4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

WTA Perodua Kembara, Kembara...need opinion!

TSnap2617
post Aug 11 2008, 04:18 PM, updated 18y ago

182 posts

I was thingking to buy a 2nd hand Perodua Kembara year 2000 to 2001 for about rm1x,xxx.oo. for me $$ is not a big problem but what is my concern now is all my friends are telling Kembara is lack of performance, hard to find spare parts and the fuel consumption are sky rocket. BTW, im the one who is big and tall and not comfort with normal sedan car so that's why i wanna choose Kembara. Anyone please give your opinion! Thanks in Advance!

Esky
post Aug 11 2008, 05:27 PM

394 posts

Yr friends are telling u the truth. And Kembara doesn't exactly have lots of space inside.

aaronpang
post Aug 11 2008, 05:32 PM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(nap2617 @ Aug 11 2008, 04:18 PM)

I was thingking to buy a 2nd hand Perodua Kembara year 2000 to 2001 for about rm1x,xxx.oo. for me $$ is not a big problem but what is my concern now is all my friends are telling Kembara is lack of performance, hard to find spare parts and the fuel consumption are sky rocket. BTW, im the one who is big and tall and not comfort with normal sedan car so that's why i wanna choose Kembara. Anyone please give your opinion! Thanks in Advance!
Are you buying a DVVT or non-DVVT model?

I strongly suggest you get a DVVT model Kembara. The DVVT engine is much better compared to the non-DVVT.

As for parts it's not really expensive or difficult to get a hold, anything that’s not in stock I’ll just order.

From my experience you'll pay more for servicing as there is extra oil that needs replacing and some extra 4WD parts. It's normal for any 4WD drive vehicle.

BTW I service my car exclusively at Perodua but if you’re willing to cut corner other mechanic shops are much cheaper

What is your definition of lack of performance?

Personally the Kembara DVVT is equivalent to a 1.3 Avanza if not slightly better. The Kembara handles better as well and doesn't have as much roll from my POV.

As for your size concerns the Kembara isn’t exactly roomy, unless you’re comparing against a Kancil but I find the Kenari or MYVI comes with better leg space. Head space is not a problem.

When I’m driving my Kembara I push the seat all the way back.

What I do appreciate about the Kembara is the better ride height, carrying capacity and go off-road when I need to, I also don’t have to stop if the road is flooded just drive.

edit: BTW my full tank is about RM110 and I get about 530km mixed town/highway driving.

This post has been edited by aaronpang: Aug 11 2008, 05:37 PM
Chrix
post Aug 11 2008, 05:33 PM

1,187 posts

for me $$ is not a big problem but what is my concern fuel consumption are sky rocket.
my concern fuel consumption are sky rocket.
hmm.gif

im the one who is big and tall and not comfort with normal sedan car so that's why i wanna choose Kembara.

I'm 5'9".. and Kembara is rubbish.

Loads of space in a Wira/Satria/Putra.
TSnap2617
post Aug 11 2008, 05:33 PM

182 posts

owhh, so what is your recommendation? i don't need to much space since im still a sigle guy.

Added on August 11, 2008, 5:38 pmand DVVT is very difficult to find 2nd hand.

This post has been edited by nap2617: Aug 11 2008, 05:38 PM
detomaso
post Aug 11 2008, 06:52 PM

1,896 posts

put in detomaso engine . then u have sky rocket pickup.... use back ori 1.3 gearbox.. haha
imperialrealcs
post Aug 11 2008, 10:08 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

why kembara 2nd hand when $$ is not a constrain?
what about pajero? land cruiser? land rover? crv?

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Aug 11 2008, 05:32 PM)
Are you buying a DVVT or non-DVVT model?

I strongly suggest you get a DVVT model Kembara. The DVVT engine is much better compared to the non-DVVT.

As for parts it's not really expensive or difficult to get a hold, anything that’s not in stock I’ll just order.

From my experience you'll pay more for servicing as there is extra oil that needs replacing and some extra 4WD parts. It's normal for any 4WD drive vehicle.

BTW I service my car exclusively at Perodua but if you’re willing to cut corner other mechanic shops are much cheaper

What is your definition of lack of performance?

Personally the Kembara DVVT is equivalent to a 1.3 Avanza if not slightly better. The Kembara handles better as well and doesn't have as much roll from my POV.

As for your size concerns the Kembara isn’t exactly roomy, unless you’re comparing against a Kancil but I find the Kenari or MYVI comes with better leg space. Head space is not a problem.

When I’m driving my Kembara I push the seat all the way back.

What I do appreciate about the Kembara is the better ride height, carrying capacity and go off-road when I need to, I also don’t have to stop if the road is flooded just drive.

edit: BTW my full tank is about RM110 and I get about 530km mixed town/highway driving.
wow, ur FC 13km/l, much much better than sedans or 2wd car sweat.gif
jeremy0
post Aug 11 2008, 10:26 PM

This
2,095 posts

Urs is the DVVT kembara rite?....My sis HCEJ engine sucks....gets average about 8km/l urban driving.....Gonna get a daihatsu engine transplant when the current engine dies off.

