Travel Scuba Diving World, Snokerling too
TAGreptiles
May 4 2011, 02:41 PM
taggyMY
I've recently bought the coupon from Groups More, Rm990 for PADI certification, and 3D 2N at Pulau Perhentian. Is that a good deal? Was reading through the thread, the PADI manual is compulsory to buy? I'm going under Flora Bay. Hope they're good.
Any need for my own equipment like own mask and stuff like that? or the rental's good enough?
This post has been edited by TAGreptiles: May 4 2011, 02:44 PM
TAGreptiles
Jul 4 2011, 04:23 PM
taggyMY
actually why scubatex booth so many people? Items not really cheap also. I bought a hard bootie there. And a cheap open heel fin. OMS Scalar. But could not find any reviews tho... I bought bulk of my stuff at Dive station. Mask/snorkel/rash guard. many hot chicks working there.
TAGreptiles
Jul 5 2011, 11:37 AM
taggyMY
QUOTE(Samurai @ Jul 4 2011, 06:47 PM) 3 hot chicks was there...hehehe..i spent almost RM4,380.00 ( Hollis ,GT3 CDX 5,Octopus,swiv combo,beg,Geo 2.) No more money to spend for this equipment.. Tomorrow going to Perhentian Island,test new equipment. QUOTE(Lance XIII @ Jul 5 2011, 09:45 AM) 1 more DLC not yet come out wor  I'm going on the 15th. Updates on the weather and viz.
TAGreptiles
Jul 6 2011, 12:57 AM
taggyMY
QUOTE(imran85 @ Jul 5 2011, 01:52 PM) Hey same here! I am going to do my open water course on the 15th. BTW Guys, there was this lady offering a package for this place http://www.seaventuresresort.com/ seemed really nice. Anyone been there? This is the Mat salleh that goes, "You would wanna try that nice fins/BCD/Mask of yours on our rig".  quite expensive also the price. dunno worth it or not...
TAGreptiles
Jul 14 2011, 02:13 PM
taggyMY
QUOTE(litter @ Jul 14 2011, 02:07 PM) Totally new in diving, planning to get my license on new year holiday? Any good location to suggest within my budget around 1500+-? Miss MIDE fair for booking, dunno MATTA fair got or not  Check groupon la. Once in a while will have nice deals on OW courses. First flight tmr to KB to Perhentian! Can't bloody wait already....
TAGreptiles
Jul 14 2011, 09:32 PM
taggyMY
http://www.groupsmore.com/They have had like 3 promos already for OW and AOW. 1 for Perhentian (The one which i'm going tmr) 1 for Krabi 1 for Tioman (OW and AOW) Just keep a lookout for them deals.  If you wanna pay normal price and learn i can recommend you Juju Lee, she's good, sweet, and pretty too.
TAGreptiles
Jul 20 2011, 10:01 AM
taggyMY
Just came back from Perhentian on Monday. Superb conditions at Tokong Laut, and D' Lagoon. Only one bad dive at Tiga Ruang. Viz only 2m.  Did see a whole school of Bumpheads. Like 20 of them all >1m long.
TAGreptiles
Jul 22 2011, 09:09 AM
taggyMY
QUOTE(shadow_dweller @ Jul 22 2011, 12:19 AM) Please share your perhentian dive experience when you are back  Planning to take my AOW there next month  you got in touch with the contact i gave you?
TAGreptiles
Jul 24 2011, 01:20 AM
taggyMY
we had 3m viz at tiga ruang the other day as wlel. crappy crappy experience.
TAGreptiles
Jul 25 2011, 03:49 PM
taggyMY
i got no lesen to go Sugar Wreck maa....i also wanna go...cannot go, so bang balls next season take advance la.  i heard T3 is good also but dint get to go. No time already...
TAGreptiles
Jul 27 2011, 12:00 PM
taggyMY
A question not exactly related to diving, regarding food on our islands, i went to perhentians blown a hole in my wallet to eat. Each meal there costs Rm12 (Nasi goreng Padprik + coke) fried rice cheapest is Rm6.50-7.00. Is that the average prices in the other island as well? I know Tioman is duty free but how about the food price? Id cheaper perhaps i'll go get my AOW there.
