No point getting a unit from US - get an unlocked one from SG/NZ/HK - it'll be less hassle in the long run
This is the reason WHY!, iPhones are priced so ridiculously in KL
Aug 31 2008, 07:11 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@supafreak,
No point getting a unit from US - get an unlocked one from SG/NZ/HK - it'll be less hassle in the long run |
Aug 31 2008, 10:18 PM
647 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Yeah...with this cut throat prices, i rather invest in a Macbook rather than iphone 3G..
I think we should all not buy, when demands fall tremendously, perhaps that force the sellers to supply at reasonable prices... Added on August 31, 2008, 10:19 pm QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 31 2008, 07:11 PM) @supafreak, Hi Tinker,No point getting a unit from US - get an unlocked one from SG/NZ/HK - it'll be less hassle in the long run I asked a relative in HK, i think HK iphone 3G rather expensive, it is priced at over HKD8000+ I agree with Singapore sets...and NZ is the BEST This post has been edited by Kenix L: Aug 31 2008, 10:19 PM |
Aug 31 2008, 10:37 PM
@Kenix L,
I didn't do a price comparison; I merely suggested those countries because those places had unlocked sets available for sale. As to cheapest option.. well that would be NZ.. even SG isn't 'cheap' ! |
Aug 31 2008, 10:39 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(skyther @ Aug 31 2008, 06:46 PM) It's not as easy as you think, I live 10 mins away from a number of Optus shops, supplies are so limited if I walk in and ask for a prepaid/unlocked iPhone I'll be placed on a waiting list and chances are they're not going to keep aside more than 1 for me due to the demand. The situation in AUS is not the same as NZ, in fact the AUD market are clever to have stemmed the outflow of their iPhone 3G stock out from the country by enforcing the plan adoption first, non-plan later. It is not the same as NZ, NZ's only carrier Vodafone is required by law to sell them outright. Is is through this opportunity that a lot have taken advantage of to get their iPhone 3G here. A little bit of legwork, and it is not unlikely to get more than "just one iPhone" in NZ.Along with the help of two very helpful LYN members there, it makes getting them pretty much easier than "walking 10 minuted to an Optus store and hope they allow a purchase for you". |
Sep 1 2008, 12:34 AM
188 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
string..
thks for clarification... tink.. nah.. dont think i'll be gettin the 3G... m pretty happy wit my 2G... the 2.0.x firmware made the machine so much more fun anyways... think i'll go get a nokia arte... |
Sep 1 2008, 12:38 AM
1,361 posts Joined: Nov 2005 From: Melaka/Perth |
COMEX singapore weekend, last week, they were selling the iphone 3g at $400+, cant remember whether tis $400 or $500, but somewhere around there.. in SGD, only to the first 50 customers!!
outright, no contract! This post has been edited by jakesean: Sep 1 2008, 12:40 AM |
Sep 1 2008, 12:42 AM
498 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: WA |
Fair enuf, it's just that in M'sia as with any other country where it's not officially distributed the iPhone from a commercial viewpoint is very much a black market good so sellers should be able to ask however much they feel it's worth... while some may feel that their asking prices are highway robbery it's sorta hard to put a price tag on the trouble that one has to go through to obtain one. Optus has sold iPhones /w prepaid since launch, there is however a much larger quota allocated for postpaid customers as those are likely to bring in more revenue over time.
I was recently offered AUD600 for my 9 month old 2G iPhone by someone who was unable to obtain an unlocked iPhone 3G in time before leaving the country and this was more than what I had initially paid for the phone brand new including shipping from the US. He was well aware that Optus were selling the 8GB 3G for $720 + a $80 unlocking fee. Unfortunately with the hairline crack issues on the 3G I declined his offer. I'm fairly certain that in time the US versions will be unlocked, when I got mine last year I was stuck on 1.1.2 and had to resort to using a TurboSIM for a while till someone figured out how to crack the 4.6 baseband... the phone is pretty much 'permanently' unlocked now. |
Sep 1 2008, 02:17 AM
11,811 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
jake, confirm ? hmmmm
Sep 2 2008, 02:01 PM
28 posts Joined: Mar 2007 From: Kemuning Utama |
Sep 2 2008, 03:05 PM
i tot jake cakap without contract.....
i was puzzled |
Sep 4 2008, 06:49 PM
13 posts Joined: Nov 2006 From: Kuala Lumpur |
I have a relative that will be going to Auckland, New Zealand next month.. where would she be able to get an iPhone 3G there if you don't mind me asking ? and how much is it currently to get one over there ?
Oh yeah.. I would also like to know whether you guys know any reliable places where I could repair the old iPhone that has the "half of the touchscreen can't work" problem and also replacing the battery in it ? |
Sep 4 2008, 06:50 PM
wow, if half of the touchscreen dun work, u still dare to buy without actual warranty ar?
Sep 4 2008, 06:54 PM
@supafreak,
You're oredi using the 2G one so don't bother with the 3G unless U need 3G. Speaking of which, I seem to have misplaced ur number so buzz me will ya?! @Mandy Sim, Stock status changes from time to time. It's almost impossible to check what is available a month from today. |
| Change to: | 0.0155sec
5 queries
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:02 PM |