138 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Bottom

University The University of Nottingham - Malaysia Campus v2, [UK University of The Year]

ArianneG
post Oct 31 2009, 12:33 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

I like direct downloads too, but some of the file hosts are really-- headache inducing. Very frustrating. Especially with Megaupload, RS, etc. And when the file disappears overnight.... :mad: But I agree, direct downloads is still one of the most reliable methods. At least with IRC the file won't vanish on you, and books are fast-- songs slower, but some things that you can't get anywhere else, is up on IRC.
tanjinjack
post Oct 31 2009, 01:33 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(ArianneG @ Oct 31 2009, 12:33 PM)
I like direct downloads too, but some of the file hosts are really-- headache inducing. Very frustrating. Especially with Megaupload, RS, etc. And when the file disappears overnight.... :mad: But I agree, direct downloads is still one of the most reliable methods. At least with IRC the file won't vanish on you, and books are fast-- songs slower, but some things that you can't get anywhere else, is up on IRC.
The only thing I find frustrated on megaupload, rapidshare is that the download slot is taken by others. So I usually opt for less known file host like hotfile, despositfile etc.

BTW, haven't been lucky with IRC that my experience with it was somehow bad.

This post has been edited by tanjinjack: Oct 31 2009, 01:34 PM
Batusai
post Oct 31 2009, 02:09 PM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

ouch... i din know the $%&*%(&) tools monitor our computer... aikz... im hating it already... but the good thing is i seldom bring my lappy to go online with their unmc... sked virus...

but i do use my pda phone.. dang.. gotta visit IS office.. wonder if they know how to configure..
TSeXPeri3nc3
post Oct 31 2009, 03:26 PM

It's coming! 3ɔu3ıɹǝdxǝ ♥
9,257 posts

QUOTE(ArianneG @ Oct 31 2009, 12:33 PM)
True, esp. animes.

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Oct 31 2009, 01:33 PM)
The only thing I find frustrated on megaupload, rapidshare is that the download slot is taken by others. So I usually opt for less known file host like hotfile, despositfile etc.

BTW, haven't been lucky with IRC that my experience with it was somehow bad.
I never really used IRC before also, so I just ask my hsemate to get it for me laugh.gif

QUOTE(Batusai @ Oct 31 2009, 02:09 PM)
ouch... i din know the $%&*%(&) tools monitor our computer... aikz... im hating it already... but the good thing is i seldom bring my lappy to go online with their unmc... sked virus...

but i do use my pda phone.. dang.. gotta visit IS office.. wonder if they know how to configure..
Lol, so now you know XD
tanjinjack
post Oct 31 2009, 03:46 PM

4,122 posts

I believe this Bradford thing will be installed in the university computers as well. Aw, let's see how smart the software is.

Do they get to monitor our browsing history as well?
e1e7en
post Oct 31 2009, 06:48 PM

178 posts

omg, to think I'll see the day...
I doubt students in nottingham will go quiet about this.
Anyone wanna start a protest?
entryman
post Oct 31 2009, 06:59 PM

2,179 posts

Let's post this in LYN's computing section and see if anyone can advise us on available workarounds? i.e. to maintain our computing privacy
tanjinjack
post Oct 31 2009, 08:02 PM

4,122 posts

QUOTE(e1e7en @ Oct 31 2009, 06:48 PM)
omg, to think I'll see the day...
I doubt students in nottingham will go quiet about this.
Anyone wanna start a protest?
I don't think so. How many of them actually cares about that?
How many of them actually uses the WiFi in Nottingham?
Alright, certainly, there are large users group in using the TISCRA (which I believe the Bradford will lay themselves on as well), but they are using the university computers, they can't complain much.

What I worry is how many things they can do on our MAC address, which is unique to our machine.
entryman
post Oct 31 2009, 08:15 PM

2,179 posts

QUOTE(tanjinjack @ Oct 31 2009, 08:02 PM)
I don't think so. How many of them actually cares about that?
How many of them actually uses the WiFi in Nottingham?
Alright, certainly, there are large users group in using the TISCRA (which I believe the Bradford will lay themselves on as well), but they are using the university computers, they can't complain much.

What I worry is how many things they can do on our MAC address, which is unique to our machine.
Can they actually know our browsing content by checking the packets? e.g. images, files, transmitted private info, etc?
ArianneG
post Oct 31 2009, 10:41 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

Really know what exactly we're sending? I doubt it. I don't think they will sniff every packet that goes through-- too much resources. But by monitoring WHERE the packets come from, they can make a very good guess-- especially since the path the packets will take on their internal network is not hidden through means like Tor; and even with Tor, if you monitor exit points enough you can actually track where info's going= anonymity fail. So, they can see what info is coming from where on the external net, since most info coming in is likely NOT encrypted unless you're using SSH or something-- and now with this Bradford ()*&(7 they can see where that information is going from the external net, and pin it to you through your MAC address.

The client itself is a nuisance-- what is worrying is the MAC address they have-- with the client they now can identify the MAC address and trace it back to you. No more privacy.

TSeXPeri3nc3
post Oct 31 2009, 11:04 PM

9,257 posts

Well, slapping it with a RADIUS server and BlueCoat (which was installed 2 years ago), with the proxy server, you really think that they can't monitor you if they wanted to?

But yea, they will only do web monitoring, they won't really check into each single packets, but, if they want they can do it.

I saw the logs for the website monitoring, and yes, it's kind of scary.

