The one based inside KEC.
munkeyflo
post May 19 2012, 03:45 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(vult2res @ May 19 2012, 09:17 AM)
J&J No tear baby shampoo for anti fogging gel, will definitely try this.  rclxms.gif
I've been told gel soap/shampoo are the best for anti fog. I still use colgate though, colgate works for me most of the time but sometimes it doesn't work too.
Try it out and see how it goes.

QUOTE(Llyse @ May 19 2012, 01:37 PM)
Me and my friends are planning to go for snorkeling. We all never try snorkeling before. Any advice where to start?

Like place, package, things to bring, things have to know,etc.. FYI, we are all girls smile.gif
Decide where you want to go first. Diving and snorkeling are two different things. You're in a diving thread.
Places in Malaysia - Redang, Tioman, Perhentian, Langkawi, Lang Tengah...
Packages - Depending on the resort and the island. Islands like Redang usually have packages only where it comes with meals and snorkelling trips. You can read up more about this in the Redang thread. Places like Tioman and Perhentian have some hotels where you can just walk in and pay per night.
Things to bring - Nothing much, just your swim wear. Others you can rent it from the resort. If you need power mask for short sightedness, there's also masks available for rental at the resort or you can buy it for about RM300 (which is not worth it if you're just going to use it for snorkelling), check with your resort about this if you need more info.
Things to know - Resort will brief you before snorkelling trip about things you need to know.

Basically the resort will arrange everything for you, just decide where to go and contact your chosen resort. There's no diff for guys or girls. have fun!
munkeyflo
post May 22 2012, 08:15 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(ykhong @ May 22 2012, 03:56 PM)
any place offer cheapest diving license? wanted to get the cert.
Price is not the only thing you have to consider when getting a diving license. As ericcc has already mentioned, quality of the instructor and the dive centre's rental equipment has to be considered.

There are also two ways your can learn diving. One is to do confined water here on the mainland in swimming pool first and the other is to just go to the island for a 3d2n course. Both has it's advantages and disadvantages. This has been discussed in this thread before many times, look back a few pages and you can read up about it.

Cheap doesn't mean it's good. This is service. Usually the dive instructor you go to will be your next new friend too.

Where's your location? Maybe some forumers here can recommend you some good dive centres.

QUOTE(Sky.Live @ May 22 2012, 03:59 PM)
just use what i bath haha.. maybe can change to j&j for bath also.. but my skin not baby
But it will make your skin like baby. wink.gif
I like J&J body bath smell. I think it would be great as anti fog, make my mask smell good as well. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 5 2012, 12:02 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Jun 4 2012, 10:52 PM)
I just came back from diving in perhentian over the weekend. I am very new it was my 5th -7th dive. Anyhow, I bought my own fin last year at MIDE and i am wondering whether i bought one thats too big causing difficulty in my finning. How do i tell? Cause i feel like i am struggling sometimes or could it be that i am too new to using the fins?
Are you finning correctly? What I notice in most beginners is that they tend to 'cycle' instead of fin.

Maybe you can tell us more about what fin you bought and what other issues you find with this fin. smile.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 5 2012, 06:58 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

There's no one best fin for all sorts of water and current conditions. It depends on what you personally like and where you frequent also. Also, some people have stronger leg muscles while some people (like me) very lazy and have very weak muscles, so it'll depend on individual which fins they find the best.
munkeyflo
post Jun 6 2012, 11:24 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Jun 6 2012, 07:08 AM)
hahaha i know.. but a lot of things can go wrong. And I am afraid of heights so going down meters upon meters scares me like hell.. I think i consume too much air going down coz i tend to jerk thinking i'm free falling every time..
Keep yourself calm, breathing in lots of air (especially when one panics) will just make you go up and down or keep on going up because of the air in your lungs.
Without keeping calm, you won't be able to control your buoyancy properly. Without good buoyancy, you'll find yourself going up and down, trying to fin here and there, getting even more panic and feeling very disoriented. Next time you dive, if you feel like you're going to panic, just don't move and relax, try to calm yourself down.

And like miuk said, you may be carrying too much weight. Most of us start off with more weights when we are beginners, then as you advance, you'll find that you require less weight. Unless of course got new wetsuit and cannot sink. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 14 2012, 08:05 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Bali current is quite strong.
Tulamben wreck there not bad and current still quite ok. Only thing is that it's around 4 hours drive away from Kuta. You'll need at least more than a day to enjoy diving there.

