14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

University The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v2, [UK University of The Year]

tanjinjack
post Mar 14 2009, 07:02 PM

4,122 posts

Hi Mr. Lonely and others,

Just get into the Mechanical Engineering this early Feb 09, still new to UNMC. Greetings to everyone!

Mr. Lonely,
I am not sure with all those registration processes for foundation but I strongly suggest you to visit the campus before you decide to come to Nottingham. It's a fact that Nottingham is an estate.
I describe UNMC as,
You go to a palm oil estate. Clear off 80 acres. Korek a lake. Erect some buildings. Paint them with different colours. Make the road (Jalan Broga) to these buildings nicer from the main road. Then, it's Nottingham.
Without car, you hardly have entertainment. But the environment is top notch and probably the best private campus in Malaysia. I am saying this because I choose Nottingham over Monash based on its unparalleled campus. But, I believe, for some, Nottingham is their worst campus ever been for being the lack of entertainment, and being ulu.
But, I come from a kampung also, ulu ulu la, what I scare.

Ok, back to main topic. Visit the campus on the open day, 21st March. If you like and are rich enough, you can consider signing up already. But I would say, go somewhere else do your Pre-U first. Why?
1. You may change your mind and want to go somewhere else. If you have A-Level or SAM. You will be very easy in going here and there. (I'm from SAM.)
2. Except Taylors and Sunway, other colleges' Pre-U should be cheaper than the foundation course in Nottingham and be more generous in giving scholarships. (I'm from Inti Nilai, also ulu ma.. Haha)

If you are rich, and like ulu, then Nottingham is your best place to study in Malaysia!
tanjinjack
post Mar 19 2009, 08:51 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(windsrave @ Mar 16 2009, 01:09 PM)
urgent, smile.gif
i wanna ask,
1.when is foundation in engineering program in Nottingham starts (April intakes)?
2. fees of foundation of engineering?
3. any scholarship for me? i got 8 A1, and 2 A2, GCE is A1
4. how much is the fees of degree of mechatronics? roughly..?

thanks! rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
i'll appreciate your help biggrin.gif
1. Check the website.
2. Check the website.
3. Check the website.
4. Check the website.

Don't be lazy..
-----------------------------------

1. I really don't know, check the website.
2. 6500*3
3. 30%
4. 34k*3 or *4 depending BEng or MEng with possible 25% discount based on academic performance in foundation year.
[cool.gif
tanjinjack
post Mar 21 2009, 09:52 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Mar 21 2009, 06:25 PM)
cn i noe bout the lecturers for the E&E Engineering programme thr..
-wats their qualifications? phd? masters?
-r they gud in teachin? i mean r they gud lecturers?
-erm..most of them r foreigner or locals?
-will thr lack of lecturers or sum of them will nt enter the class often?
1. I believe most of them are PhD. Only a few is Masters. At least, this is the case in the M3 department.
2. Well, I will also say depends. I have excellent lecturers but my Eng Maths 1 lecturer now is bad, very bad. I have spotted numerous mistakes done by him, just lazy to pick him up. He has PhD somemore.. Walau..
I took a E&E module this semester and it's taught by lecturer from the E&E department. For me, Dr Fawaz is an excellent lecturer. We applauded everytime after he finished his lecture.
3. I believe ALL of the Director of Studies are foreigners, from Nottingham I think. But, generally, there are more locals. You can try to look up the academic staffs in the website. Go to the E&E department and look up 'People'.
4. I have never heard of such case in my few months of studies here. Even if we do not have a class on that time, we'll get informed earlier, through e-mail most of the time and there's always replacement (even for public holiday for some lecturers.).

There's one thing that I think is very good, and quite important in showing the commitment of the university. It is their IT service. So far, I have never encountered virus in their computers and their specs are high for their computers. You need a unique account to sign in the computer. The email they provide to you is very active and you can get latest update from it. Very good IMO.
Also, we don't pay for lectures notes as it's included in the tuition fee. I like it very much. No more hassles to look for someone to help me photostat. No more hassles to look for lecturers to get the notes. Everything is included!