Added on October 31, 2009, 11:06 pmI am making the educated guess that those who didn't provide their MAC addresses will be blocked from accessing the network, as if you're an outsider. Good thing for the University, but bad thing in case anything happens to you.

This post has been edited by eXPeri3nc3: Oct 31 2009, 11:06 PM
ArianneG
post Oct 31 2009, 11:26 PM

Paidhi-tekikin
890 posts

QUOTE(eXPeri3nc3 @ Oct 31 2009, 11:04 PM)
I am making the educated guess that those who didn't provide their MAC addresses will be blocked from accessing the network, as if you're an outsider. Good thing for the University, but bad thing in case anything happens to you.
Yes-- that is what happens. You're blocked from accessing the network. As for the 'in case' scenario; that is why we have friends and handphones. I'd rather trust a human than a machine anyway, in such situations.
SUSeriko12
post Nov 2 2009, 06:18 PM

54 posts

Anybody understand what this shiat means?

Dear All UNMC Wireless Laptop Users,

This is to clarify the purpose and need of this Bradford Campus Manager appliance implementation on our wireless network. Security is our upmost purpose. This appliance will help ensure that our network is protected against attacks by viruses (e.g. the recent Conficker outbreak) by checking if users' laptops are having updated antivirus software and windows patches. The second purpose is to ensure that only authorized users' and their laptops are able to access our wireless network. Hence, all laptop users need to go through the registration process (Part A) using a valid University username and password.

The Bradford Persistent Agent that you are required to install is a small agent software that will be able to periodically check individual laptops for the what is explained above (updated antivirus software, Windows patches and authorized user accesses). To minimize disruption to your wireless access, it is more practical for regular users of our wireless network to install the persistent agents instead of dissolvable ones (which has to be installed and removed each time a laptop tries to connect to our wireless network).

Fortunately, this is only Stage 1 of the implementation where we only require you to register your laptops and install the agent. We will not start stopping access to our wireless network for those laptops that fail to comply to our very minimum requirement, i.e. updated antivirus and windows patches. IT Support will give you ample explanation, guide and warning before we proceed to Stage 2 where laptops that fail to comply to our requirement may be quarantined until these requirements are met. We will ensure that Stage 2 will not begin until we are confident that disruptions of your access to our wireless network is very minimal and users have been given ample time to install and update their antivirus software (free antivirus software are also acceptable, e.g. AVG, AVAST) and windows patches.

We hope your understand that this implementation is meant to protect our network, including your personal laptops from getting compromised by security threats which will ultimately disrupt the connectivity of the network. We apologize for this lengthy email but if you need further clarification, please email ITSupport@nottingham.edu.my.

Regards,

IT Support.
tanjinjack
post Nov 2 2009, 11:02 PM

4,122 posts

Alright, is there any way where we can spam while not getting caught by the IS?

Also, we may want to find supports from SA as well. Perhaps some voices from the hall residents through the Hall Committee can be effective, too. (They are quite active these days with Broga Hill Hike Malacca Trip. LOL!)
TSeXPeri3nc3
post Nov 3 2009, 08:52 AM

9,257 posts

That explains. Bradford is a very good locking down mechanism. That means I gotta install anti virus. Meh.
Batusai
post Nov 3 2009, 10:29 AM

Weeeeeee
2,066 posts

hahaa.. even they are monitoring phones... my phone is so vurnerable..
milas
post Nov 3 2009, 12:54 PM

Salim here!

The best thing to do, is to put your concerns in an official letter and send it to: IT Support and CC to LOTUS ONG, PAUL BOARDMAN, IAN PASHBY and SA PRESIDENT using a dummy email address (if you want to hide your identity).

My advise is better put it in polite terms (instead of 'protesting') giving evidences from external links. Keep it short and to the point. Ask the management: 'How would our privacy be protected?', 'Is the UK campus implementing this?', 'Who would have administrative rights and to what extent', etc.

Honestly, I do not know what the persistent agent is capable of, and that would require further research to really gauge and understand the underlying threats of invasion of privacy, data traffic monitoring, browsing history, amongst others, as mentioned by some of you.

The faster you act, the faster we defeat Big Brother. I read some comments asking people to mass petition. I wouldn't recommend that.

eugene90
post Nov 3 2009, 07:07 PM

251 posts

after reading all the lenthy articles and comments, i still don't get the gist of Bradford Campus Manager appliance.

please allow me to share my understanding and correct me if i have any mistake...

1) we will soon have schoolwide coverage wireless network.
2) to enjoy this facility, users got to register at IS.
3) registration does include installation of certain softwares on user's personal laptop which is meant to monitor user's browsing content and to avoid spreading of virus.

----

i'm a Civ. Eng. student who is using Autocad 2009 to complete coursework, if i prefer to do my coursework at home, where can i get a copy of Autocad to install on my personal pc...
tanjinjack
post Nov 3 2009, 09:21 PM

4,122 posts

I have seen emails that try to send emails to everyone. Basically, they just send to Engineering all students, NUBS all students, Pharmacy all students etc.
Do IS actually check those emails out?
(I think we can't send to 'All students', can we?)

Or we should get support from the staff/lecturers. Want to work it out?
TSeXPeri3nc3
post Nov 3 2009, 10:14 PM

9,257 posts

You can send to All Students, but risk your email getting banned by IS for abusing the email system.

Seriously, if there's a lot of misconception still after IS clarified from their latest email, I believe that a lot of the students will refuse to use the wifi service.

138 Pages « < 126 127 128 129 130 > » Top

0.0286sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 9th December 2025 - 05:16 AM