the theatrical movies so wide? When the TV was invented, movies in theaters starting to lose customers. To enhance or to make movies a special experience, special lenses was designed to have the movie screen wider. So if you look at theatrical movies before early 1940s, they all have aspect ratio of 1.33:1. |
Sep 24 2008, 02:48 PM
Sep 25 2008, 07:10 AM
QUOTE(arremie @ Sep 25 2008, 05:23 AM) Alrighty then. I guess you are not in Malaysia How soon? Eh, guys, this is the DVD thread la, not BD. |
Oct 13 2008, 07:35 AM
QUOTE(bmipp @ Oct 12 2008, 03:14 PM) Yah still, the USB is the main concern, as now they are the biggest convenience for files playing. PS3 is the first Profile 2.0 BD player in the world. Only RM1599 with local Sony warranty. If bluray with all the features like Pioneer one...walao...that will be the best investment..but in reality, once bluray in, they will be unlikely to add in the same features So i advise to invest in one good DVD player, and also 1 cheaper bluray profile 2.0 (haha, in my dream only, where got cheaper profile 2.0 bluray, such as US) |
Oct 20 2008, 11:28 AM
Might be selling my Pioneer DV-400V-S (equivalent to 410) with free HDMI cable. Any takers?
Oct 21 2008, 07:03 AM
Nov 4 2008, 06:41 PM
There was one guy who posted here saying he can bring Oppo players here cheap. For got who already.
Nov 4 2008, 07:56 PM
QUOTE(cmw_kwl_6923 @ Nov 4 2008, 07:46 PM) You've never heard of Oppo?Here: http://www.oppodigital.com/ |
Nov 5 2008, 07:11 AM
QUOTE(bmipp @ Nov 4 2008, 08:02 PM) Added on November 4, 2008, 8:07 pm Where can buy this? The features are stunning, only one thing does it read even scratched disc like Pioneer DV610 I tested the usual unplayable disc in other DVD player in my Pioneer DV610, it plays exceptionally well! surprisingly How about Oppo? About playability, no idea. But it's one of high rated specialist DVD players. They don't make any other products. |
Nov 6 2008, 11:06 AM
Is there any product that isn't made in China nowadays?
My iPhone says "Designed by Apple in California, USA, Assembled in China". My PS3, speakers, subwoofers, almost all made in China. So what to do, the least is to look for is the design and engineering part, or at least the brand itself is not from China. (My Onkyo proudly made in Malaysia though. *Note: Paradigm speakers and subwoofers are still made in Canada. But it's possible they'll move their production line to China to cut cost, only question is when. |
Nov 6 2008, 05:53 PM
I never trust China brands per se, but I have no choice for Japan/USA/EU/UK brands that are made in China. At least we these well known brands should have good engineering, design and QC, they're manufacturing them in China just to save the cost of labour, etc.
This post has been edited by aiman04: Nov 6 2008, 05:55 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0291sec
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 10:48 PM |