I've stayed with Tulamben Wreck Divers when I was there few years ago.
munkeyflo
post Jun 18 2012, 11:36 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Jun 17 2012, 11:51 AM)
Guys, I went to perhentian last time and rented a camera to take pics during my dive and found it fun. Now I have a G12 and wondering whether to buy my own underwater housing or just keep on renting? And if i have to buy, is the Canon underwater housing ok? Some dont recommend it coz they say it tends to crack easily and recommends the ikelite.. But i think the ikelite is too expensive... Any recommendations or rentals from kl where i can just rent and bring 1 camera during the whole trip and not let anyone else burn the pics for me..?
Depends, I guess. If you're the type who is very into photography and wanna change this lens that lens then go for Ikelite, like what zaff had said.
Otherwise, the canon one is good enough. I have a G9 and S95 both using Canon housing. Haven't crack or failed me yet. G9 good for macro and S95 pretty good for video and general shots. I'm not very particular with lens or super duper awesome sharp photos so it's all good for me. Your G12 is one of the best options for an underwater camera, most people I know that uses the Canon G series go for the Canon housing. Unless they are bringing a DSLR down, then they go for Ikelite.

You may wanna think about investing in strobe lights too, as it is quite crucial for good underwater lighting. So plan your budget well. wink.gif

As for camera rental in kl, I don't know any at the moment. But I know those that have underwater cameras treat their camera, housing and strobe like their own baby and will never let others touch it or harm it. laugh.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 18 2012, 08:36 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Jun 18 2012, 08:13 PM)
Hmm.. I am worried that the g12 will flood and it only takes one flood to ruin it entirely and I love that camera. And yeah a lot of people i managed to talk to are not letting anyone touch their sets too.
Any idea what the price is for ikelite? I got about 1.8k..
Not sure about the price. But you can check with Scuba Symphony and see whether they have a lower price or not. They carry lots of photography stuff. My bf gets his strobes and stuff there.

Flood or not, depends on how you jaga it. You'll need to learn the correct and best way to care for your camera and housing, especially the o-ring. Get some tips and tricks on how, talk to your fellow diver buddies about it. Some people even put panty liners into their housing to absorb water. Like I've said, my two Canon housing have never failed me before, have been using the G9 for at least 3+ years already, S95 housing was bought last year from a fellow LYN member. Cost few hundred bucks only and serve me well. Sometimes water did go in when I didn't properly clean the o-ring, but still can tahan and it's also a good lesson to learn as we all learn from experiences.

If you ask me, for beginners, it would be best to just get an affordable camera and housing which is practical. Practice on your buoyancy and learn the tips and tricks on how to snap wonderful photos underwater (that can go for competition!) and also care for your equipments. When you feel that you are ready (and also when you have bigger budget), then take the next step in getting a better camera. Some people like to take photo of big things like turtle, while some people prefer macro stuff. Some also prefer to take video than photos. So depending on which type of photography you like, you'll have to get a camera that best suit your needs. wink.gif I'd spend the extra money on other equipments like a good dive comp. Unless you already have all those and still have space for a good housing, then by all means, go for the best.
munkeyflo
post Jun 19 2012, 11:37 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Yup yup, you'll be able to get much better prices at MIDE. Just wait another 2 weeks only from now.
Too bad I won't be here during MIDE. sad.gif
munkeyflo
post Jun 20 2012, 10:02 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

http://www.scubasymphony.com/
Can check the prices on their website.

If you can get it at a significantly cheaper price, then I think you have yourself a great deal there. Usually if can nego also won't be able to nego much. Housings usually don't have much discounts.
munkeyflo
post Jul 1 2012, 01:09 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(outsider @ Jul 1 2012, 01:01 PM)
got virus le the website
Works fine for me. If you can't access then maybe you wanna Google them up or check out their FB page.
https://www.facebook.com/scubasymphony
munkeyflo
post Jul 4 2012, 10:14 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Flying to Tawau tomorrow morning. biggrin.gif
munkeyflo
post Jul 4 2012, 09:56 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(zaff1984 @ Jul 4 2012, 08:44 PM)
Hey, not going to MIDE ke..? Haha.
Unfortunately booked my air ticket more than half a year earlier and just only realise that MIDE is this weekend a few months ago. sad.gif

Last year also missed MIDE, next year I'll go! Haha.
munkeyflo
post Jul 8 2012, 07:31 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(altung @ Jul 8 2012, 07:22 AM)
^diving cloth biggrin.gif I dont know what to call thst
You mean wetsuit? Or rash guard.
munkeyflo
post Jul 8 2012, 10:17 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Wetsuit is important for some people but there are also some who chooses not to dive with it. If you're diving in Malaysia, most of the time the water is pretty warm and you will survive with just a rashguard and your swim wear. Wetsuit also quite troublesome to wear when dry.

