14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Bottom

University The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v2, [UK University of The Year]

tanjinjack
post Apr 13 2009, 08:20 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(windsrave @ Apr 13 2009, 07:02 PM)
what type of room are u staying?
is it ok?
Paying RM385 monthly for (half) a room in a 3-room flat.
Each room is only able to accommodate two beds, two wardrobes, two sides tables and two set of drawers.
Wonder where is the table?
It's in the common living hall.
The toilets are common as well, shared.
2 toilet bowl, one heater, one non-heater, 3 basins.

Kitchen and dining hall are shared in one wing of one floor of one hall.
One hall has either 3 or 4 floors; each floor has 3 wings, each wings has about 15 rooms I think.
Sort of like that.
This is the on-campus accommodation.

Nearest off-campus is few minutes walk away from the academic blocks but it's best to own a car if you decide to stay off-campus. You can't imagine if it rains heavily when you are about to attend your lessons.
tanjinjack
post Apr 14 2009, 03:42 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(windsrave @ Apr 14 2009, 01:18 PM)
anyone knows how to apply High Achievers Scholarship?
apply when i register?
I think it comes together with the offer. You are automatically considered.
What I got is a scholarship letter together with an offer letter.

For High Achievers Scholarship, I think it's ABB for most courses I think.
It's rumoured that Pharmacy students are all recipients of this scholarship as their published minimum requirement for entry is ABB. Wonder if the BBC student has it or not.
Alright la, sounds not tough to get right? Get liao also 25% reduction only, nothing more than that by UNMC liao. (But, it's a lot!)
tanjinjack
post Apr 14 2009, 06:39 PM

4,122 posts

Foundation can get until 35% la..
But cannot get carries forward to degree also.
Degree only 25%..
hmm.gif
tanjinjack
post Apr 14 2009, 07:43 PM

4,122 posts

I think you reply by email or phone la, saying that you will be accepting the offer, but will do all the documents thing on registration day.
tanjinjack
post Apr 15 2009, 12:39 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(jasperng @ Apr 14 2009, 09:29 PM)
30% because they just increased the course fee ? hehe
35% and 30% is for Foundation only.
25% is eligible for all courses.
Even if you hold 35% for foundation and enter degree, you can't carry forward also. It becomes 25% only.
Nottingham bit stingy in giving out scholarships la, but at least, easier to get and is automatic based on results, unlike some universities may trap you...
tanjinjack
post Apr 15 2009, 05:20 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Apr 15 2009, 04:21 PM)
wa.. PhD.. master oso not yet had a thought for it.. apatah PhD.. lol
UK Bachelor First Class or Second Upper can straight away do PhD ma..
tanjinjack
post Apr 17 2009, 04:49 PM

4,122 posts

Wow..
Did the SA President gave you a speech to you all in the induction?
"Welcome to the University of Nottingham Ma-la-sya Cam-pos."
tanjinjack
post Apr 17 2009, 07:55 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Apr 17 2009, 07:24 PM)
hmm.. im planning to study here if i dont get any scholarship offers.. any complaints from ppl studying in nottingham yet?? lol
Yes yes, without cars, you are like trapped in a very comfortable jail. tongue.gif
You go study, then do activities, attend sports, eat bad food, watch tv, learn extra stuffs, sleep etc.

Ok la, at least you still have free buses to Kajang KTM.

But, every other things are very excellent. Academic management is excellent where the staffs' emails are working very well.

What I like the most is we don't pay for our notes, ie we do not need to get a mastercopy, then photostat it out, then distribute to classmates. Save a lot of time. thumbup.gif thumbup.gif
tanjinjack
post Apr 17 2009, 08:30 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Batusai @ Apr 17 2009, 08:09 PM)
oo.. lol.. wad bad food is it?? all malay style gah?? lol

we've paid a whole sum for da course fees leh.. haha..

is undergrad studies going to UK for their last years?
No la.
We got Chinese, Malay and Indian food.
But I don't like is Nottingham contracts out the canteen for other people and hence quality control not so good lo..
Almost everyday my friends and I went to Semenyih to eat for lunch.
We prefer Uncle Tiam..

Anyone also eat there?

Not necessary must go UK for final years, but people may consider to do their FYP there lo, better facilities what.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Apr 17 2009, 08:30 PM
tanjinjack
post Apr 18 2009, 12:46 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(crazy142857 @ Apr 17 2009, 11:05 PM)
I've not tried the food their though tongue.gif I've been going back to UNMC every week even when i've been working for almost a year already. But i still always eat out from campus. Best if you have a car, or can car pool with your friends, as there's lots of good food in semenyih, kajang, Bandar Teknologi Kajang, broga, cheras selatan, etc, those not-too-far-of places. Go explore, it's fun. Or ask your senior. You can also climb broga hill, find semenyih dam, drive pass Nirvana@midnight, see the sunset/sun rise @ lookout point, etc.
Wow, got so many places to go meh..
Hey hey, PM you.
tanjinjack
post Apr 18 2009, 01:07 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(XxAC3xX @ Apr 18 2009, 01:03 AM)
guys, any1 doin their degree tell me hws the sem break plz, its when to when...i really nid to noe
When you are in the university, go to F2, TISCRA 1 or 2 and then access to U drive.
At U drive there, go and look for the Academic Calender that is applicable to you.
Alright, problem solved I guess.

