QUOTE(kockroach @ May 4 2009, 09:48 PM)
They pay the same for ACCA and Degree?
Singaporeans do not hold ACCA in as high regard as many Malaysians mistakenly do.Working Life in Singapore V2, FAQs, experience sharing, meet-ups
May 4 2009, 10:32 PM
6,624 posts Joined: Jul 2006 From: singapore & ipoh |
QUOTE(kockroach @ May 4 2009, 09:48 PM) They pay the same for ACCA and Degree? Singaporeans do not hold ACCA in as high regard as many Malaysians mistakenly do. |
May 5 2009, 10:44 AM
QUOTE(jona88tha @ May 5 2009, 09:58 AM) FYI, when in UK or New Zealand, my friend who hold a degree in Accountancy from the Uni of Singapore could not still get a job anywhere! He was told to pass the local exams in the respective countries first before qualifying as an accountant. And what is this statement supposed to point out? |
May 5 2009, 09:45 PM
QUOTE(driftmeister @ May 5 2009, 09:16 PM) the real problem is most of them prefer S'porean or SPR which totally kills off our dreams to work there Unless you have skills or experience in an industry that is uncommon to / short on locals - you have to expect that employers will give a foreigner's application last priority if they have locals applying for the same position. They don't have to spend the effort and money to get work permits, pay additional fees or deposits and they don't have to sponsor you (and thereby risk bearing some responsibility for your actions in Singapore).You stand a better chance applying for jobs & companies that routinely recruit Malaysians rather than try your luck applying blindly from Sg classified ads. You can also try placing your resume with specialist cross-causeway recruiters, because companies that want to recruit foreigners typically outsource the recruitment process to external firms. This post has been edited by seantang: May 5 2009, 09:47 PM |
May 6 2009, 11:47 AM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 6 2009, 10:12 AM) The most i've heard is if your IT manager at the management level, you can command upto 120k, a month but i heard they want master for that kind of role, or twin degree in both IT and management. You mean 12K a month, right? Not 120K. |
May 6 2009, 01:28 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 6 2009, 11:53 AM) Nope, 120k a month. Sorry, its not IT manager, its CTO or CIO which earn that amount. I think S$1.5M (120K x 13 months) would be highly, highly unlikely in the Sg context.Its according to kelly services average IT salary, i think it was for 2007 or 2008. 1. According to this article in Asiaone: CFOs gone too soon, large cap(ital) companies pay their CFOs roughly S$300K per year. Smaller companies pay around 1/2 that amount. In my experience, I've never known a CTO or CIO to be paid more than the CFO (unless he also holds several other portfolios like HR, Shared Services, Supply Chain etc). Typically the CFO's pay is second only to the CEO in most companies (and perhaps also to the GMs of the major biz units). 2. Going up to the very pinnacle of the Singapore context, Singtel paid its CFO (Chua Sock Koong) S$1.67M in YE2007/3. It's CEO (Lee Hsien Yang) was paid S$2.15M during that period. And I think Ms Chua is paid a lot more than other CFOs in listed SGX blue chips because she then went on to become CEO of Singtel that same year. So, I reckon it's highly unlikely that S$1.5M would be the average IT salary for the top IS/IT person in any Singaporean company. This post has been edited by seantang: May 6 2009, 01:31 PM |
May 6 2009, 01:32 PM
QUOTE(crapp0 @ May 6 2009, 01:31 PM) Looks like someone has alot of free time. It's lunch time... and I see a claim that IT guys get 120K a month...I have to find some way to entertain myself, right? This post has been edited by seantang: May 6 2009, 01:34 PM |
May 8 2009, 11:51 AM
QUOTE(Jewelgal @ May 8 2009, 10:40 AM) Hi, what is common benefits that ones should have when it comes to job finding in SG? Some I've heard, they provide living allowance, phone allowance and etc. For professional or graduate positions, there's no 'common' allowances. Some companies give it (but you should expect your basic to be less) and some don't (you'd then expect your basic to be more). Some jobs like sales or customer service will typically have mobile phone provided or the expenses reimbursed. Should look at pay from a total package or take-home perspective. QUOTE(Jewelgal) If let's say they didnt have such benefits, should I count the amount of rent & etc into my expected salary? TQ Not sure if I quite understand.From company's point of view, they don't care what you use your salary for (pay rent & etc or whatever) or whether you have a lot of commitments. That is your business/problem. All they will consider is the job scope in question and your qualifications/experience. That will determine what pay scale you'll get. End of story. At the end of the day, you just need to find out from your Sg peers in the industry what the pay range is for someone with your background going into the job you're targeting - and set your asking salary accordingly. Whether you can survive with the salary offered, that's your problem. This post has been edited by seantang: May 8 2009, 11:54 AM |
May 8 2009, 04:22 PM
I think it's standard practice, right?... to +1 day to annual leave or give the next following workday off if a gazetted public holiday falls on a rest day?