Good luck!
tanjinjack
post Mar 22 2009, 11:59 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Ibrahimovic @ Mar 22 2009, 11:44 PM)
Yeah nottingham a good place to study up. But do every course could guarantee a spot in UK campus?
What do you mean by guarantee a spot in UK campus?
You mean student exchange like what's going in Monash?
tanjinjack
post Mar 23 2009, 11:04 PM

4,122 posts

LOL...
Hardly any lui in FOE de la..
Mech Eng 1st year also so few girls only...
But, don't want comment on leng-ness la.. in case anyone is watching this thread..

Pharmacy lots of girls lo..
the ratio of girls is highest..
then NUBS also a lot of lui, leng or leng depend on you la..

Here de lui, IMHO, knows how to make up/dress up more.
tanjinjack
post Mar 24 2009, 12:11 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Mar 23 2009, 11:59 PM)
zzz talking about leng ... god this year miss nottingham candidates arent impressive like before .. +_+ dissapointed. jaja ._.
New student here..
Is the quality of mr and miss nottingham like that de ah..?
I mean, still got room of improvement right?
make me feel dao I go elect mr nottingham also can get in leh..
although i not leng zai la.

tanjinjack
post Mar 25 2009, 12:42 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Mar 24 2009, 11:38 PM)
hey guys, on the application form, at the "Personal Statement Supporting Your Application" part thr, wat shud i write actually?? cn i jz leave it blank??? HELP PLZ! URGENT! icon_question.gif
Just write about yourself that you want the university to know but you haven't filled in your form yet.
Your co-curriculum activities, your desire to come UNMC, or you tell them what you want to acheive in UNMC etc.
Something like that.. That's what I write about.
tanjinjack
post Apr 1 2009, 12:44 AM

4,122 posts

4 papers!
Start from 7th and end at 22nd. But after the week, summer semester starts.
Aw...
tanjinjack
post Apr 7 2009, 08:22 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Apr 7 2009, 06:58 PM)
i hav sum questions here...:
-hw many students r thr in dis uni?
-hws the life over thr? enjoyable, fun, excitin? or dull n boring? especially for an engineering student and a chinese guy. mind describe abit?
Engineering student and Chinese guy? That's me!

Alright, we have 3,200 students according to an angmo that gave us a speech on our induction.

I am still doing my very first semester but let me share with you how do I feel about the lift in Nottingham.
It's like...
Relaxing~ relaxing~.. for a few weeks.. then..
Busying, busying, busying.. for some weeks..
(Then, I guess, relax again, and busy again..)

At first, there's hardly anything you need to do on your own after lectures. You can just go back and rest and relax.
But, assignments will start to be given out and in the end, you will find a lot of assignments due on close dates.
That can drive you crazy as the assignments will not be easy (even if the lecturer claim so..)..
I have friend who travels everyday and is forced to stay overnight in my room to work out the lab reports.

Well, now after the tide of assignments, I am relaxing now.. at least for a few days, before the next assignment due.. and before the tide of exam comes!

The life here is very enjoyable. Nice campus, fresh air, green view..
But, a lot of international students and I feel weird why mostly international students who run for the elections?
You can see a lot of girls here that dress up very well.. (well, not in Engineering I guess...)

If you have the money, I feel that, it's quite worthwhile to spend it here, due to the environment and of course the reputation and quality of education!
tanjinjack
post Apr 7 2009, 11:28 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Apr 7 2009, 10:56 PM)
thx for ur info! =)
oh ya 1 more thing is, wats the max ptptn loan i cn get for the degree course?
Depending on your parents' income. Check their website. They have it online.
tanjinjack
post Apr 9 2009, 08:52 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(miss-steph18 @ Apr 9 2009, 04:56 PM)
this uni good or not? heard my friend say got quite a lot of uk lecturers. is it true?
UK lecturers. I guess quite a number.
If not mistaken, ALL of our Director of Studies (head of program) is from the UK.
And, yes, we have a lot of international lecturers, including some from the Middle East.

