9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

SSJBen
post Sep 24 2008, 10:08 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Zeliard @ Sep 24 2008, 01:48 AM)
Sorry for acting like a noob here, just got a unit during launch. I noticed that the PS3 games over play-asia are relatively cheap, and they do not include shipping charge too.
My question is would it be cheaper to make playasia my centre of buying games? Or would you suggest me to continue visit my favourite retailer and kept on bugging for a best price?
Some of them indeed are quite a bit cheaper.

Though personally, I don't buy from PA either ways. Mainly because it takes too long for it to arrive at your doorstep. More over, if you search hard enough and bargain enough with local gameshops, you can get the same price or something near that. I'd rather pay a little more than to wait god knows how long for it to arrive through delivery.

QUOTE(abulabu @ Sep 24 2008, 02:58 AM)
so it means if i wan send my ps3 60 gb sg set to sonymy...under SonySG warranty...which i registerd thru the website...cannot be used meh??? vmad.gif ...it seems i have 2 pay la then.. mad.gif

darn.... cry.gif had the restoration system d....n tried with pes 2008.....played a 10 minutes game...no hanging..but b4 the restoration ...it would freeze up before second half whistle....i tot everything's fine enough...tried with cod4 online though....same thing happened.....lost sound...then picture..n FREEZE!!!! cry.gif ... hmm.gif makes me wonder...if lense is dying ...the disc surely cannot been read right??? n summore that's my 2nd lense!!!  mad.gif  ....nvm....i guess by sending it for services is the answer... sad.gif darn this is my 2nd time..my PS3 buat HAL!!!! cry.gif

had any1 experience this type of freezing b4??
You should understand this: Sony Malaysia DOES AND WILL NOT entertain any PS3s consoles not being a MY set.
Which also means, they won't even care if you pay them, they'll not look at your unit unless it is a MY set. Its under their T&C warranty.

I suggest you do this, play PES 2008 again and play a full match if possible. If there are no problems then the problem may just be the COD4 disc being faulty.
When a Blu-Ray disc is faulty, it can automatically jack the Blu-Ray laser in your PS3 to go too close onto the disc because its having difficulties reading data off from it and thus freezing the game.

Try other games as well.
A dying lens symptom is frequent freezing(which means just freeze out of no where).
SSJBen
post Sep 24 2008, 11:58 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Might as well buy a new PS3 then laugh.gif
SSJBen
post Sep 24 2008, 09:24 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Yes its a rather stupid way of placing their warranty. But I guess their reason to doing it something deeper that I am in no mood to explain right now.
SSJBen
post Sep 24 2008, 10:21 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Mythras231 @ Sep 24 2008, 10:01 PM)
Between Soul Calibur IV and Star Wars The Force Unleashed ... Which one is better ? Looking for a worthwhile game !
Both games have demos uploaded onto the PSN.

Download them and then see for yourself which is better.
I won't say anything here because both are entirely different games on different genres, they aren't meant to be compared.
SSJBen
post Sep 25 2008, 12:56 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Thats very normal.

Thats when the PS3's fan starts to slow down or either speed up. Will also happen when the lens in the Blu-ray drive starts to move up or down.

Its most apparent when you just switch off your PS3, listen closely for about 2-3 minutes. You'll here the crackling and popping sounds all over. Nothing to worry about anyways, its how the mechanical stuff works in the PS3.
SSJBen
post Sep 25 2008, 02:20 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

I just explained why it occur dude laugh.gif
Most of the time it isn't apparent really, its not something that annoys or anything. I hear it alot because my PS3 is placed right next to my monitor.

Also forgot the add one thing, the HDD can also click when the spindle-head slows to a halt, thats how spindle-heads on 2.5" drives work.
SSJBen
post Sep 25 2008, 03:50 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Long clicks = HDD crash or in more specific forms, the spindle head is dead.

Short-burst clicks = The spindle head is moving vigorously to read data from the platters.

2.5" HDDs usually only has 1 or 2 heads due to the small size so the work on the spindle head does is usually twice the amount of a 3.5"(though WD, Seagate and Samsung's 2-platter 640GB HDDs beg to differ).
SSJBen
post Sep 26 2008, 12:13 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

7200RPM 2.5" drives boast a significant price bump over the 5400RPM drives. So it isn't worth it, you do get a slight boost in load times and installation times, but the extra price you pay for it over the 5400rpm is not justified. Furthermore, 7200rpm drives runs a slight bit hotter and does make more noise, its not something major however.

