Movies Green Lantern | live-action on DC Comics superhero, 17/6/2011 | Green Lantern 2 writer hired

TSCalvin871989
post Aug 14 2008, 02:51 PM, updated 15y ago

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.variety.com/article/VR111797488...egoryid=13&cs=1

Berlanti lights up 'Green Lantern'
WB set director for DC Comics adaptation

Warner Bros. has set Greg Berlanti to direct "Green Lantern," a live-action take on the DC Comics superhero.
Berlanti will write the script with Marc Guggenheim and Michael Green. Donald De Line will produce; Andrew Haas is exec producer.

Berlanti hopes to make the jump to big-budget fantasy fare after serving as writer and exec producer on character-driven TV series "Dirty Sexy Money," "Brothers & Sisters," "Everwood," "Jack & Bobby" and "Dawson's Creek." He previously directed 2000 feature "The Broken Hearts Club."

"Green Lantern" was hatched in 1940. Hal Jordan, a second-generation test pilot, is an ordinary man who has been charged with defending a sector of the universe.

Warner Bros. and DC Comics assigned the project to De Line, who is currently in Morocco shooting "Body of Lies," the Ridley Scott-directed WB drama that stars Leonardo DiCaprio and Russell Crowe.

Guggenheim, who works with Berlanti as a writer-producer on "Brothers & Sisters," wrote the Marvel comicbooks "Amazing Spider-Man," "Wolverine" and "Blade." Green, the "Heroes" co-exec producer who worked with Berlanti on "Everwood" and "Jack & Bobby," wrote the Marvel Comics title "Superman/Batman" and was a writer-producer on "Smallville."

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Aug 9 2010, 11:35 PM
TSCalvin871989
post Aug 14 2008, 02:51 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.thehollywoodnews.com/artman2/pu...ht-35140808.php

Green Lantern could be 'better than Dark Knight'

The mighty IESB have managed to get hold of a copy of the screenplay for the proposed Green Lantern movie -- and they say that it's pretty darn good.

‘'Also, unlike other recent superhero movies, this Green Lantern story has science fiction elements such as visiting other planets and major space battles." The site says.

Greg Berlanti, Marc Guggenheim and Michael Green wrote the script that IESB says has the potential to better The Dark Knight.

The website also says that Mad Max helmer George Miller is in talks to direct. Click here for more.

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Feb 5 2009, 03:55 PM
sidthesloth
post Aug 14 2008, 03:31 PM

174 posts

hmm i wonder which character will be green lantern. my personal favorite is john stewart. besides, very less black super heroes tongue.gif

This post has been edited by sidthesloth: Aug 14 2008, 03:31 PM
nimeewon
post Aug 14 2008, 03:35 PM

411 posts

Green Lantern ROCKS! but he's actually pretty much useless without the ring. except that he can KICK ASS!
firedauz
post Aug 15 2008, 01:15 AM

Kopitiam Official Astronaut
876 posts

QUOTE(sidthesloth @ Aug 14 2008, 03:31 PM)
hmm i wonder which character will be green lantern.

Hal Jordan.

And I agree with the idea of Hal too, seeing that he is the first human to join the GL Corp as a representative from Earth.
In today's DC storyline, seeing that Hal had passed away long time ago, he's now the almighty Spectre.
TSCalvin871989
post Sep 15 2008, 04:13 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://screenrant.com/green-lantern-movie-...s-see-vic-3695/

Green Lantern ‘What The Fans Will Want To See’

My buds at Latino Review have alerted me to a new bit of news about the Green Lantern movie that is indeed moving forward (without Jack Black, thank you very much).

Marvel Comics writer Marc Guggenheim has been tasked with writing the screenplay, and so far, it’s sounding like things are moving in the right direction.

He was interviewed by Comicon.com about his current run on Spider-Man and had this to say about the Green Lantern film:

I’ve been working my ass off on Green Lantern,” he said, then laughed. “I’m ready for a weekend off. I really can’t say too much about it. I’ve sworn a blood oath of secrecy. I will tell you it features Hal Jordan and is an incredibly faithful rendition of the character. It honors everything everyone loves about the hero. We approach it from a fan’s perspective. Every step of the way, we ask ourselves what we want to see and what the fans will want to see. I think we have a script that will actually satisfy on those levels. Right now I’m just doing a rewrite for the studio with Greg [Berlanti] and Michael [Green]. We’ll turn that in next week. We justkeep moving forward. It’s really good stuff!

Now lest you think I Marvel Comics writer shouldn’t be tackling the emerald hero, much less writing a screenplay, he has written for DC Comics before and in addition does have experience writing for TV shows like CSI: Miami, Law & Order and The Practice. Click here for his full bio.

Now as I said above, so far this sounds awesome. But a LOT of things can happen/change between the first draft of a screenplay and the final movie we end up seeing on the screen. It does add fuel to the “this movie may be cool fire” based on our previous Green Lantern script report last month. There are many, many, MANY “cooks” who get their fingers in the pot over the course of a film’s production.

Of course, things turned out pretty damned well for The Dark Knight, so that inspires some confidence. I’d love to see an awesome Green Lantern movie. Non-comic book geeks may not be aware that while the obvious Marvel/DC comparison for Iron Man is Batman, many comic book fans consider Green Lantern to be a better DC analogue for our favorite armored Avenger. This is due to the fact that they are both ordinary men (non-meta-humans) who have superhero powers - unlike Batman who has honed his physical prowess to the point that he seems super-human when compared to the average couch potato.

Michael Green is co-writing the script along with Marc Guggenheim, and let’s hope Marc’s passion makes it all the way through the film-making process. Green has been involved with TV shows like Heroes, Everwood and *cough* Smallville *cough*.

As far as we know Greg Berlanti is still set to direct the film.

firedauz
post Sep 15 2008, 07:13 PM

876 posts

Green Lantern is one of my TOP favorite DC characters.

GL's background and powers had alot to back-up into becoming a great movie.
There are no errors or flaws to fail to movie.
Only a fool would turn the movie upside-down.
the_registered
post Sep 15 2008, 08:25 PM

I'm not crazy, but I'm registered
844 posts

Blacky can actually a afford to buy a ring?
TSCalvin871989
post Sep 17 2008, 02:54 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

Green Lantern Story Details And Casting Update
http://www.latinoreview.com/news/green-lan...ing-update-5395

TSCalvin871989
post Sep 28 2008, 06:16 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.firstshowing.net/2008/09/26/gre...ng-next-spring/

Green Lantern Movie Starts Shooting Next Spring

Just the other day I went down to my local comic book store to pick up some issues of Mark Millar's War Heroes. While there I got into a discussion with my friend who happens to be a big Green Lantern fan. He had seen that concept art that we posted a while back and said that if it got made, it would be an awesome movie. Earlier today I caught up briefly with producer Donald De Line, who is developing the Green Lantern film, and asked him for an update. He told me that "a new draft of the script came in" and they're "gearing up to start shooting early spring." While it's not confirmed, he added that "it's coming together and I'm excited about it. Hopefully we'll make it to start gate. We're really close - really close."

It sounds like as long as everything continues to stay on track, this will be shooting next year. And that means we'll definitely see that Green Lantern movie that all the fans have been waiting for, or so it sounds like. Latino Review's El Mayimbe got a chance to check out that script that was turned in recently and gave it a very positive review, saying "fanboys are gonna love the shit out of it." His version differs slightly from the one IESB reviewed a month ago as well. You can read El Mayimbe's full review of the script, but I just love this little snippet about the story and want to feature that on its own.

"The structure adheres closely to what I call - the 'superhero origin movie paradigm.' In Green Lantern's case, Hal Jordan has to overcome his selfishness and self pity over the death of his father Martin Jordan which takes place early in the script. Hal Jordan for the first 20 pages or so is a prick. The story follows the Green Lantern origin closely and cinematically speaking – IT WORKS."

It's great to hear that a beloved comic book character is actually getting a worthy adaptation. It sounds like this ain't no Fantastic Four - this is the real deal and this is the real Green Lantern movie that everyone wants to see. De Line confirmed again that Greg Berlanti, of "Everwood" and The Broken Hearts Club, will be directing. I've been anxious for updates on this because I've got a good feeling it's going to be one of the big movies of 2010 and with script reviews and news like this, it's well on its way to becoming that. I know I'm not the only one who is anxiously waiting to find out who they cast as Hal Jordan. And although I'm excited now, I just hope Berlanti can do a good job with such an intergalactic concept.

TSCalvin871989
post Oct 9 2008, 08:53 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://latinoreview.com/news/exclusive-gre...a-notebook-5506

Exclusive: Green Lantern MAY Have A Notebook!!

Green Lantern casting update

El Mayimbe here…

So yes the word on the Green Lantern is that it is moving along and that rehearsals should start in February for a Spring 2009 shoot.

Earlier, I had received word from someone that the Green Lantern choices have been nailed down and that they were considering Seth Green, Justin Long, and David Boreanaz.

I was like WTF?!

Confused, I went to my guys to get to the bottom of what is going on and to see if it was true.

Thankfully, hell no, not true.

BUT…I did manage to find out something.

You know who the studio wants to wear Abin Sur’s ring and take up the mantle of The Green Lantern?

From my trusted source within the WB, I’m hearing…

RYAN GOSLING

Personally, I think a really hot choice!  Ryan Gosling is a dope actor and would kill the role. Remember folks that he is an Oscar nominee.  Green Lantern/Hal Jordan in the script is 27 and currently Ryan is 27 (his 28th birthday is next month).

Mind you, I don’t know if an offer has been made, and if WB is into it now with Ryan’s people, but once again Gosling is who I’m hearing the WB wants for Hal Jordan.

Hal Jordan is a fictional character, a DC Comics superhero. He is the second Green Lantern and arguably the most famous hero to bear that name. Created by John Broome and Gil Kane, he first appeared in Showcase #22 (October 1959).

Hal Jordan's revamp as the Green Lantern was one of many old DC Comics characters to emerge in the Silver Age of comics. Like many of his contemporaries, Hal Jordan became more identified with his heroic identity than the previous iterations of the characters. Controversy erupted among comic book readers in 1994 when Hal Jordan became supervillain Parallax and Kyle Rayner replaced him as the Green Lantern.

Jordan underwent a number of further changes in the 1990s including dying and later returning as a new incarnation of The Spectre. Hal Jordan returned to the role of Green Lantern in 2004's Green Lantern: Rebirth miniseries and is currently the protagonist of the current volume of Green Lantern.

So what do you guys think?

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Feb 5 2009, 03:55 PM
mukhlisz
post Oct 9 2008, 12:57 PM

373 posts

i dunno about u guys but i like The Flash more. are they still making that one? unsure.gif
TSCalvin871989
post Oct 9 2008, 01:02 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(mukhlisz @ Oct 9 2008, 12:57 PM)
i dunno about u guys but i like The Flash more. are they still making that one?  unsure.gif
yes they are mukhlisz nod.gif

i think this is the thread your looking for ? : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=768426&hl=

TSCalvin871989
post Oct 9 2008, 01:19 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

deleted

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Oct 9 2008, 08:53 PM
mukhlisz
post Oct 9 2008, 02:43 PM

373 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Oct 9 2008, 01:02 PM)
yes they are mukhlisz nod.gif

i think this is the thread your looking for ? : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=768426&hl=

thx bro. didn't realize fire's made a thread already.. tongue.gif
TSCalvin871989
post Feb 5 2009, 04:12 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.variety.com/article/VR111799958...egoryid=13&cs=1

Campbell in talks for 'Lantern'
Director may take on 'Green' for Warner Bros.

Warner Bros. is negotiating with Martin Campbell to direct "Green Lantern," the live-action film based on the DC Comics hero.

Campbell last directed "Casino Royale" and recently wrapped the Mel Gibson starrer "Edge of Darkness," based on the 1985 BBC miniseries that Campbell helmed.

The emergence of Campbell, who also helmed two "Zorro" films and the 007 film "GoldenEye," puts "Green Lantern" at the top of DC properties being set for movie treatment by WB. While the studio is hoping director Chris Nolan will follow its 2008 smash "The Dark Knight" with another Batfilm, DC projects such as Superman and "Justice League" were expected to happen quickly, but have stalled.

Instead, the hot DC titles are "Green Lantern" and "Jonah Hex," the latter of which has Josh Brolin set to play a disfigured gunslinger in a film that begins production in April, directed by Jimmy Heyward ("Horton Hears a Who").

Greg Berlanti wrote the script with Marc Guggenheim and Michael Green.

Donald DeLine will produce with Berlanti.

Berlanti had once been considered to direct. Instead, WB has attached him to direct "This Is Where I Leave You," the upcoming Jonathan Tropper novel which will be adapted by the author (Daily Variety, Feb. 2).

TSCalvin871989
post Feb 19 2009, 11:57 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://scifiwire.com/2009/02/green-lantern...writer-says.php

Green Lantern movie moving forward, writer says

Michael Green, who is co-writing the upcoming film adaptation of DC Comics' Green Lantern, told reporters that the film is "moving forward."

"Green Lantern seems to be moving ahead," Green said in a conference call with reporters on Wednesday while promoting his upcoming NBC series Kings. "I love the material. I was fortunate enough to get to adapt something that I've loved for a long time."

