Medical degrees from Manipal Uni not recognised, Quoted from The Star Malaysia

hypermax
post Aug 11 2008, 05:24 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(snyperb @ Aug 10 2008, 09:25 PM)
I was sitting at home reading all your threads and replies and i'm pretty amused.
Are all of you'll practising doctors in Malaysia yet??

Well i'll start off by saying that I graduated from Manipal-Melaka. I was in the 2nd batch. I got offered into IMC at that time 1997 and PMC. It however was too expensive for me as at that time as our country had a bad ecomonic recession. Well I went to India, studied hard, partied hard too and eventually came back to Melaka to complete the degree. I graduated in 2003 and started my housemanship then. I've been a surgical M.O for 4 years now in HKL, gone thru General Surgery, Plastics and Neurosurgery.

I've had the opportunity to work with a alot of doctors, whom graduated from all over the world, and i also had the opportunity to teach and guide housemen's who also graduated from all over the world.

I would like to say that it doesnt matter where you graduate from. Ive had really good housemen's who graduated from some god forsaken colleges in indonesia, but they prooved to be really good - knowledge wise, hard working and very interested in their jobs. I've had housemen's from my college who i thought we're to be idiots, but most  of them we're good, and i've had housemens from ireland, uk, who at times proved themselves to be idiots too.

As long as you you know your a doctor and your there to do one thing, work hard and treat your patients, i personally feel it doesn't matter where u got your MD, MBBS from.

To proove a point to myself, i took the PLAB when i was a houseman and i passed it in one go. I then completed my MRCS this year and took the NZREX (which is the new zealand board exam) and passed it too. I've been offered a job in aukland and i'm leaving in november. So really... i dont know why is everyone bickering about where you'll graduated from or who is better. If the 1st world countries like aussie, NZ... can look beyond my degree and see that i'm competent enough, then why don't all of you start also having a first world mentality and see a doctor as a doctor and not judge him from what bracket he has at the back of his MBBS.

The Manipal problem on the other hand will be resolved. Dont worry about it guys.. its all hype and i've seen this crap happen before when i was graduating. The MMC didnt want to reconise our degree when i first came out and wanted us to sit for some other exam. Manipal also is a multi million business of the PAI's, so thrust me... it will be resolved in an instant.

Oh by the way.. i use MBBS(MMMC). smile.gif smile.gif
Wow, cool. So you are migrating to Auckland? Btw, is PLAB tough?

QUOTE(fazid88 @ Aug 11 2008, 01:30 PM)
melaka campus got pool?? didnt see one.....in manipal yes,we got pool..
Yup, got pool and gym. The gym, is awesome.

Limeuu,
From your post, it clearly shows that you have grudge against 3rd world medical graduates. Don't deny it.
Btw, i would suggest that you migrate to other 1st world countries, as you might be treated by one of the doctors from 3rd world schools if you continue to stay. biggrin.gif

Btw, graduation year for both KMCs are still being listed as current in IMED. So i guess you are wrong, limeuu. rolleyes.gif

Added on August 11, 2008, 6:06 pm
QUOTE(blackrobin @ Aug 10 2008, 10:42 PM)
at last someone with great insights smile.gif thanks for ur advice, something we need in our med training years coz i believe everyone here is passionate about being a doctor..
so, ur official mbbs cert was printed on it as MBBS (MMMC)?
You will be surprised how well some of our graduates are doing. Many are currently working in 1st world countries.

But of course, there are total idiots from our college who got suspended for negligence. So in the end, it's up to you.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 11 2008, 06:06 PM
hypermax
post Aug 11 2008, 10:40 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 11 2008, 07:15 PM)
if you say so......since you already made up your mind about this, and now resort to personal insults....

Added on August 11, 2008, 7:18 pm

wrong about what? what did i say? i have made it clear imed is not relevant as far as individual country's sovereign right to recognise degree is concerned.......so listing there is not of consequence in the local indian and msian context.....

in any case, the website was last updated 1 august 2008....

but somebody has been stalking the site daily.... blink.gif
I have also made it clear that a school will only be listed in IMED when it is recognized by it's country of origin. You should know this since you are a doctor. The directory hasn't been updated because it doesn't need to. There's no change in the status of recognition of KMCs.

Btw, refer to the article above. I have told you the same, yet you were unconvinced. Also, the same concept applied for PMC.

It's ok to be wrong. Just admit it. Everyone makes mistakes.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 11 2008, 10:44 PM
hypermax
post Aug 11 2008, 11:33 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 11 2008, 10:58 PM)
website updated 1 Aug.........incident occurred over the last week......so of course no update.....that is all it means......not updated....does not mean imed already determines it is semua okay even before doe india makes a decision......

yes, it is okay to be wrong......just admit it, everybody makes mistakes.....
Whatever, you can say anything you want about the IMED listing. It's up to you.

Anyway, you have been proven wrong about the degree of Melaka Manipal. So just admit it. If you don't, it will only make yourself look bad.

==============================================

Perhaps is the style of reply. As i have stated before, you kept repeating the same thing over and over again, although you were not answering me, but i believe people here know how to do a back reading of old posts.

