Home Theatre PSB Speakers Owners Thread, The Canadian Speakers
wkang
Jul 12 2009, 10:32 PM

Another noob to PSB reporting in. Need C-Hings advise. Went to A&L IOI and was quoted for around RM4k set of Yammy 363, 2 pair Alpha B1, 1 Alpha C1 and Subzero1 woofer. Any tots on the price? Audited the B1 speakers and was really surprised by the size and quality of the speakers. Any tots one whether its worth it to upgrade to T1 and roughly how much is the costs as am staying in condo so not sure the neighbours will be bang on my front doors... Anyways...im throughly poisoned and am a true believer...haha...
wkang
Aug 26 2009, 02:10 PM

QUOTE(C.T. Seong @ Aug 26 2009, 01:26 PM) I'll suggest : 1 pair B-1 , 1 piece C-1 , 1 pair LR-1 and 1 piece Subseries ONE subwoofer.  Haha..sounds fimiliar..anyways.. i too ordered a pair of T1s, C1 and NHT IW1 from IOI Puchong as well bcos of some really expert advise! Waiting for the hungry ghost month to end before I can join the PSB family.
wkang
Aug 26 2009, 02:39 PM

QUOTE(maskedchan @ Aug 26 2009, 02:21 PM) why wait till hungry ghost month end 1st? scare the ghost hide in your speaker ar?   Dunno lar...better safe than sorry..but is tough to tahan!!
wkang
Sep 9 2009, 07:37 AM

QUOTE(C.T. Seong @ Sep 9 2009, 12:31 AM) Malaysia : Extreme Audio Marketing Lot. 152-1-4, Maluri Business Cntr Jalan Jejaka, Taman Maluri 55100 Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia Tel: 603 9284 3884 Fax: 603 9283 5884 Email: ext_audio@hotmail.com Bro Seong, I ordered PSB T1 and C1 almost 3 weeks ago but still not arrived yet. In ur opinion, by Raya can get?
wkang
Sep 9 2009, 11:41 AM

QUOTE(gsdev @ Sep 9 2009, 11:32 AM) Eh I just got my C1 2 weeks ago. I thought stock already in.  I think it was the T1 which was slow. Last week saw some B1s in the showroom. gsdev, roughly how long did u have to wait?
wkang
Sep 9 2009, 04:05 PM

QUOTE(C.T. Seong @ Sep 9 2009, 03:37 PM) Bro CT Seong, UGPM. Thanks for your help!
wkang
Sep 9 2009, 11:05 PM

QUOTE(C.T. Seong @ Sep 9 2009, 08:12 PM) Thanks C.T Seong, Rick and the guys at A&L for their speedy response. Much appreciated.
wkang
Sep 23 2009, 10:27 PM

PSB thread so quiet nowadays. All waiting for new Image? Just got my entry level speakers today. Excuse the poor pic quality, only using HP. Pair Alpha T1 and C1 run by Yammy 665. Tks to all the bros who gave advise along the way. Attached thumbnail(s)
wkang
Sep 24 2009, 06:47 AM

Tks. The sub is subseries 1, as not sure how speakers will sound in my place. Already feel its underpowered  , need to adjust the settings to see if it helps. The tv is a kuro 508xg and the wall mount is the one which comes along free wif the tv. Basic unit too, can't swivel or extend, nothing fancy about it.
wkang
Sep 24 2009, 02:40 PM

QUOTE(Lone*Wolf @ Sep 24 2009, 12:24 PM) Your room is big, should get at least the 5i Sub for a few hundred more. If your PSBs are new, I think can 'trade-in' to upgrade the sub if you want. No rears? Get the entry LR1 oso can for temporary basis  Ya, was thinking along those lines for the rears. Need to get a feel of the room first and ur right, the subseries1 isn't holding on too well for now, can still pack them up and higher one.
wkang
Sep 24 2009, 06:47 PM

QUOTE(mpyw @ Sep 24 2009, 05:01 PM) the Alpha will do good for a while....  after that...welcome to the point of no return....just like me  U got tat rite..feeling drawn toward the edge...like kianwee said..from Alpha straight to Imagine..
wkang
Nov 15 2009, 07:22 AM

