everything about braces!, help!

TSlove me or hate me
post Aug 15 2008, 07:40 PM, updated 18y ago

32 posts

hi, biggrin.gif

i'm planning to get a braces prbably next year...
can i know how much it cost???
how much do i need to pay???
each month???
the deposit???
anyone will like to suggest the best dentist in penang?

the other thing is that... i got vampire teeth...
so...some ppl say it's quite dangerous to remove it..
coz it got something to do with your eyes...
it coyld effect your eyes...
anyone with same case as me???
please..please share your experiences with me... icon_question.gif icon_question.gif icon_question.gif

basiccally, tell me EVERYTHING about braces....

this is my teeth...

THANKS!!! nod.gif
CelciuzX
post Aug 17 2008, 10:11 PM

279 posts

Wrong section.
& your teeths are... ohmy.gif
barca
post Aug 18 2008, 01:33 AM

535 posts

Might be few thousand i guess....but ur teeth are really terible.....scary man~
CelciuzX
post Aug 18 2008, 03:53 PM

279 posts

4K for private, 2K for goverment.
If im not mistaken.

You'll only need to pay once, then come back every month for a check up.
JonSpark
post Aug 18 2008, 05:09 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

3 years ago I was about to get braces, then I got into an accident later on and it seems that everyone forgot about it. My teeths looks fine and better now. laugh.gif private RM3k actually

nice teeths there wink.gif
Qasy
post Aug 18 2008, 07:10 PM

27 posts

i do mine for 3.7k. tat's like 6yrs ago price la.
my fren did for 3k for ONLY the top part. dang this thing is getting more exp.

but TS, not to worry cos the dentist wont pull the tiger teeth (tat's wat i called it..roar!)dentist will pull the teeth behind the tiger teeth. i had 1 tiger teeth that grows up there but after braces its all fixed,n the best part is u wont even realise tat it came down,tau2 u see the mirror,boom! its down alrd.

its quite painful at the beginning n also each time its tighten,gotta get used to it.my dentist advises was,no chewing hard stuffs,no chewinggum,no carbonate drinks n always brush after meals. but i was too noti to still eat chewinggums n carbonate drink (once a while) n also not brush it after meals...haha!

but my advise to u,drink lotsa water,cos if u dont, ur lips n gums will be dry thus when it kinda bergeser wif the "steels" it mite tear up the skin a lil,n im telling u itll be worst than having ulser. always happen to me. n brush ur teeth each time b4 u see the dentist,if u dowan to kene marah.

hmm...wat else...tats wat i can rmb...oh ya...when u go for tighten each mth, pick nice bright color rubbers,cos itll be cool..haha!

lastly,good luck n this is wat i always say NO PAIN NO GAIN.
wreckens15
post Aug 20 2008, 04:32 PM

874 posts

i go goverment free biggrin.gif
fish@5311
post Aug 20 2008, 10:45 PM

202 posts

I did mine for 3.5k , from a private clinic , in my situation i had to extract 4 tooths , all four are behind the wisdom tooths of both side, usually they will extract the one behind the tiger/vampire tooth because they cannot extract the the tiger/vampire tooth as it is the main support tooth and if in the case they have to extract it then they have to add a support structure which is glued to the upper part of your mouth that will hold your tooth in position during the braces period but that is most likely unable to happen.
The process will be very painful for the first 3weeks only or sometimes the first month as your mouth have to get used to the wear and tear of the braces metal wire that scrapes upon your cheek surface every time you move your mouth( e.g talking and eating) you might get mouth ulcers frequently and it would be very difficult to eat as the pain is unbearable sometimes due to the bone restructuring but just bare for one month once your body got used to it , you wouldn't even feel like its there at all! But after each appointments there will be some pain as the doctor pulls and relocate your tooth into position but as usual the pain will be gone within 3-4 days after the process as your body is used to it already. The pain is all part and parcel of braces but in my opinion just bare with it to get a better smile thus there is always family and beautiful nurses to console me drool.gif hahahaha... brows.gif
I would not recommend you to do with the government although it is cheap (unless you really can't afford private one then go for it) because the waiting time is hectic as my cousin did it under the government , she has to wait 7 years just for her turn doh.gif . In addition most of the doctors are inexperienced because mostly they are trainees and they suck at extracting the tooth , i had one tooth extracted by a trainee nurse at a government clinic once before i did my braces the nurse didn't even give me painkiller before extracting it and she has no strength at all to pull my tooth until my tooth broke halfway and i have to do surgery at a private clinic to remove the other half and worst they didn't apologize and compensate at all.. vmad.gif thats why i learn through the bitter way.. nod.gif not to trust all this government clinic . Just wonder why is it so cheap to do braces in the government clinic???because their doctors , staffs and services SUCK.

