Wana buy house!, Sick of renting room !!

suiteng
post Aug 20 2008, 11:47 AM

Hopeless President
3,589 posts

map san wub.gif My snakes are doing fine here, don't worry, I will not release it to kanasai laugh.gif

Basically most youngster rush rush wanna buy a house coz dun wanna pay rent. That was my thinking in the earlier days (why pay rent for something that doesn't belong to you?) which landed me into a big financial crisis.

Luckily now, I'm out of it and it started to generate income. Although there's income from rent, but owner always bear risk because the loan is under the owner's name, not tenant.
Gary1981
post Aug 20 2008, 12:03 PM

1,610 posts

I feel that being sick of rent room & taught of buying own properties. But due to current market in yoyo graph, is better to be conservative & not rush into buying properties which tight your financial.
Pai
post Aug 20 2008, 01:38 PM

~ Billionaire in training ~
3,318 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Aug 20 2008, 11:47 AM)
Basically most youngster rush rush wanna buy a house coz dun wanna pay rent. That was my thinking in the earlier days (why pay rent for something that doesn't belong to you?) which landed me into a big financial crisis.

Luckily now, I'm out of it and it started to generate income.
eh sifu, cerita lah sikit in detail so that we could all learn tongue.gif

TSkanasai88
post Aug 20 2008, 07:23 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(suiteng @ Aug 20 2008, 11:47 AM)
map san wub.gif My snakes are doing fine here, don't worry, I will not release it to kanasai laugh.gif

Luckily now, I'm out of it and it started to generate income. Although there's income from rent, but owner always bear risk because the loan is under the owner's name, not tenant.
Hai, Suiteng, still angry meh ...

share your experience with freshie like me la.. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

Added on August 20, 2008, 7:37 pm
QUOTE(Pai @ Aug 20 2008, 01:38 PM)
eh sifu, cerita lah sikit in detail so that we could all learn tongue.gif
I second that ! icon_idea.gif

Added on August 20, 2008, 7:39 pm
QUOTE(kanasai88 @ Aug 20 2008, 07:23 PM)
Hai, Suiteng, still angry meh ...

share your experience with freshie like me la.. notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif

Added on August 20, 2008, 7:37 pm
I second that !  icon_idea.gif
eh ! where is all my reply ? all gone...

Added on August 20, 2008, 7:42 pm
QUOTE(yewkhuay @ Aug 19 2008, 02:04 AM)
1st of all, i m not sifu, i m just happen to have a lil more experience than u in buying property.
you are la, anyone better than me is my sifu  notworthy.gif

Here is the thing u have to do , REGARDLESS which property u target now as an investment, and ur mind is clear tht it is an investment, U DO NOT take rental tht only partially cover the loan instalment, tht is called subsidizing tenants to stay ur place while taking risk on ur finance. ur money could serve u better in FD / UT.
I agreed

and , 3months reserve is not enuf, targetting a reserve is a NO, reserve of min 6months is a MUST. b4 u have this, forget about any investment, u r risking ur LIFE.

DO some maths here shall we ? say u earn 3K now and u get a property tht cost u monthly instalment of 1200 inclusive of maintanence fee, u cannot get a car loan with ur current financial standing in 2yrs. even if u managed to rent ur unit out to cover ur instalment, u still need to save up d/payment for ur car in 2yrs, Notice how ur money leave ur account into ur house d/payment and  legal fees, u have 3months reserve as u TARGET, then u have to save 2yrs for car d/payment.

then like u say having ur family in 5yrs time with another new place (probably a better n more expensive) , take out ur 2yrs saved for car d/payment, u have now another 3yrs to work on this new house n new family. It is possible, the question here is : How much do u need to save in the next 5yrs ? How much ur income should catch up to make sure ur savings are always enuf for the every 2-3yrs big spending? What kinda life u will be living for the next 5yrs to have ur targets achieved?

Looks like I have to delay my car plan if I wana buy a house now. Well, as for my family house, Im planning to get my future wife in ...hehe  whistling.gif

If u don't have any answer for the questions or u have answers tht u don't like to face, u might wanto reconsider ur plan or work out another plan.

the investment tht u r talking here is big n low liquidity, u might wanto find out wat other investment tht can actually gives u similiar return but lower risk n higher flexibility yet manageable.

aha! What do you suggest ?[COLOR=red]

Added on August 20, 2008, 7:45 pm
QUOTE(suiteng @ Aug 19 2008, 08:26 AM)
I'm giving my point. You're making assumption on me. Do you want me to list out the number of properties I have in hand? tongue.gif Becareful of the things you say if you're asking for advice.
Hi suiteng

eh, dun la like that, I really mean nothing here. I do have some friends who feel that renting room for the rest of his life is better than buying a house and i respect them, is their preference ma.

I really not mean to hurt u notworthy.gif sorry sorry.

This post has been edited by kanasai88: Aug 20 2008, 07:45 PM
Spartacus 2.0
post Aug 20 2008, 07:47 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(kanasai88 @ Aug 17 2008, 12:18 AM)
Hi, really sick of renting house! Wana buy house ASAP !

Price of the Property:  RM165000

Personal Finance:
Salary:RM3000 (able to save RM1200 - RM1500 every month)
EPF: RM 10000
Savings: RM12000

I sympathise, as I was in your situation once. But you don't have enough RM to buy a house-lah. Assuming you get 90% margin of finance (and that's a big IF ... if I'm not mistaken, AIA/ING offers 80% or 85% MOF only), you need to fork out RM16,500. Don't forget about S&P legal fees, which should be around RM4k+. And what about furnishing and other misc expenses?