Green added: "They have a director [GoldenEye's Martin Campbell] attached to it now and seem to be moving forward, they being Warner Brothers. And I hope they do, because, as a fan of [the character and title], I just want to see the movie."

Greg Berlanti wrote the script with Marc Guggenheim and Green. Donald DeLine will produce with Berlanti.

TSCalvin871989
post Feb 27 2009, 10:42 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.latinoreview.com/news/from-kyle...en-lantern-6278

From Kyle Reese to Green Lantern?

With both a director and a release date firmly in place, the search is underway for Hal Jordan.

From what I gathered so far, Sam Worthington is obviously unavailable due to his role in Clash of Titans...

Ryan Gosling, who we reported earlier as a candidate, passed on the role...

According to a source, Emile Hirsch (Speed Racer) has also just passed on the role...

So the producers are looking at every young up and coming actor in Hollywood INCLUDING a name I at first found peculiar, but it grew on me and I wanted to share it with you guys.

Anton Yelchin

He is after playing the young bad ass of the future/past Kyle Reese in the upcoming Terminator Salvation (which I can't wait to see) and got the Chekov part in Star Trek.

But Hal Jordan?  What do you guys think?  Can you see Anton wearing the ring?

Hey, if they went to current it boy Emile Hirsch who is 5' 7'' and totally out of left field in my opinion, then Anton who is 5' 9'' is certainly a possibility.

TSCalvin871989
post Mar 3 2009, 03:36 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.iesb.net/index.php?option=com_c...=6398&Itemid=99

Anton Yelchin Says No on GREEN LANTERN Rumors

IESB is at WonderCon and spoke with cast members from TERMINATOR SALVATION today, including Anton Yelchin who was recently rumored to be in talks to play Hal Jordan in the new WB GREEN LANTERN live action film.

First reported over at LatinoReview, the rumor has today proved false, straight from the mouth of Yelchin himself.

IESB was on hand at the Terminator Salvation panel at WonderCon as well as the press roundtables (more on these later) when Yelchin addressed the rumors,

"I had no idea about that...I have no clue." He continued, "I have no idea. I think I'm probably too young. I mean, no one has approached me. No one has said anything to me. I imagine I'm just too young. I mean, it's a great character but i don't know anything about it...I haven't heard anything about it."

Too young and too small. Hal Jordan is the man in the new script. Women should be falling at his feet, something I don't see happening with Yelchin.

WB still wants Ryan Gosling although he's turned it down at least three times.

Yelchin plays a young Kyle Reese in McG's new Terminator film, a role made famous by Michael Biehn in the original 1984 film starring Arnold Schwarzeneggar.

TSCalvin871989
post Mar 10 2009, 09:40 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.comingsoon.net/news/movienews.php?id=53545

Donald De Line on Green Lantern and Brazilian Job

Producer Donald De Line has been a player in Hollywood for more than two decades, and he's going to be very busy the next couple weeks, as he releases two high-profile R-rated comedies, I Love You, Man (out March 20) with Paul Rudd and Jason Segel, and Observe and Report (out April 10) with Seth Rogen. Both movies are playing at this year's South by Southwest Film Festival in Austin, Texas, on March 13 and March 16, respectively.

Having had a chance to talk to the producer earlier today, ComingSoon.net just had to ask him about his long-in-development movie based on the DC Comics character Green Lantern, which just had its release date set for December 17, 2010.

We were especially curious about how they were planning on incorporating all the mythology surrounding the character in a way that would satisfy the hundreds of thousands of comic book fans who've been waiting a long time for this movie. "Our story is the Hal Jordan origin story, but creating the character of Hal Jordan that is a real character that will resonate with the fanbase is what we need to do. You have to make him credible and somebody to care about and tell a good story, and I think if we do that, we'll be okay."

"It's going to be a series of big stakes and big action, but it absolutely has a sense of humor," he replied when asked about the humor quotient of the movie. "I think people accept real life, even with really serious situations, with humor as part of that situation, as we experience in life, you have to have that. That's how people cope, so they've done it so well in these other movies. I think that people are absolutely ready. It doesn't have to fall on one side of the fence vs. the other."

Lastly, we asked him to address the rumors about them deliberately going younger with Hal Jordan, something that came out of the bogus stories about Anton Yelchin auditioning, but De Line denied the intention to cast younger. "Not really, late '20s, early '30s."

On another note, we were curious whether there was any word on a sequel to De Line's 2003 hit caper remake The Italian Job, which brought together Mark Wahlberg, Charlize Theron, Ed Norton, Donald Sutherland, Jason Statham, Seth Green and Mos Def. Over the years, all of them have been asked about whether the proposed sequel The Brazilian Job might happen, and De Line gave hope for it finally rolling forward. "We're trying right now. They all want to do the sequel. We have a version at Paramount that we're talking very serious about, so hopefully, if we're lucky in the next year we can pull it together. They're all very successful and very busy, which is great, but they all have a real affection and passion for that movie, so they want to come back and do another, which is nice. We'll get them together hopefully."

firedauz
post Mar 10 2009, 10:17 PM

876 posts

I'm glad that Anton is not GL. That boy is way too skinny to be the macho Hal Jordan biggrin.gif
FatSam
post Mar 10 2009, 10:33 PM

509 posts

what is his power?..malas mau google
firedauz
post Mar 10 2009, 11:23 PM

876 posts

Sauce: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Green_Lantern...s_and_abilities
Power rings as used by various wielders have exhibited (but are not limited to) the following effects:

* Creates solid 'light energy' which is only limited by the mind
    * Constructs of green 'solid-energy,' often of tremendous size and/or complexity.
    * Flight, including flight at speeds beyond that of light.
    * Plasma bolts.
    * Ability to walk through walls by travelling through 'the Fourth Dimension' [Alan Scott]
    * The rings can act as semi-sentient computers, including accessing the Book of Oa, a massive database of everything from the laws of the Guardians and the Corps to the history of the universe.
    * Time travel.
    * The rings are still reliant on the lantern-shaped power batteries, but no longer limited to 24 hours' charge as they originally were. Kyle Rayner's ring was the first ring to absorb more power than originally thought, having stored the main power battery's energy following its explosion on Oa.
    * Telepathic powers.
    * Translation of virtually all languages.
    * Force field generation.
    * Radiation, including simulated kryptonite radiations.
    * Generate "earplugs" to block out all telepathic communication and manipulation.[6]
    * Render user invisible.[7]
    * Green Lantern: Rebirth revealed that only a certain type of willpower can use the ring effectively, as evidenced when Green Arrow's "cynical" willpower barely allows him to generate a single arrow and leaves him exhausted after this feat.
    * Put humans into a state of suspended animation [8]

The first bolded power is the main power of ALL GLs, so that would be the focus power of the movie nod.gif
KingKongStudy
post Jul 11 2009, 05:36 PM

671 posts

RYAN REYNOLDS IS HAL JORDAN!!!
or Green Lantern if you don't know who that is.

Bradley Cooper won't be fleeing the color yellow, and Justin Timberlake won't be taking it on down to Lanternville.

After a week of buzz, Ryan Reynolds has vanquished his competitors and won the seemingly coveted opportunity to wear the ring (and maybe tights) for GREEN LANTERN, according to Variety.

Reynolds completes a comic-character hat trick (after Hannibal King and Wade "Deadpool" Wilson) to play Hal Jordan, who gets conscripted into the Green Lantern Corps and is tasked with protecting the planet by fabricating emerald-colored objects with powerful finger jewelry.

Two-time Bond relauncher Martin Campbell (GOLDENEYE, CASINO ROYALE) is directing the Warner Bros. action/sci-fi flick about the DC Comics hero. Production is now expected to begin in January (the movie was initially planned for a December 2010 release). Where this leaves Reynolds' planned DEADPOOL movie (a possible conflict of interest) remains to be seen.

SOURCE:  http://joblo.com/index.php?id=27434

I wonder what's going to happen with Deadpool movie. unsure.gif

This post has been edited by KingKongStudy: Jul 11 2009, 05:44 PM
firedauz
post Jul 12 2009, 01:26 AM

876 posts

He's now Deadpool (Marvel) AND Green Lantern (DC Comics) laugh.gif
TSCalvin871989
post Dec 22 2009, 03:56 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.latinoreview.com/news/exclusive...girlfriend-8843

Exclusive: One Of These Five Lovely Ladies WILL Be Hal Jordan’s Girlfriend!

Before I begin, I have to give massive props to Drew McWeeny for having my back during last week’s Tobey Maguire/The Hobbit kerfuffle.  I highly recommend you read his piece HERE because as he says in the last sentence, actors and publicists lie to the press, and acting like every word they speak is truth is just ignorant.

Anyway, back to business.

So what is going on with THE GREEN LANTERN movie?

Not much has been heard about the film since they cast Ryan Reynolds as Hal Jordan/Green Lantern and the production was pulled out of Australia.

Well, I did my usual snooping around and I was able to nail down who the five candidates are for the role of CAROL FERRIS – Hal Jordan’s love interest in the film.

Per the script, Carol Ferris (27) is the daughter of aerospace mogul Carl Ferris. She works for her dad’s company FERRIS AIR, got an MBA, and has a lifetime crush on Hal Jordan.

According to my sources, the five candidates are:

1) James Bond heartbreaker EVA GREEN

2) The voice of DC’s animated WONDER WOMAN film KERI RUSSELL

3) Helen of TROY’s DIANE KRUGER

4) Gossip girl’s BLAKE LIVELY

5) and JENNIFER GARNER

hmm.gif

This post has been edited by Calvin871989: Jan 8 2010, 08:45 AM
TSCalvin871989
post Jan 8 2010, 09:00 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.superherohype.com/news/greenlan...ews.php?id=8959

Green Lantern Gets the Official Green Light

Visual effects supervisor Karen Goulekas (The Day After Tomorrow, Spider-Man) has announced on her Blog that Green Lantern got the official green light yesterday (Wednesday) and that filming will start in 10 weeks (sometime in March):

Wow! Been a long time since I posted! But today is a day worth posting about!

Green Lantern got the official green light today! And not a second too soon - only 10 weeks out from shooting!

While it's great news we are a go - now we have to actually get our prep done in 10 weeks!
DOH!

But we have an amazing crew - so we will make it happen!

In previous Blog posts, she has mentioned that the film will include over 1300 effects shots. To be directed by Martin Campbell (Casino Royale, GoldenEye), Green Lantern will star Ryan Reynolds and is scheduled for a June 17, 2011 release.

Cheesenium
post Jan 8 2010, 12:04 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

Nice,looking forward to this. biggrin.gif
TSCalvin871989
post Jan 19 2010, 06:36 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.collider.com/2010/01/18/exclusi...egins-and-more/

Exclusive: Director Martin Campbell on GREEN LANTERN; Says it’s More IRON MAN Than BATMAN BEGINS and More!

"It will be much more in the tone of Iron Man. It’s got to be. Certainly not Batman Begins, which is a pretty dark movie. No, he’s the Hal Jordan character who’s the sort of shoot from the hip, irresponsible kind of cocky test pilot if you will. In fact, the character seems to be the least likely to be chosen as Green Lantern. Well, of course that’s the fun of it. So no, it’ll be much more like Iron Man. So it’ll have one foot in reality if you see what I mean."

Would you prefer to see a darker, more serious take on the character, or do you feel Campbell is spot on?
azxel
post Jan 19 2010, 06:43 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

hope it turns out just as good if not better than the animated movie...
n00b13
post Jan 19 2010, 07:04 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Jan 19 2010, 06:36 PM)
Would you prefer to see a darker, more serious take on the character, or do you feel Campbell is spot on?
Green Lantern has never really been dark.

TSCalvin871989
post Jan 26 2010, 03:17 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://splashpage.mtv.com/2010/01/25/exclu...occur-in-space/

"I don't know what the percentage is, but there's quite a bit in space,"

"The initial trip up there, the training sessions he has to go through in order to become a Green Lantern. Then, of course at the end, he goes back up to Oa again."

"There are a couple of bits [on Earth] in between [the space scenes]. I think there will be enough [of a balance between space and Earth] to satisfy everybody."

lantern's going to spend more time off-planet ?
TSCalvin871989
post Feb 23 2010, 10:00 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://twitter.com/GeoffJohns0/status/9441726863

Back from an amazing trip to Green Lantern town a.k.a. New Orleans!! Ryan IS Hal. And Mark Strong is going to be a brilliant Sinestro.

http://twitter.com/GeoffJohns0/status/9441800436

Kilowog, the Guardians, Oa...all breathtaking. The age of Green Lantern is upon us!!

there you go, Mark Strong as Sinestro
azxel
post Feb 23 2010, 12:36 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

hmm.. Carrol Ferris is quite a biatch.. wonder who will play her well...
TSCalvin871989
post Mar 5 2010, 04:15 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.boxofficemojo.com/movies/?id=greenlantern.htm

Box Office Mojo has confirmed that Warner Bros will be releasing the superhero film in 3D, when it hits screens on June 17th 2011. The film begins principal photography later this month, and was said to have been shooting some tests recently. It is unclear if it is too late for the production to shoot the movie using 3D cameras, or if the same post production process will be used.

