everything about braces!, help!

fish@5311
post Aug 28 2008, 10:47 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(Brittany1106 @ Aug 28 2008, 10:18 PM)
which hospital or doctor gd in this??
i searching oso~~
my teeth suck~~ haha
where are you staying, maybe i know some dentist to recommend if the location is familiar anyway any private clinic will do as most private clinic doctors are qualified to do this..
TSlove me or hate me
post Aug 29 2008, 11:24 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(dianaklutz @ Aug 27 2008, 11:49 AM)
hi,
i also wear braces before, just took it off in june 2008
i did it for like 6k (i think so.. cos my dad paid for it.. haha)
im using the ceramic one
i agree with all of u here, yes at first u will feel so painful (yes.. i cried too.. huhu. cos on the first day i cant even chew even those tiny little rice.. have to swallow it.. only drink soup.. huhu)
but thats only for first few days..
after that not much pain aldy
every month also after tighten it, only feel the pain for few hours..
need to drink lot of water..
i cant really remember but i think i didnt get the ulcer that much
but i did have a bit luka when the hujung of the steel (is it called steel?haha) got stuck at the inside skin of my pipi..
and sumtimes my tongue also get luka if i lick it at the end of the steel.. haha..
but nevertheless, now my teeth have become straight aldy
i wore it for about 1 year as my teeth dont have that much problem
just a bit jarang here and there..

but the problem now is.. i hardly wear the retainer..
waahhh.. so lazy one lah..
and now.. my teeth have move a bit..
hohoho.. i dont want to wear the braces again.. sad.gif
hi..
thanks alot

Added on August 29, 2008, 11:25 am
QUOTE(fish@5311 @ Aug 28 2008, 10:47 PM)
where are you staying, maybe i know some dentist to recommend if the location is familiar anyway any private clinic will do as most private clinic doctors are qualified to do this..
hi..
how bout in penang..suggest one
suggest one dentist for me??

This post has been edited by love me or hate me: Aug 29 2008, 11:25 AM
M.May
post Sep 2 2008, 12:23 AM

This is actually my second time with braces. XD I was too lazy to put on my retainers so it's braces for me again!!

I did the top row of my teeth only and it costs about RM3K i think. Then it's RM100 every follow up.

I actually find braces quite fun. It's like a fashion item cause I get to pick the colours. =P My bro actually did the Olympic ring colours and it was so cute!!

I'm very much used to the pain already so I just chew through the pain. The pain usually lasts about 3 days or less.

Btw, according to my dentist, the ceramic ones actually stick out slightly more than the usual metal ones. And the metal ones are smaller now compared to 3 years ago. So those getting braces in the near future should feel lucky in a way i suppose. =P

IMPORTANT NOTE!! - Always wear your blardy retainers!! Most ppl I know never wore their retainers so their teeth isn't so purrfect no more. Even my dentist said it's so common for ppl to come back for braces the second time.

<3 <3 <3
nuance
post Sep 2 2008, 12:47 AM

211 posts

How about the govt? That good or private better? Any speicific govt hospitals/private clinics taht are recommended and what is the procedure to get braces from govt hospital? hopefully for free, or minimum? thanks!
TSlove me or hate me
post Sep 2 2008, 04:25 PM

32 posts

QUOTE(M.May @ Sep 2 2008, 12:23 AM)
This is actually my second time with braces. XD I was too lazy to put on my retainers so it's braces for me again!!

I did the top row of my teeth only and it costs about RM3K i think. Then it's RM100 every follow up.

I actually find braces quite fun. It's like a fashion item cause I get to pick the colours. =P My bro actually did the Olympic ring colours and it was so cute!!

I'm very much used to the pain already so I just chew through the pain. The pain usually lasts about 3 days or less.

Btw, according to my dentist, the ceramic ones actually stick out slightly more than the usual metal ones. And the metal ones are smaller now compared to 3 years ago. So those getting braces in the near future should feel lucky in a way i suppose. =P

IMPORTANT NOTE!! - Always wear your blardy retainers!! Most ppl I know never wore their retainers so their teeth isn't so purrfect no more. Even my dentist said it's so common for ppl to come back for braces the second time.

<3 <3 <3
hi,

so...which one is much more expensive???
the ceramic one or metal??

Added on September 2, 2008, 4:26 pm
QUOTE(nuance @ Sep 2 2008, 12:47 AM)
How about the govt? That good or private better? Any speicific govt hospitals/private clinics taht are recommended and what is the procedure to get braces from govt hospital? hopefully for free, or minimum? thanks!
hi,

if i were you..
i won't have it at gov hospital..
they are not good enough...
better spend a bit...