Originally, the PS3 launched with the 60BG and 20GB version. The first and early second versions of these units only had official support up to 250GB. Back then 320GB was around but it was really scarce and the prices was just too high(IINM, a Seagate 320GB 2.5" back then was RM890+).

Later on after that, the last revision of the 60GB changed the official support to 500GB. And every PS3 SKU and revision changes after that followed suit.

There is however alot of people who had no problems chucking in a 320GB HDD or even 500GB HDD into their launch 60GB PS3s though.
SSJBen
post Sep 26 2008, 02:09 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(songbo @ Sep 26 2008, 12:43 PM)
hi i m new to ps3. i can attach external hdd to my ps3 rite (with fat formatted)?

jus wondering wat can i do with ps3?
can ps3 play all sorts of media and audio files? like rm, rmvb, mpeg, mp3, mp4, ape, flav etc?

would it have negative effect if i play all these with ps3? thanks
Filetypes that can be played on the PS3(without Linux): http://manuals.playstation.net/document/en.../filetypes.html

Its all stated in your manual, read it first next time.
SSJBen
post Sep 26 2008, 03:24 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

The new core-80GB uses 65nm process for the Cell and RSX. So yes it does consume less power, the savings however isn't much. Previously the 40GB(65nm Cell, 90nm RSX) takes a toll at 141w at peak load, the new core-80GB goes around 119w at peak load.

Results may vary of course.
SSJBen
post Sep 26 2008, 08:59 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(stevenchee @ Sep 26 2008, 07:14 PM)
i tried dl demo from psn via my ps3. some error occurred after it reach abt 85%... =.=''

my question is would tat 85% stored in my hdd? do i need to delete it from my ps3?

must i dl demo via ps3? can i dl from pc then transfer to ps3? ty

Added on September 26, 2008, 7:15 pmwhich psn is faster?

Added on September 26, 2008, 8:25 pmcan i still play games while dling via demos ps3?
That 85% won't be stored onto your PS3.

The way PS3 download content from the PSN store(or in the internet for that matter) is that it is downloaded in one entire batch-file. Its identical to IE6's download manager, so if you press cancel before the download is finished the entire content downloaded thus far will go off as well. This is the same for the PS3(also another bloody reason why the PS3 takes ages to download stuff apart from our oh-so-glorious screamyx service).

You can DL demos through proxy on your PC, read the first page of this thread for details.

Can't really say which PSN is faster. Although ironically, I do always get the fastest download speed when downloading from the US PSN. The Europe PSN is the slowest for me. Japan, SG and HK are roughly the same although I didn't really test how long it takes. Of course, it will also depend on your connection during when you download. You know screamyx, can turn into a turtle any time out of the blue.
SSJBen
post Sep 26 2008, 11:47 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(vorchiel @ Sep 26 2008, 09:56 PM)
Someone stated that the Msian set is CECHK (65nm CELL & RSX, thus lower power consumption & cooler than earlier models)
There are 40GB set with 65nm or 90nm RSX chip. To be sure, just check the model number. You can go to this site to get SKU comparison.

But if I were you, I'll just buy the official Msian version, because of the warranty smile.gif
CECHK uses 65nm process for both Cell and RSX, pretty much confirmed.
While indeed, it "technically" is cooler than the pervious models, it actually isn't. CECHK models don't use heatpipes anymore, just alluminium sinks(not even copper) and the fan speed has also dropped as well. So yea... in a way, it does get warmer than the CECHG/CECHH(CECHH also has the lower fan speed, but still uses the same 2 heatpipes from the Cell and RSX).

40GB sets still on sale in Malaysia is currently CECHG(although this one is pretty much OFS) and CECHH. They are on 65nm Cell and 90nm RSX.
SSJBen
post Sep 29 2008, 10:39 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(KoNz3n @ Sep 27 2008, 09:35 PM)
I have a question about ps3 warranty .
My ps3 is about 9 months old . (SG Set) . And I havent registered it for warranty or anything on the sony website. So can I still register for it now ??
Yes you can.

QUOTE(panda-man @ Sep 29 2008, 09:36 PM)
yeah the sing one seems to work with some maybank cards and not others. so picky.

hey anyone know if i have a sing unit. can i send it to warranty in malaysia. or am i just dreaming? plus i heard blu-ray lens cost 250rm to fix here at sony centre. is that only with warranty or will it just be like that. cheaper than i thought it would be. heh...
Been stated many times(if you even bothered to look at the last few pages), the answer is NO. Sony Malaysia only accepts PS3s with MY warranty. Doesn't even matter if you give them money, they won't look at your unit if it isn't a MY set.