*p/s this is just my opinion based on my experienced, sorry if i offended anyone but it is the truth that is happening now*** notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by fish@5311: Aug 20 2008, 10:47 PM
nanakopy87
post Aug 21 2008, 01:24 PM

You were...
1,835 posts

how come can't see the photo?u removed it?
i plan to get 1 but i scare of the pain..huhuhu
R4yMoNd
post Aug 21 2008, 04:28 PM

1,139 posts

for sure u dont use to it for the 1st few months n will cause u loss lot of weight
Jov
post Aug 22 2008, 11:12 PM

Hellooo. I'm an ex-braces wearer. I forgot how much it costs, cos my parents handled that. tongue.gif

Here's some of my experiences during that time.
- I never had ulcers caused by braces. (maybe I did.. but I forgot.)
- It'll only hurt for a few hours after tightening it every month.
- I didn't lose weight at all.
- Yesh, it kinda hurts when you just installed it.. i cried. sad.gif
- I looked geeky. hahaa.
- I had a funny smile tongue.gif
- I actually missed having them after I took it off.

But it's worth it, in the end. I love my teeth now. biggrin.gif

And about your vampire teeth thing, true or not.. I've not heard such thing before. And I sorta had that kinda teeth too. My dentist removed the teeth behind my 'vampire teeth', and pushed down my 'vampire teeth'. So prolly your dentist will do the same thing too.

Well, have fun. hehe.
JonSpark
post Aug 22 2008, 11:23 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

QUOTE(Jov @ Aug 22 2008, 11:12 PM)
Hellooo. I'm an ex-braces wearer. I forgot how much it costs, cos my parents handled that. tongue.gif

- I looked geeky. hahaa.

And about your vampire teeth thing, true or not.. I've not heard such thing before. And I sorta had that kinda teeth too. My dentist removed the teeth behind my 'vampire teeth', and pushed down my 'vampire teeth'. So prolly your dentist will do the same thing too.

Well, have fun. hehe.
Nice seeing you here wave.gif

u have vampire teeths? I have a set too. Im not kidding, its really pointy (and obvious) if i smile or laugh. laugh.gif
sissonne
post Aug 23 2008, 01:35 AM

155 posts

I'm still on my braces for 2 yrs and it cost me about RM 5k sad.gif
First payment is about RM 1-2k and next subsequent payments are about RM 200/month during the monthly checkups.

This is my 2nd braces and kinda regret cuz last time i had it when i was too young. Then when my wisdom came out, it began to mis-align again sad.gif
jianjie
post Aug 24 2008, 02:32 PM

290 posts

QUOTE(sissonne @ Aug 23 2008, 01:35 AM)
I'm still on my braces for 2 yrs and it cost me about RM 5k sad.gif
First payment is about RM 1-2k and next subsequent payments are about RM 200/month during the monthly checkups.