This post has been edited by love me or hate me: Sep 2 2008, 04:26 PM
AmuletSpade
post Sep 2 2008, 05:48 PM

Ceramic costs more. I'm having braces at the moment XD and under the ADS program at David Orthodontics. It's 2.5k but they're a bit slow since they're only seeing me for 1 1/2 hour every fortnight. Going to cabut my teeth on the 14th D8. Should've been this week but they had to keep gluing the brackets back to my teeth. Up to now a total of 6 came off XD;;
fernfern
post Sep 2 2008, 07:10 PM

hi biggrin.gif

i had braces for 13 months when I was back in secondary school and one of the reason was the vampire teeth too.

its gone now. had to remove two teeth and didn't affect my eyes at all.

it cost about 3k plus. did mine in Jaya shopping complex in PJ but now the mall close and shifted to Jaya33. so not sure if they moved there too not.

not worry so much ya? it'll be all worth it! i have no regrets wearing them. wub.gif

but i did forget to wear my retainers so mine has some gaps so food gets stuck there once in awhile. hehe.

they dentist will give you some wax to put at the wires to protect your cheeks from cuts and ulcers. but don't swallow them and can't chew bubble gum.

and if they have colours for you to choose, try not to put transparent ones. they changed colour. not sure why but mine turn a bit greenish so it was quite gross.

go for it if you have the money. Its a good investment! all the best! blush.gif

This post has been edited by fernfern: Sep 2 2008, 07:14 PM
suwen-san
post Sep 2 2008, 11:07 PM

62 posts

I just did mine in march so I'm still wearing them!

Mine cost 5k though... but I didnt have to pay it all in one shot.. i paid 1.5k on the first round but then 250 on every tightening session...

I wouldnt reccomend government clinic unless u really have no choice...
those goverment dentists that come to the schs and do ur teeth are really bad... my friend had to have scaling done and after the scaling she was bleeding and it hurt real bad for HIM... but when i did it in private clinic it didnt hurt at all and there was no mess... so imagine what would happen with something as big as extraction and braces....

On the contrary i don't think gettin braces is painful..its uncomfortable.. but definitely not PAIN... even my extraction went smoothly and I had to extract 4...
nocturn3
post Sep 4 2008, 12:01 AM

243 posts

Well, Me myself had put on braces before. Just for one yr and I request to remove it! hehe.. Because I want to straighten my upper teeth only, but the dentist insist to put both - upper n below together to balance your teeth. But once the upper straights I request to remove it dy coz was damn excited to see my teeth without the braces on larh.

I think I have to go back to find the dentist again. Actually the dentist advise me to put another one yr to maintain it. Sob sob~ Eventho I wear retainer every night before I zzz, Still will senget abit la.. Wont be 100% for my case.

Anyway it cost me RM 6k at private clinic. I paid 2k at first, and the rest pay installment like others did .. On d day I remove, of coz gotta pay off the balance sekaligus ..

It is advisable to wear retainer every night, if not will waste your money n effort n pain of putting the braces before..

P/s: I don't feel any pain during this period, in fact , I think the feeling is so cool. Because you will keep imagine how pretty you are on the day you remove your braces! Confidence level increase ! laugh.gif Plus, they said wear braces will make your face "sharp" abit.. looks nicer.. hahaha

This post has been edited by nocturn3: Sep 4 2008, 12:06 AM
TSlove me or hate me
post Sep 4 2008, 08:40 AM

32 posts

QUOTE(nocturn3 @ Sep 4 2008, 12:01 AM)
Well, Me myself had put on braces before. Just for one yr and I request to remove it! hehe.. Because I want to straighten my upper teeth only, but the dentist insist to put both - upper n below together to balance your teeth. But once the upper straights I request to remove it dy coz was damn excited to see my teeth without the braces on larh.

I think I have to go back to find the dentist again. Actually the dentist advise me to put another one yr to maintain it. Sob sob~ Eventho I wear retainer every night before I zzz, Still will senget abit la.. Wont be 100% for my case.

Anyway it cost me RM 6k at private clinic. I paid 2k at first, and the rest pay installment like others did .. On d day I remove, of coz gotta pay off the balance sekaligus ..

It is advisable to wear retainer every night, if not will waste your money n effort n pain of putting the braces before..
P/s: I don't feel any pain during this period, in fact , I think the feeling is so cool. Because you will keep imagine how pretty you are on the day you remove your braces! Confidence level increase !  laugh.gif Plus, they said wear braces will make your face "sharp" abit.. looks nicer.. hahaha
haha...
thanks ya!! thumbup.gif
nocturn3
post Sep 4 2008, 01:33 PM

243 posts

Love me or hate me :

Hey, I thought dentist will see case to case?? Like my case, I do have vampire teeth. But I dont have to remove any teeth la~ All this while I just do braces without any teeth removed. Somehow, Im very satisfied with my upper row . =D

p/s i cant view ur image.. why.. hmm.gif

edited : Besides, you dont worry so much first. Just go to the dentist and have ur teeth check. Just pay the consultation fee only, they wont charge you other things unless they gonna use the "plasteR" ( i donno wat it call) to see the structure of whole teeth. See what the dentist advise you. Sorry i cant help much, coz hv it done in JB smile.gif

This post has been edited by nocturn3: Sep 4 2008, 01:37 PM
Brittany1106
post Sep 5 2008, 10:33 PM

i now stay in subang.. cos i study at here..
actually i come from negeri sembilan... so any famous or well know doc or clinic to inform me?
thx...
fashionparadise
post Sep 7 2008, 02:18 AM