However, you'll tend to get injuries easier if you don't wear a wetsuit. And in colder waters, you'll need rashguards and wetsuits.

Wetsuits also easily available for rental at dive resorts.
munkeyflo
post Jul 8 2012, 12:50 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Saw Pygmy seahorse today! laugh.gif

QUOTE(altung @ Jul 8 2012, 10:29 AM)
thanks sifu for the info smile.gif will get Rash guard instead of wet suits, since Rash guard is quite easy to be worn
Best is get a long sleeve one then wear surf pants and you're good to go. biggrin.gif
munkeyflo
post Jul 9 2012, 07:23 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Jul 8 2012, 07:29 PM)
Pics!

Added on July 8, 2012, 7:30 pmWent to MIDE (Why do they keep having it in PWTC btw? So difficult to get parking) and came out extending my dive days in Bali this week... hahaha... Almost took AOWD..
I'll post next week after I'm back! Haha. tongue.gif

Take the train. I find taking train easier. Of course if you're gonna buy big stuff then no choice have to drive. Most of the time I get fed up with the parking and just park at valet parking at the hotel opposite. Rm10 for first few hours like that.
munkeyflo
post Jul 14 2012, 11:08 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(imran85 @ Jul 8 2012, 07:29 PM)
Pics!
QUOTE(miuk @ Jul 9 2012, 11:05 PM)
Kinda disappointing actually, cant really blame them, I've heard that prices for sipadan has been 'increased'.

Last year i paid for 4d3n 1440... this year they selling the same package for 1750.

Added on July 9, 2012, 11:08 pm

Whom you diving with?

saw it at lobster wall or panglima reef?

Apparently I heard that there's a new species at Seaventures rig, first time sighted at mabul
https://fbcdn-sphotos-a.akamaihd.net/hphoto...387008101_n.jpg
Lobster Wall, Mabul. Taken with S95.
No chio camera to snap awesome macro pics. laugh.gif

Paid around RM19xx for 5D4N, matta fair price, Borneo Divers, unlimited house reef dive (including sunset and night dives) as usual, 50% off equipment rental and 1st boat night dive, also included 1 day permit fee to Sipadan. It's my 2nd stay with them and I quite like their service.

Didn't see any pygmy seahorse at Seaventures. sad.gif Lots of nudibranches and ribbon eel there though.
munkeyflo
post Jul 16 2012, 09:17 AM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

QUOTE(Putraskyline @ Jul 15 2012, 10:27 PM)
Mostly everyday at Lembeh Strait  tongue.gif

Munkeyflo : I read bad comment about Borneo Divers in TripAdvisor. Care to comment?
What were the bad comments about?
The best thing I like about them is their dive center, well organized, clean, boats are very clean too. Rooms are pretty good, toilet needs to be upgraded though, not very well maintained on the toilets, but I only use the toilet twice everyday so it doesn't really bother me. Food is not superb but average I would say, enough to keep me going since diving will make me very hungry anyway, and more towards local cuisine. When we checked in, they did ask if we had any specific food that we don't eat or are allergic to, if we do, they'll prepare special dishes for us. Staffs are very friendly and helpful, be it DMs, hotel staffs, dive center staff, bell boy, etc. Airport transfer was good, aircond bus very comfy, I have no complains. I don't drink, so I never visited their bars. I don't go to the pool either since I jump into the sea few times a day. I didn't bother with other activities as my main purpose was going there to dive. laugh.gif

Added on July 16, 2012, 9:34 amOh and btw, they just changed management. The previous owner sold it off and retire already. Don't know who is the management now though.

This post has been edited by munkeyflo: Jul 16 2012, 09:34 AM

16 Pages « < 8 9 10 11 12 > » Top

0.0447sec    0.37    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:30 AM