Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups
crapp0
Nov 13 2008, 11:31 AM
QUOTE(hoongji @ Nov 13 2008, 09:33 AM) join you guys next timeĀ this weekend balaclava for meĀ  Added on November 13, 2008, 9:38 amstarhub had implemented "internet shaping" long time ago. you can only surf certain websites at advertised speed, while most downloads will be capped to slow speed at peak hours. you can bypass by using encryptions and hit 300kbps; but bear in mind you're also sharing the 8mbps tube with thousands of other ppl. so during peak hours, most likely your donwloads will be limited to half the speed. *i'm using starhub 8mbps and facing the same situation. encryption is the way to go. May i know app are u using for encryption? Would encryption hinder the speed if i wanted to do some online gaming like increase latency? This post has been edited by crapp0: Nov 13 2008, 11:32 AM
crapp0
Nov 13 2008, 01:06 PM
QUOTE(nicvoo @ Nov 13 2008, 11:43 AM) true on not on also need to makan lol i can join if i dun suddenly get a huge load of work from my boss clementi food http://www.sbestfood.com/clementi.htmc anything familiar? lol starhub these few weeks getting damn irritating worst then stimmax surf halfway timeout zzz dl bt slow nvm surfing n gaming also lag high latency sigh.. kind of miss stimmax lol Not these few weeks, previously about 1 or 2 months back starhub net i was using was quite good. But 1-2 months ago something happened now feel like slow speed, especially downloading stuff. Not bittorrent but direct download file also very slow. Last time can get 500kbs on 8mbps line, but now lucky can hit above 100kbs. Now i want 2 start downloading left 4 dead demo on steam also jalan at 30-80kbs.
crapp0
Nov 16 2008, 11:51 AM
You can download, its just that here the chances that the authorities will take action is much more likely. I stop torrenting since my house internet very slow, not just torrent but everything so i dont bother anymore.
My company now no retrenchment, but abit slow down till jan next year coz we mostly do projects for ships and we just finished the last project, next one will be next year plus secured a contract with SRC for 3 years duration. Donno my boss say, when economic downturn, that where u strike gold and look for new opportunities.
crapp0
Nov 17 2008, 05:57 PM
QUOTE(hoongji @ Nov 17 2008, 10:17 AM) SG is in a recession now. Certain sectors are hit badly and are retrenching instead of hiring. But as you flip through the recruitment newspaper, there are still many other job vacancies. You just have to be less choosy and pray for your luck. Check the first post for updates. Added on November 17, 2008, 10:21 amencryption is only for BT. i suggest you opt for VPN for your HTTP dl needs. Added on November 17, 2008, 10:23 amDBS already retrenched ppl. In the news. U have any programs for VPN? free service or gotta pay? Hopefully have one free local VPN service in singapore.
crapp0
Nov 30 2008, 06:08 PM
Usually if want 2 go back for CNY holiday, would i be too late 2 buy a bus ticket now?
crapp0
Dec 1 2008, 01:59 PM
QUOTE(nicvoo @ Nov 30 2008, 09:16 PM) where u heading back? i heard my fren ask for pg n alor star already fully book so he now waiting for the xtra bus seats to open will b xpensive though I'm looking to go back to melaka. So now too late 2 get a bus ticket for the CNY holiday? So soon finish oledi? Anybody from melaka can recommend me which bux company to use since i havent gone back to my hometown.
crapp0
Dec 1 2008, 10:22 PM
QUOTE(wu ming @ Dec 1 2008, 03:26 PM) I usually get from the 707 bus company in Bugis. Unfortunately, tickets were sold out 3 weeks ago. I was the last few who manage to get tickets back. crapp0, did you try the bus company in Lavender? I am not so sure if they still have tickets available for sale. Keep your fingers crossed. Alternatively, you can travel to Johore and get your tickets there. I got my ticket to Malacca from Larkin at RM20 as bus ticket from Singapore to Malacca on 5th December were sold out. Do not worry as there is somehow a way to go back Malacca but you might need to spend some additional money and time.  Hmm, like this sure no more bus oledi anymore for me to go back for CNY. Coz i was hoping to get a bus from singapore to mlk, i dont want 2 stopover to JB to get a bus coz of the hassle plus donno if can actually get a bus ticket. Looks like i gotta stay back in singapore for CNY.
crapp0
Dec 13 2008, 04:39 PM
U guys got any exp using mobile broadband since im planning to sign up for one. But donno which operator to choose?
