9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

SSJBen
post Oct 4 2008, 08:41 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

The demo for Eternal Sonata is out on the US PSN, download it and see if you like it. Personally, I do.

SH: Homecoming is a letdown for me. Not worth buying IMO, Siren on the other hand is.
SSJBen
post Oct 5 2008, 07:40 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(ycs1218 @ Oct 5 2008, 06:15 PM)
After i insert PES2008 to my console, the system ask for downloading latest software for PES2008. So now i start to download it. I wanna ask can I reject the DIsc from console while waiting the software to finish download?
You can but best not. Because after the update, the game will auto-start itself. If theres no disc in the drive, you'll be shown an error. Doesn't hurt the PS3 either way, but why risk it?
SSJBen
post Oct 6 2008, 12:23 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Neo_Y @ Oct 5 2008, 10:33 PM)
Like I said, our MYSony Centre will only know how to fix and repair Malaysia PS3. All the technician will be trained to perform the troubleshooting and mechanical work BASED ON our local set PS3. What to do...
Uhm... all PS3s in its own revision are made the same worldwide. If they know how to fix a "MY PS3", they'll know how to fix any other PS3s in the world. More over, our MY set isn't even local to begin with. Its a HK model, brought into here and given the license as well as policy to sell it as a local PS3.

In any case, Sony MY now cover PS3 lens as well I think.
SSJBen
post Oct 6 2008, 01:26 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Well not really. Just refrain from keeping your disc inside your PS3 for a few days. I know there are people who does this and theres no problem as well.

Just a precaution either way. Because the Blu-Ray lens immediately reads a disc if theres one inside, giving more wear and tear to it. The Blu-Ray lens are ironically(atleast at the moment), more fragile than traditional red-laser lenses.

So best turn off Auto-Run PS3 game under your PS3 settings.
SSJBen
post Oct 7 2008, 11:11 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(felix83 @ Oct 7 2008, 10:50 PM)
guys, talking about downloading...

is there any difference between downloading using a SG / US account ?
not sure if it will connect to a different server to download based on the a/c ?

guessing that if with SG a/c, the server oughta be in singapore, rite ?
No, its in HK instead. All Asia PSN(except Japan obviously) are located in HK.

Difference wise, I don't feel any. Ironically, I download faster when connected to my US PSN.
SSJBen
post Oct 8 2008, 04:22 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(snipersnake @ Oct 8 2008, 09:47 AM)
for updating games, I would advise you guys to connect the ps3 directly to your modem, wired of course.
Good suggestion.

Although I've never used my PS3 on a wired connection, always wireless tongue.gif
SSJBen
post Oct 8 2008, 06:18 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Oct 8 2008, 05:31 PM)
there are allot of causes why its slow.. namely streamyx. if u get the correct IP.. where i am staying.. i always try to get 60.48 any other IP and it will be dreadfully be slow.. 60.49, 60.50 worst is 60.53 the old 218 used to be an industrial line now is slower thn ever.. thn whn i usually get 219 as well.

try to check wat IP u are using.  might hell

thn again the above applies to those who stay at subang. other states. diff IP
True enough.
Though, 60.53 does work best for me however.

Streamyx giving me alot of disconnections these pass few days too. How I wish Malaysia have Japan's broadband service.... drool.gif
SSJBen
post Oct 9 2008, 01:08 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Mythras231 @ Oct 9 2008, 11:53 AM)
Anyone know the launching date for Tekken 6 : Bloodline Rebellion ?
No exact date, fall 2009 is the given date. Releasing simultaneously on the PS3 and 360.

This post has been edited by SSJBen: Oct 9 2008, 01:11 PM
SSJBen
post Oct 10 2008, 10:45 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(cwl_ykh @ Oct 10 2008, 09:37 AM)
can i ask all sifu and bro here... which bluetooth handsfree that is compatible to our ps3?? i mean which brands and models...
Yeap, best yet just wait for the official PS3 bluetooth headset that comes with SOCOM: Confrontation.
SSJBen
post Oct 12 2008, 01:12 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kobe8byrant @ Oct 12 2008, 12:46 PM)
Guys, can I just buy any ordinary headset with mic to use it on my PS3? Thx.
Obviously not. Headsets which uses the traditional 3.5mm jacks won't even be able to connect to the PS3 in the first place.

USB headsets should work, but most of them IMO are rather poor in quality. While there are alot of bluetooth headsets that should work fine with the PS3, best double check first.

The best is of course to just wait for the Official PS3 Bluetooth Headset which will be comin with SOCOM: Confrontation.
SSJBen
post Oct 13 2008, 12:46 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Zal, you're in the same situation I am curruntly in right now. Frequent DCing from PSN and extremely low speed as well.

I've found the problem though, it is the problem with the telephone line. Either it being noisy or the wire block that hooked to the pole outside our houses have already got so bad its on the verge of being dead anytime.