TSCalvin871989
post Apr 7 2010, 04:18 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/Pon...e/news/?a=16710

EXCLUSIVE: New Green Lantern Set Photo

Is that a SPACE SHIP in the water?!? Follow the jump to see for yourself...

The Green Lantern cast and crew are apparently working day and night in Madisonville, LA filming a scene that has yet to be disclosed. You can check out a video of the location by clicking HERE.

This morning, I received an email from a Madisonville resident who had stopped by the movie set and managed to snap this quick photo at the Mandeville Lakefront:

What is that being lowered into the water, you ask? Taking the film's context into consideration, it definitely looks like an otherworldly space craft. Anyone familiar with Green Lantern mythology should know that there is one space ship that is crucial to Hal Jordan's origin story. That ship belonged to his predecessor Abin Sur; who crash landed on Earth before passing his duties onto the former test pilot. The intricate design of Abin's ship has varied throughout the years, but it's sleek, silver look has remained consistent.

Imbecile
post Apr 8 2010, 10:29 PM

26 posts

i question this spaceship, isn't CGI cheaper or more effection than a movie set? and i though abin sur land on a remote desert like area.
TSCalvin871989
post Apr 8 2010, 11:55 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

I would have thought that in this day and age all that would just be CGI, but it’s nice to see they’re still occasionally using physical objects in blockbuster movies.

This is being shot in 3D right? The lantern ring powers were made for that format cool2.gif
The Hardest Thing In The World
post Apr 9 2010, 12:04 AM

357 posts

I'm disappointed with the casting of Green Lantern and Captain America, don't know about you guys? sad.gif
azxel
post Apr 9 2010, 09:52 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

they still need to do up props for close up shots ma.. even Avatar had those 'walkers' made that are real not CGI
TSCalvin871989
post Apr 11 2010, 04:25 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

this:

http://fanartexhibit.wordpress.com/2009/07...-lantern-still/

Fan Art: Ryan Reynolds as The Green Lantern

or this ?

http://www.comicbookmovie.com/fansites/Pon...e/news/?a=16864

Is this the Green Lantern Movie Costume?

What to you think ComicBookMovie fans? Though Jason says this piece of artwork itself wasn't submitted to the studio, a similar one could very well have. Either way, it's still nice to see another concept piece for the film. Would you be happy with this style of uniform if Ryan Reynolds were to wear it in Martin Campbell's Green Lantern?
TSCalvin871989
post Apr 12 2010, 11:55 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.slashfilm.com/2010/04/11/exclus...st-entirely-cg/

Exclusive: Green Lantern’s Suit Will Be CG

Everyone is curious to see what Ryan Reynolds will look like in costume in the big screen adaptation of DC Comics’ Green Lantern. Production started earlier this month in New Orleans, and while the first set photos have begun to hit the web — don’t expect to see Reynolds in the green suit. Not today, not next week, not next month, not ever. So don’t expect to see any leaked shots of Reynolds in the actual suit until Warner Bros makes the official full reveal.

Why not?

Well, because there isn’t a suit.

No suit?

That’s right. No suit. When I was first told this info, I didn’t believe it. I actually didn’t even consider it as a real possibility. But the information I’m about to reveal has since been backed up by two other independent sources. I stand by this information 150% — this is legit. I risk my reputation on it. Ready for it? Okay…

The suit that Ryan wears on set is a grey tracking motion/performance capture suit with led lights. I’ve heard that Ryan Reynolds has been joking on set that Warner Bros is going to make him into a Na’vi when the final cut is released. His joke, not mine. The Green Lantern suit you will see in the final film will be almost entirely created using computers.

That’s right — Green Lantern’s suit will be mostly CG!

Wait, stop…

I said STOP. Comic book fanatics should not freak out just yet…

My source within Warner Bros assures me that the suit will look cool. Don’t let the words “Computer generated” scare you.

I must first remind you that Ngila Dickson, the costumer designer on the film has won an Academy Award for a little film called The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King. Maybe you’ve seen it before? Don’t let her Xena: Warrior Princess roots scare you, she worked on the entire Lord of the Rings trilogy, The Last Samurai (another film which earned her an Oscar nomination), The Illusionist, Blood Diamond and The International. She has an impressive IMDB page, for sure.

Ngila was tasked with trying to find a way to do something that stands apart from all of the other superheroes spandex suit designs we’ve seen in the past. Honestly, isn’t the look becoming overused?

Remember, the Green Lantern suit is something that should look alien — it needs to seem other worldly. It encompasses any creature that wears the ring, and Hal Jordan is the first human to ever wear the suit. This was a chance for Dickson to do something different. You also have to consider that Hal changes into the suit multiple times in mid scene, and the cg also allows him to do this.

I’ve heard that when the cg is complete, the suit will look like a manifestation of his power. And while I couldn’t confirm this, I’ve heard that DC’s Chief Creative Officer Geoff Johns has seen the designs and given them his blessing.

The suit is lined with white LEDs, which I initially thought might be used to give a practical glow (kind of like how Billy Crudup wore blue LEDs to give the actors around Dr. Manhattan a blue glow in Watchmen), but I’ve since been told might just be for mo-cap tracking purposes.

Here is some other information I’ve learned about the production:

- That leaked set photo of the silver ship is indeed Abin Sur’s crashed spaceship
- Temura Morrison looks legit as Abin Sur, although his head isn’t as elongated as in the concept art photos leaked awhile back.
- Peter Sarsgaard’s makeup tests with the enlarged head look cool. He has wild hair, kind of like Jason Lee in “My Name is Earl” and, of course, the kind of traditional Hector Hammond stache.
- I’m told that Reynolds is awesome in the role. He’s knocking it out of the park so far.
- The screenplay that leaked online is a very old draft. I’ve been told that the villains have changed a bit and that the rewritten script is supposedly way better in the end.

firedauz
post Jun 5 2010, 08:29 PM

876 posts

Sauce: http://www.superherohype.com/news/articles...ntern-promo-art
First Look at Green Lantern Promo Art
"Anyone Can Be Chosen"

Scoopers 'JokerLedger' and 'dnno1' provided us with this first look at promo artwork for Warner Bros. Pictures' Green Lantern, as well as a promo image from Warner Bros. Consumer Products featuring their heroes in comic form with Green Latnern center stage. The images come from License! Global which is gearing up for their big licensing show in Las Vegas next week.

Green Lantern, directed by Martin Campbell (GoldenEye, Casino Royale), stars Ryan Reynolds, Blake Lively, Peter Sarsgaard, Tim Robbins, Mark Strong, Taika Waititi, Temuera Morrison, Angela Bassett, Jay O. Sanders and Jon Tenney. Warner Bros. will release the anticipated film in 3D and 2D theaters on June 17, 2011.

I seriously can't wait for this movie to come out next year rclxm9.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jun 5 2010, 11:47 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

REYNOLDS FOR PRESIDENT!
V3nz
post Jun 6 2010, 02:17 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

now only i know Ryan as Green Lantern...

but what about his character about Deadpool? hmm.gif

he should just represent one hero man sweat.gif

and Deapool and Green Lantern seems to be showing at the same year doh.gif
Klesk
post Jun 6 2010, 09:31 AM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jun 6 2010, 02:17 AM)
now only i know Ryan as Green Lantern...

but what about his character about Deadpool? hmm.gif

he should just represent one hero man sweat.gif

and Deapool and Green Lantern seems to be showing at the same year doh.gif
Green Lantern's DC and Deadpool's Marvel mang... sweat.gif
peinsama
post Jun 6 2010, 02:26 PM

Au fait
725 posts

QUOTE(Klesk @ Jun 6 2010, 09:31 AM)
Imagine if there is marvel vs dc superheroes movie coming soon
Kyoyagami
post Jun 6 2010, 11:48 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

First things first,

Superman Vs. Batman.
n00b13
post Jun 7 2010, 01:09 AM

364 posts

"Anyone can be chosen"?

Whoever wrote that line obviously knows jack shit about GL. rolleyes.gif

V3nz
post Jun 7 2010, 01:43 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(Klesk @ Jun 6 2010, 09:31 AM)
i know lah

but i also know many people that dun understand movie business one

will get confuse when the see him as Green lantern and Deadpool all together

they'll like "eh,isn't him Deadpool meh?ceh!suddenly become green lantern"

you know what i mean? hmm.gif
azxel
post Jun 7 2010, 10:49 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 6 2010, 11:48 PM)
First things first,

Superman Vs. Batman.
Hmm.. No thanks... I honestly think that won't really be interesting at all.
Besides, Superman movies usually make Supes kinda lame...
Kyoyagami
post Jun 7 2010, 02:30 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jun 7 2010, 10:49 AM)
That, sadly, I agree. Just remembering watching I Am Legend that had that logo in the movie. It was a WB movie right?
n00b13
post Jun 8 2010, 01:31 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jun 7 2010, 01:43 AM)
i know lah

but i also know many people that dun understand movie business one

will get confuse when the see him as Green lantern and Deadpool all together

they'll like "eh,isn't him Deadpool meh?ceh!suddenly become green lantern"

you know what i mean? hmm.gif
Deadpool never takes off his mask mah. biggrin.gif

V3nz
post Jun 8 2010, 01:58 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jun 8 2010, 01:31 AM)
Deadpool never takes off his mask mah.  biggrin.gif
haha,hope that they did good on his costume

the x-men deadpool look like freak... sweat.gif

although i'm not a comic fans but i love deadpool style wub.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jun 8 2010, 09:41 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I think Ryan may have an issue with the mask. But to Deadpool, the mask is very important to him. Touch it and you'll lose your hands.

For green lantern, not an issue I guess, but he better be able to have that eye patch thingy on his head. Not sure what its called. tongue.gif
bug_vengeance
post Jun 8 2010, 09:48 AM

: Juve's Historic Battle :
7,131 posts

QUOTE(azxel @ Jun 7 2010, 10:49 AM)
true
the last time i enjoy watching superman,was back then when i was a kid
heheh
n00b13
post Jun 9 2010, 12:35 AM

364 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 8 2010, 09:41 AM)
I think Ryan may have an issue with the mask. But to Deadpool, the mask is very important to him. Touch it and you'll lose your hands.
Reynolds is a fan of the Deadpool comics, so I think he'll be willing to be faithful.

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 8 2010, 09:41 AM)
For green lantern, not an issue I guess, but he better be able to have that eye patch thingy on his head. Not sure what its called. tongue.gif
It's called a mask. biggrin.gif

Kyoyagami
post Jun 9 2010, 12:39 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Mask also ah? tongue.gif My bad! haha.
TSCalvin871989
post Jun 10 2010, 11:55 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.heatvisionblog.com/2010/06/warn...-exclusive.html

Warners hires writers for 'Green Lantern 2'

“Green Lantern” is a year away from release, but Warner Bros. already is starting development on a sequel.

The studio has hired Greg Berlanti, Michael Green and Marc Guggenheim, all of whom worked on the “Lantern” screenplay, to write a treatment for the second installment.

The trio has also been tapped to pen the treatment for the silver-screen incarnation of “The Flash.”

Under the deal, they would then go on to write the screenplay for one of the two projects, though which one has not been determined.

“Lantern” is shooting in New Orleans under the direction of Martin Campbell with Ryan Reynolds starring as the emerald ring-wielding DC Comics superhero who is part of an intergalactic police force known as the Green Lantern Corps.

Development on a second installment this far out from a movie’s release date is rare, signaling the studio’s confidence in what it sees so far.

It also appears to be the first moves the studio is making under its newly configured relationship with DC.

In September, DC was reorganized to bring it closer to Warners, with Diane Nelson named president of newly created DC Entertainment. In February, artist Jim Lee and executive editor Dan DiDio were named publishers of DC Comics. Star writer Geoff Johns was appointed chief creative officer of DCE, with the aim of bridging the comics and filmed entertainment sides.

With new Batman and Superman films in the writing stages and “Lantern” filming, the team thought “Flash” was the next logical hero to tackle. 

Development on a feature version of the scarlet speedster has gone through several false starts over the years, but the character is close to Johns’ heart. The writer recently brought back to prominence one version of the character not seen since the mid-1980s and is working on a relaunch of the series.

