@chyu89,
Er.. and what has this got to do with Marketing Strategies?!
This is the reason WHY!, iPhones are priced so ridiculously in KL
Aug 13 2008, 12:57 PM
13,495 posts Joined: Dec 2006 From: KL, Malaysia |
@chyu89,
Er.. and what has this got to do with Marketing Strategies?! |
Aug 13 2008, 01:52 PM
4,249 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
@string
haihz..u b surprised how many ermm..silly ppl there are @tinker erm..beats me too |
Aug 13 2008, 01:55 PM
11,811 posts Joined: Jun 2006 |
sorry, but i dun think its ok to label them as silly, its their money, its their take
Aug 13 2008, 02:19 PM
466 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Vtec Avenue |
Only rich ppl willing to pay for that price
Aug 13 2008, 03:12 PM
779 posts Joined: May 2006 |
Hey guys, I'm selling the iPhone 3G at a base price of RM3000, open auction. Not too greedy right? Considering NZ's unlocked 8GB is NZD 929? Or am I asking for too little?
Aug 13 2008, 03:13 PM
10,688 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
Aug 13 2008, 03:14 PM
11,305 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
It's NZD 979, but why open auction? Why not set a figure and be done with? You'll be disappointing a lot of people with this. If it is eBay then, by all means go ahead. If it is our own forum, show a little love for our forum folks and give them a price you and them can win-win with.
Aug 13 2008, 03:21 PM
gengstapo: The link is here: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/765745
Help me bump la hehe.. String: I dunno, it just makes more sense to put it as an auction because this is such a strange market. I would be quite content with RM3k but people are selling it for RM4k++ out there. Then again, I don't expect people with such a high disposable income to be here using LYN!! Anyway, I saw that a lot of people here want the iPhone 3G but either can't be arsed to spend RM 4k out there or missed your tumpang thread. So consider this a bit of a service to everyone, rather than on a first come first served fixed price basis. This post has been edited by blackchides: Aug 13 2008, 03:27 PM |
Aug 13 2008, 03:29 PM
10,688 posts Joined: Jan 2005 |
^no actual pic, it might boost ur sales
Aug 13 2008, 03:31 PM
Your call, man. It is definitely easy to set it as auction and watch the price go sky high as people bid on it, but IMO it takes a bigger person to let it go at a price you both can agree with. I've done auction sales before, and the sad faces I get , are not worth the money I make.
I mean, I can be money-minded, get oodles of NZ iPhone 3Gs with me, and sell them auction style as well, but that's business, and to me, a business is like trading, and you are required to provide some form of after-sale support if anything goes wrong. I dont want that responsiblity, plus it feels good helping people. Dont get me wrong, it's your call if you want to make some money out of this. But if it were up to me, I'd rather settle for a thin margin but with good rapport and contacts all round, than a huge margin, but with people cursing my health(may be an exaggeration, but you get what I mean. And oh, please provide detailed info on which region you get that iPhone 3G from. US iPhone 3Gs are unlocked ONLY via hardware unlocks now, and you NEED to tell that to your potential customers. They NEED to be informed of the risks and complications of dealing with such unlocking methods. That way, you are partially absolved when things go wrong. Partially, not wholly. |
Aug 13 2008, 03:34 PM
5,172 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Equine Park |
i wan to apply loan to buy that iphone3g!!!! .....
Aug 13 2008, 03:34 PM
QUOTE(gengstapo @ Aug 13 2008, 03:29 PM) Eh strange, it was there a minute ago. Okay, fixed, thanks.. Added on August 13, 2008, 5:16 pm QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 13 2008, 03:31 PM) Your call, man. It is definitely easy to set it as auction and watch the price go sky high as people bid on it, but IMO it takes a bigger person to let it go at a price you both can agree with. I've done auction sales before, and the sad faces I get , are not worth the money I make. I understand what you mean and you made some valid points. Unfortunately for me, I'm not in a financial position where I can write off a few hundred ringgit for the sake of good-will (if the margin would even reach such a level, no bids lodged as of yet). I mean, I can be money-minded, get oodles of NZ iPhone 3Gs with me, and sell them auction style as well, but that's business, and to me, a business is like trading, and you are required to provide some form of after-sale support if anything goes wrong. I dont want that responsiblity, plus it feels good helping people. Dont get me wrong, it's your call if you want to make some money out of this. But if it were up to me, I'd rather settle for a thin margin but with good rapport and contacts all round, than a huge margin, but with people cursing my health(may be an exaggeration, but you get what I mean. And oh, please provide detailed info on which region you get that iPhone 3G from. US iPhone 3Gs are unlocked ONLY via hardware unlocks now, and you NEED to tell that to your potential customers. They NEED to be informed of the risks and complications of dealing with such unlocking methods. That way, you are partially absolved when things go wrong. Partially, not wholly. Thanks for the advice on the region info, I got that part sorted.. This post has been edited by blackchides: Aug 13 2008, 05:16 PM |
Aug 30 2008, 12:27 AM
18 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
Grrraaah! This is so frustrating *head desk*...*repeatedly*. The prices are sooo ridiculous. I've been semi-lurking in this forum for the past few months especially the Garage Sales and have been watching the prices go up n down. I'm getting seasick just reading them. 4.5K for a phone??? Granted a very NICE phone but common! That's a down-payment for a car!
