Technical PlayStation 3 FAQ For Beginners | V2, General PS3 Q&A and Technical Disucssion
panda-man
Jan 23 2009, 12:41 AM
QUOTE(anggun @ Jan 23 2009, 12:30 AM) anyone notice banding on their lcd tv with input from the ps3? what you mean banding? like big lines across the screen? QUOTE(aiyish @ Jan 23 2009, 12:31 AM) Hi there, anyone can recommend me the cheapest Bluetooth headset to use with my PS3? On a very tight budget now.. tight budget.... dont need to buy BT headset lah like that. i just use the same one on my phone. but thats the official sony ericsson one. so mahal a bit. the china brand ones should work too. i think.
panda-man
Jan 23 2009, 01:06 AM
hmmm no i dont see any of that. you using HDMI? maybe HDMI cable was damaged? bent or something like that?
panda-man
Jan 23 2009, 08:30 AM
yeah. for some reason everytime i quit LBP it does the beep beep beep. but apparently that sound is for when the PS3 clears the cache. i think.
panda-man
Jan 23 2009, 04:50 PM
for some reason even if the loading things are gone. just sitting in my pod till sackboy sits down. then quit it will still do the beep thing. so strange.
panda-man
Jan 24 2009, 12:39 PM
ok. first of all the external HDD/pendrive needs to be in FAT32 format otherwise the ps3 doesnt recognise the drive.
then you can just dump all the files on the drive. it will be easier if you create folders on the drive such as:
MUSIC VIDEOS PHOTOS
i think those are the file names... but if the vids or what not doesnt come up automatically, press triangle on the USB Drive from the XMB and click display all. and it should show up there.
panda-man
Jan 25 2009, 02:55 AM
QUOTE(cyclonekid @ Jan 25 2009, 01:58 AM) Err.. How? I can't go online. The 20gb model doesn't have wifi capability. I need to know what equipment to get to go online. 20gb? they have such a model???
panda-man
Jan 25 2009, 10:14 AM
oh i was looking at that access point yesterday hahaha. i think it was like rm120-130 or so.... thinking of getting the other bufffalo one with the extended range. my ps3 only gettin 50% wifi reception. also im hoping the AOSS thing can get me to nat 2. cause im so tired of configuring. haiiiz.
panda-man
Jan 25 2009, 05:49 PM
hey was wondering. do any of you do that fan service test thing that apparently 'cleans' the inside of your system. i kinda wanna clean my ps3. but dunno how. is that the only way to do it? cause i dun wanna overpower my fan just to clean dust.
panda-man
Jan 25 2009, 10:58 PM
yeah if you watching these ahem movies. some files need to be converted. i recommend the "any video converter" this works pretty well.
panda-man
Jan 25 2009, 11:28 PM
any brand of compressed air thing you recommend? or can i just grab any from ace hardware.
yeah i heard that fan test thing was a technician thing. i knew this one guy did that everyday hahahahah. crazy. will try that compressed air thing.
thanks man.
panda-man
Jan 26 2009, 12:31 AM
alright. ill look for that. better to use a tried and tested brand than some unknown one. thanks bro.
panda-man
Jan 26 2009, 04:17 PM
actually its better to hook up the ps3 using the network cable. more secure line. apparrently on MGO you cannot host unless you are connected via network cable.
panda-man
Jan 26 2009, 04:51 PM
really? hmm thats good news then. someone told me before a pop up would tell him he cannot host using the type of connection or something. oh well. i DL MGO update now. so damn slow. haizzzz.
panda-man
Jan 26 2009, 06:50 PM
QUOTE(nicholas88 @ Jan 26 2009, 05:50 PM) 1) What's the use of the PS3 storage? Shops are selling at PS3 20gb, 40gb, 80gb, 120gb. Why do we need storage? I thought we are playing using disc? and save with memory cards? 2) If I bought PS3 20gb, am I able to upgrade it to 80gb and so on? If yes, do I replaced my 20gb with 80gb, or are there 2 or more slots available? 20gb is hard to find. storage is to put whatever you want on the drive. some games install data onto the drive. such as MGS4 it installs around 4 gig or onto your drive. also its supposed to be a media center. so you put music. movies and all kinds of stuff. some people partition the drive and put linux onto their ps3s.
panda-man
Jan 28 2009, 12:52 PM
firmware 2.6 includes some of these things...
* Safe Mode * Blu-Ray Disc Theme Support * HDD Data can be accessed and deleted in-game * 3-D Secure Support * Improved System Stabilty
was wondering what is safe mode?
----
also yeah the reports of the 2.6 bricking ps3s are a bit odd. some people losing ps2 compatibility. some just their bluray doesnt work some everything crashes. strange.
panda-man
Jan 28 2009, 12:54 PM
apparently after one guy installed the new photo album thing he lost all video from his ps3. really is strange lah. better not install that yet. just in case
panda-man
Jan 28 2009, 01:03 PM
celcom cannot play online though i think. right vorchiel?
panda-man
Jan 28 2009, 08:50 PM
QUOTE(insane.gamer @ Jan 28 2009, 08:44 PM) yay i did it ... the partition the ps3 can do it lah ... but aiyah i lost all my videos and demos ... partition... are you putting linux on your ps3? if linux is on your ps3. the linux partition is susceptible to viruses correct? even though linux hardly has any.
panda-man
Jan 28 2009, 09:00 PM
seems like a 200gig drive
panda-man
Jan 28 2009, 09:04 PM
how did you upgrade your HDD and not know the size? you just pick the drive up from the road or something? hahahahah