Added on April 18, 2009, 1:13 amBTW, one of my lecturer uses to speak out youtube instead of U Drive. LOL!

"The notes are in youtube, oops, U drive."

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Apr 18 2009, 01:13 AM
tanjinjack
post Apr 18 2009, 11:44 PM

4,122 posts

Why to KL Sentral?

Take a bus to Nilai KTM.
Then from Nilai KTM go Kajang KTM.
Then from Kajang KTM, wait for Nottingham buses la..
Nilai to Kajang RM2.70.
Then, bus fare should be RM5.00 from KLIA to Nilai KTM.

See? So cheap!

But, must go Nottingham SA website to check out bus schedule la.
tanjinjack
post Apr 19 2009, 01:08 AM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(FCUK89 @ Apr 19 2009, 12:19 AM)
Oh sorry, didn't know got bus go to there from NILAI. Anyway if I go nilai, can take bus to LCCT also? Every half an hour also got bus? Or 15 mins? Where to look for? Cause usually I go to KL central to take Sky Bus.
Usually, got buses from LCCT to KLIA and the other way also, right?
Should have de la. No worry.
Just need like show itinerary or air ticket then can board already.
tanjinjack
post Apr 19 2009, 01:36 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Apr 19 2009, 02:14 AM)
air asia > LCCT  > bus > KL sentral KTM > kajang station > wait for uni de bus > reach UNI !!

* any1 wan to change Group english Group A2 to A3 ? i finding ppl to change with me TT
NO need go to KL Sentral lo..
Go Nilai can already!!!

Ada bus pergi ke Nilai KTM la.. dari KLIA!
tanjinjack
post Apr 19 2009, 03:08 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(Mr.Lonely @ Apr 19 2009, 01:51 PM)
air asia din land at KLIA is LCCT.....zzzzz rclxms.gif

BTW!! any1 know how to send email as  "entryman" mention? cry.gif
i really hope to change to Group A2 from A3.... tmr start liao !!  laugh.gif
Got bus from LCCT to KLIA de ma!

I think you all can still send emails using your own account, hotmail, yahoo etc. because you all haven't gotten your nottingham email account yet.
Just send to the respective people then can already I think.
tanjinjack
post Apr 19 2009, 04:41 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(thechetticompany @ Apr 19 2009, 03:24 PM)
Nottingham's new mock name given by the British themselves: Shootingham

Where is Nottingham's reputation going over the years?
Why are you posting all of these on the Malaysia Campus thread?
Ok la..
got murder case in Broga la..
but I can tell you, inside the Campus is quite safe lo..
And, you dare to say in the safest city, the most silent and darkest street won't have criminals la..
tanjinjack
post Apr 19 2009, 05:19 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Apr 19 2009, 05:07 PM)
IINM, Notts MY + Notts UK + Notts China for world ranking.
Should be..
Nottingham University Park Campus + Jubilee Campus + Sutton Bonington Campus + Queen's Medical Centre + Ningbo Campus + Malaysia Campus la..
No way they are ranked missing out 2 campuses, isn't it?
You won't rate University of Nottingham with University Park Campus only right? There got no medical course leh, IINM!

Added on April 19, 2009, 5:25 pm

thechetticompany, mind to identify yourself?

BTW, that ranking is practically useless in identifying the quality of one's university, or in your context, producing dean list.
Read their methodology here.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Apr 19 2009, 05:26 PM
tanjinjack
post Apr 19 2009, 09:12 PM

4,122 posts

LOL, I am waiting for a reply~
tanjinjack
post Apr 19 2009, 10:07 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(thechetticompany @ Apr 19 2009, 09:32 PM)
Don't joke with me with THES Rankings ok?
It's regarded as the most biased UK ranking around which heavily promotes UK universities as well as Commonwealth nations such as Australia, NZ and Malaysia.

Now could you all tell me why isn't Webometrics not accurate about Malaysian universities?
USM which is the only APEX university is top up there with UTM and UM taking 2nd and 3rd places.

They have even single out Oxbridge from their top 10 list because there are universities in the US who won Nobel Prizes 2-3X more than what Oxbridge has accomplished.
Why suddenly you talk about THES ranking now?
I thought you showed us Webometrics one..
Why change liao de hah..
Hahaha...

Read the methodology for Webometrics one before you post.
And, read the name of the ranking before you post.
tanjinjack
post Apr 19 2009, 10:49 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(farscope @ Apr 19 2009, 10:34 PM)

wow.. i found u quite interesting.. 1st of all u come up with sth unrelated to our campus, question us regarding the reputation.. is there anything to do between the reputation of its uni to its location anyway?

e.g. IF suddenly terengganu is in chaos, then can i say where's UMT's reputation going over the years? doh.gif

then suddenly u come up with a uni ranking to compare.. is there anything to do with the previous post u wrote?

then suddenly u come up with the THES ranking and said it is UK biased and so on.. doh.gif

u r funny.. u totally made my day... FUNNY...  rclxms.gif  laugh.gif
LOL...
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

No la, we biased only...
biggrin.gif biggrin.gif tongue.gif

14 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0534sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:55 AM