Kyoyagami
post Jun 11 2010, 12:39 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

kasi tunjuk trailer dulu lah. cannot tahan my fave actor edy. tongue.gif
hairyLGS
post Jul 16 2010, 12:07 AM

209 posts

The final look of... Ryan Reynolds GREEN LANTERN

V3nz
post Jul 16 2010, 02:21 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jul 16 2010, 12:07 AM)

Wohoo!!

looks cool mang,kennot wait liao rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jul 16 2010, 10:26 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

YAY!!! HAPPY!!! biggrin.gif
engseng
post Jul 16 2010, 11:33 AM

1,981 posts

The body is awesome, but somehow the mask doesn't fit though.
Snake'eyes
post Jul 16 2010, 02:24 PM

Silent Shinobi
1,224 posts

I like the fact that they are keeping the magazine cover close to its original drawing from comics tongue.gif
hairyLGS
post Jul 16 2010, 05:03 PM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.superherohype.com/news/articles...-lantern-photos

Someone scanned the photos from the magazine and posted it there

Looks real good... but I dunno about Blake Lively... can she pull it off as Carol Ferris? hmm.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jul 16 2010, 05:33 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

GIVE ME THAT RING!
paktua
post Jul 16 2010, 06:07 PM

40 posts

but the again..reynold already play as deadpool before in wolverine:origin..kennot be la like this...
green lantern should be played by black dude instead..
Kyoyagami
post Jul 16 2010, 06:18 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(paktua @ Jul 16 2010, 06:07 PM)
but the again..reynold already play as deadpool before in wolverine:origin..kennot be la like this...
green lantern should be played by black dude instead..
why black dude?
paktua
post Jul 16 2010, 06:27 PM

40 posts

too many superhero played by white dude already...
plus..the green lantern from justice league animation was african american..

pic related
Kyoyagami
post Jul 16 2010, 06:29 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I wud agree that common wud be a good candidate. but we have Ryan already. ok also what. ;p

I did wish Captain America would have been played by Will Smith though.
hairyLGS
post Jul 16 2010, 07:31 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jul 16 2010, 06:29 PM)
I wud agree that common wud be a good candidate. but we have Ryan already. ok also what. ;p

I did wish Captain America would have been played by Will Smith though.

So Steve Rogers is black? Or is there another Captain America that is black? hmm.gif

I don't read the comics though tongue.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jul 16 2010, 08:30 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

There was a time when the writers at Marvel decided to make Captain America as a black. But it was just that one arc. Then again, Cap has always been branded as a white.

Hal Jordan however, was a different case. I could remember multiple versions of him being Black and White. As long as its not Michael Jackson, jadi lah. tongue.gif
Snake'eyes
post Jul 16 2010, 08:32 PM

Silent Shinobi
1,224 posts

why not have a brown Cap? lol that sure is funny as hell!!
ray148
post Jul 16 2010, 09:52 PM

451 posts

QUOTE(paktua @ Jul 16 2010, 06:27 PM)
too many superhero played by white dude already...
plus..the green lantern from justice league animation was african american..

pic related
that was different GL...his name is Stuart something...cameo maybe? it's not like there's only one GL...
but i like Hal Jordan better as he's more synonym as GL in our world afaik...

This post has been edited by ray148: Jul 16 2010, 09:54 PM
JonSpark
post Jul 16 2010, 10:04 PM

ai shiteru
4,893 posts

Damonzero
post Jul 17 2010, 12:33 AM

✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪✪
1,467 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jul 16 2010, 12:07 AM)

I think the mask will look better if it is bigger... wat u guys think?
hairyLGS
post Jul 23 2010, 09:45 AM

209 posts

First look at... Abin Sur's dead body

Was featured at this year's Comic-Con rclxms.gif

Added on July 26, 2010, 12:54 amHere's an interview in Comic Con about Green Lantern.

Mark Strong as Sinestro?!?!? rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Jul 26 2010, 12:54 AM
TSCalvin871989
post Jul 27 2010, 03:15 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.joblo.com/index.php?id=33187

A new batch of Green Lantern character posters takes an oath

It's easy for DC to get overshadowed by Marvel's big AVENGERS party at Comic-Con this year with no real Superman or Batman news to speak of. A JLA movie has been long dead, and likely will be for some time, but GREEN LANTERN stands as one of the building blocks toward that endgame, and had some goodies of its own to debut at Con this year.

One that we can now share with you below is this series of character posters straight from Warner Bros. They feature Reynolds, Lively, Strong and Sarsgaard as their respective heroes and villains, each with a piece of Green Lantern oath attached.

No more shots of Reynolds much debated CGI costume, but we get a pretty good look at Strong and Sarsgaard's makeup

i went and combined all the posters together. looks weird sweat.gif
vivienne85
post Jul 27 2010, 06:43 PM

360 posts

the movie poster looks good thumbup.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jul 27 2010, 11:38 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

He who worship evil's might...
beware my power, Green Lantern's LIGHT! biggrin.gif
azxel
post Jul 28 2010, 11:01 AM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

I'm curious though.. if they're gonna release a Justice League movie.. wont they have to reboot the Green Lantern because in JL it John Stewart and not Hal Jordan?
robertngo
post Jul 28 2010, 11:12 AM

4,027 posts

Sheldon Cooper should be the green lantern flex.gif

This post has been edited by robertngo: Jul 28 2010, 11:14 AM
engseng
post Aug 3 2010, 01:33 PM

1,981 posts

Blake Lively looks like a porn star at Comic Con. No wonder she's the Star Sapphire...
genpaku
post Aug 4 2010, 04:31 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Jul 28 2010, 11:12 AM)
Sheldon Cooper should be the green lantern  flex.gif

haha...BAZINGA!
Klesk
post Aug 4 2010, 11:26 PM

3,469 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Jul 28 2010, 11:12 AM)
Sheldon Cooper should be the green lantern  flex.gif

haha he's also a lab accident away from becoming a super villain
TSCalvin871989
post Aug 9 2010, 11:55 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://twitter.com/GeoffJohns0

“GREEN LANTERN IS WRAPPED!!!! Finished the last shot today!!! Celebrating in New Orleans. As co-producer of the film, I am very, very proud of what we’ve got in store. Much more to come. Martin Campbell FTW.”

thats right, much more to come. i bring you, green lantern 2!

http://www.variety.com/article/VR111802271...oryid=1236&cs=1

Goldenberg lights 'Lantern 2'
Warner signs scribe to pen comic hero sequel

Warner Bros. is moving ahead on a second "Green Lantern," hiring Michael Goldenberg ("Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix") to write the screenplay for the sequel. With the first pic's June 17 release date just under a year away, the move to hire a writer for number two shows a serious commitment to the franchise.
Move comes a few months after the studio tapped the three "Green Lantern" screenwriters -- Greg Berlanti, Michael Green and Marc Guggenheim -- to write a treatment for "Green Lantern 2."

Goldenberg performed a rewrite on the script for "Green Lantern," which just wrapped shooting in Louisiana with Donald De Line producing and Martin Campbell directing. Ryan Reynolds stars as DC Comics superhero who's part of the Green Lantern Corps.

"Green Lantern 2" is one of the first DC Comics properties -- which include Batman, Superman and the Flash -- to move forward at Warner since the studio took control of DC Comics a year ago and rebranded it DC Entertainment, tapping Warner Bros. vet Diane Nelson as president. It brought in a new management team in February.

Warner Bros. announced in late April that "Batman 3" would open on July 20, 2012. David Goyer is working with Christopher Nolan's brother, Jonathan Nolan, on a script for the next Batman installment, based on an idea from Christopher Nolan.

Goldenberg previously adapted "Where the Wild Things Are" and also wrote "Peter Pan" and "Contact."

hairyLGS
post Aug 10 2010, 11:46 PM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/green-lante...og-concept-art/

First Look at Green Lantern’s Kilowog

You can’t have a “Green Lantern” movie without Kilowog. And as it turns out, you won’t. Check out your first look at (an all-CG?) Kilowog, Hal Jordan’s intergalactic GL drill instructor from the upcoming Martin Campbell movie. The film has since wrapped production and will now begin the long process of post-production, which should be a bear given that probably half (if not more) of the film is computer generated ala “Star Wars” and its ilk. Via CBM.

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Aug 10 2010, 11:48 PM
hairyLGS
post Aug 14 2010, 12:29 AM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/whoa-major-...tails-spoilers/

Whoa! Major Green Lantern Villain/Plot Details! SPOILERS

Need I say it? Do not — I repeat: DO NOT — read on unless you absolutely, positively want to know the how’s and why’s of some pretty major plot points from Warner Bros.’ upcoming “Green Lantern”. In fact, I kinda wished I hadn’t read it, but I did, so there you go.

As you probably know by now, “Green Lantern” will have two villains — the human kind, and one of the alien variety. As it turns out — well, I’m not going to spoil it up here. You’ll have to head on down to find that out.

Via CBM, who has had their fingers in the “Green Lantern” pie since the very beginning. Props, comic book geeks.

The SPOILERS below have been put in SPOILER BOX. Click on the link to read.

Kyoyagami
post Aug 14 2010, 12:33 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Spoiler didn't mention one thing though. Happy about it. haha.
hairyLGS
post Sep 28 2010, 08:49 AM

209 posts

Source:- http://www.beyondhollywood.com/greg-berlan...he-dark-knight/

Greg Berlanti Talks Green Lantern 2, Compares The Flash to The Dark Knight

Once upon a time, Greg Berlanti was supposed to direct the “Green Lantern” movie. He eventually lost the gig to Martin Campbell, but has remained on the franchise, as well as adding Warner Bros.’ “The Flash” to his plate.

While doing press for the comedy “Life as We Know It”, Berlanti spilled on his appraoches to the “Green Lantern” sequel (Warner Bros. is very, very optimistic about the first movie), and the upcoming “Flash” film to the boys at SuperheroHype. As of right now, Berlanti is working on the treatment for the second “Green Lantern” film with writers Michael Green and Marc Guggenheim, while at the same time pounding out the script for Barry Allen’s The Flash.

About the tone of the two movies:

‘GL’ is always a bit lighter than that on earth but mixed with a twinge of the space opera, which has its own epic qualities to it. ‘Flash’ as we’re getting into it is interesting, too. Though Barry Allen was a little lighter in the comic, I think because of the nature that he was a CSI  and moved in this world of crime before this stuff happened. I think it’s tonally somewhere in between ‘GL’ and ‘Dark Knight.’ It’s actually a little bit darker than when we were working on (‘GL’), because you’re dealing with somebody who is already a crimefighter in a world of those kinds of criminals and that kind of murder and homicide. I find you talk a lot about different films  when you’re working on a film, and we spend a lot more time talking about ‘Se7en’ or ‘The Silence of the Lambs’ as we construct that part of Barry’s world, then I thought when we got into it. It helps balance a guy in a red suit who runs really fast.

Interesting take on Barry Allen’s cop career, though I’m not sure how much of that is just a writer thinking way too much about stuff that will never make it into the movies. I don’t really see how you can make a movie about a dude in a bright red costume who runs super fast and still make it anything remotely like “Seven” or “Silence of the Lambs”.

He goes on:

A third thing I’d throw at you is alternate dimensions, so it’s true that we want to find the things that make it… With ‘GL,’ we used to say there’s a space opera component and then there’s the down on earth. In ‘The Flash,’ there’s the sci-fi component and there’s the crime component and it’s fitting those two things together, and the sci-fi thing, we obviously want to nail that and honor that and do that in a way that feels visceral and real and cool and probably more in the tone of ‘The Matrix” films or things like that. I always think of ‘The Flash’ stories  where he met Jay Garrick and knows there was Earth Prime and things like that. There’s an avenue for these films to broaden the DC Film Universe in that way, so that’s the hope.

Great. D.C. practically destroyed themselves with that whole alternate universe stuff, and Berlanti thinks it would be neat to introduce that concept into the movies. Now I’m really convinced Berlanti is just throwing out “writer stuff” here, things that will never make it into the finished scripts.

He goes on to talk about possibility directing “The Flash”, but sounds non-committal. Which probably just means he’s hoping for the gig, but after losing out on “The Green Lantern”, he’s just hedging his bets. Who would turn down a chance to direct “The Flash”?

firedauz
post Oct 18 2010, 11:26 PM

876 posts

Sauce: http://www.superherohype.com/news/articles...n-power-battery
First Look at the Green Lantern Power Battery

At Saturday night's SCREAM 2010 awards, Green Lantern co-star Blake Lively presented the award for "Most Anticipated Movie" to Green Lantern. The award was accepted by Ryan Reynolds as you can see in the photos from Just Jared below. The awards show will air on Spike TV on Tuesday, October 19.

icon_rolleyes.gif
n00b13
post Oct 19 2010, 01:24 PM

364 posts

At Saturday night's SCREAM 2010 awards, Green Lantern co-star Blake Lively presented the award for "Most Anticipated Movie" to Green Lantern.

They give awards for that?? shocking.gif rolleyes.gif

firedauz
post Oct 19 2010, 03:58 PM

876 posts

I think TRON LEGACY should've won that award instead.
Kyoyagami
post Oct 20 2010, 09:54 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Oct 19 2010, 03:58 PM)
I think TRON LEGACY should've won that award instead.
I wholeheartedly agree with this.
Frankmiller92
post Oct 31 2010, 04:40 PM

113 posts

I am more excited for The Green Lantern than Captain America
TSCalvin871989
post Nov 13 2010, 12:05 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

SUSwilsonjay
post Nov 13 2010, 01:01 PM

6 Stars Social Justice Warrior
1,605 posts

holyshit^
firedauz
post Nov 13 2010, 01:24 PM

876 posts

Pretty cool yo~! thumbup.gif
hairyLGS
post Nov 13 2010, 06:27 PM

209 posts

Guy with Specs: Wow

Reynolds: I know, right?