QUOTE(robertngo @ Nov 14 2009, 08:22 PM) just got this setup completed this afternoon surround speaker not yet install due to my condo dont allow any renovation work on weekend  Nice! Do remember to provide FR.
wkang
May 16 2011, 10:49 AM

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ May 15 2011, 11:53 PM) Listened to Syn1 driven by a 5 x 600w amp today. It was quite impressive.  Added on May 16, 2011, 7:56 amI still could hear the sound when I was in office last night.  Hi Bro, can share more info about the amp/setup you demo'd the Sync1s with?? Tks..
wkang
May 16 2011, 12:57 PM

QUOTE(ronaldjoe @ May 16 2011, 12:15 PM) Bro, I couldn't disclose more without owner's permission. Later I kena shot. We listened to David Foster - Hitman Return at -7, it was very enjoyable and it never sounded fatiguing. OK, thanks anyway. Have listened to them using NADs and sounds quite well to my untrained ears.
wkang
Feb 16 2012, 10:12 PM

QUOTE(jchong @ Feb 16 2012, 06:08 PM) That's not a pic of your setup, just a pic of a small section of the speaker grill showing the PSB logo  Peasant setup so have to post piecemeal to keep things interesting  . Apologies for the lousy pic quality, lack of skills and also using point and shoot camera. Next, the back of the speaker from the first pic. This post has been edited by wkang: Feb 18 2012, 08:38 AM Attached thumbnail(s)
wkang
Feb 18 2012, 12:07 PM

QUOTE(wkang @ Feb 16 2012, 10:12 PM) Peasant setup so have to post piecemeal to keep things interesting  . Apologies for the lousy pic quality, lack of skills and also using point and shoot camera. Next, the back of the speaker from the first pic. Some pics of my front speakers. Nice Canadian flag on the back aluminium baffle. 
wkang
Feb 18 2012, 03:26 PM

QUOTE(jchong @ Feb 18 2012, 12:16 PM) Thanks for the extra pics. So you're using the Syn 1 mains and Syn 2C center. Nice speakers! What cable are you using to bi-wire them? No probs, just sharing. Will post some additional pics soon. I believe sifu also using synchrony series as well? Hope to be upgrade to 1C someday. QUOTE(otnuus @ Feb 18 2012, 02:14 PM) That cable looks like Supra Rondo 4x2.5mm. Good eye bro, spot on. You using as well? It's a good value for money cable for me.
wkang
Feb 18 2012, 11:38 PM

QUOTE(jchong @ Feb 18 2012, 04:50 PM) I think the 1C is worthwhile since it has a dedicated midrange driver, which is advantageous for reproducing dialogue that is key to the center channel. Thanks for the advise. There are no audible differences in timbre and matching but I have to boost the gain of the 2C by 3dbs to match the Towers. Could do with the extra clarity as well. Any recommendations on the nature of cables suitable for Syncs? The supras are more low freq focused, for me works quite well as Syncs can be unforgiving at the higher frequencies. This post has been edited by wkang: Feb 19 2012, 12:01 AM
wkang
Feb 19 2012, 09:38 AM

QUOTE(jchong @ Feb 19 2012, 08:52 AM) To my ears the Syn 1 leans a bit towards the warmer and lower side. The bass can be a bit much, so I found using the port plug to make it better controlled. The midrange is very good. The highs are good, but not as extended or airy as some others I've heard. So I would prefer to pair it with cables or components which are a bit brighter. Thanks for ur suggestion, will try out some brighter cables when I get a chance. I've paired the Syncs with a warmer receiver but haven't tried to many types of cables. On certain receivers, I found the Syncs can be harsh on the high freqs, but probably mainly due to the lack of juice from the receivers. On a warmer receiver, definitely worth a shot with faster/brighter cables. I think ur spot on that when Syncs are matched with complimenting gear, shine across the entire freq range. On the high freq, Syncs prob inherently limited by not having a exotic tweeter, e.g ribbon, hybrid. Strangely, I've found the high freq to sound better without the grill?