I heard singtel one got limit on data, how about starhub and m1?
What im looking for is reliable speeds for surfing and video and audio conferencing. I not using bit torrent so no worries if i cant bit torrent but im looking for the service which has reliable speed over international networks like the US since i currently am using my landlords line but its very slow for downloading files such as from sites like fileshack and even youtube also takes quite a while to load up the pages. Btw he's using starhub cable broadband.
My budget not more then 30 dollars. I'm currently staying in yishun for the moment.
This post has been edited by crapp0: Dec 13 2008, 04:39 PM
crapp0
Dec 13 2008, 10:20 PM
QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Dec 13 2008, 09:13 PM) i think you should get either singtel or starhub. 2mbps speed is enough for your daily use. since you wont use it for torrent, 50gb data limit for singtel wont be an issue. better stay away from m1, i heard lotsa complaints from users.  Izit? I have a colleague whos using the m1 and she says its only slow from 7pm-9pm. After that its ok. Izit 50gb data limit for singtel? I thought it was lower then that, and isnt singtel blocking torrents like tmnet? I heard a rumour that next year all of the mobile broadband speeds will be upgraded. So if i sign up now, i wouldnt be able to enjoy the benefits of these faster speeds?
crapp0
Dec 13 2008, 11:15 PM
QUOTE(tiny @ Dec 13 2008, 10:51 PM) Who doesn't want to work for more money?? I wonder WHEN will the RM appreciate... Long long time ago around the 60s S$ 1 = RM 1 1990 S$ 1 = RM 1.42 1995 S$ 1 = RM 1.75 2000 S$ 1 = RM 2.27 2005 S$ 1 = RM 2.30 NOW S$ 1 = RM 2.38 and occasionally breaching 2.4 What miracle economic policy the Malaysian government is gonna introduce to appreciate its Ringgit? as for entertainment ... pfftt.. what is there to do in KL i cannot do in Singapore? I think its in malaysias interest to keep ringgit low to be competitive, since we are mainly exporting country for electronic goods. Unless we can produce IPs then thats another story. Added on December 13, 2008, 11:28 pmJust wondering how many of you non-smokers are working in an environment which exposes you to 2nd hand smoke either that or at home? This post has been edited by crapp0: Dec 13 2008, 11:28 PM
crapp0
Dec 14 2008, 11:23 AM
QUOTE(Chrisky @ Dec 14 2008, 11:16 AM) yo anyone know that is it ok or 'safe' to get those gadgets thing from Lucky Plaza ? price there is nice, but the place give me a Pertama Complex feel lol.  What gadget?
crapp0
Dec 14 2008, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(Chrisky @ Dec 14 2008, 11:25 AM) camera, phones, game consoles.  any experiences there ? Oh, u mean "pinoy/pinay" plaza. Should be ok but i've never bought any electronic stuff from there. I think its safe to say its original unless you want some illegal goods from the vendor personally. So far i've bought mostly computer stuff from either sim lim or funan. Phone i just got it from a sony Ericcson shop since they had an offer. I do know their cosmetics and perfume are damn cheap but if ori not too sure about that. I notice they sell those perfume bottles which are meant for promotional gift and not supposed to be sold commercially. This post has been edited by crapp0: Dec 14 2008, 11:30 AM
crapp0
Dec 15 2008, 12:42 AM
QUOTE(sukhoi37 @ Dec 14 2008, 12:59 PM) Never go to Sim Lim Square for consoles, especially the shops near to the ground floor. I recommend you go to http://www.qisahn.com/or Seow Choon game shop just behind the Sim Lim Tower (note: it's opposite of Sim Lim Square) My friend also got the same problem, he can only play online game after 1am.  Ok, so its either singtel or starhub for me. But i notice compared to m1, singtel and starhub charges for registration and sim card whereas m1 just charges 8 dollars recently for those i mentioned. Hows the speed for the 2mb line for starhub mobile broadband? I hope it isnt as crappy as the landline i currently using from my landlord. Plus i worried about singtels 50gb cap per month on download usage. Can you actually play online games with mobile broadband? wont there be terrible lag?