Cool line... rclxms.gif rclxms.gif
spartacvs
post Nov 13 2010, 09:44 PM

I thought my jokes were bad!
1,281 posts

Trailer looks normal. I hope the movie is better than the trailer and somehow, I felt that everything in the trailer seems to be missing something. I might be wrong but let’s see how it goes.
SUSwilsonjay
post Nov 14 2010, 12:05 AM

1,605 posts

^chill la bro thats not even a trailer laugh.gif
Frankmiller92
post Nov 14 2010, 01:01 AM

113 posts

QUOTE(spartacvs @ Nov 13 2010, 09:44 PM)
Trailer looks normal. I hope the movie is better than the trailer and somehow, I felt that everything in the trailer seems to be missing something. I might be wrong but let’s see how it goes.
It's not even polished and E weekly is putting it out
Kyoyagami
post Nov 14 2010, 11:20 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Damn. That preview is like awesome. haha.
n00b13
post Nov 14 2010, 07:33 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Nov 14 2010, 12:05 AM)
^chill la bro thats not even a trailer laugh.gif
It's a trailer for a trailer wtf lol laugh.gif

TSCalvin871989
post Nov 17 2010, 10:08 AM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

n00b13
post Nov 17 2010, 01:57 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Nov 17 2010, 10:08 AM)
Hmm. Not the best trailer.

defaultname365
post Nov 17 2010, 03:51 PM

Windows® 8.1 | Xbox 360™ | PlayStation® 4
1,098 posts

Yeah... it looks quite like the usual normal-guy-gets-power-now-needs-to-save-the-world movie trailer.

hairyLGS
post Nov 17 2010, 05:48 PM

209 posts

Chuckle... we probably just have to wait and see how it goes...

Looks good to me so far...
firedauz
post Nov 17 2010, 09:10 PM

876 posts

I

HAVE

TO

WATCH

IT

... and probably buy the ring from Ebay before going to the movie thumbup.gif
hairyLGS
post Nov 17 2010, 09:12 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Nov 17 2010, 09:10 PM)
I

HAVE

TO

WATCH

IT

... and probably buy the ring from Ebay before going to the movie thumbup.gif
Remember - get the costume as well thumbup.gif
firedauz
post Nov 17 2010, 09:18 PM

876 posts

Cannot larr

... I have.. urm..

... some physical distortion problem in terms of fitting into such body-fit costume..

tongue.gif
hairyLGS
post Nov 17 2010, 10:35 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(firedauz @ Nov 17 2010, 09:18 PM)
Cannot larr

... I have.. urm..

... some physical distortion problem in terms of fitting into such body-fit costume..

tongue.gif
shocking.gif

spartacvs
post Nov 18 2010, 07:15 AM

1,281 posts

This trailer is NOT working for me. It doesn't give me the kinda vibe that makes me want to watch it when its out instead, it gives me the kinda of impression like "Let's wait and decide". I'm really hoping that I'm wrong but seriously, the previous E trailer was missing something in every frame of it and this one is just normal looking trailer with nothing to shout about.

This post has been edited by spartacvs: Nov 18 2010, 07:16 AM
ray148
post Nov 18 2010, 07:55 AM

451 posts

ughhh...i already hated hal jordan character based on that trailer alone... shakehead.gif
first impression=not good... doh.gif
defaultname365
post Nov 18 2010, 05:45 PM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(spartacvs @ Nov 18 2010, 07:15 AM)

This trailer is NOT working for me. It doesn't give me the kinda vibe that makes me want to watch it when its out instead, it gives me the kinda of impression like "Let's wait and decide". I'm really hoping that I'm wrong but seriously, the previous E trailer was missing something in every frame of it and this one is just normal looking trailer with nothing to shout about.
True, unlike the trailer for "Tron Legacy" that gives me chills (of excitement!). We'll see how this goes.

Mgsrulz
post Nov 18 2010, 05:52 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

i like the idea of Green Lantern(his power),but i couldnt help but LOL when i heard the character say "become a green lantern"

it's got to be one of the worst superhero names i've ever heard doh.gif
Brian O'Connor
post Nov 19 2010, 09:04 AM

61 posts

Now need to wait for another 2 movies, The Flash and Wonder Women. Then DC will counter Marvel's Avenger movie with JLA live action.
Kyoyagami
post Nov 19 2010, 09:47 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

passing grade.expecting a 2nd trailer where he'll complete the oath.
robertngo
post Nov 19 2010, 11:39 PM

4,027 posts

why green lantern looks so familiar laugh.gif

http://www.cracked.com/blog/why-new-green-...ks-so-familiar/

This post has been edited by robertngo: Nov 19 2010, 11:40 PM
ray148
post Nov 20 2010, 01:04 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(robertngo @ Nov 19 2010, 11:39 PM)
so true... sad.gif

This post has been edited by ray148: Nov 20 2010, 01:05 AM
hairyLGS
post Nov 20 2010, 10:02 AM

209 posts

Here we go again laugh.gif

But then, the origin is like that... tongue.gif
defaultname365
post Nov 20 2010, 11:34 AM

1,098 posts

Oh wow. No wonder the trailer was so... normal. Unknowingly, we have "seen" it already.

quithrilius
post Nov 20 2010, 01:20 PM

110 posts

That article is a joke.. everyone who knows Green Lantern knows he was a playboy before joining the corp. Every movie from the superhero genre has relation in one way or another.. of course you've seen it.. I dare you to do the same with any kind of movie from the same genre.. of course youre gonna find something similar.. The article compares from when Hal and Jonathan Kent from finding aliens.. there is a diff, in Hal's case.. he finds the alien .. but Jonathan finds the superhero.. there IS much difference.
TSCalvin871989
post Jan 13 2011, 07:25 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

http://www.badassdigest.com/2011/01/13/gre...nterns-sinestro

GREEN LANTERN’s Sinestro!

That’s Mark Strong as Sinestro, the Green Lantern who trains Hal Jordan (Ryan Reynolds) in the ways of the Green Lantern Corps. In the movie Green Lantern, of course. One more Green Lantern for the paragraph and we can move on.

That picture showed up on this European site, along with the Tomar Re shot below (which we’ve already seen in some configuration or other). Both pictures are set on Oa, the planet at the center of the galaxy where the Green Lanterns have their HQ. Sinestro himself is standing in front of a huge Green Lantern symbol, while Tomar Re has the weird alien architecture of Oa before him.

Are you picking up on how unique this film is? It’s not your regular earthbound superhero movie, and these images are, I believe, just the start. Warner Bros was shooting to make space opera here, and the film’s scope is grand and awesome. When this movie started shooting we didn’t know if they would have the balls to make the aliens look like the aliens in the comics, and you can see they did – that’s pretty much the comic book Sinestro up there. That’s pretty much the comic book Tomar Re down there. I love it.

absorb-d
post Jan 14 2011, 11:59 AM

1,115 posts

least sinestro looks like sinestro
pretty stoked bout it
masterelr
post Jan 16 2011, 10:45 PM

1,003 posts

Finally get to see the trailer and damn it looked so cheap! The special effects looked really fake and those weird monsters are like something from an 80's horror flick. But the good thing is its pretty funny.
Muhammad Syukri
post Jan 17 2011, 09:08 AM

821 posts

Wtf with the protagonist ,its like he got only 1 emotion face to show could not stopped thinking how retard he is in green costume ,obviously super heroes face usually bad ass serious and at the same time can make a humour in there....

ps:He's like the westernized Jay Chou,no soul at all...ROFL!
shaznizzle
post Mar 2 2011, 05:29 PM

YouTuber: KLONES NETWORK
570 posts

Made my own funny skit base on the trailer.. smile.gif Theres 10 other trailers I made too...
be kind as its my 1st few videos I made.. can be improved.. Enjoy & Subscribe Movie Fans!!!

YouTube Channel HERE

or

Visit a thread I made HERE

GREEN LANTERN

ray148
post Apr 3 2011, 02:13 PM

451 posts

new trailer is out!!

http://io9.com/#!5788299/watch-the-gre...f-off-wondercon

wow...now this is Green Lantern!!!!! special effect still looks spotty at some parts, but nevertheless this movie looks promising.
i just hope casual movie crowd can "get" this movie.

This post has been edited by ray148: Apr 3 2011, 02:32 PM
domcobb
post Apr 4 2011, 01:59 AM

199 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Apr 3 2011, 02:13 PM)
new trailer is out!!

http://io9.com/#!5788299/watch-the-gre...f-off-wondercon

wow...now this is Green Lantern!!!!! special effect still looks spotty at some parts, but nevertheless this movie looks promising.
i just hope casual movie crowd can "get" this movie.
Nothing to comment about except at some part of the trailer, Ryan reminds me of the last character he played, Paul Conroy. hmm.gif
Kyoyagami
post Apr 4 2011, 10:36 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

GREEN LANTERN's LIGHT! I really like how he shouted in the end. biggrin.gif
damnself
post Apr 4 2011, 04:40 PM

244 posts

he's a hater.
MR_alien
post Apr 4 2011, 07:22 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

i just watched the footage on youtube..
1 word...CoooooooooooooL!!

Imbecile
post Apr 4 2011, 07:41 PM

26 posts

when i watch the trailer
i keep telling myself why can't they release the movie soonner!!!
why june? why!!!!!
rebelsoul76
post Apr 5 2011, 03:02 AM

Hakuna matata
2,644 posts

QUOTE(Muhammad Syukri @ Jan 17 2011, 09:08 AM)
Wtf with the protagonist ,its like he got only 1 emotion face to show  could not stopped thinking how retard he is in green costume ,obviously super heroes face usually bad ass serious and at the same time can make a humour in there....
ps:He's like the westernized Jay Chou,no soul at all...ROFL!
methinks someone got confused with Green Hornet

looks like Ryan Reynolds's stock is soaring lately. I've always liked him in 2 guys and a girl sitcom

This post has been edited by rebelsoul76: Apr 5 2011, 03:14 AM
Kyoyagami
post Apr 5 2011, 11:16 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

The ring can make you do anything.

I just wonder why a Minigun. laugh.gif
hairyLGS
post Apr 5 2011, 11:38 AM

209 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Apr 5 2011, 11:16 AM)
The ring can make you do anything.

I just wonder why a Minigun. laugh.gif
Probably this quote

"Ol Painless" biggrin.gif

Imbecile
post Apr 6 2011, 05:39 PM

26 posts

yeah, it does, but only the thing you can think of.

why minigun?
cause that the coolest thing he can think of
and audience/fan boy love minigun.

storey wise, he lack the creative in his rookie years.

This post has been edited by Imbecile: Apr 6 2011, 05:42 PM
Kyoyagami
post Apr 6 2011, 05:56 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Its not Green Lantern without a giant punch. tongue.gif
MR_alien
post May 5 2011, 12:06 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

Green Lantern - Official Trailer 2

hi54ever
post May 6 2011, 10:30 AM

744 posts

this is awesome, simply. awesome.
greyshadow
post May 6 2011, 10:39 AM

I bleed it out, Diggin' deeper just to throw it away!
1,844 posts

Crap~! another must watch movie on my list...
Kyoyagami
post May 6 2011, 11:43 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

BELUM TGK TRAILER. Damn.

Added on May 6, 2011, 7:59 pmNOW THIS IS WOW. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Kyoyagami: May 6 2011, 07:59 PM
defaultname365
post May 7 2011, 12:21 AM

1,098 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 5 2011, 12:06 PM)
Green Lantern - Official Trailer 2

Trailer 2 definitely delivers compared to Trailer 1. It's tight. Literally. But trailers can be deceiving... yet another movie to watch out for early response.

swks26
post May 21 2011, 09:24 AM

CEO RM20k/day
942 posts

This post has been edited by swks26: May 21 2011, 09:25 AM
hairyLGS
post May 21 2011, 09:36 AM

209 posts

Ah... if Green Lantern is successful... I wonder what's next...
Razaelx
post May 21 2011, 10:42 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(swks26 @ May 21 2011, 09:24 AM)

not bad...
spartacvs
post May 21 2011, 06:10 PM

1,281 posts

I still have my reservation on this movie but I hope I'm wrong. With more clips of the movie being revealed in these trailers, is there anything left for the movie? I wonder.
nwk
post May 21 2011, 06:18 PM

256 posts

Anyone know if this movie is filmed in 3D or post production 3D?
mobrule
post May 21 2011, 09:32 PM

79 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ May 21 2011, 06:18 PM)
Anyone know if this movie is filmed in 3D or post production 3D?
Just google it! dun lazy!
Cheesenium
post May 21 2011, 09:55 PM

Vigilo Confido
4,852 posts

I just have a bad feeling that it might not be good at all. sad.gif
spartacvs
post May 22 2011, 09:26 AM

1,281 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 21 2011, 09:55 PM)
Looks like I'm not alone. tongue.gif
Somehow, something just doesn't click.

This post has been edited by spartacvs: May 22 2011, 09:27 AM
Razaelx
post May 22 2011, 09:44 AM

219 posts

QUOTE(Cheesenium @ May 21 2011, 09:55 PM)
QUOTE(spartacvs @ May 22 2011, 09:26 AM)
Looks like I'm not alone.  tongue.gif
Somehow, something just doesn't click.
LOL me too! laugh.gif
+Newbie+
post May 22 2011, 09:01 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

To me, the movie's key issue is the special effects. I don't know if they did it on purpose, but it all looks so ....... cartoonish ...