This is my 2nd braces and kinda regret cuz last time i had it when i was too young. Then when my wisdom came out, it began to mis-align again sad.gif
i wore my braces 4 years ago,2 years on braces,2 years on retainers (actually i can take off my retainers after half year but lazy go find dentist)..for braces one total cost is around 5k to 6k..adding the retainer cost it will be around 6k+..and i'm wearing a fake tooth now..lost my front tooth during form 2 cry.gif cry.gif

for braces,first week dam pain la..u will nvr be able to imagine how fast ulcers can grown on yr lips..and their quantity can keep u off food for a weeks!its like for every single metal equipped,there's a corresponding ulcer..the 'climax' i got is around 15 ulcers on my lips and inner cheek..tat pain is really killing cry.gif ..but after a month..ulcer wont grow so many anymore..maybe once every few months? tat bcoz yr body adjusted to it ady ma..and u learned how to take care of yr braces..

as for the monthly check,the day after checking and tightening sure pain la.after tat day (some few hours)..feel like nothing ady..
the feeling after u remove yr braces..is like WOW. u cant stop licking yr newly polished smoothy teeth!
Jov
post Aug 25 2008, 11:01 PM

QUOTE(JonSpark @ Aug 22 2008, 11:23 PM)

u have vampire teeths? I have a set too. Im not kidding, its really pointy (and obvious) if i smile or laugh. laugh.gif
oh hello you smile.gif
i used to have them. now my teeth are pretty straight thanks to those metal stuff. biggrin.gif
GeneralX
post Aug 25 2008, 11:54 PM

577 posts

You can expect to pay less than RM1000 in government clinics. Having mine for RM700 and paying by installment upon each checkup, quite economical but less effective. 6 years and still counting doh.gif
TSlove me or hate me
post Aug 26 2008, 03:57 PM

32 posts

thanks biggrin.gif

Added on August 26, 2008, 3:59 pmhi...

thanks a lot..
you really help me alot..
i'll inform you..when i get them..
thanks ya! smile.gif

Added on August 26, 2008, 4:03 pmhi..

thanks...
you help me a lot..
although it sounds scary..
but i'll go for it..
i'm planning to do it at private dentist..
i don't trust gov. too...
thumbup.gif

Added on August 26, 2008, 4:04 pm
QUOTE(Qasy @ Aug 18 2008, 07:10 PM)
i do mine for 3.7k. tat's like 6yrs ago price la.
my fren did for 3k for ONLY the top part. dang this thing is getting more exp.

but TS, not to worry cos the dentist wont pull the tiger teeth (tat's wat i called it..roar!)dentist will pull the teeth behind the tiger teeth. i had 1 tiger teeth that grows up there but after braces its all fixed,n the best part is u wont even realise tat it came down,tau2 u see the mirror,boom! its down alrd.

its quite painful at the beginning n also each time its tighten,gotta get used to it.my dentist advises was,no chewing hard stuffs,no chewinggum,no carbonate drinks n always brush after meals. but i was too noti to still eat chewinggums n carbonate drink (once a while) n also not brush it after meals...haha!

but my advise to u,drink lotsa water,cos if u dont, ur lips n gums will be dry thus when it kinda bergeser wif the "steels" it mite tear up the skin a lil,n im telling u itll be worst than having ulser. always happen to me. n brush ur teeth each time b4 u see the dentist,if u dowan to kene marah.

hmm...wat else...tats wat i can rmb...oh ya...when u go for tighten each mth, pick nice bright color rubbers,cos itll be cool..haha!

lastly,good luck n this is wat i always say NO PAIN NO GAIN.
hi...

thanks a lot..
you really help me alot..
i'll inform you..when i get them..
thanks ya! smile.gif