I believe for other schools, there will be visiting lecturers as well, from Nottingham UK.
The Mechanical Engineering is proud to have the lecturerS from UK to visit and give advice on projects and also conduct lectures.
tanjinjack
post Apr 9 2009, 11:30 PM

4,122 posts

Go early la..
The lectures in Nottingham is not cheap, until I don't want to miss any of it.
So, join them early, from day one.

It's also good as you are easier to break into the new community with everyone being strangers to each other rather than joining late alone, hunting for your new gang.

Well, my 0.02.
tanjinjack
post Apr 11 2009, 12:55 AM

4,122 posts

You have to apply for accommodation separately.
Use the website and get the address/email and send in your application to Pioneer Century (the company who runs the accommodation).

It's wise to apply early to have choices on which sort of room you want to stay.
tanjinjack
post Apr 11 2009, 04:10 PM

4,122 posts

Business building Orange colour. You like or not?

The NUBS at UK is quite reputable, top 10 in UK and top 100 in the World. The quality at Malaysia seems not bad as well as many people do swarm to Nottingham to study business courses.

The course at Nottingham seems to be giving a lot of flexibility, as you can choose to do perhaps finance, accounts and management, or business and management etc. Quite a number of combinations. But try consult staffs from NUBS to know more.
tanjinjack
post Apr 12 2009, 12:37 AM

4,122 posts

Well, I am from the Faculty of Engineering, but I do know a bit about NUBS.
I'll try my best to answer you but please do wait for the confirmations from NUBS.

Last time I too free and went to check out the course structure for Finance, Accounting and Management. And, I find that, after the 1st year, one can still graduate at other subjects, like Economics and Finance, Economics and Management, Management Studies etc.
Well, you can get a degree tailor to your interest.
I am not sure how it would be if you start out with a different degree from FAM. But, my guess is you can still change around as the modules taken for some courses are very similar.

Well, let's see if anyone from NUBS will give a better explanation.
tanjinjack
post Apr 12 2009, 03:26 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(windsrave @ Apr 12 2009, 12:22 PM)
is it possible for someone who took foundation of engineering in MMU and join Nottingham for the degree course?
Less likely lo..
Unless you are very very excellent in that Pre-U and the course structure is favoured by the respective Faculty/Department.
But, do check with the Admission Office for confirmation.

May I know why do you have such a thought?

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Apr 12 2009, 03:26 PM
tanjinjack
post Apr 12 2009, 04:25 PM

4,122 posts

Why no time?
Well, I believe you can still apply now.
The registration date is 16 April I think and classes start at 20 April if not mistaken.
Don't worry. You still have time, just that you may need to make more phone calls, send some emails only.
tanjinjack
post Apr 12 2009, 04:42 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Apr 12 2009, 04:38 PM)
yup you can always appeal even if you are late. Im sure they willing to accept you as you are their foundation student
To add on,
as long as you can pay.
tanjinjack
post Apr 12 2009, 08:52 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(windsrave @ Apr 12 2009, 05:02 PM)
i asked the staff
they said i need to send the application letter to them, and it usually takes around 1 or 2 weeks to reply me.
i need that letter from them when i register.urgg
How come so long?
I believe it's faster.
Tell them you want to make it for the registration for 16th. Ask them what to do.
I believe can send in application via email what..
tanjinjack
post Apr 13 2009, 04:27 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(windsrave @ Apr 13 2009, 12:52 PM)
oh god,
i asked the accommodation staff and they said the rooms are full.
so how?
any recommendation?
Wah, full ah..
That means I will be having roommate lo..
Haha..
Currently, I stay in the twin sharing alone.
Wow..
Few more days and my new rommie will come~

14 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0555sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 01:32 AM