DIY T-Amp user/diyer come here :), TA2024 complete build board diy

metalmania
post Sep 2 2008, 11:41 AM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

jazzy the enclosure u displayed can get in malaysia ka?

[attachmentid=577645]

this one can get but mahal lah, this enclosure is nice to dont know if can buy enclosure only

http://home.comcast.net/~ampbox/page2.html

metalmania
post Sep 2 2008, 01:37 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 2 2008, 12:09 PM)
This is quite similar like mine except it's 'black body'.
I doubt it we can get it here in Malaysia... tongue.gif
Have NOT seen it in KL..

The shiny chrome finish is definitely nice.. this one kena custom made.. huge dent on the bank balance for sure! laugh.gif

Online purchase, the freight charges gonna be costly..
where did u get the enclosure jazzy how much+shipping smile.gif
metalmania
post Sep 2 2008, 01:46 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 2 2008, 01:43 PM)
A friend bought it in Bangkok and hand carry to KL.. What a friend!  thumbup.gif
ceh...i was considering it for some of my other projects, tak pe lah macam tu.. biggrin.gif

metalmania
post Sep 25 2008, 08:55 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 24 2008, 09:30 PM)
desoldering sifu ongbs..  notworthy.gif

sorry bro.. I can't help it! tongue.gif
just want to share cheap alternative to Hakko soldering tip cleaner, since everyone solders here biggrin.gif

[attachmentid=606277]

Ingredients

-Ayammas or yeo's tuna can ( empty of course )
-metal scrub for long lasting use stainless steel ones

[attachmentid=606292]

or use this which is cheap, but he above is cheaper, u can also get the hakko metal scrub replacement/refill, not expensive
metalmania
post Sep 25 2008, 10:03 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 25 2008, 09:59 PM)
metalmania,
thanks for the tip for cleaning the tips.. laugh.gif

Those stainless steel scrubs can get from this '2 ringgit' shop for exactly RM2 for 3 'heaps'.. cheap huh? rclxms.gif
as long as cheap i'm your man, so more money can be pumped to DIY components biggrin.gif, for better results rub some flux into the wire scrub and heat and melt with hair dryer, scrub will be a little kinder to tip and prevent the scrub from rusting.
any improvement on the TAmp?
metalmania
post Sep 27 2008, 11:35 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 27 2008, 01:08 PM)
xtorm,
Good to know that you're not giving up that easily  thumbup.gif

mysghooi,
We're going to call it 'F-ELNA' for 'Faked ELNA'..  laugh.gif
You got it cheaper at 70sens!  rclxms.gif Exactly like mine? tongue.gif

Will be going to JP shortly.
Have short listed some components for 'anti-thump' circuit.
Decided to use the 555 with relays to put the speakers on/offline with simple timing circuits. No protection required as ample protection built-in in the T=Amp itself.
Hopefully have time to build this today tongue.gif
i was at JP today, i even saw the same color F-Elna but with a different name, u guys wanna know the name printed on it....CONGRATULATION Y.C YOUR NAME IS ON A CAPACITOR laugh.gif Y.C buka kilang kapasitor some where....yes its call Y.C

This post has been edited by metalmania: Sep 27 2008, 11:37 PM
metalmania
post Sep 27 2008, 11:55 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 27 2008, 11:41 PM)
whoa! a YC capacitor!  brows.gif

How much was it,metalmania?  hmm.gif
not sure jazzy, just a thought and i think its true, if any one notice Panasonic Caps, pay attention to the quality, i think imitations r lesser with this brand, i saw one today, quality was there, thick printed plastic shrink label, since i've seen and took out ori Pana Caps from mother boards before, i was 100% sure its the real McCoy...the printed color was really top quality. I think its better to have a genuine ordinary cap than F-Caps..i mean the price paid is the same as ori caps..
Matsushita ( the M on most caps ) produces most of the caps on earth..i read some where that the (M) means Matsushita, even some nichicons have this and even elnas..