Loved the soundtrack though ... so drama ..
MR_alien
post May 22 2011, 09:51 PM

Mr.Alien on the loss
3,582 posts

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ May 21 2011, 09:36 AM)
Ah... if Green Lantern is successful... I wonder what's next...
next would be transformers on 1st of july
that movie is heavy weight of SFX
hairyLGS
post May 22 2011, 11:54 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ May 22 2011, 09:51 PM)
next would be transformers on 1st of july
that movie is heavy weight of SFX
I was thinking about the next Justice League member made into a Hollywood by-product tongue.gif
Imbecile
post May 25 2011, 07:56 PM

26 posts

i forsee this is a simple intro movie
to get non- green lantern fan toush abit of green lantern mythos,
and Parallax(yellow thing) just vanquish.

i rather like a reboot,
i want the story is Atrocitus lead to Abin Sur death,
that would start the whole green lantern mythos
and how other colour lantern were form.
but i think this version is too deep sotry line for non-green lantern fan.
Foxngn
post May 25 2011, 09:19 PM

sup,nikka
1,111 posts

I sked it will be ended like THOR.
Vengeance_Mad
post May 26 2011, 10:27 AM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

I don't think I'll like it.
The effect of acquiring a ring looks and sounds too extraordinaire.
Might as well make a Captain Planet movie with the rings combine.
Kyoyagami
post May 26 2011, 04:15 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I'm ok with it. Considering how I want to see what is Hal capable of creating with his thoughts and how he deals with his fear issues.
littleprawn
post Jun 11 2011, 10:26 AM

~Still Learning~
1,148 posts

Short clip from the movie~
rhoyo
post Jun 11 2011, 10:18 PM

-
2,800 posts

Man i can't wait to watch this shit i mean this movie ! smile.gif ..
maxizanc
post Jun 11 2011, 10:23 PM

5,909 posts

I'm gonna skip this one unless somebody here really convince me why should i watch it.
phat_ox
post Jun 11 2011, 11:55 PM

42 posts

As a fan of DC comics this is on my must watch list smile.gif
DAViS
post Jun 12 2011, 12:01 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

QUOTE(littleprawn @ Jun 11 2011, 10:26 AM)

Short clip from the movie~
Very bad ass. Nice.

V3nz
post Jun 12 2011, 02:30 AM

Chuck to teh rescue !!
2,367 posts

I truly hope this movie wouldn't suck
maxizanc
post Jun 12 2011, 02:50 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(V3nz @ Jun 12 2011, 02:30 AM)
I truly hope this movie wouldn't suck
The trailer isn't impressive to me + Martin Campbell = Inconsistent.

This post has been edited by maxizanc: Jun 12 2011, 02:50 AM
William Somerset
post Jun 12 2011, 02:51 AM

49 posts

Somehow, I'm not excited about this movie.
hfi
post Jun 12 2011, 01:52 PM

598 posts

I'm at the other end of the spectrum, quite excited about this film. I like Reynolds as an actor and the trailer looks fun.
TSCalvin871989
post Jun 12 2011, 02:08 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

very excited DC fan here and cant wait for this movie next week. oh yeah, my first time going to the cinema this year too. biggrin.gif
rhoyo
post Jun 12 2011, 02:11 PM

-
2,800 posts

i think a lot of malaysian don't read green lantern so i think cinema will not be pack thumbup.gif
phat_ox
post Jun 12 2011, 06:32 PM

42 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Jun 12 2011, 02:11 PM)
i think a lot of malaysian don't read green lantern so i think cinema will not be pack thumbup.gif
Which cinema? Suria, growball, megalong or 1b? brows.gif

bebe2525
post Jun 13 2011, 10:23 AM

40 posts

GSC ... already can purchase the ticket online ( i cant sure if you buy at the counter ) .... and i already bought my Ticket last SAT ... lol XD...
Brian O'Connor
post Jun 13 2011, 11:29 AM

61 posts

I only started to know Green Lantern from recent JL cartoon show at TV3 couple of years ago. And he was a black man.

Shud get Samuel L Jackson or Will Smith to take the role if they wanna feature the blackman version.

This post has been edited by Brian O'Connor: Jun 13 2011, 11:30 AM
maxizanc
post Jun 13 2011, 11:39 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(Brian O'Connor @ Jun 13 2011, 11:29 AM)
I only started to  know Green Lantern from recent JL cartoon show at TV3 couple of years ago. And he was a black man.

Shud get Samuel L Jackson or Will Smith to take the role if they wanna feature the blackman version.
Not them again.... shakehead.gif
SUSwilsonjay
post Jun 13 2011, 12:05 PM

1,605 posts

dun worry, ppl see marvel comics logo, straight go watch...
Brian O'Connor
post Jun 13 2011, 12:06 PM

61 posts

QUOTE(wilsonjay @ Jun 13 2011, 12:05 PM)
Green Lantern was from DC comics sweat.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jun 13 2011, 12:29 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

That's why.

There were 2 versions of Lanterns. They seem to take the white one.

When GL was announced, fans wanted Common to be GL though.
hairyLGS
post Jun 13 2011, 02:52 PM

209 posts

I have been seeing people walking around with Green Lantern t-shirts in shopping malls biggrin.gif
TSCalvin871989
post Jun 13 2011, 03:28 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

sweat.gif

between, which of this two halls in gsc pavillion is bigger ? the hall number 7 or 12 ? planning to watch this saturday at pavillion between 1pm - 3 pm. thanks
maxizanc
post Jun 13 2011, 03:29 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(Calvin871989 @ Jun 13 2011, 03:28 PM)
sweat.gif

between, which of this two halls in gsc pavillion is bigger ? the hall number 7 or 12 ? planning to watch this saturday at pavillion between 1pm - 3 pm. thanks
not sure. you want bigger screen go to gsc maxx times square lah. RM15 really worth it.
TSCalvin871989
post Jun 13 2011, 03:35 PM

Im Batman
1,256 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jun 13 2011, 03:29 PM)
not sure. you want bigger screen go to gsc maxx times square lah. RM15 really worth it.
i told my friend to decide either we watch at klcc or pavillion so he picked pavillion.
nevermind, ill go to pavillion on thursday or maybe friday to buy the tickets for saturday at the counter and also ask about the halls for 7 and 12.
rhoyo
post Jun 13 2011, 04:02 PM

-
2,800 posts

u guys going to see this in 3d or not . scared if 3d becomes like thor 3d doh.gif
n00b13
post Jun 13 2011, 10:36 PM

364 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 13 2011, 12:29 PM)
There were 2 versions of Lanterns. They seem to take the white one.
For whatever reason, the Justice League TV cartoon used the John Stewart (black guy) version of Green Lantern. But the original has always been Hal Jordan (white guy).

fragglerock
post Jun 13 2011, 11:17 PM

37 posts

QUOTE(n00b13 @ Jun 13 2011, 10:36 PM)
For whatever reason, the Justice League TV cartoon used the John Stewart (black guy) version of Green Lantern. But the original has always been Hal Jordan (white guy).
ori as in superfriends?!!

Inyuk-chuk!!!

i'll give this turd a miss unless they amped up the cheese factor. if the giant green fly swatter makes a cameo then i'm in.
Kyoyagami
post Jun 14 2011, 09:37 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(fragglerock @ Jun 13 2011, 11:17 PM)
ori as in superfriends?!!

Inyuk-chuk!!!

i'll give this turd a miss unless they amped up the cheese factor. if the giant green fly swatter makes a cameo then i'm in.
I'll let ya know. tongue.gif

After watching the 2nd trailer in 3D on my Nintendo 3DS, I have to admit, i'm scared if that was how the 3D feels. Not enough depth to justify a good 3D movie.
nwk
post Jun 14 2011, 09:49 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 14 2011, 09:37 AM)
I'll let ya know. tongue.gif

After watching the 2nd trailer in 3D on my Nintendo 3DS, I have to admit, i'm scared if that was how the 3D feels. Not enough depth to justify a good 3D movie.
i heard this movie 3d is post production only. so better watch normal 2d version instead of wasting money on 3d.
danger46
post Jun 14 2011, 10:01 AM

123 posts

doh.gif doh.gif doh.gif DC not Marvel
DAViS
post Jun 14 2011, 10:03 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

Over here we only have analogue projection in cinema, all digital projection already given to 3D screening slots. Unless some time GSC Mid Valley give out some slot for 2D.
BeastX
post Jun 14 2011, 02:13 PM

Genomics Revolution; Proud to be a Scientist
5,987 posts

The entire "blue" screen scenes like on the planet Oa should be ok in 3D

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 14 2011, 02:14 PM
rhoyo
post Jun 14 2011, 02:59 PM

-
2,800 posts

so this movie need to be seen in 3d to see the green flashy thingy ah .
Myter
post Jun 15 2011, 09:29 AM

127 posts

i will watch this tonite @ 9pm tropicana city mall...anyone going??
ray148
post Jun 15 2011, 10:28 AM

451 posts

i really hope this movie does well...

i would hate it to see all future DC superheroes film made into realistic-nolan-batman-style from now on...
BeastX
post Jun 15 2011, 11:46 PM

5,987 posts

Seen it....I like it better than Thor or X-Men: 1st class
Mickey C
post Jun 16 2011, 12:03 AM

616 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Jun 15 2011, 11:46 PM)
Seen it....I like it better than Thor or X-Men: 1st class
X Men who want to watch??? Offer... PM me..detail..

Mov_freak
post Jun 16 2011, 01:17 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Green Lantern (2011)

In a nutshell... a little disappointing. sad.gif

The main culprit, storyline and character development.

Why the heck hire powerhouses like Peter Sarsgaard, Angela Bassett and Tim Robbins and DO absolutely NOTHING with them....

What they got right are

1) The costume (I know I know, many do NOT like and I have to add, it kinda work)
2) Green Lantern flight. They have made Superman and countless oter superheroes fly before. What is different. Green Lantern has a "Style" of flight (almost ballet, the best way I can describe) and they managed that
3) Making Green Lantern during flight, look really. In the last Superman movie, almost everytime Superman flew, he look CGI....
4) Planet Oa
5) The Green Lantern Corp
6) Sinestro

What they got wrong

1) There is ABSOLUTELY NOT chemistry between Blake Lively and Ryan Reynold. Who would have THUNK!!!! They are both attractive people... Blake Lively reminds me of a much younger Lara Flynn Boyle, with a dash more weight!! tongue.gif She just never got into the role...
2) After a great 1st act, the 2nd and 3rd act went steadily downhill...

There is also an anomaly in the movie....

If you decide to only one superhero movie this year, I actually recommend X-Men First Class rather then this... Shame, I LOVE DC Heroes... I really do...

My Two Sen
BeastX
post Jun 16 2011, 05:40 AM

5,987 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 16 2011, 01:17 AM)
If you decide to only one superhero movie this year, I actually recommend X-Men First Class rather then this... Shame, I LOVE DC Heroes... I really do...
Funny that I like MARVEL heroes ... but prefer GL more than X-Men...

maybe the more you know/invested in the characters in the comics, the more particular you are on how they portray it in the movies.

This post has been edited by BeastX: Jun 16 2011, 08:42 AM
Mov_freak
post Jun 16 2011, 07:15 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(BeastX @ Jun 16 2011, 05:40 AM)
Funny that I like MARVEL heroes ... but prefer GL more than X-Men...

maybe the more you know/invested in the characters in the comics, the more part particular you are on how they portray it in the movies.
That is an excellent observation!! nod.gif
rhoyo
post Jun 16 2011, 09:10 AM

-
2,800 posts

so those who watch does this movie got EXTRA ending / wait till end credit thingy ?
Mov_freak
post Jun 16 2011, 09:14 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Jun 16 2011, 09:10 AM)
so those who watch does this movie got EXTRA ending / wait till end credit thingy ?
The kids were making a home "zombie" movie. The end credits was show together with the said zombie movie

LOTS of FUN!!

*OPPS*

WRONG Movie!!!

