9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

SSJBen
post Nov 1 2008, 05:44 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Nov 1 2008, 02:12 PM)
i dun under stand T_T
my lg2242 1680x1050 only can do 720p
if i set at the ps3 1080p it will go blank say cannot support the reso...
My bad.... got mixed up, it was the 226BW which allows downscaling to its native res from 1080p.
SSJBen
post Nov 2 2008, 02:14 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(lapaq @ Nov 2 2008, 01:44 PM)
Guys...now that I got LBP..and planning to have the first level dedicated to my daughter of 1 yr old...any idea if HK/MY released Playstation Eye will work on my US console?
Hardwares have always been region-free and will always stay region free according to Sony.

So yes it'll work.
SSJBen
post Nov 2 2008, 10:02 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(lapaq @ Nov 2 2008, 02:21 PM)
Thanks Ben..always knew we could count on you... Appreciate it very much
Glad to help my friend! icon_rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(csk3984 @ Nov 2 2008, 09:41 PM)
harlo, did u all experience...
i online register my PS3 80GB m'sia last week, but when i go and check, the system show that i register on 28/8/08 (purchase date 28/10/08). Event during that time malaysia not official launch the PS3 yet.
Oooh... very strange.

Couldn't be someone registered your console in advance, give Sony Style a call tomorow if possible.

QUOTE(BelowAverage @ Nov 2 2008, 09:56 PM)
umm, wat is the best gameboy emulator for psp?

i want to play pokemon gold on my psp ^^
Wrong thread dude.
SSJBen
post Nov 3 2008, 12:46 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(DraKeNsBerG @ Nov 2 2008, 10:11 PM)
Hello guys...

i have a problem with my ps3....the problem is my ps3 now can not detect internet from lan cable...before this,it can connected to the internet,but suddenly now my ps3 can not connect to the internet...

if we plug the lan cable,the yellow bulb will appear rite?but my ps3,when i plug the lan cable,nothing happen(no yellow bulb appear)... 

so can i know what the best solution?
repair my ps3 at the game shop OR buy wireless modem?

thanx...
There are various causes to this, either your LAN cable is already faulty, your PS3 Ethernet Port is dead or the problem lays within the onboard Marvell Ethernet chip on the PS3.

Try changing to a new cable first and see if it works.
If it doesn't, then use your older cable to connect it to your PC/Laptop. If this works then that means its problem with the PS3 itself.

To determine if its the Ethernet Port being the prob or the chip itself, if possible borrow a wireless router/modem and connect your PS3 wirelessly. If its possible to connect, then its highly likely that the problem is the Ethernet Port on your PS3 is main issue.
SSJBen
post Nov 3 2008, 11:53 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(duo412 @ Nov 3 2008, 10:19 AM)
So how to make sure im not make the same mistake again ?
Do your research next time?

QUOTE(ferricide @ Nov 3 2008, 10:51 AM)
Bros, need some help.

Its upgrading of HDD. Whats the best brand/model to get for 320GB?
Its quite cheap and I wanna make sure I buy the most compatible model, else I will end up with my 4th portable HDD doh.gif

EDIT - I m using a JAP 40GB model, if that's of any importance.

Thanks in advance.
Western Digital or Seagate is the best, either is good. I'm not going to go all into the technicalities about the difference in model revisions for each 320GB 2.5" HDDs both WD and Seagate releases though, as the performance between each revision is nominal.

Get whichever is cheaper.
SSJBen
post Nov 4 2008, 11:24 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Wind1110 @ Nov 4 2008, 08:35 PM)
Guys,

Just wondering. Can you ever install PS3 games into USB EXT HDD instead of install into internal HDD ? Not too sure whether you are able to access games from there...
Impossible.

Game data MUST be installed on the PS3's internal HDD, any other external mass storage device will not work.
SSJBen
post Nov 5 2008, 10:15 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Err.... I don't see what the hassle is?
Changing the HDD is about as easy and simple as it gets.
SSJBen
post Nov 5 2008, 04:32 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Wind1110 @ Nov 5 2008, 02:47 PM)
Ben, is there any HDD size limitation as to PS3 could only recognize certain amount of disk space ? 500GB is possible ?
First batch of PS3s which are the 60GB and 20GB has an official size support up to 250GB HDD only. Any higher it may have a chance of not being recognizable, since back then 320GB HDDs are still extremely pricey and 500GB aren't even around yet to the mass market.

Later firmware did fix the problem though.

As of now, atleast to my knowledge, every PS3 manufactured since last December supports up to 500GB 2.5" HDDs officially.

QUOTE(duh2k @ Nov 5 2008, 04:16 PM)
Hi everyone and all PS3 gurus,

Recently while playing Dead Space, my right speaker starts giving crackling sounds/pops whenever there's a big explosion or fire sounds...has anyone else experienced this on the same game? or on any other game?  My ps3 is connected to my mini hifi system via the normal red/white cables smile.gif

I'm afraid my speakers might have blown? but i don't really know how blown speakers sound like laugh.gif i've also googled regarding this and most of the results i get are from users with HDMI/optical connections...some enlightenment would be most helpful notworthy.gif
Does it happen with other games or not?
I played and finish Dead Space and never did hear any sound cracks at all.