TAGreptiles
Jul 27 2011, 01:11 PM
taggyMY
QUOTE(miuk @ Jul 27 2011, 12:06 PM) Tioman's food prices are cheaper compared to Perhentian. More of a kampung place compared to super tourist place like other islands. Here's what i remember from Perhentian » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Nasi Goreng Daging Rm6.50 Nasi Goreng Pataya Rm7.00 Nasi Goreng Padprik Rm8.00 Coke Rm3.00 Fruit Juice Rm6.00 Yogurt Rm2.80 Dunhill Rm13.00 Winston Rm12.00 Tiger Can Rm10.00 (5 for Rm45)
Tioman food is like what? Kampung price? Nasi goreng kampung Rm3.50 those kind?  Added on July 27, 2011, 1:13 pmQUOTE(Sky.Live @ Jul 27 2011, 12:07 PM) Felt like taking OWD but dont have a companion, anyone feel like tagging me along? Just go and make new friends. There's a guy who was alone also when i went for my OWD, in the end he joined our group and we had tonnes of fun. Padi Open Water Chapter 6: Snorkel Clearing This post has been edited by TAGreptiles: Jul 27 2011, 01:13 PM
TAGreptiles
Jul 27 2011, 10:59 PM
taggyMY
QUOTE(blackwhitechipsKL @ Jul 27 2011, 10:23 PM) LOL, i think you sadly mistaken what TAGreptiles is saying about the Chapter 6 - SNORKEL Clearing. I think this part is a LAND exercise  wah... u also master in snorkel clearing ah?  Snorkel clearing done by 2 of my instructors. PS: I'm not the student in the photo. PADI OW Chapter 6: Snorkel Clearing Photo (Click at your own risk) : » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « This post has been edited by TAGreptiles: Jul 27 2011, 11:05 PM
TAGreptiles
Aug 2 2011, 11:52 AM
taggyMY
I'm going to tioman during the raya break. How long and how bad is the drive from KL to mersing? because berjaya air is damn expensive la....
TAGreptiles
Aug 2 2011, 07:42 PM
taggyMY
takut mampus only when reach the island half dead zombie mode
TAGreptiles
Aug 3 2011, 09:27 AM
taggyMY
QUOTE(etigge @ Aug 2 2011, 09:34 PM) After Negeri Sembilan the road is quite empty, not much traffic especially at night. Depends on which route too. Once I took the Kluang route, longer NS highway but nearer Faderal roads and a few times via Kuala Pilah and Muadzam Shah. Roads are quite lonely, make sure your car is in tip top condition though and petrol filled up.  Generally, I think faster via the Kuala Pilah. Once I even drove all the way to Gambang before turning right to Pekan and all the way down again to Rompin. On the way back, you can try the best 'freshwater prawns' before reaching Muadzam Shah. A rickety old shack by the road.  QUOTE Haha. Won't be that bad la. I've drove to Mersing to visit Tioman few times already. I take car to Terengganu to go for Redang as well. Overall, I prefer to drive than take the plane. Make sure you sleep early the day before if you're gonna drive overnight, and also make sure that there's a backup driver (preferably not sleeping, cause if everyone in the car is sleeping then you will be sleepy as well). Get some snacks like wasabi peas to keep you awake, a bottle of ice cold honey in the ice box. When you reach the jetty, wash up and you'll be fine. Once you reach the island you'll be filled with energy. Rest for a while andden go for late afternoon dive. At least that's what I go do la. Lol. Thanks for the tips guys. One more thing would be how long and how much $$ would the boat ride from mainland to the island take? Trying to budget here. This trip quite budget. Kao tim with Sealantis anak boss who is also a good friend of mine for many years. We both play snake together gether...
TAGreptiles
Aug 3 2011, 05:55 PM
taggyMY
QUOTE(peppermilk @ Aug 3 2011, 05:29 PM) LOL you might be tired, but I just realised that Transnational have buses that goes from Mersing (I'm assuming that you're in KL).  Btw, anyone here dived at Krabi (or islands surrounding it) before? How is the vis? Bus takes 6 hours le...
TAGreptiles
Aug 4 2011, 11:35 AM
taggyMY
QUOTE(micgil @ Aug 4 2011, 12:17 AM) Wanna ask...do you all normally bring your booties and fins along when you travel by plane? If so, how do you guys carry it? Do they charge extra as sports equipment? i got a 28" luggage bag for it. Just put everthing inside and check in. Act like dunno. Air Asia will lepas without problem...
TAGreptiles
Aug 10 2011, 10:17 AM
taggyMY
QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Aug 9 2011, 12:09 AM) I have dove Krabi using Kon-tiki as my guide. Visibility around 20-30m and Hin Daeng/Hin Muang or Shark point are top spot there. A bit far to travel but its worth the journey. Added on August 9, 2011, 12:12 amI bring complete set and using dive bag. Whether AA, MAS, SA or Berjaya Air never charged extra for dive equipment. Dive bag is duffel type or the netting type? Just lock and check in or hand carry? I saw video of how Air Asia people handle luggage. Scared liao...
TAGreptiles
Aug 17 2011, 07:25 PM
taggyMY
Anyone here got contact for Tioman Paya Village are budget chalets?
What's the cheapest rate should i expect per night during the raya weekend? like 27th - 29th that time...