5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion

panda-man
post Jan 15 2009, 08:48 AM

2,691 posts

its on the front page. just go to first page and look for the proxy info.

i never tried it myself so yeah. seems to work for others though.
panda-man
post Jan 15 2009, 11:51 AM

2,691 posts

put in the thumbdrive.
under video in xmb there should be your thumbdrive listed.
go to the file and open up the menu. (sometimes the file not there. you gotta click show all files or something like that)
click copy/transfer

i think thats correct. in my mind thats how i remember doing it. heh.
panda-man
post Jan 16 2009, 02:24 PM

2,691 posts

yeah dont need the special folder. ive transferred files like how unrealweapon does. much easier. cause i can just grab any ol thumbdrive and drag and drop/
panda-man
post Jan 19 2009, 11:42 AM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(pennyzai @ Jan 19 2009, 11:36 AM)
Sorry I dont get it, you said if I deleted the user account then i cant play the downloaded games at all ?

What do you mean by any user can play it? hmm... even if i have deleted SG PSN, and logon to PSN MY i still can play bionic commando rearmed?

Regards
Nope. Downloaded content. such as games and game add on's are linked to a certain user account. as long as the user account is on the PS3 any of the other users can access it. However if you delete the username then none of the other users can use it.

example.

Abba - User 1 - Buys and Downloads Ridgeracer.
bobmarley - User 2 - can play ridgeracer
christina - User 3 - can play ridgeracer

Abba account gets deleted from ps3.

bobmarley - cannot access ridgeracer.
christina - cannot access ridgeracer.

This post has been edited by panda-man: Jan 19 2009, 11:43 AM
panda-man
post Jan 19 2009, 08:32 PM

2,691 posts

QUOTE(colt_508 @ Jan 19 2009, 08:23 PM)
Going to Upgrade mine HDD soon..
what the first step should i do...

sorry being to lazy at the front page sweat.gif
buy a HDD. hahaahah. make sure you buy a good one. not some ciplak no name brand one.
they are getting pretty cheap now. also make sure to get a proper screwdriver. some people dont use the correct one and it eats away at the bolt that is attached to the PS3 HDD.
panda-man
post Jan 20 2009, 10:09 AM

2,691 posts

phuyooo. i dont think they have a 1 tera harddisk. well a small one at least. but i saw and ext. hdd 1 tera. maxtorr for rm400 at the ikano store. the big one on the top floor. ALL IT i think? i forgot already. but i dont think you could use an ext. hdd for running your OS.
panda-man
post Jan 20 2009, 12:34 PM

2,691 posts

id go for the LBP. especially if you are into online play. its LOL funny type of game. good to play with friends and of course your gf. buy games from LYN members if you can. its much cheaper getting second hand games. and most people do take care of their games pretty well. in my experience at least.
panda-man
post Jan 20 2009, 01:11 PM

2,691 posts

well concerning the whole region thing. it depends. some games on the ps3 have multiplayer region lock. most dont. but some do. also its in regards to downloadable content. DLC. R1 games can only download DLC from R1 region. meaning USA. R3 can download from asian region. like singapore.

example. LBP R3. you want to download the metal gear solid stage add on. you can only download from R3 PSN. i prefer R3. because its a hassle trying to buy stuff from US. singapore i can just use my maybank CC no problem.

R1 gets DLC's before the rest of the world usually.
panda-man
post Jan 20 2009, 01:53 PM

2,691 posts

im hoping for support of all the video files. hahaha. mkv, ogg, and all of them. i dunno why they dont just put it in. haiiz.

Added on January 20, 2009, 3:17 pm
QUOTE(colt_508 @ Jan 20 2009, 09:46 AM)
if i'm at KL then its easy for me...

if possible wanna upgrade to 1Tera rclxms.gif
colt. refer to ssjben's post before. i think it might help. also i found this thread

Stay away from Seagate HDD

you can read it and decide for yourself. i just found it two mins ago. i prolly gonna go buy myself a HDD tonight.

cycom store selling. 2.5" Western Digital 320gig 5400rpm for rm215. hopefully if i go to the store can get it cheaper. rclxms.gif
i will check pj digital mall hopefully its the same price.

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Sep 26 2008, 12:13 PM)
7200RPM 2.5" drives boast a significant price bump over the 5400RPM drives. So it isn't worth it, you do get a slight boost in load times and installation times, but the extra price you pay for it over the 5400rpm is not justified. Furthermore, 7200rpm drives runs a slight bit hotter and does make more noise, its not something major however.