I know what you are talking about as I have the same problem with Crysis.....

You may have to adjust your equalizer settings properly to remedy the cracking sounds. If after playing around with your equalizer and it doesn't work still, it may be your speaker's tweeters are damaged.
SSJBen
post Nov 6 2008, 02:07 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(yujin86 @ Nov 6 2008, 01:44 AM)
erm wanna ask ah can i burn my movie which the format is supported by ps3 into a dvd? can it support full hd and 5.1 if the source is full hd and 5.1?
First of all, theres no way in hell.... atleast at the moment, even with the best compression softwares that you'll be able to fit a Full HD 1080p movie with uncompressed 5.1 channel surround LPCM on a DVD. Thats just not possible. Unless you are talking about 1080p movies which are Blu-Ray ripped which severely drops the quality significantly, and its smaller than 9GB then yes you can burn it onto a DVD.

However, the PS3 only reads DVD movies which are done in .iso formats, usually MPEG2 encoded. In other words, no different from buying pirated DVD movies. You will need to have the proper burning speed with correct latency timings. If not, start praying everyday on your PS3 lens not to die out.
SSJBen
post Nov 6 2008, 10:46 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Actually, JW Mariott also has super fast broadband. 10mb line if I'm not mistaken too, so.... bring your PS3 and go rent a few nights(or forever if you have the money) in the hotel! brows.gif
SSJBen
post Nov 8 2008, 11:12 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(nelienuxe_sara @ Nov 8 2008, 11:10 AM)
guys where to download the firmware? i search in google it gime crap
It means you aren't searching hard enough, its just right next to you: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/818933
SSJBen
post Nov 8 2008, 11:25 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(advocado @ Nov 8 2008, 10:48 PM)
A question I keep forgetting to ask.

Since PS3 Controller is using rechargeable battery, and that we cannot remove/replace the battery, what should we do after few years when the battery starts fading???

I don't wanna treat it as a consumable it's too expensive. And would be a problem if we still want to play it after like 10 years?
The lithium ion battery in the DS3/SIXAXIS can be changed, all you need to do is of course buy the the right size battery and just reconnect it back. Nothing too hard....

Of course after 10 years, you might as well buy a new one.

SSJBen
post Nov 9 2008, 12:23 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(toratora @ Nov 8 2008, 11:55 PM)
Most games requires installations before you get to play it

once i finish the game, how do i uninstall the data?
Game Utility > Delete the installed date you want.
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2008, 02:27 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(sphiroth @ Nov 11 2008, 12:19 AM)
Can PS3 play a movie with subtitles (soft sub, the one with srt or sub extension)? If can, how to enable it?
QUOTE(ZalaDestiny @ Nov 11 2008, 12:44 AM)
I believe it cannot play soft sub.. but u can use this AVIAddXSub to embeded the sub to the video file.. then u can enable the sub with subtitle button..
What Zala said is right. You have to embed the subs first.

Unless you use VLC under Linux, then it may be possible to use softsubs. I am not entirely certain it'll work however.
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2008, 03:55 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

Its a more subjective matter comparing 1080i to 1080p.

There certainly are some that don't see much of a difference or atleast enough of a difference to get a 1080p HDTV over a 720p/1080i HDTV.

For me personally, its significant only when I'm watching 1080p content on a front-viewing projector. Over a 100" of 1080p goodness, and that will be a significant difference over 1080i or 720p.
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2008, 12:56 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(Wind1110 @ Nov 11 2008, 04:04 AM)
Which means it's only noticeable when you're playing in a larger view ? I guess you're right, it's hard to notice the differences with rough eyes. I believe there is slightly a difference but can't judge the differences with our naked eyes. I've personally tested resolution between 720p & 1080i(HD Ready), and it does significant though.
Not to say theres no difference, but its just not enough to pay a premium for a full HD panel at a relatively small screen. More over, so many games aren't even native 720p for god's sake.... More upscaling will need to be done on a full HD panel for games.
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2008, 06:43 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

For me personally, I wouldn't take a Full HD panel over a 720p one at a size no less than 50"+, doesn't apply to monitors however.... laugh.gif
SSJBen
post Nov 11 2008, 08:59 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(geekster129 @ Nov 11 2008, 08:20 PM)

Added on November 11, 2008, 8:22 pm

You mean this?

NOTE: This photo was taken a year ago. (1/12/2007)
That about cuts it! drool.gif
That TV alone enough for you to buy a luxurious car liao..... sweat.gif

Though thats what projectors are for!! laugh.gif
SSJBen
post Nov 12 2008, 01:47 AM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

QUOTE(gsuave @ Nov 12 2008, 01:30 AM)
umm..how do I play multiplayer network games? Coz I notice everytime I start my game, I will automatically sign off PSN.

Also, when I choose the multiplier option, I can seems to be able to download the update patch.

I have an SG set, with US PSN acct. Is this caused by the region problem?
Check if your NAT is type 2 or 1.
If not set a dedicated IP for your PS3 and open a port it under your modem/router.

May I know what game are you stating?
SSJBen
post Nov 13 2008, 01:05 PM

Stars deez nuts.
4,522 posts

I also suggest enabling UPnP if your NAT is type 2 or 1.

9 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0522sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:43 PM