Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups

crapp0
post May 6 2009, 10:12 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ May 6 2009, 09:46 AM)
Hi everybody, I will be coming to Singaporke this Friday for an interview. smile.gif

Wish me luck that I can succeed. rclxm9.gif

I would also like to kaya-raya earning S$ like the rest of you. thumbup.gif

Anyways, may I know the salary range of IT field? Previously I was underpaid as I do not know the expected salary. sad.gif
Depends on how many years of exp and in what line you previously doing and what your upcoming job scope would be.

According to a mag i read on average salary for IT personnel in singapore, a freshie like network admin will earn around 2200-3500.

If you got technical certs like CCNA, oracle cert, MCP and are a certified network engineer, system anaylst, you can command on average 3k-5k. Managerial role around 6k-10k.

The most i've heard is if your IT manager at the management level, you can command upto 120k, a month but i heard they want master for that kind of role, or twin degree in both IT and management.
crapp0
post May 6 2009, 10:37 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(bongobb @ May 6 2009, 10:27 AM)
I was told if you switch job from Msia to Sg , SG employer will offer 20% lower of your salary in Msia, which means if your pay iis RM5000, then you probably being offered SGD 4000 - 4200. Some SG employer even worst , they will offer only 10%-20% higher than your current ones after the conversion, for example if you are getting RM5000, they will offer you SGD 2300 - SGD 2800. I wonder is that true?
Why dont u try and find out?

Alot of unskilled malaysian earning more in sg then what some professionals can earn in malaysia. But skilled personnel diff case, also depend on the company whether they deem you fit to pay the salary which "you" expect. If cant reach to agreement, then just go find a company which can accommodate your salary expectation.

This post has been edited by crapp0: May 6 2009, 10:38 AM
crapp0
post May 6 2009, 11:53 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 6 2009, 11:47 AM)
You mean 12K a month, right? Not 120K.
Nope, 120k a month. Sorry, its not IT manager, its CTO or CIO which earn that amount.

Its according to kelly services average IT salary, i think it was for 2007 or 2008.

This post has been edited by crapp0: May 6 2009, 11:59 AM
crapp0
post May 6 2009, 01:31 PM

4,414 posts

Looks like someone has alot of free time.
crapp0
post May 6 2009, 02:53 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(washabushi @ May 6 2009, 02:24 PM)
wow...its a good debate guys...i'm impress...
i need to learn more...
Learn about what?

How much ppl earn or what skills you need 2 earn a salary which you are comfortable with?

Previously got one fella mentioned his dad earned rm160k a month. Every month can buy a honda accord 2.0 full spec.
crapp0
post May 7 2009, 01:52 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ May 7 2009, 07:04 AM)
I am not lucky. It takes courage to apply for work in Singapore without any help.
I will come in like a SWAT team. Will bla as soon the interview is conducted.

Traveling by bus.

It's an IT job related to my studies. Do not give up.
Thanks. At least I have a rough idea. Previously, I was underpaid S$1600 only. Everday ikat perut.
How much is your rent? A fren of mine earn 1600 still ok, Just that not much in savings but can survive. If ikat perut means only eating at fastfood a few times a week, then better stop eating unhealthy food.

This is just a rough guide coz average can mean you get lower or higher.

This post has been edited by crapp0: May 7 2009, 01:53 PM
crapp0
post May 7 2009, 03:43 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(eggBoy @ May 7 2009, 02:39 PM)
i once read somewhere that the avrg pay of IT exec ( Non SAP, <=3 years xp ) is 2.4k and the range is 1.5 - 3.3k, depending on qualification, industry, and employer. Forgot where i read it though.
Yea, somemore gotta compete with IT engineer from Philippine and india where they will take the job below 30% market rate. Coz to them, its oledi "very" big money compared to what they would be earning in their own home country.

Anybody know what is the market price for a common room near braddell mrt station.