That's teach me to watch so many in a nite!!!! tongue.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 16 2011, 01:49 PM
maxizanc
post Jun 16 2011, 09:30 AM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 16 2011, 09:14 AM)
The kids were making a home "zombie" movie. The end credits was show together with the said zombie movie

LOTS of FUN!!
LOL
DAViS
post Jun 16 2011, 09:33 AM

就是你
2,503 posts

In the middle of the ending credit, it shows Sinestro took the yellow ring.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sinestro
Kyoyagami
post Jun 16 2011, 09:34 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Meh, he has always been jealous of Hal. Considering Hal is the best GL in the whole Corp.
redbull_y2k
post Jun 16 2011, 10:13 AM

"Viva La Revolucion!"
1,469 posts

QUOTE(rhoyo @ Jun 16 2011, 09:10 AM)
yup there's some extra scene in the middle of the trailer. brows.gif
tonYe
post Jun 16 2011, 10:27 AM

Game Designer
1,469 posts

RUBBISH. hated it
Myter
post Jun 16 2011, 10:32 AM

127 posts

In brightest day, in blackest night,
No evil shall escape my sight
Let those who worship evil's might,
Beware my power... Green Lantern's light!
mnhma
post Jun 16 2011, 11:20 AM

192 posts

The trailer.. remind me of G.I Joe. Please don't tell me its sucks like GI Joe. doh.gif
QuickFire
post Jun 16 2011, 11:27 AM

The more you sin the more you win
2,867 posts

G.I. Joe was pretty damn fun. Looking at the trailer I doubt this is anywhere near as good.
rhoyo
post Jun 16 2011, 11:32 AM

-
2,800 posts

so this is rubbish like fantastic four or ghost rider ?
maxizanc
post Jun 16 2011, 11:38 AM

5,909 posts

Nay, to me G.I is rubbish (the second half), fantastic 4 was fun, ghost rider was a total rubbish.
greyshadow
post Jun 16 2011, 11:45 AM

1,844 posts

not so bad la...
ok ok... but among the 3 superheroes movie this year, X-men:1st Class > Thor > Green Lantern

love the starting jet fighter scenes... w00t!
hate the villain fights.... too meh and ends too fast doh.gif

there's so much potential for Hector to explore, but yet... doh.gif
as for parallax... so bad ass in the beginning, but at the end doh.gif again

Nice starting, but bad ending doh.gif
but Carol is hawt in there wub.gif

Added on June 16, 2011, 11:48 amthey should have concentrate on Hal vs Hector in this one, and GL vs Parallax in the next movie...
but I guess they already decided that the next sequel will be Hal vs Sinestro with yellow ring

This post has been edited by greyshadow: Jun 16 2011, 11:48 AM
Razaelx
post Jun 16 2011, 12:14 PM

219 posts

domcobb
post Jun 16 2011, 12:37 PM

199 posts

As I had said it before, something is just not right about this movie. Even the newly released Parallex clip wasn't attention-capturing at all.
devil_x
post Jun 16 2011, 12:55 PM

483 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jun 16 2011, 11:45 AM)
not so bad la...
ok ok... but among the 3 superheroes movie this year, X-men:1st Class > Thor > Green Lantern

love the starting jet fighter scenes... w00t!
hate the villain fights.... too meh and ends too fast doh.gif

there's so much potential for Hector to explore, but yet... doh.gif
as for parallax... so bad ass in the beginning, but at the end doh.gif again

Nice starting, but bad ending doh.gif
but Carol is hawt in there wub.gif

Added on June 16, 2011, 11:48 amthey should have concentrate on Hal vs Hector in this one, and GL vs Parallax in the next movie...
but I guess they already decided that the next sequel will be Hal vs Sinestro with yellow ring
hm..if im not mistaken, in the comics, issnt Hal = Parallax? and becoming Parallax shud be the blackest moment of Hal's heroic journey, just like Spiderman vs Venom, its so wrong to put this in the 1st movie =/

just my 2cents....

This post has been edited by devil_x: Jun 16 2011, 12:59 PM
ray148
post Jun 16 2011, 01:46 PM

451 posts

to those who hav watched it, is there any cameo from Kyle Rayner or John Stewart?
SUSizdyharz
post Jun 16 2011, 02:23 PM

469 posts

Just watched it, at first half was ok, but 2nd half boring.. =_=
Watch malay movie KL Gangster is much better.
Mov_freak
post Jun 16 2011, 02:58 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(ray148 @ Jun 16 2011, 01:46 PM)
to those who hav watched it, is there any cameo from Kyle Rayner or John Stewart?
No and No.
greyshadow
post Jun 16 2011, 03:47 PM

1,844 posts

QUOTE(devil_x @ Jun 16 2011, 12:55 PM)
hm..if im not mistaken, in the comics, issnt Hal = Parallax? and becoming Parallax shud be the blackest moment of Hal's heroic journey, just like Spiderman vs Venom, its so wrong to put this in the 1st movie =/ 

just my 2cents....
didn't read the comic, so didn't know tongue.gif
among all of the superheroes movie of recent time, RL is the least known to me tongue.gif

well... lets hope the sequel will do better, Hal vs yellow Sinestro thumbup.gif
kabuto rider kick
post Jun 16 2011, 05:34 PM

160 posts

just got back from the 3D show at Pavy,this is my first time watching 3D so i think 3D viewing is amazing,cant wait for Transformers

3D aside,the movie is better than what i expected,but i came with low expectation after seing the early trailer,so it is a good movie for me,but was hoping for a "massive" last battle after seing A LOT of Lanterns at the Oa summit,or maybe a hand or two would be good di,so abit disappointed on that,the main actress i could care less,but i love the boss,whats the name again?Paralax?Paradox?forgot di tongue.gif anyway after seing this movie i am excited to see Lantern 2,with that credit ending even more excited thumbup.gif overall 3.5 out of 5 stars,good movie rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by kabuto rider kick: Jun 16 2011, 05:37 PM
defaultname365
post Jun 16 2011, 06:08 PM

1,098 posts

Looks set to be mediocre-at-best movie from what I've read. "Overproduced, devoid of plot and life." tongue.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jun 16 2011, 06:53 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

I wonder if Geoff Johns can do something about the script. tongue.gif At least for the sequel.
rhoyo
post Jun 16 2011, 09:37 PM

-
2,800 posts

Man i just watch this . to be honest the trailer was so gempak but the storyline a bit flat . key momments was when his girlfriend notice he was the green lantern i was like LOLZ hard laugh.gif . the rest was like average . the training mode was so simple .. doh.gif . oh again the 3d was like THOR ! damnit waste money fakk
kding2
post Jun 16 2011, 09:47 PM

1,007 posts

so many negative review on this movie...I think I will skip it completely. The trailer don't really look great and intense.
hairyLGS
post Jun 16 2011, 10:03 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 16 2011, 06:53 PM)
I wonder if Geoff Johns can do something about the script. tongue.gif At least for the sequel.
I would rather see Geoff Johns doing The Flash than Green Lantern thumbup.gif
soul2soul
post Jun 16 2011, 10:20 PM

To the end of suffering!
5,640 posts

I like it but would rate it lower than Thor.

Thor I will give 9/10, green lantern 7.5/10
eric.tangps
post Jun 16 2011, 11:36 PM

640 posts

It is so so movie and not so memorable compare to 1st Class.

The bad guy??? I thought Galactus is bad, this is slightly better but still they just don't pit that against a human.
SUSLiLFreaK
post Jun 17 2011, 01:48 AM

374 posts

QUOTE(greyshadow @ Jun 16 2011, 03:47 PM)
didn't read the comic, so didn't know tongue.gif
among all of the superheroes movie of recent time, RL is the least known to me tongue.gif

well... lets hope the sequel will do better, Hal vs yellow Sinestro thumbup.gif
what is RL?

the sinetro character is cool...

the fight between Pharalax is disappointing
torreto
post Jun 17 2011, 02:13 AM

659 posts

don't waste your time in this... boring.
MaxSteR88
post Jun 17 2011, 02:38 AM

488 posts

the movie was okay for me...
how he met aben sur and the way they made his costume was good...
somehow ryan renolds played well imo being cocky...
but i think they kinda rushed the movie...kinda put alot in a short time...meeting aben sur, putting on the ring, going to OA, training, then figthing...
but overall i enjoyed the movie...it was watchable....(still could do better...good start for a first GL live movie)
tekplyrX
post Jun 17 2011, 03:55 AM

141 posts

Watched it and was totally let down sad.gif( so many little things they could've been added or mentioned (like green lanterns aren't allowed to kill for example), would have gone a long way to give the movie more depth but instead it was just the usual hollywood rubbish. Well i know i'm not gonna put my hopes up for any other dc movie except for the next batman.. marvel should do a NOVA movie to show DC how an intergalactic peace keeping corps movie should be done..
rhoyo
post Jun 17 2011, 07:34 AM

-
2,800 posts

to sum it up this movie is RUSHED !
Snake'eyes
post Jun 17 2011, 07:36 AM

Silent Shinobi
1,224 posts

typical superhero introduction movie zzz , first half was ok, love the F35 jet scenes, 2nd 1/2 u can sleep. zzz

All I can say is the trailer u seen on Green lantern actually shows it all in the movie....so nothing surprising.

But I like Green Lantern, just the movie too weak for the hero....esp how he Beat Parralex....lame.

Imagination power part of creativity is super low as well...

I rate 7.5/10 for 1st class 7/10 Thor 4.5/10 Green Lantern.

This post has been edited by Snake'eyes: Jun 17 2011, 07:36 AM
maru
post Jun 17 2011, 09:24 AM

1,191 posts

oh....negative review....damn was expecting it better than that....

cinema not many movie....will still watch....

bring my gf together let her rot ^^
devil_x
post Jun 17 2011, 09:38 AM

483 posts

hm, watched it last nite. not that bad....as compare to pirates.

1st, u really nid to forget what u know about GL in order to watch it
2nd, its too rush, just like Spiderman 3, good storyline but badly executed
3rd, blake lively is hot...but its like watching megan fox in TF...dont realy see any acting in her

on the positive side, besides pharallax and the guardian's attitude, they did get alot of things right from the comic. the guardians are proud and wise, but in the movie they look like boneless compnay CEO worrying that the company is going to go bankrupt.

pharallax is like venom to spiderman, they are the darkest moment for that hero's journey, and deserve to be in the movie franchise finale, and yet they put it in the first movie, make them easily defeated, haih

overall, really hope the sequel will be better, just like spiderman 2 once did. tongue.gif
madcrow
post Jun 17 2011, 04:44 PM

39 posts

I remember Hal Jordon turned evil and become Parallax one time. That should be the 3rd movie.

The whole corp vs Hal Jordan/Parallax
Vengeance_Mad
post Jun 17 2011, 06:24 PM

Aston-ishing
797 posts

Was happy with my decision not to watch it.
Seems it was not impressive after all. yay!
azxel
post Jun 17 2011, 08:58 PM

moological mooster
3,421 posts

kinda so so.. sigh.. had such high hopes for Green Lantern... the Emerald Knights cartoon was so much better, though not as good as First Flight
maxizanc
post Jun 17 2011, 09:29 PM

5,909 posts

Very low rating lol. Remind me of GI Joe and Ghost Rider. rolleyes.gif

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/green_lantern/

And the reviews from here.

Good enough reason why i shouldn't watch it whistling.gif
Mov_freak
post Jun 17 2011, 11:00 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(maxizanc @ Jun 17 2011, 09:29 PM)
Very low rating lol. Remind me of GI Joe and Ghost Rider. rolleyes.gif

http://www.rottentomatoes.com/m/green_lantern/

And the reviews from here.

Good enough reason why i shouldn't watch it whistling.gif
Hey! Don't knock it until you had tried it!! laugh.gif
maxizanc
post Jun 17 2011, 11:02 PM

5,909 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 17 2011, 11:00 PM)
Hey! Don't knock it until you had tried it!! laugh.gif
Truth is, i don't want to try at all since the beginning. laugh.gif I'm only here to find a post that can convince me to watch it. I found none. biggrin.gif
legendofhafiz
post Jun 17 2011, 11:02 PM

82 posts

It is not that bad as many review suggested

but rather a mediocre and decent movie.

sometimes it feels bland

Anyway , i hope the sequel will be better and focus on Sinestro laugh.gif
phat_ox
post Jun 18 2011, 12:50 AM

42 posts

This post has been edited by phat_ox: Sep 8 2012, 03:13 AM
freefall
post Jun 18 2011, 03:20 AM

68 posts

the movie was ok. not that bad. what irritates me is his mask.its fugly.
Mov_freak
post Jun 18 2011, 08:12 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(freefall @ Jun 18 2011, 03:20 AM)
the movie was ok. not that bad. what irritates me is his mask.its fugly.
what REALLY irk me is when he has the mask on his eyes turn m milky WHITE!!!!

Aaaarrrrgggghhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh!!
hyperx
post Jun 18 2011, 11:29 AM

||Lunatica||
1,198 posts

watched it.

my impression : no need to waste money, just wait for brip
Kyoyagami
post Jun 18 2011, 12:02 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 18 2011, 08:12 AM)

His trademark what. tongue.gif
engseng
post Jun 18 2011, 03:23 PM

1,981 posts

Daffy Duck becomes the Green Lantern!

engseng
post Jun 18 2011, 03:29 PM

1,981 posts

Don't worry, not a spoiler for the movie...

mukhlisz
post Jun 18 2011, 03:57 PM

373 posts

Superman and now Green Lantern.. DC is lucky that they can still count on Batman to save the day! laugh.gif
hairyLGS
post Jun 18 2011, 04:15 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 18 2011, 08:12 AM)

Green Lantern - Mata Putih

Actually... despite of everything - did Guy Gardner appear in the movie?hmm.gif

This post has been edited by hairyLGS: Jun 18 2011, 04:24 PM
legendofhafiz
post Jun 18 2011, 08:25 PM

82 posts

QUOTE(mukhlisz @ Jun 18 2011, 03:57 PM)
Superman and now Green Lantern.. DC is lucky that they can still count on Batman to save the day!  laugh.gif
True that. Haih, Marvel movies are doing well right now as compared to DC

QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jun 18 2011, 04:15 PM)

I was wondering the same thing

Did Jon Stewart makes an appearance.

couldn't see him either

hairyLGS
post Jun 18 2011, 09:39 PM

209 posts

QUOTE(legendofhafiz @ Jun 18 2011, 08:25 PM)
True that. Haih, Marvel movies are doing well right now as compared to DC
I was wondering the same thing

Did Jon Stewart makes an appearance.

couldn't see him either
Well, since its Hal Jordan story... doubt they all will appear. Unless the movie make lots of movie... maybe sequels will have them (like Iron man and War Machine)
eric.tangps
post Jun 18 2011, 11:53 PM

640 posts

DC Characters does get into problem translating into movies due to their all-powerful character with little or lack of decent villains to make the hero looks good.