What's worse, everytime I make the arduous trek down to LY to 'check out' and oh-for-the -love-of-God finally buy one, the bl@#dy buaya's grin their toothy grin and quote some random yet mind-numbingly high price I come ever so closer to losing my lunch...I mean do u want my first born child as well?? Kidding. I want an iPhone so bad I dream of it in my sleep! *sob**pout* I actually had a guy pull out his 2G 8gig out of his pants and asked if I wanted it for 2.2K. Like eww, no. Its got your oily smudges and whats more its 2.2K for a USED phone complete with his natural microbial flora. Colour me excited.... OK, I'm not against second hand phones, just pissed of at the price and the utterly oily, condescending way he offered it to me. Just cause I'm not a dude doesnt mean I'm stupid. Grrrrrh!!! Right....rant over. Thanks for listening. Not targeting anyone in the forum or anything, just hoping for some sympathy and a shoulder to cry on.....if anyone understands, its you guys here. Oh and yeah, hate auctions, boss kinda looks at me funny when I head-desk at work. *double sob* |
Aug 30 2008, 11:38 AM
3,657 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Nice rant. Most of the people that want iPhone will do what you did ... the head-desk thing. Offering a used 8gb phone for 2.2k is utterly nonsense. He's just taking advantage of the tock shortage situation. Its wise of you to come here and survey first rather than getting knock off later. If you have the patients to wait, the phone will drop in price.
p/s - nice avatar. Is that the red car transformers (forgot the name already) |
Aug 30 2008, 05:10 PM
682 posts Joined: May 2007 From: from UBRS to Cold Northerand its a long journey |
QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Aug 30 2008, 11:38 AM) Nice rant. Most of the people that want iPhone will do what you did ... the head-desk thing. Offering a used 8gb phone for 2.2k is utterly nonsense. He's just taking advantage of the tock shortage situation. Its wise of you to come here and survey first rather than getting knock off later. If you have the patients to wait, the phone will drop in price. i smell "buaya" mode on ere p/s - nice avatar. Is that the red car transformers (forgot the name already) |
Aug 30 2008, 07:35 PM
3,657 posts Joined: May 2005 |
Arr arrr arrr .... mana buaya mana buaya?
Aug 30 2008, 10:29 PM
188 posts Joined: Mar 2006 |
string...
u seem to b very knowledgeable abt 3G prices... hv u ever hear anything bout the 3G being USD599 (w/o contract) in the US? M gonna get my friend to bring one back to me if yes... cheers... |
Aug 30 2008, 11:10 PM
18 posts Joined: Jun 2008 |
QUOTE(frozzbyte @ Aug 30 2008, 11:38 AM) Nice rant. Most of the people that want iPhone will do what you did ... the head-desk thing. Offering a used 8gb phone for 2.2k is utterly nonsense. He's just taking advantage of the tock shortage situation. Its wise of you to come here and survey first rather than getting knock off later. If you have the patients to wait, the phone will drop in price. Thanks for listening. And I PRAY to whichever deity that will listen the price drop will happen soon.... p/s - nice avatar. Is that the red car transformers (forgot the name already) After I posted last night, someone put up an add in Garage Sales for 2G iPhone for 1.4K. Was just starting to pm d dude back n forth but less than 30 mins later it was SOLD! Grrrrr........*head desk* -again- Yeah Sideswipe from Transformers! |
Aug 31 2008, 04:39 PM
QUOTE(supafreak @ Aug 30 2008, 10:29 PM) string... Those are what AT&T call "no-commitment" iPhones, but they are still locked to AT&T. I dont have to tell how much trouble those who are using Turbo-Sim and its other cousins, are in right now.u seem to b very knowledgeable abt 3G prices... hv u ever hear anything bout the 3G being USD599 (w/o contract) in the US? M gonna get my friend to bring one back to me if yes... cheers... QUOTE(psychopersonified @ Aug 30 2008, 11:10 PM) Thanks for listening. And I PRAY to whichever deity that will listen the price drop will happen soon.... Sooner or later, they will run out of people to subscribe onto, so they will be selling them outright, I think. That would most probably happen after Starhub and M1 got their launches. Starhub and M1 may themselves offer prepaid/no-contract versions of iPhones.After I posted last night, someone put up an add in Garage Sales for 2G iPhone for 1.4K. Was just starting to pm d dude back n forth but less than 30 mins later it was SOLD! Grrrrr........*head desk* -again- Yeah Sideswipe from Transformers! |
Aug 31 2008, 06:46 PM
498 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: WA |
QUOTE(stringfellow @ Aug 13 2008, 03:31 PM) It's not as easy as you think, I live 10 mins away from a number of Optus shops, supplies are so limited if I walk in and ask for a prepaid/unlocked iPhone I'll be placed on a waiting list and chances are they're not going to keep aside more than 1 for me due to the demand. |
| Change to: | 0.0215sec
5 queries
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 10:46 PM |