Coz i got a quote of for a common room just less then 5 min walk to braddell mrt station. Plus its beautifully furnished and clean. Bad point it no cooking allowed.

This post has been edited by crapp0: May 8 2009, 09:07 AM
crapp0
post May 8 2009, 11:24 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Jewelgal @ May 8 2009, 10:40 AM)
Hi, what is common benefits that ones should have when it comes to job finding in SG? Some I've heard, they provide living allowance, phone allowance and etc. If let's say they didnt have such benefits, should I count the amount of rent & etc into my expected salary? TQ
You should always count all of your expenses and deduct it from your salary since u never know if they may cut it due to economic excuse. Then you will be grumbling about why u dont earn enough to sustain yourself and such.
crapp0
post May 8 2009, 11:49 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(B-Mecha @ May 8 2009, 11:33 AM)
for my job i only have 14 days annual leave, taxi claim (if OT till after 9pm), and MC claim (max $50 a month). for your personal reference u should consider all ur expenses and fight for the salary u want.
You'll be fighting with ex-fund managers, some stock brokers, financial analyst and other ppl who are over-qualified but are out of a job.
crapp0
post May 9 2009, 12:21 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(wu ming @ May 8 2009, 11:11 PM)
Good news! Chrisky will have a new partner for buttseck beer.

So easy to get a job in Singaporke. I do not even follow the traditional way of going there to stay while job hunting. tongue.gif
Previously my rent is S$400.00. It's ok. I still had enough to eat and manage to save a lot. sweat.gif

Alamak, I need a place to stay in the east side. Anybody got offer? If not, tidur MRT station sajalah. doh.gif
buttseck laugh.gif

Guess that it is back to working life in Singaporke. What to do, kena cari makan. sad.gif
My bro has en empty room at pasir ris, u interested?
crapp0
post May 11 2009, 12:40 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 11 2009, 12:01 AM)
If you were a girl, which would you choose? Nerd driving a nice car or macho dude driving the back seat of a SBStransit bus?
marry the fella for the money, but cheat behind his back.
crapp0
post May 14 2009, 09:55 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ May 14 2009, 09:04 AM)
A questions - Can i renew my expired PR status if I'm currently working in Malaysia.
Even PR can expire?
crapp0
post May 14 2009, 10:37 AM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Frenly @ May 14 2009, 10:07 AM)
PR only valid for 5 years
Like that should be temporary resident, not permanent coz theres nothing permanent with 5 years.
crapp0
post May 14 2009, 07:17 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(Chrisky @ May 14 2009, 07:05 PM)
i dont think the laptop price in SG is definately cheaper than in MY. i brought a XPS from Dell Malaysia laz year, and the totally same specs model in Dell SG is around rm500 more expensive after conversion.

it might be better to survey around 1st.
Generally better to buy dell from malaysia rather then from singapore or other countries. Maybe coz main asean center is in malaysia.

Will be buying a new pc for my parents when dell ships win 7 on their machines.
crapp0
post May 18 2009, 10:07 PM

4,414 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ May 18 2009, 09:51 PM)
Here's something that I just read. Only 30% of scholarships in Malaysia are given for merit OR for the underprivileged.

The other 70% is entirely racial, non-transparent and completely arbitrary.
I wonder is PSD allow ppl of a certain race to enter uni's when they

1. Can afford to goto a private instituition
2. Dont have the necessary credits to study there

is it that arbitrary? I wonder how they would answer if someone where to say it would be a waste for those who are eager and scored well but the quota for the "others" is maxed out.

I thought that the leftover brilliant ppl could get assistance such as scholarships from companies who practice CSR.

Btw, lets say im thinking of applying for PR, if i do get it, if i not mistaken its valid for 5 years, but what happens if i dont work in singapore for the 2nd year of my pr validity but then return back to get a job on the 4th year, its still valid right?

This post has been edited by crapp0: May 18 2009, 10:10 PM

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0223sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 01:28 PM