This is the reason WHY!, iPhones are priced so ridiculously in KL

TSstringfellow
post Aug 13 2008, 09:04 AM, updated 18y ago

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

This article is the reason WHY iPhone 3G is priced so expensively in KL, the case in KL should be identical to the Phillippines, until them Pinoys have their own official launch.

Several independent reports indicate that gray market iPhone 3G has landed in the Philippines. Apparently, there are plenty of them coming in from neighboring Hong Kong.

iPhone 3G Philippines

The price — a cool Php61,500 for the 8GB. The cost includes the mandatory 2-year contract from the HK telco (Hutchison Telecom) reselling the iPhone 2.0 for Apple. The 24-month plans in Hong Kong costs ~$64/month for the unlimited data plus minutes while a lowest plan only costs ~$24 a month but will have an initial fee of ~$377.

That means, a fully contract free iPhone 3G 8GB in HK will set you back (24 * $24 + $377) a total of $953 or roughly Php43,000.

In any case, you can actually fly to HK overnight and spend less than Php50k for the entire trip with an iPhone 3G in tow.

http://www.pinoytechblog.com/archives/ipho...d-at-greenhills

Translate that PhP61,500 into RM and you get RM4575 for 8GB alone. So, whichever idiot that buys them from the current cutthroats in LowYat Plaza, or in this forum itself, are paying for the seller's call plans. Even if it cheaper than that, you are also partially paying for the seller's plan, and he stands to gain more than you do. Do no fall into this trap!

Spread the word, especially to our fellow members in here, to stop them from being victims of greed from sellers here selling at these pricetags. They are selling them to cover THEIR OWN call plans! shakehead.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 13 2008, 09:39 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

hmm.gif i see..but the thing is...10 ppl hu surf this forum..the no. of ppl hu do actual reading..haihz tongue.gif
tinkerbel
post Aug 13 2008, 09:43 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@d3vilzzzz,
I do!
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 13 2008, 09:56 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

aiya..i knw la..

since the launch of the 3G iphone u hv been prettttyyyyy active here tongue.gif

norm is ur in the mac forum oni laugh.gif

i wasn't talking abt u oso....hahahahahha

haihz..u knw r..sure will hv some noobies come and ....u knw la
yique
post Aug 13 2008, 10:00 AM

246 posts

RM4500+ for iphone??? not only to cover THEIR OWN call plans, but their WHOLE FAMILY call plans !
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 13 2008, 10:11 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

Biasa la...den summore profit leh...
gengstapo
post Aug 13 2008, 10:14 AM

Retired enthusiast
10,688 posts

yepp, should be like that
very clever those seller.. haizz
tinkerbel
post Aug 13 2008, 10:26 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@d3vilzzzz,
Yeah I don't hang around iPhone forum because I don't have an iPhone so I wouldn't be able to contribute, nor would I know what U people are talking about [terms like PWN & Jailbreak was alien to me! - it still is v much though *grins*]

I came in to *8* and am thinking about getting one so I figured I better learn and do as much research as I possibly can now biggrin.gif
TeK_KeN
post Aug 13 2008, 10:34 AM

rcctl
1,540 posts

their make profit for they d4mn a$$.ppl sure buy directly form US.
tinkerbel
post Aug 13 2008, 10:35 AM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@TeK_KeN,
And what's the point of purchasing it in the USA when U can't use it here in KL?
TeK_KeN
post Aug 13 2008, 10:41 AM

rcctl
1,540 posts

QUOTE(tinkerbel @ Aug 13 2008, 10:35 AM)
@TeK_KeN,
And what's the point of purchasing it in the USA when U can't use it here in KL?
why u say cant use?

i buy iphone from us.after jailbreak+unlock i still can u use here.no problem.
TSstringfellow
post Aug 13 2008, 10:48 AM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

That is until the unlock arrives for the 3G. Until then, there have been hardware unlocks like sim cloning and cuting your sim card to fit into duped Sim slots. Solutions like these ran a good posibility of your carrier finding out what you are doing and they have all the right to blacklist you from service.
knightltu
post Aug 13 2008, 11:10 AM

33 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 13 2008, 10:48 AM)
That is until the unlock arrives for the 3G. Until then, there have been hardware unlocks like sim cloning and cuting your sim card to fit into duped Sim slots. Solutions like these ran a good posibility of your carrier finding out what you are doing and they have all the right to blacklist you from service.
Cut long story short tongue.gif Buy a fully factory unlocked unit like String thumbup.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 13 2008, 11:44 AM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

Exactly

@Tinkerbel
so i hv noticed tongue.gif
tinkerbel
post Aug 13 2008, 12:10 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@d3vilzzzz,
Er... I'd been duped 'anal' when it comes to things like that but I believe it's best to find out what U can find out about the item before purchase; no point regretting it after it's been purchased. Also, with internet most stuff/information can be found online - it's a question of whether we want to take the trouble to do all those.

As much as I like expensive stuff [read: that doesn't mean I'm brand conscious], I also know the value of $!
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 13 2008, 12:19 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

Biasa la..before me buy anything including me 1st gen bb iphone..i did lots of reading..pm -ed the seniors n all..

ooo..wats wrong with liking expansive stuff? hu doesn't? muahahaha laugh.gif

tinkerbel
post Aug 13 2008, 12:44 PM

Fanaddict!
13,495 posts

@d3vilzzzz,
I think it's good to know what Ur getting urself into biggrin.gif Admittedly, I do most of the time go overboard but the more information U gather, the more knowledgeable U become smile.gif

SeEe.. I now speak type so confidently about the US iPhone 3Gs being unlocked tongue.gif
d3vilzzzz
post Aug 13 2008, 12:47 PM

[d3vilzzzz]
4,249 posts

aaahhh...LEBIH!! EGO!! tongue.gif tongue.gif
chyu89
post Aug 13 2008, 12:52 PM

I'm not a gynaecologist but I'll take a look
2,465 posts

This is a marketing strategy. so the smartest will always win.
TSstringfellow
post Aug 13 2008, 12:55 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

While the stupidest pay the price? I usually say people deserve what's coming to them if they dont bother to find out, but I'd be more pissed at the gloating seller for the crapload of money he's making preying on gullible victims.

0.0188sec    0.47    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:11 PM