Mine's +1 day to annual leave. |
May 8 2009, 09:02 PM
QUOTE(louiskee @ May 8 2009, 08:30 PM) hi, i would lik to know whether spore gt broadband services like celcom, maxis broadband etc... for ur information, i din hav a fixed telephone line. and how do i reg if got this kind of broadband services? by m'sian... thx reply Google... Google. Why don't people Google anymore? |
May 9 2009, 08:48 PM
QUOTE(Aloong @ May 9 2009, 07:10 PM) Not sure whether this the rite thread. Anyone can share info bout marriage in SIngapore, if both are Malaysians? Do they need to be PR or citizen? Oh come on. How lazy can you get? I just typed "Singapore Marriage" into Google and this was one of the top results: http://app.rom.gov.sg/internet/reg_info/rom_preparation.asp |
May 10 2009, 10:59 PM
QUOTE(chess_gal @ May 10 2009, 10:29 PM) of course! but usually it is the other way round, Msian girl and Singaporean guy. It's quite natural, isn't it? Malaysians (guys and girls) come here typically penniless looking for work and good income. Singaporean guys are the ones with daddy's car, automatic HDB grant and backyard advantage. How can the penniless Malaysian chaps compete? |
May 10 2009, 11:01 PM
QUOTE(eric84cool @ May 10 2009, 11:00 PM) Errr..do u love to live in Singapore?if yes, then go ahead to become PR and contribute tax to Singapore Gomen. You still pay tax if you're not PR leh. |
May 11 2009, 12:01 AM
QUOTE(kockroach @ May 10 2009, 11:57 PM) But most of the Singaporean guy I've met are nothing but nerdy. Look at some of their NS guy, I can't help but laugh hehe. If you were a girl, which would you choose? Nerd driving a nice car or macho dude driving the back seat of a SBStransit bus? |
May 12 2009, 09:55 AM
QUOTE(eric84cool @ May 11 2009, 10:46 PM) Hey guyz..anyone of you interested to watch F1 this year???I would like to go but it's better if can go with you guyz together...want?? Weather's too hot... even at night. |
May 13 2009, 08:29 AM
QUOTE(diggnation @ May 13 2009, 05:47 AM) when they offer $2.7k, i thought it's standard salary point for engineer with 1~2years of experience. But then when I ask some of my singapore friends with the same level of experience, their salary are $3K - $3.5K..... Ask your friends if their company is still hiring. It's always funny how your friends' companies always pay more but never have any vacancies when you ask. Anyway, no harm taking the 2.7K offer, come to Sg, get your PR, and then if you find out you're really underpaid... go get yourself another job here. Just make sure you don't sign a bond or something. |
May 13 2009, 11:24 AM
QUOTE(diggnation @ May 13 2009, 05:47 AM) Their salary package has NO other allowance. But if travel offshore, got $60 per day allowance. In-land travel, for example to JB, is $30 per day. Meal and accommodation is covered if travel. OT is around $40/hour or 1.5% of the salary. Maximum capped at 30hours per month. Btw, the OT package sounds quite ok what. Assuming you work all the 30hrs, your extra pay will be $1200. That's 45% or almost half your basic. And if you add it all up, your overall pay per month is $3900. That's more than your Sg friends already. |
May 14 2009, 11:12 AM
QUOTE(Frenly @ May 14 2009, 10:45 AM) Well, everyone holding PR status in Singapore need to renew their PR status after 5 years. You are actually renewing your Re-Entry Permit (REP), not your PR. The REP allows you to REMAIN a PR overseas while it is valid. If you do not leave Singapore, your Permanent Residence is well... permanent. The REP expires to prevent people from remaining PRs when they leave Singapore... ie. hold the PR in reserve or in case. QUOTE(Frenly @ May 14 2009, 10:45 AM) A questions - Can i renew my expired PR status if I'm currently working in Malaysia. As explained above, it's the REP. And technically... yes you can. You can renew the REP online, print it out and carry the printout with your passport. The actual conditions for renewal however... I'm not sure if working/residing outside Singapore is something the online application will ask you to declare etc., nor whether a positive declaration will jeopardise the renewal. I suggest you call ICAA to confirm. |
May 14 2009, 04:36 PM
QUOTE(ecode @ May 14 2009, 01:29 PM) I renew the second time...10yrs....don't want the trouble...but pay more. Is there a special procedure to renew 10 years? Note 2 in the REP renewal form (ie. Form 6) states that "2. All REPs are issued up to a maximum of 5 years. The fee for a 5-year REP is $50/-". http://www.ica.gov.sg/page.aspx?pageid=152&secid=150 |
May 14 2009, 05:48 PM
QUOTE(diggnation @ May 14 2009, 05:38 PM) By the way, I was really surprised that average rental for a HDB with 3 rooms costs $2k per month. That's why I was questioning whether my salary is on the low side. HDB flats to Singaporeans are what double storey terrace in KL/PJ are to Malaysians (in terms of affordability & supply). If you look at it that way, the rental is about the same. QUOTE(diggnation) My younger brother who just got a pre-employment offer letter with a civil engineering company upon graduating, also get $2.8K per month!!!! If he received an offer before he graduated, he should be quite terror lah. You do your thing, he do his lor. Why compare? As I said, get here first, get your PR and then you are free to change employers and pick & choose your job. |
May 14 2009, 06:42 PM
QUOTE(diggnation @ May 14 2009, 06:04 PM) ok, next problem...WHERE TO STAY?!!!! my work place is around Jurong East MRT station.... anybody working/staying in the area? maybe can recommend a few option for me? Meantime, i will try to look around Clementi around since i'm more familiar with that area. Here's a brainstormer of an idea... How about staying in... wait for it... Jurong East??? Loads of flats around the MRT station, if I'm not mistaken. There's a nearby shopping center too. |
| Change to: | 0.0222sec
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:56 AM |