Added on August 11, 2008, 10:27 pmBTW, can recommend any workshops to modify the current kembara radiator fan motor from mechanical to electric motor...

This post has been edited by jeremy0: Aug 11 2008, 10:27 PM
aaronpang
post Aug 12 2008, 12:59 AM

Cat Exterminator
1,979 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Aug 11 2008, 10:08 PM)
why kembara 2nd hand when $$ is not a constrain?
what about pajero? land cruiser? land rover? crv?
wow, ur FC 13km/l, much much better than sedans or 2wd car sweat.gif
Typo it's actually 430KM tongue.gif my bad...
MobyDick
post Aug 12 2008, 04:36 PM

731 posts

QUOTE(aaronpang @ Aug 11 2008, 05:32 PM)

Sure or not Kembara DVVT consumption from your data can get $0.207 per km? hmm.gif
WeiLoonChuak
post Aug 13 2008, 07:24 PM

90 posts

mine 1 also dvvt model, auto, my full tank is rm100 n get go ard 400km, full city drive ... lack of performance? wat the means of lack of performance ? cannot go 220km/h ? i haven face the problem of lacking spare part also ...
zacevox
post Aug 13 2008, 07:44 PM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

that would be a non dvvt version, Kembara is not for performance but good when flooding. Kembara is actually a keicar width, so it is same as kancil kelisa or viva.

fc quite terrible for auto, but my manual can get 370km for RM100 fully city drive less 70km/h.

If you wan space, Kenari is better, pick up also better than Kembara.
TSnap2617
post Aug 14 2008, 09:05 AM

182 posts

owhh, so it's better if i buy a sedan car compare of kembara right? now i know what to choose..thanks everyone! i might looking for wira instead of kembara then...thanks!
Alexdino
post Aug 19 2008, 10:55 PM

2,006 posts

I have a Dvvt Auto version,

With FC at 360Km per Rm100.

If you want a better FC change to smaller size tire. 205/60/15. But tire wear will be much faster.
beatlesalbum
post Aug 19 2008, 10:58 PM

1,711 posts

go for the replacement, go for the naughty car
TSnap2617
post Aug 27 2008, 05:48 PM

182 posts

sounds great..
BoinkBoink
post Aug 29 2008, 12:24 AM

eh.... Let me give you my experience.

My family has owned 3. 2 HCEJ autos and 1 DVVT Auto. Honestly, most people who talk about the kembaras have never owned one.

There are some truths.
The older AUTO HCEJs do consume petrol. 9/10km per lit is pretty standard, possible 8 even.

The newer AUTO K3VE do about 12ish km/lit.

The older HCEJs especially those before 2002 had some common issues.
a. Brake judder problem. Basically the entire car shakes itself to hell when you hit the brake pedal. Long story on whats wrong and how to fix it.

The older HCEJs also have auto trans fluid heating problems. Essentially, it tends to deteriorate faster than 40k km. Previous owners who were not careful and taking special attention suffered expesive gear box issues. This is once again an auto only problem.

That said, if you are still reading this, then I will tell you the good things.
Its a very bang about car. Easy to drive. Manouvering is so simple you can drive without paying much attention. Honestly its a real city car. Flat folding back seats, easy in and out of the trunk. Easy to get in and out.

The kembara has been in the family garage since 2001. I promise you, every morning, the kembara is first choice for short runs to town, morning jogs, trip to market, you get the idea.

It would not make a fantastic choice for long distance trips. It would not be a good choice if you are going to be stuffing 4 people in the car all the time.

If your lifestyle includes a bit of off road, its one of those cars that continually amazes its owners. You dun have to be a major 4wd warrior, but its ability will surprise you. It is not a 4wd champion, but people who use it for work and a weekend of camping, always return looking at things at a very different perpective.

But honestly, its a very good second car. Knocks dents scratches all dont seem to hurt much. Dunno why.

And whoever says this car is unreliable, not durable? Well ask them if they own a kembara.

Then go here www.kembara.net

I do not own one anymore. But family still has a DVVT AUTO at home.
Mine did 160k km in 3 years and was fine.
Curent DVVT is at 130k km in 3 years and is doing well, abliet lots of bangs, dents, I dunno what else.

Do more research, thir prices are low because of a large misconception.
IT is NOT the best ONLY car to have. But as a reliable second car for the gf, wife to kick about, or when you just want to have something smaller, get around unnoticed, run errands, this is the one.
zacevox
post Aug 29 2008, 07:33 AM

voice of expression
1,768 posts

good point there!

the only things i hate for Kembara is the suspension, too hard.

it really a nice car to drive around, got flood and mud is even fun!
jlce10
post Aug 29 2008, 12:45 PM

1,061 posts

why big and tall not comfortable wif sedan?? i am 6'2" weighing 110kg, waja is very comfortable for me biggrin.gif
TSnap2617
post Aug 31 2008, 09:18 PM

182 posts

hrmm, maybe i should have a test drive a kembara first la and feel it myself.

4 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0903sec    0.73    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 12:56 AM