Added on August 26, 2008, 4:04 pm
QUOTE(fish@5311 @ Aug 20 2008, 10:45 PM)
I did mine for 3.5k , from a private clinic , in my situation i had to extract 4 tooths , all four are behind the wisdom tooths of both side,  usually they will extract the one behind the tiger/vampire tooth because they cannot extract the the tiger/vampire tooth as it is the main support tooth and if in the case they have to extract it then they have to add a support structure which is glued to the upper part of your mouth that will hold your tooth in position during the braces period but that is most likely unable to happen.
         The process will be very painful for the first 3weeks only or sometimes the first month as your mouth have to get used to the wear and tear of the braces metal wire that scrapes upon your cheek surface every time you move your mouth( e.g talking and eating)  you might get mouth ulcers frequently and it would be very difficult to eat as the pain is unbearable sometimes due to the bone restructuring but just bare for one month once your body got used to it , you wouldn't even feel like its there at all! But after each  appointments there will be some pain as the doctor pulls and relocate your tooth into position but as usual the pain will be gone within 3-4 days after the process as your body is used to it already. The pain is all part and parcel of braces but in my opinion just bare with it to get a better smile thus there is always family and beautiful nurses to console me  drool.gif  hahahaha... brows.gif
            I would not recommend you to do with the government although it is cheap (unless you really can't afford private one then go for it) because the waiting time is hectic as my cousin did it under the government , she has to wait 7 years just for her turn  doh.gif . In addition most of the doctors are inexperienced because mostly they are trainees  and they suck at extracting the tooth , i had one tooth extracted by a trainee nurse at a government clinic once before i did my braces the nurse didn't even give me painkiller  before extracting it and she has no strength at all to pull my tooth until my tooth broke halfway and i have to do surgery at a private clinic  to remove the other half and worst they didn't apologize and compensate at all.. vmad.gif thats why i learn through the bitter way.. nod.gif not to trust all this government clinic . Just wonder why is it so cheap to do braces in the government clinic???because their doctors , staffs and services SUCK.
*p/s this is just my opinion based on my experienced, sorry if i offended anyone but it is the truth that is happening now*** notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
hi..

thanks...
you help me a lot..
although it sounds scary..
but i'll go for it..
i'm planning to do it at private dentist..
i don't trust gov. too...
thumbup.gif

Added on August 26, 2008, 4:06 pm
QUOTE(Jov @ Aug 22 2008, 11:12 PM)

- I looked geeky. hahaa.

Well, have fun. hehe.
thanks for the advice..
it really help me a lot..
probably next year i'm goin to do it..
thanks ya!

Added on August 26, 2008, 4:07 pm
QUOTE(JonSpark @ Aug 22 2008, 11:23 PM)

then what did they do with the vampire teeth???

This post has been edited by love me or hate me: Aug 26 2008, 04:07 PM
dianaklutz
post Aug 27 2008, 11:49 AM

hi,
i also wear braces before, just took it off in june 2008
i did it for like 6k (i think so.. cos my dad paid for it.. haha)
im using the ceramic one
i agree with all of u here, yes at first u will feel so painful (yes.. i cried too.. huhu. cos on the first day i cant even chew even those tiny little rice.. have to swallow it.. only drink soup.. huhu)
but thats only for first few days..
after that not much pain aldy
every month also after tighten it, only feel the pain for few hours..
need to drink lot of water..
i cant really remember but i think i didnt get the ulcer that much
but i did have a bit luka when the hujung of the steel (is it called steel?haha) got stuck at the inside skin of my pipi..
and sumtimes my tongue also get luka if i lick it at the end of the steel.. haha..
but nevertheless, now my teeth have become straight aldy
i wore it for about 1 year as my teeth dont have that much problem
just a bit jarang here and there..

but the problem now is.. i hardly wear the retainer..
waahhh.. so lazy one lah..
and now.. my teeth have move a bit..
hohoho.. i dont want to wear the braces again.. sad.gif
Jov
post Aug 28 2008, 03:44 PM

Added on August 26, 2008, 4:06 pm
thanks for the advice..
it really help me a lot..
probably next year i'm goin to do it..
thanks ya!

Added on August 26, 2008, 4:07 pm
then what did they do with the vampire teeth???

[/quote]
you're welcome smile.gif

they'll just push down your vamp teeth. well, that's what my dentist did to mine.. normally they do that.
Brittany1106
post Aug 28 2008, 10:18 PM

which hospital or doctor gd in this??
i searching oso~~
my teeth suck~~ haha

0.0226sec    0.46    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 03:13 PM