Originally, the PS3 launched with the 60BG and 20GB version. The first and early second versions of these units only had official support up to 250GB. Back then 320GB was around but it was really scarce and the prices was just too high(IINM, a Seagate 320GB 2.5" back then was RM890+).

Later on after that, the last revision of the 60GB changed the official support to 500GB. And every PS3 SKU and revision changes after that followed suit.

There is however alot of people who had no problems chucking in a 320GB HDD or even 500GB HDD into their launch 60GB PS3s though.
This post has been edited by panda-man: Jan 20 2009, 03:17 PM
panda-man
post Jan 20 2009, 04:31 PM

2,691 posts

yeah its good to get the 160gig one i think. worth it. then you dont have to waste money on a HDD swap. kinda sucky how they came out with the 40gig model. haiiiii.

Added on January 20, 2009, 4:50 pmone question. when we run the backup facility on the ps3 to an ext. HDD. the ps3 will create a seperate folder and just put ps3 stuff in there right. it wont affect any of the other files right?

This post has been edited by panda-man: Jan 20 2009, 04:50 PM
panda-man
post Jan 20 2009, 07:07 PM

2,691 posts

im not a fan of white machines. after a while they always change colour. also it stands out too much. its just me i guess. hahahah. i like everything to be matching. black machine next to my black tv. package seems good price. especially since buying from sony .
panda-man
post Jan 21 2009, 09:17 AM

2,691 posts

yupyupyup. they plannin to give more media capabilities. hhehe. no more tversity? we shall seeeeeee

Added on January 21, 2009, 9:18 am"Hi, everyone, we have a system software updates for PS3 coming soon, and I wanted to provide you with a sneak peak at the details.

The PS3 firmware update (v2.60) is designed primarily to enhance the system’s media capabilities. The key feature is a new Photo Gallery application, which delivers a suite of tools for sorting through and displaying your digital photo collection. Digital pictures can be organized in groups according to various criteria, including the camera used to take the photos, the event date and time, colors in the photos, as well as the number, ages, or facial expressions of the people pictured. You can also create slideshows set to music and build photo playlists with an easy-to-use interface. The Photo Gallery application will need to be installed separately from the XMB after you update your PS3’s firmware. To install the Photo Gallery application, go to the Photo section on the XMB, select Photo Gallery and press the X button.

The 2.60 update also includes:

* Guest access to PlayStation Store – This enables non-PlayStation Network members to browse through the storefront to check out the latest games, demos, videos, etc.
* DivX 3.11 support – Videos in this format can now be played on PS3."

http://blog.us.playstation.com/2009/01/20/...re-v260-update/

This post has been edited by panda-man: Jan 21 2009, 09:18 AM
panda-man
post Jan 21 2009, 11:01 AM

2,691 posts

wah you guys really rushing to get it huh. heheh. im gonna hold off on the update for a few days. let the update get tested first. i scared gonna brick my ps3 like that old update. :mega_shock:
panda-man
post Jan 21 2009, 12:22 PM

2,691 posts

RROD hahahah.

puzzle games are on PSN.
panda-man
post Jan 21 2009, 12:31 PM

2,691 posts

what do you mean?
its only for PSN. so go Sing. psn and you can buy it there.
panda-man
post Jan 22 2009, 12:28 PM

2,691 posts

hey i just installed new HDD. (320g) after doing the restore i only got 260 gig. i was shocked. hmmm. i know only around 300gig is available usually on a 320 gig drive. but yeah. my backup from my old drive was only 15 gig. so im wondering where the other 25 gig went... strange. anyway to check?
panda-man
post Jan 22 2009, 12:33 PM

2,691 posts

thanks vorchiel. but on my old hdd. 40g. i had 25 gig free.... strange. or is it in reality a 60gig drive?
panda-man
post Jan 22 2009, 12:52 PM

2,691 posts

hahahah. oh well. 250g is still a lot anyways. you know when we play music on the ps3 and it got the screensaver of the world. do you know if PS make any that can be DL or is it just this one earth one. ?

Added on January 22, 2009, 2:26 pmi can i format my old PS3 HDD and use it as a normal drive right? or should i keep it as is?

Added on January 22, 2009, 3:12 pmnvm. i already formatted it. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by panda-man: Jan 22 2009, 03:12 PM
panda-man
post Jan 22 2009, 07:34 PM

2,691 posts

it supports some types of divx videos and some it doesnt. have you done the latest FW update?
panda-man
post Jan 22 2009, 08:04 PM

2,691 posts

yeah lah. some of my divx plays some doesnt. so potong stim lah. watching few episodes of one piece then suddenly one is unsupported. damn it vmad.gif

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.0391sec    0.72    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:15 AM