[attachmentid=608886]

I could be wrong on the M topic, if anyone knows better plse share.. tongue.gif

The famous Panasonic, any one worth worth their DIY salt have seen this some where..old tv or radio

[attachmentid=608901]

This post has been edited by metalmania: Sep 28 2008, 12:10 AM
metalmania
post Sep 28 2008, 12:38 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Sep 28 2008, 03:22 AM)
Whoa.. If they have been in the business for 20 years, I guess the caps are a okay.. yes? tongue.gif

Looked at their website, link given by bsl.. the gold coloured BT series looks like the gold coloured F-ELNAs  tongue.gif
Congratulations Y-C heheee
metalmania
post Sep 29 2008, 12:54 AM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

grandspy that is one nice shiny kit.. smile.gif
metalmania
post Oct 2 2008, 01:49 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

Y.C is making fun of his own product... biggrin.gif by the way u guys know Nichicon Fine Gold is available at RS...
metalmania
post Oct 2 2008, 01:55 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(jazzy939 @ Oct 2 2008, 01:52 PM)
oh really?
how much is this 'fine gold' would costs? tongue.gif
heheheh...not that much

http://malaysia.rs-online.com/web/search/s...oduct&R=4534614
metalmania
post Oct 2 2008, 02:02 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

Y.C brand is not short for Yum Cha lah..its young chaps... biggrin.gif

Jazzy didnt explore RS inside out...Nichicon FG is available...and since u guys use 2-4 caps only why not get the best..RM10+/- in audio world is a little mercy at its best.. biggrin.gif
metalmania
post Oct 2 2008, 02:03 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 2 2008, 02:01 PM)
metalmania,
If you are ordering them, can I tumpang also?
i dont have an account at RS

this is fine gold 1000uf 16v

http://malaysia.rs-online.com/web/search/s...oduct&R=4534636

This post has been edited by metalmania: Oct 2 2008, 02:04 PM
metalmania
post Oct 2 2008, 02:05 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Oct 2 2008, 02:03 PM)
man capxon and starget are consider audio grade? or izit merely bi polar...hahaha
i dont know i have a feeling CapXon is a rebrand and made by some bigshot caps factory
metalmania
post Oct 2 2008, 02:11 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(xtorm @ Oct 2 2008, 01:59 PM)
how fine gold compare to elna cerafine?
fine gold not up to par lah...cerafine are being compared to blackgate by audio freaks...but like jazzy said, its up to individual likings, use Nic FG already ok quality, just let it cook for a few hours...my test bet phono is using capxon...for few hours i fely like throwing the phono into hot water, burn it and throw it down a cliff...but after almost a week, ita a little smoother...solid caps!!! very slow biggrin.gif

Before i forget, i would like to mention that expensive caps do not promise best of sound, its material and accurate value that should be looked at. But i know many appreciate their DIY gadgets and want the best, my advise is use boleh2 caps and for final "dont want to mode any more" caps change to better ones.

From my brief experience i found changing value and material of cap has the most kaw SQ change

This post has been edited by metalmania: Oct 2 2008, 02:23 PM
metalmania
post Oct 5 2008, 02:16 AM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

thats the thing with solid passives...u dont know what u will get until it decides uncloak...sometime it sounds good without running in and eventualy after a few days...it turns to not so good...sometime it crapy at first..after a few days sweet sound..but it took so long to show its true color by that time u've forgot how it use to sound... biggrin.gif
metalmania
post Oct 8 2008, 07:22 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

I think how much u spend has nothing to do with what u like, i have auditioned many rig during the AV show and during visits to hifi shops...and not all can produce the sound i like...
Thing is the sound im looking for might not require RM20k, i mean what s the point of spending on the best if it dosent fulfill the basic requirement which is the sound u like...as far as i know, its not the price of the component, its the material and values that make the difference...
I think the calculation given by vincent has nothing to do with satisfaction, upgrade is improving and as one get closer to the perfect sound which suit one self the improvement seem minimal as the rig is getting better and better..as u cut corners on a square it will become a circle..
But if a RM10k rig already satisfy ones every listening desire even a RM100 rig would suffice..or even a T-amp or even a DIY cable...

This post has been edited by metalmania: Oct 8 2008, 07:24 PM
metalmania
post Oct 8 2008, 08:31 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

Y.C i'm at the point of DIY-ing my own LP's..hahaaaa biggrin.gif i will name the product Y.C biggrin.gif
metalmania
post Oct 8 2008, 09:10 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

QUOTE(Y.C. @ Oct 8 2008, 08:36 PM)
Metalmania,
Ya kah?  drool.gif

I shall be very honoured to have a LP named after me.  laugh.gif

On second thought, would it be able to produce music?  hmm.gif
err....Negara Ku... tongue.gif
metalmania
post Oct 8 2008, 09:28 PM

It's showtime....!!!!
1,297 posts

Just find some old PSU or rosak radio or something, solder desolder solder desolder...practice...computer mother board is useless..robotic solder to fine to solder or desolder... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by metalmania: Oct 8 2008, 09:30 PM

0.0513sec    0.58    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 01:52 AM