And there's valuation. Valuers are not always logical ... what if he values your house at only RM150k?

If you proceed to buy a house now, you risk losing your deposit.

This post has been edited by Spartacus 2.0: Aug 20 2008, 07:49 PM
TSkanasai88
post Aug 20 2008, 07:47 PM

127 posts

QUOTE(map @ Aug 19 2008, 08:34 AM)
sui teng sannn  wub.gif and tell them about the snakes!

well, before buy property, you need to ask yourself if you have enough funds. having insufficient money in the long run happens alot. there's a reason why "bank lelong" exists.
yeah yeah.. let ur snake out. tongue.gif

fund ar... just ngam ngam only, and sifus here are right.. I need some bullets first. But anyhow, I will keep hunting start from now.

er...why my previous reply all gone ar?

Added on August 20, 2008, 7:50 pm
QUOTE(Spartacus 2.0 @ Aug 20 2008, 07:47 PM)
I sympathise, as I was in your situation once.  But you don't have enough RM to buy a house-lah. Assuming you get 90% margin of finance (and that's a big IF ... if I'm not mistaken, AIA/ING offers 80% or 85% MOF only), you need to fork out RM16,500.  Don't forget about S&P legal fees, which should be around RM4k+. And what about furnishing and other misc expenses?

And there's valuation. Valuers are not always logical ... what if he values your house at only RM150k?

If you proceed to buy a house now, you risk losing your deposit?
nod.gif quite true.. maybe Im too rush ald..

This post has been edited by kanasai88: Aug 20 2008, 07:50 PM
Pai
post Aug 20 2008, 07:53 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(Spartacus 2.0 @ Aug 20 2008, 07:47 PM)
I sympathise, as I was in your situation once.  But you don't have enough RM to buy a house-lah. Assuming you get 90% margin of finance (and that's a big IF ... if I'm not mistaken, AIA/ING offers 80% or 85% MOF only), you need to fork out RM16,500.  Don't forget about S&P legal fees, which should be around RM4k+. And what about furnishing and other misc expenses?

If you proceed to buy a house now, you risk losing your deposit.
mate, u r back rclxms.gif

so did u ended up getting a place? smile.gif
Spartacus 2.0
post Aug 20 2008, 07:58 PM

34 posts

QUOTE(Pai @ Aug 20 2008, 07:53 PM)
mate, u r back  rclxms.gif

so did u ended up getting a place? smile.gif
Yup, a studio in Subang. Will get the keys in a couple of months. Buying a house is a real hassle sweat.gif

airline
post Aug 21 2008, 06:41 AM

7 stars
7,923 posts

Pai, where is Kelana Puteri condo is it near Giant?

Anyone thought of Subang Jaya. like Tiaraville. its near college and KTM.
Good returns there?
Pai
post Aug 21 2008, 03:38 PM

3,318 posts

QUOTE(airline @ Aug 21 2008, 06:41 AM)
Pai, where is Kelana Puteri condo is it near Giant?

Anyone thought of Subang Jaya. like Tiaraville. its near college and KTM.
Good returns there?
Bro,its right opposite giant accross the LDP smile.gif
wilsoncvt
post Aug 23 2008, 02:53 PM

341 posts

I don't know much about property at all and I am merely speculating here but won't the value of Vista Angkasa appreciate given the upcoming Bangsar South project extremely nearby? The project is bringing about a lot of infrastructure development in the Bkt Kerinchi area and as a result, is really cleaning up the place. Moreover, Vista Angkasa is located smack in the middle of the LRT station (which will be further expanded in the coming years) and Bangsar South so it will inevitably (or will it?) be spruced up in one way or another.

With all the improvements there, the quality of residents who rent from you will likely also improve so the risk of running into irresponsible and reckless student tenants will be less. I don't think there is any worry of a shortage of tenants.

I stayed in Vista Angakasa a long time back and IMO, there is nothing really wrong with the units. Repairs are rarely needed except for certain top floor units which experience leakage from the water tanks. I am uncertain whether this has been rectified. Units if fixed up and minimally decorated can look very nice as I've seen such units first hand before. The shortcomings are however the surrounding, maintenance (needs a new paint job amongst other things), and the quality of the community (petty thieves, roudy neighbbours). These are problems which I reckon can be overcome with the developments that are going on as stated.

Anyways, this is just my speculation. Would love to see these points debated. I'd learn a lot.

This post has been edited by wilsoncvt: Aug 23 2008, 03:09 PM
Pai
post Aug 23 2008, 07:33 PM

3,318 posts

Wilson,

IMHO, the key criteria when it comes to evaluating a property investment is location, price, and timing. U'll get a potentially spectacular investment if you could get all 3 criteria right.

However, one huge wild card in a prop invetsment that none of us could guarantee or predict would be the future level of maintenance quality of facilities. Even the best located properties bought at a low price will suffer even further when its not properly maintained. Vista IMO, failed spectacularly when it comes to maintenance and up keep. Its worst than some low cost flats. And owners just dont care about renting it to 10 students as long as they make money. Changing Vista's tenant prospects will be like moving a mountain.

Unless someone buys Vista on en-bloc, and refurbish the whole develpment, then Vista is defo off from my investment consideration......... smile.gif

3 Pages < 1 2 3Top

0.0135sec    0.63    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 14th December 2025 - 11:21 PM