I already called that stupid TM to come and fix it but its already been more than a week and they have not showed up yet. I suggest you do the same as well too.
SSJBen
post Oct 13 2008, 05:57 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(K-End @ Oct 13 2008, 09:07 AM)
i suggest you use Yus style when dealing with TMnet,

F*** them on the line..use alot of vulgar word laugh.gif

harsh but effective
I am probably gonna do it. These people, don't *** them they won't move their asses. mad.gif

QUOTE(advocade @ Oct 13 2008, 04:27 PM)
Hey guys i wanna ask how much is the metal gear solid bundle with 80gb in malaysia coz currently now i am in australia and plan to buy a ps3 later this year...is it worth to buy the old 80gb or the new 80gb? i know the difference...just wan to know wat are u all sifu opinion
PS Zone has one last unit for sale: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/470450

RM2200, rather pricey yes. I think there are very very few shops now selling the MGS4 80GB PS3 bundle already, which kinda explains the high price. So depending on how much the PS2 B/C is worth it to you, it may or may not be worth it.
SSJBen
post Oct 14 2008, 12:04 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(primuslim @ Oct 13 2008, 11:39 PM)
Hi guys,

just was wondering, i've signed up on a US PSN and basically thats my main PSN. I've been buying a number of games mostly asia region games. I know from the FAQ that for updates and all you need to download the correct region update in order for it to work on your game, but question is if my game is R3 (Asia) and i'm using  US PSN, will i at least get a notice that there is an update for the game? That way i can log in
to my SG PSN or something to download it. Otherwise i won't log on to my other PSN and i will miss out my update for my games.

so i guess i'm just asking if i will at least get a notice that there is an update or if not, will the game try to update and tell me an error msg say not region compatible or something like that? thanks guys
Doesn't work that way.

Games that get updates will be based on when the updates are released in their own respective region. I'll take the Uncharted trophy patch as an example here. R1 and PAL(EU) owners of the game immediately got their patch on the day it was released onto the PSN. So basically the owners of the R1 and PAL versions of Uncharted will be prompted automatically to update.

R2(JAP) and R3(ASIA) on the other hand didn't get a prompt at all. Owners of these 2 versions needed to wait until it was released in their region.

With that said, I am an R3 owner of Uncharted. The game didn't prompt me at all when the trophy patch was released in EU and US. But when it came out in Asia, my main PSN account is also the US PSN, it did gave me a prompt to update.

Conclusion, doesn't matter what/which PSN acc you are using. Updates can only take place when it is released on the regions relative to the games you own.

QUOTE(mr_hahn_nemo @ Oct 13 2008, 11:44 PM)
will sony malaysia repair our ps3 buy before its released in malaysia??
warranty problem.....
This has been answered many times already.
Sony Malaysia will ONLY attend to PS3s that are bought locally, which means the official PS3 models here.

So obviously if its before the launch, then that PS3 unit is from somewhere else. Which also means they won't even bother to look at it.

SSJBen
post Oct 14 2008, 11:15 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(gunturmz @ Oct 14 2008, 08:02 AM)
OMG OMG.....

This is a bad news for me.  cry.gif  cry.gif
Mine is the early version. Japan I think. Bought it long time ago when its first realeased.

So, if I want to service my PS3, I don't have anyother choice except go to some PS3 kedai out there.
If you bought it on launch, then the warranty is already over.
SSJBen
post Oct 14 2008, 01:31 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Oct 14 2008, 11:26 AM)
lol that's me in the pic

my cousin is male though tongue.gif

the malaysian set how much with the bundle? how many controllers? thx smile.gif
PS Zone selling for RM1550, re-stocking either today or tomorow.
SSJBen
post Oct 15 2008, 04:57 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(S4PH @ Oct 15 2008, 12:39 AM)
just have 1 question on audio system for the ps3 have any1 connected an external soundcard like sounblaster to the ps3 what model suits the ps3 best i just need an external soundcard with audio input any recommendations from sifus out here.
I'm doing that currently. Connected my PS3 to my X-Fi XtremeMusic.

Basically any soundcards/on-board sound will work as long as theres a line-in jack(yea like what soundcard from this day in age doesn't have one? laugh.gif ).

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Oct 15 2008, 03:23 AM)
can i use my ps3 with my asus lcd vw223b?
Asus VW223B is VGA only.
So it basically isn't HDCP compliant and that means you can't use it with your PS3.

Eventhough it has its own EZ Link feature which uses USB for its digital input, the PS3 doesn't support that yet at the moment(please correct me if I'm wrong on this, not entirely sure).
SSJBen
post Oct 16 2008, 11:34 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(laowai @ Oct 16 2008, 10:27 AM)
FAT32 !!?

Usually it's NTFS these days. Damn
laugh.gif NTFS is developed by MS. What makes you think it'll work anywhere else other than Windows?
SSJBen
post Oct 18 2008, 03:06 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(miss mandy @ Oct 18 2008, 02:51 AM)
ic.. thanks would i lost my games data after i update?
Obviously not.
SSJBen
post Oct 18 2008, 03:20 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(acougan @ Oct 18 2008, 03:02 PM)
^my experience with constant PSN DC is i will reboot my modem/router and change a new IP.

sometimes one IP i will DC every few mintues, i try another IP, i stay connected for hours, weird eh?

i'm using streamyx and LAN connection
acougan, I've did a test on my own connection as well.

When using 60.51.xxx.xxx IP, indeed I do get disconnected very often from PSN too. 124.xxx is also another IP that I face constant DCing. At this point in time, I'd suspect if somehow is screamyx blocking PSN or something.

I've got no other problems when using other IP like 60.49, 60.53, 60.54 and 218.xxx. I can't test 219.xxx because that IP doesn't cover my area anymore.

Can you test as well to see if 60.51 and 124.xxx is REALLY the culprit of constant PSN dcing?
SSJBen
post Oct 18 2008, 04:07 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(ruztynail @ Oct 18 2008, 04:02 PM)
anyone tried deleting your friendlist.? doing some housekeeping. tried deleting those inactive ones.. somehow its stuck. it shows deleting pls wait. and it doesnt move. the ps3 isnt hang.. but i cant navigate out of the status. only way is to shut down.. anyone exp this symptoms?
I haven't got stucked at the friendlist yet, however I did got stuck when trying to send a message to someone.
I don't get stucked forver though, its only 2 minutes.

It happens when I immediately send a mail right after I login into the PSN, that means when my friendlist is loading.

9 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0799sec    0.20    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 10:54 PM