crapp0
Dec 15 2008, 08:29 AM
QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Dec 15 2008, 01:11 AM) i have 2mbps starhub mxmobile and the 1mbps (50gb) singtel as well but for some reason i get disconnected a lot at peak hours (thats for Starhub). I play a lot of COD4 on it and getting pings like 150-200ms and ya i know its pretty crap. But if u are playing games like WOW or DOTA i guess there is no worry about it. For Singtel i use it for my 3G phone outdoors but sometimes i use the phone as modem whenever the starhub mobile screws me up. Overall the stability is better but i cant seem to get it to play a game on pc when i use the phone as the modem. So i am guessing the ping is about 100ms. BTW i stay in the north east. Hmm ok. The ping which you mention about COD4, is that on the maxmobile or singtel line? Do you encounter any problems with singtels 50gb limit? I'm quite amazed that 3g broadband ping is around 150-200 coz since of latency issue inherent to 3g networks, i though it would be at least 200++ ping for games.
crapp0
Dec 16 2008, 08:29 AM
Anybody tried left 4 dead on mobile broadband?
I think i will be going for the 2mb singtel plan. Most probably will take 12 months rather then 2 years contract.
Btw, anybody can recommend me a nice buffet for christmas brunch? some around 50 dollars but not more than 80 dollars.
I heard at newspaper got some place is 38 dollars for christmas buffet.
This post has been edited by crapp0: Dec 16 2008, 08:30 AM
crapp0
Dec 16 2008, 09:59 AM
QUOTE(nicvoo @ Dec 16 2008, 09:47 AM) swiss merchant hotel near clark quay lunch 56++ dinner 65++ quite a nice spread marina mandarin dimsum buffet 28++ to 50++ iirc (different restautants) try surf makan sutra forum lots of recommadation no point my housemate sent last time also they reply us sry bla bla bla based on best effort only n service distruption due to heavy usage damn crappy explanation compareable to stimmax n maxis wbb so we terminated it 1st chance we get now happyly using starhub which still at times suck but 100x better the bloody m1 currently waiting for my m1 mobile contract to end n sign on singtel m1 totally suck a small island also cant cover properly msia so damn big celcom digi n maxis can almost cover all really dumb service provider The buffet you mention is on christmas day? I not so interested in dim sum since i looking for traditional christmas food on christmas day itself like turkey, ham, pot roast and christmas pudding. How good is starhub mobile bb compared to singtel bb? In terms of speed reliability?
crapp0
Dec 16 2008, 07:40 PM
But now i currently using my landlord broadband quite sucky. Eventhought speedtest.net give me 8mb line, it feels more like 512kbps line.
crapp0
Dec 17 2008, 09:13 AM
QUOTE(Supreme Allied Commander @ Dec 16 2008, 11:25 PM) i also think so must be ppl torrenting none stop or another thing is ppl stealing ur connection if router not enrypted. Speaking of router maybe u still using 80211b version thats why speed so slow. Bcoz if i remeber last time i used to have the 6mbps and at midnights and i get like constant 1.2mbps using RS Confirm not torrenting since there are days are not in the house and its still as slow. I know the landlord torrents but only occasional since i can see the internal traffic. I think maybe his line itself got prob coz a few months back it was quite fast, but now its as slow as streamyx 512kbps.
crapp0
Dec 17 2008, 05:01 PM
QUOTE(Ogenkideska @ Dec 17 2008, 03:38 PM) Hi, everyone there in sg. i'm currently looking for a job in sg but still havent got yet. i'm from materials field. any vacancy at u all company??or any advice??cause i really need a job now..thanks!!! materials field? you mean you are in metallurgy studies? I heard the DoD is interested in a new body armour which is non-newtonian in nature from some israely defense firm whom i knew from one of its partners who is going to supply me with digital radiographic sets. If i not mistaken there are alot of good opportunities in israel if i can dont care about the stupid conflict over there or getting killed by shoddy rockets. This post has been edited by crapp0: Dec 17 2008, 05:02 PM
crapp0
Dec 17 2008, 05:55 PM
U guys can recommend me which mobile BB is good for stable speed for normal downloads and surfing? I heard m1 speed varies alot and singtel has a 50gb limit a month on downloads. How about starhub?
Coz i currently using my landlord starhub landline and its slower then my office 3mb line eventhough its a 8mb line, no the landlord doesnt hog the torrents and nor do i.