I'm having my braces now. Estimated cost 6K... Have to really consider doing it.. cz I'm SUFFERING NOW!!
nocturn3
post Sep 8 2008, 10:25 PM

243 posts

Suffering mer?
junxian898
post Sep 14 2008, 12:35 PM

210 posts

i gt mine fr around 5k alr. zz. i gt it done in malacca. vry experience doc n i m wearing it fr almost 3 years plus alr.

the payment method is done by visits. means, i pay rm150 fr every visit. n 1-1.5k fr the steel itslf. is an old price. i wonder it has gone up o nt.?? cz tat doc told me the price varies as the equip in uk al evry expsnve. zz

1st week u wil feel vry uncomfortable n vry vry pain. i take nly porrideges fr my meals. reli cannt tahan. din mean to scare u. but is all worth la. nw my teeth all strght lo.. soon few more months can remove alr.. rclxm9.gif

n anther thing is. dun play football wth braces!!! if the ball kena ur mouth. perrhh.. u will suffer a few days. the skin inside will tear n like big ulser. wahhh... damn pain....

babyhoney
post Sep 14 2008, 05:47 PM

18 posts

hi new here
anyway
i am currently on braces ard 2yrs
i think normally 2yrs can take out already
but mine bit complication so have to wait longer probably next year
did mine in seremban clinic government but studying in kl now so go back like friday or when no class
rm700, pay by intsallment rm50 each time

at 1st not use to it and have to eat soft food
but after that, dont care la just eat only but have to careful the bracket will come out

u will feel the teeth move one
and inner lips will have ulcer but after awhile hilang la

and have to brush teeth after every meal
at 1st i also very good follow dr instruction
but after awhile also dont k la brush at night only

ts plan to do private or government? if private then nvm la
if government better go put name 1st cause at least 2years
my friend she waited more than 2yrs in alor setar clinic till now havn get yet
lucky gal
post Sep 17 2008, 01:07 AM

3.2K to 4K..
there's no deposit..
every month/bi-monthly u'll need to go change the metal..
and den u have to pay aroung RM250(depend location)
den it depends how long ur teeth get to move lor...

i did mine for 13months. which mean 200*13=2600 + 800 (200 is cause i did few yrs back, 800 is cause for pluck teeth and teeth modeling)

ohya..on the 1st day u stick all the tiny thingy on ur teeth..u wun b able to eat...so ask ur mama cook porridge for u..=P
SUSceo684
post Sep 17 2008, 01:10 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(GeneralX @ Aug 25 2008, 11:54 PM)
You can expect to pay less than RM1000 in government clinics. Having mine for RM700 and paying by installment upon each checkup, quite economical but less effective. 6 years and still counting doh.gif
good thing abt govt, rm700 oni. waiting list ~6-7yrs. to date oni paid rm400 lolx. sometimes just go for checkup/change wire FOC. rclxm9.gif

Added on September 17, 2008, 1:12 am
QUOTE(suwen-san @ Sep 2 2008, 11:07 PM)
I just did mine in march so I'm still wearing them!

Mine cost 5k though... but I didnt have to pay it all in one shot.. i paid 1.5k on the first round but then 250 on every tightening session...

I wouldnt reccomend government clinic unless u really have no choice...
those goverment dentists that come to the schs and do ur teeth are really bad... my friend had to have scaling done and after the scaling she was bleeding and it hurt real bad for HIM... but when i did it in private clinic it didnt hurt at all and there was no mess... so imagine what would happen with something as big as extraction and braces....

On the contrary i don't think gettin braces is painful..its uncomfortable.. but definitely not PAIN... even my extraction went smoothly and I had to extract 4...
govt extraction normally is L license dentist..beware
get MALE private dentist to do extraction. female one not enuff strength doh.gif

but the braces in govt is done by senior dentist. noprob there

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 17 2008, 01:16 AM
fish@5311
post Sep 17 2008, 07:05 PM

202 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Sep 17 2008, 01:10 AM)
good thing abt govt, rm700 oni. waiting list ~6-7yrs. to date oni paid rm400 lolx. sometimes just go for checkup/change wire FOC.  rclxm9.gif

Added on September 17, 2008, 1:12 am

govt extraction normally is L license dentist..beware
get MALE private dentist to do extraction. female one not enuff strength doh.gif

but the braces in govt is done by senior dentist. noprob there
I see that govt is cheaper but their service sucks and have to wait so long.

Uh the senior dentist there is already DATUK TUA already , always extract the wrong tooth one.

This post has been edited by fish@5311: Sep 17 2008, 07:05 PM
SUSceo684
post Sep 20 2008, 02:13 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(fish@5311 @ Sep 17 2008, 07:05 PM)
I see that govt is cheaper but their service sucks and have to wait so long.

Uh the senior dentist there is already DATUK TUA  already , always extract the wrong tooth one.
Hmmm. I dun recall my dentist being a male in the first place laugh.gif in fact the two dentists in Klang (in orthodontic unit) are all females thumbup.gif

PS. Dun confuse the regular dental clinic (cabut gigi) one with orthodontic unit.

This post has been edited by ceo684: Sep 20 2008, 02:15 AM

0.0226sec    0.45    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th December 2025 - 05:17 AM