As for GL, should had stuck on Earth with experimenting and getting to feel the ring plus get some decent baddie to beat up before pushing for space in Sequel.
Mov_freak
post Jun 19 2011, 12:14 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 18 2011, 12:02 PM)
His trademark what. tongue.gif

Added on June 19, 2011, 12:15 am
QUOTE(hairyLGS @ Jun 18 2011, 04:15 PM)
Green Lantern - Mata Putih

It wasn't irritating in the comic book. In the movie, every time he puts the mask on, and his eyes turn milky white, I thought I was watching a ZOMBIE movie!!!!!!! laugh.gif

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 19 2011, 12:16 AM
defaultname365
post Jun 19 2011, 01:17 AM

1,098 posts

Will completely skip this after *gulps* the ratings. Fortunately, most here agree. I am not a fan of the comics or know much about the Green Lantern universe, but I recall watching the animated version (First Flight?) and it was amazing. That was the only glimmer of hope for a movie based on it to be any good. Sadly, not the case.

kaizer_x
post Jun 19 2011, 01:58 AM

638 posts

Watched the movie yesterday. Not many action or fighting scene for a superhero movie. Kinda lame actually how the villain die
freefall
post Jun 19 2011, 03:18 AM

68 posts

yup, green lantern:First Flight much better. For me not the milky white eyes but the design of the mask itself.....sucks

This post has been edited by freefall: Jun 19 2011, 03:23 AM
Vinx
post Jun 19 2011, 04:02 AM

93 posts

The yellowish villian might be the son of Galactica shocking.gif

This post has been edited by Vinx: Jun 19 2011, 04:03 AM
William Somerset
post Jun 19 2011, 04:18 AM

49 posts

QUOTE(Vinx @ Jun 19 2011, 04:02 AM)
The yellowish villian might be the son of Galactica  shocking.gif
Galactus, you mean?
Snake'eyes
post Jun 19 2011, 11:12 AM

Silent Shinobi
1,224 posts

Lantern festival over? zzz
lycaphim
post Jun 19 2011, 12:39 PM

137 posts

Different universe. biggrin.gif
SUSLiLFreaK
post Jun 19 2011, 01:41 PM

374 posts

QUOTE(eric.tangps @ Jun 18 2011, 11:53 PM)
DC Characters does get into problem translating into movies due to their all-powerful character with little or lack of decent villains to make the hero looks good. 

As for GL, should had stuck on Earth with experimenting and getting to feel the ring plus get some decent baddie to beat up before pushing for space in Sequel.
sinestro looks promising...
bro bro
post Jun 19 2011, 03:35 PM

177 posts

nice movie for me ~ 7/10 smile.gif
Mov_freak
post Jun 19 2011, 04:30 PM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

Green Lantern Emerald Knights (2011, Animation)

I know this isn't the movie exactly, and have to add, it is VERY enjoyable (more so, compared to the movie)

Nice to see the Green Lantern Corp working together

My Two Sen

This post has been edited by Mov_freak: Jun 19 2011, 04:32 PM
Kyoyagami
post Jun 19 2011, 07:24 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Sinestro was bound to be an awesome villain. besides, Mark Strong always works as a baddie. Always. laugh.gif
damnself
post Jun 19 2011, 07:38 PM

244 posts

The thing that tied the movie for me is...
1. Sinestro
2. Sinestro
3. Sinestro
4. Hal
5. Hal
liverpool red
post Jun 19 2011, 10:59 PM

I see stars
1,437 posts

Finished the movie. It's faithful but sadly the pace of the movie was a bit off at times and it kinda kills the momentum. I won't spoil it for those who haven't seen it but I never imagine myself saying this, xmen 1st class was way better in term of script and pace.

Is it the curse of the dc comics movies? (with exception to the recent batman of coz). I give this a 5 out of 10
maxizanc
post Jun 19 2011, 11:18 PM

5,909 posts

Martin Campbell doh.gif How's his Golden Eye & Casino Royale was so great last time? I guess he's better off superheroes movies seriously.
rayfoo
post Jun 20 2011, 09:04 AM

2,564 posts

i'm waiting for their animated series coming out sometime this year thumbup.gif
QUOTE(Mov_freak @ Jun 19 2011, 04:30 PM)
Green Lantern Emerald Knights (2011, Animation)

I know this isn't the movie exactly, and have to add, it is VERY enjoyable (more so, compared to the movie)

Nice to see the Green Lantern Corp working together

My Two Sen
Kyoyagami
post Jun 20 2011, 10:23 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

You could blame the writers also. It could be them.
merchant9
post Jun 20 2011, 10:51 AM

628 posts

Quite a nice movie and never realized Blake Lively look so high-class until I saw her in this movie.

The yellow monster was initially one of those elders in Oa that went to harvest the power of fear instead of the majority who went for the power of will.
ReWeR
post Jun 20 2011, 11:33 AM

Foreveralone
1,715 posts

basically it is just a very kiddy cartoon with adult actors ... that's it. Adults audience will probably find it too childish.

compare with xmen first class ... haiz ...
oucheev
post Jun 20 2011, 11:48 AM

433 posts

Galactica is a Battlestarlah! I think you mean Galactus but that is in Marvel comics and not DC comics.
SpeckyBella
post Jun 20 2011, 01:58 PM

Quite a nice movie
Watched 3D last week
dokidoki
post Jun 20 2011, 02:56 PM

I am not War machine~
4,630 posts

QUOTE(SpeckyBella @ Jun 20 2011, 01:58 PM)
Quite a nice  movie
Watched 3D last week
is the 3D effect ok?
soonlee33
post Jun 23 2011, 08:52 AM

2,677 posts

abin sur should have the vertical line on the mouth
Mov_freak
post Jun 23 2011, 10:40 AM

aka. Nickelodein Weirdo
1,723 posts

QUOTE(rayfoo @ Jun 20 2011, 09:04 AM)
i'm waiting for their animated series coming out sometime this year  thumbup.gif
I didn't know that!

Thanks for that!! smile.gif nod.gif
Ulquiorra
post Jun 23 2011, 01:15 PM

17 posts

Green Lantern was just an Okay for me, can't wait for Sinestro if there is a part 2.
sshahar9
post Jun 23 2011, 03:00 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(ReWeR @ Jun 20 2011, 11:33 AM)
basically it is just a very kiddy cartoon with adult actors ... that's it. Adults audience will probably find it too childish.

compare with xmen first class ... haiz ...
+1

kinda let down by the movie. had slightly higher expectations. too bad... couldve been better but just ok for me.
same reasoning as above.
skystrike
post Jun 23 2011, 11:57 PM

back to normal
1,279 posts

this film is ok but x-men 1st class is way better...btw can't wait to see sequel...maybe hal jordan vs yellow sinestro... smile.gif
Kyoyagami
post Jun 24 2011, 01:37 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Wokay. Not so bad. Not so exciting either. And its quite fun to see Parallax died the way I wanted it. (hint: WOOSH!)

Hoping for a sequel although its not so good. I guess same feeling I had with I am Number Four. haha.
Shanashi
post Jun 24 2011, 03:04 AM

55 posts

watched it in 3D effects were good but having the 3D glasses on for so long were rather uncomfortable....movie was not too bad.....expected more though.....6\10
soonlee33
post Jun 24 2011, 10:03 AM

2,677 posts

sumthin i dun understand here

why parallax is powderful when there's fear around him
but green lantern must possess high will only to grow strong against dark evil

so does sinestro gonna be on d same par with current strong will, Hal?
Kyoyagami
post Jun 24 2011, 11:22 AM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

Parallax feeds on fear. Its the source of his energy. Lanterns were taught to be fearless. That's where the courage part lies.

Who knows. Sinestro could be corrupted.
soonlee33
post Jun 24 2011, 11:32 AM

2,677 posts

^
meaning to say sinestro's new power also feeds on fear?
if that's the case, how is he going to face bunch of fearless lanterns?
Kyoyagami
post Jun 24 2011, 12:08 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

well, he is a GL himself. He should know how to invoke fear.

Btw, its not that the lanterns are fearless themselves (you can see that they are fearful of parallax when they first saw him). Sinestro intends to control fear and intends to train the use of the power to the other lanterns.

but hey, the writers are cooking something.
n22
post Jun 24 2011, 03:54 PM

QUOTE(Kyoyagami @ Jun 24 2011, 12:08 PM)
well, he is a GL himself. He should know how to invoke fear.

Btw, its not that the lanterns are fearless themselves (you can see that they are fearful of parallax when they first saw him). Sinestro intends to control fear and intends to train the use of the power to the other lanterns.

but hey, the writers are cooking something.
i think they should choose another actor
young guy is better
Kyoyagami
post Jun 24 2011, 04:38 PM

KyoYagami-myed
1,838 posts

For Sinestro? Mark Strong is awesome as baddie! hehe.
SUSMagicBean22
post Jun 25 2011, 12:12 AM

CGI ruins everything.... sad.gif

be like batman little or no cgi
Ulquiorra
post Jun 25 2011, 05:47 AM

17 posts

QUOTE(MagicBean22 @ Jun 25 2011, 01:12 AM)

what? doh.gif
hirano
post Jun 25 2011, 07:10 PM

凸(`△´#)
3,336 posts

Was a bad movie, in my opinion. From 5 minutes till the ending, I think I could just sleep through it all.
hairyLGS
post Jun 25 2011, 09:27 PM

209 posts

Came back watching it. Felt the pacing was... not really there. Fast and slow and fast and slow... and some unnecessary scenes.

Furthermore, knowing how Green Lantern comics are... well... this is totally killing much of it.

A so-so movie for me...
Mgsrulz
post Jun 25 2011, 10:30 PM

30 years of Metal Gear
14,258 posts

QUOTE(MagicBean22 @ Jun 25 2011, 12:12 AM)

Batman has a TON of CGI...just better done.

You don't believe the skyscrapers of Gotham are all real,do you? laugh.gif
Eclipxe
post Jun 26 2011, 12:50 PM

158 posts

hmmmmmmmmmmmmm this is the 1st time i yawned when i'm watching a super hero movie leh........... few times some more.. i'm not an actions movie fan but i do feel that this movie is lacking some actions and the pace is hmmm seems like not right and not much 'umphhhhhh' powar. XD

there are some scenes that are really dunno why is it like that wohhh.
for example the Hal's family, their short appearances in the movie.. feels like why got this scene wan? got serve any purpose? i nunno wohhhh.. cos they showed up a bit, and then no more about them liao.. focused more on the lengcai and lenglui liao.

and the body scanning when they 'kidnapped' Hal to their planet. Why susah payah shot him wearing a white undie if the 'machine' can scanned through the 'whole body' without stripping off everything. Just shot him wearing full clothes and the machine scanned through the clothes lagi best lah. me go watch super hero movies is to watch super actions and not half nekkid muscle guy lah.

This post has been edited by Eclipxe: Jun 26 2011, 03:33 PM
eric.tangps
post Jun 26 2011, 04:01 PM

640 posts

Looks like GL gonna tanked if this weekend collections is not there, how to fight Optimus Prime next week?
domcobb
post Jun 26 2011, 04:41 PM

199 posts

haha. knew it all along that this movie is just not right. will never watch it in the cinema.
kevyeoh
post Jun 26 2011, 10:43 PM

4,720 posts

i couldn't agree more! X-men first class is good ! tongue.gif

QUOTE(skystrike @ Jun 23 2011, 11:57 PM)
this film is ok but x-men 1st class is way better...btw can't wait to see sequel...maybe hal jordan vs yellow sinestro... smile.gif
CalvinKS
post Jun 27 2011, 10:22 AM

175 posts

For this movie i just can say okay only, from the story book can see a lot of creative things come out, from here the creative stilll need to improve.... huh.gif
koolspyda
post Jun 27 2011, 08:22 PM

222 posts

QUOTE(Mgsrulz @ Jun 25 2011, 11:30 PM)
Batman has a TON of CGI...just better done.

You don't believe the skyscrapers of Gotham are all real,do you? laugh.gif
while the dark knight had CGI's, it never overwhelms. you feel the starkness. it may be unfair to compare as GL requires some abominable magic/superpower within its ring to work.. its not like the subtleness in LOTR 'ring'.

that is the unfortunateness of having mystical superpower comic hero translated to movie screen (bet thor didnt look to cheaply in that score)

engseng
post Jul 2 2011, 11:42 AM

1,981 posts

Batman as the Green Lantern:

Batman as the Yellow Lantern:

azsace
post Jul 5 2011, 12:21 PM

412 posts

finally manage to watch this movie last week...
to me personally this movie is better than x-men first class.. thor is better, transformer 3.. aiya dont wanna comment

looking forward for the sequel...
btw... u guys never see the ending ka?

shinjite
post Jul 5 2011, 12:41 PM

�ŞħĬΩĵΐŦ��
19,321 posts

Yeah saw the ending credits.....

0.1734sec    0.47    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 06:01 PM