I'm not entirely sure about the warranty at the moment, but it seems that having a dead-lens and sending it to Sony Malaysia will require you to fork out RM250(or more?) to repair.
SSJBen
post Sep 29 2008, 10:51 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Didn't see the thread regarding MY warranty covers lens too. Thanks for the heads up! notworthy.gif
SSJBen
post Sep 30 2008, 01:39 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Sep 30 2008, 12:03 AM)
Just get my PS3 yesterday. Still not really sure how to use the PSN.
I just register mine to Singapore. So now i'm connecting to SG server rite. Can i know how to create another account to login to US server. I want to download some game from US server.

Loco Roco

Wonder is this free or need to pay?

Yes you can.
Create another new user and proceed to the same steps creating a new PSN account. However, use a US postcode(just google up some US restaurants/hotels). Same goes to any other accounts.

IINM, you have to pay to play Loco Rocco Corecho.

QUOTE(unrealweapon @ Sep 30 2008, 09:46 AM)
i want to ask something..
PS3 A has fully updated MGO.
PS3 B has freshly installed MGO

A backups to a flash drive A which of coz includes the patches for MGO.

B also backups to a flash drive B which does not include the patches for MGO

copy the patches of MGO from FD A-FD B and rebackup to PS3 B using FD B.

will PS3 B have the same updates/patches of PS3 A without need to dl the lengthy patches ?
No. You will need to redownload the patches again IINM.

QUOTE(mistraldmx @ Sep 30 2008, 11:38 AM)
i wonder why my m'sian ps3 cant play .mkv & .mp4 video format?
.mkv files can't be played until you covert it into DivX.

As for .mp4, thats strange as all PS3s support that from the first day.

SSJBen
post Oct 3 2008, 12:15 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(anggun @ Oct 2 2008, 07:51 PM)
is it my ps3 and broadband combination or is the p33 browser by design is very very slow? it takes quite a while to load a page. can we download say firefox and use it on the machine?
Its how its built. The PS3's browser doesn't work well with XML, Java and even flash(although flash has been vastly improved since 2 years ago). So yea thats how it goes. You cannot download FF to the PS3 however.

We can only hope if there will be a PS3 version of Google Chrome since Sony and Google seems to have a rather nice partnership now.

QUOTE(Lord_Ashe @ Oct 2 2008, 08:32 PM)
Hi guys I'm planning to buy a PS3 VERY VERY soon. I'm thinking of the Malaysia set..but it's almost impossible to get one OTHER than sony style. My question is - what do the sifus here think of the SG set? Any particular problems or is the MY set just better because of the warranty?

Thanks in advance.
PS3 Malaysian Official set available here at PS Zone: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/470450
SSJBen
post Oct 4 2008, 12:14 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(kerollowyat @ Oct 3 2008, 03:21 PM)
Hi

Can PS3 infected with virus.
ie, I plug in usb drive into the PS3, to play movies.
Not quite possible yet, as explained by slickz the PS3's OS(not Linux) isn't running any sort of DOS/Windows base code.
Most viruses are developed on Windows.

QUOTE(slickz @ Oct 3 2008, 09:29 PM)
If viruses were possible on the ps3, that means the ps3 has been hacked.

Has the ps3 been hacked? I don't think so, otherwise you'll see bootleg games for ps3 available.
PS3 has been hacked months ago.
Its not getting a big word out yet due to the fact that the hacking process is rather complicated and it isn't stable as well as convenient enough yet to use.

SSJBen
post Oct 4 2008, 03:30 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(jehutyz @ Oct 4 2008, 02:42 AM)
Just wondering do anyone have the problem of installing Demo that you dl from PS Store? I realized those more than 1GB file always corrupted. Is it because i keep on pause and resume?
Possible that you have an unstable connection?
Packet loss on your modem can also be the factor of error downloading content on the PSN store.

I have only so far experience 1 error downloading the Uncharted demo months ago. But after that, I have never experienced any. Using wireless to download content from the PSN store as well.

SSJBen
post Oct 4 2008, 06:00 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(mike86 @ Oct 4 2008, 05:18 PM)
hi all...just got my PS3 from PS Zone's Nelson rclxms.gif
btw, im getting the 80GB local set....but only things is that the usb port only got 2
anyway, as long as i get the Sony Malaysia warranty, anything will do laugh.gif
You can always get an external USB-hub at any computer store. They're dirt cheap anyways, so no prob there too! icon_rolleyes.gif
SSJBen
post Oct 4 2008, 07:01 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Action/Adveture = Uncharted, Nuff' said.
RPG = Look out for Eternal Sonata in a couple of weeks time.

9 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0490sec    0.49    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 12:20 PM