Also, none of your criticisms were constructive. I know most of us here might not be as intelligent as you to make it to UM medical, but we are now trying our best to be good doctors, yet you branded us as 3rd world medical graduates and started whining about the standard of our medical education. Mind you, not all of us 3rd world medical graduates are bad. Some of us are quite good and we were able to secure a place in other more prestigious 1st world schools, but due to financial constraint, we cannot actually study there. It's already a pain for us yet you wanna add salt on our wound, by branding us as sour grapes and etc.

If our education policy is fair, i think most of us can/will secure a place in public U.

Nuff said. Anyway, if you decide to go on bashing 3rd world medical graduates, by all means, go ahead. Btw, if you are a doctor, you should know that almost half of the doctors in our country graduated from 3rd world countries beside Msia (mostly India), and may i remind you that UM's former glory was achieved by lecturers from India under TJ Danaraj.

BTW, as i have said, if you have no faith in 3rd world medical graduates, by all means, pls migrate to other 1st world countries, as there are high chances that you might be treated by one of our kinds if you continue to stay.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 12 2008, 12:15 AM
hypermax
post Aug 12 2008, 12:11 AM

2,524 posts

Yes, Russian grads from other forum were also pissed of by what limeuu had posted in the past. And whether limeuu is truly stating facts in general or on pure bashing spree, no one knows except for himself.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 12 2008, 12:11 AM
hypermax
post Aug 12 2008, 04:13 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Aug 12 2008, 02:42 PM)
*sigh*

The "Kalau tak sukar, kamu keluar!" mentality has permeated every level of Malaysian society.
The fact remains, there are many doctors in msia graduated from so called "3rd world universities". This is something you cannot change right now. Unlike in politics, policies can be removed by the lawmakers as long as they have the will to do it. Therefore, staying in Msia means there's high chance that you might be treated by one of them.

Pls dun compare apple with orange.

QUOTE(haya @ Aug 12 2008, 02:48 PM)
Standard argument that has been brandished over and over again. The fact of the matter still remains: you cannot extrapolate an outlier to justify the trend. Yes, there will no doubt be competent doctors from  the "third world" universities, even so, you will be tarnished with the same brush.

On the same vein, there will be outliers from "first world" universities who end up with the Dr Death nickname. Case in point: Jayant Patel.

Justify your shortcomings as you wish, but at the end of the day, it is society that judges us, regardless of field.
Yup, agree with the statement in bold, but your friend/relative, limeuu, started judging before some of us can even prove ourselves.

Summary of limeuu's posts:
1. Only enroll in 1st world med schools if one wants to be a doctor.
2. IPTA/IPTS suck, so don't bother even if you have secured a place.
3. If no money for 1st world med schools, forget about medicine even if one has the results and passion for it.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 12 2008, 04:15 PM
hypermax
post Aug 12 2008, 07:40 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 12 2008, 06:10 PM)
actually, that is putting words in my mouth, when i said no such thing, as usual....so for the record again, this is my stand:

1. developed countries are consistent in their selection and training process, and thus has the best record of consistent med education....obviously of choice then.....

2. ipta/ipts and many 3rd world schools suffer from selection and training issues, just know that you will have a mixed bag of classmates and lecturers when you get there.....

3. money should NOT be a factor in the selection process, just interest and ability......the practice of buying places in msia (and 3rd world in general) is bad.......

so which part of that is not in agreement?
You are being too idealistic. Money is, and will always be a factor as long as there are discriminative policies around.

The current situation for academic strong non-bumi students in Msia:
From average-income families: IPTS either by self fund or scholarship.
From rich families: Anywhere they want.

Only super smart non-bumi students can enter IPTA.

So let me ask you a question, do you think an academic strong non-bumi student but from average-income family shouldn't do medicine if they cannot secure a place in the IPTA?

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 12 2008, 11:21 PM
hypermax
post Aug 13 2008, 09:29 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(haya @ Aug 13 2008, 08:24 AM)
Doctors who are incompetent can be removed by political will. In Australia, its called the "AMC Examination". I'm fine if you graduated from some flea-bag from Romania; just meet the standards set by the MMC.

Apple and oranges? I don't think so.

And before someone points to Jayant Patel, let me make it clear that I never once said the examination system in infailable. But any check and balance is better than the multiple back doors of Malaysia. Jayant Patel was one of the 8000 overseas doctors admitted in 2003 to Australia. That's a (theoritically) 0.000125% chance.
So you are saying there all doctors from the 3rd world are incompetent and should be politically removed? Bare in mind that many doctors in Msia are from 3rd world schools which are recognized by MoH (mostly India). Also, UM's high medical standard (previously) was achieved by lecturers from India.

So yes, dun compare apples to oranges.
hypermax
post Aug 13 2008, 11:43 AM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 13 2008, 09:36 AM)
eh.......actually, no lah......mostly 'locals', many from the spore branch of the previous um (before partition)......
According to LKS's blog
T.J. Danaraj had no qualms bringing in the best lecturers he could afford and most of these lecturers originated from the Indian subcontinent, some of whom are still with the University. The country had not enough doctors let alone lecturers and in the initial years the University Hospital had to depend on a large expatriate population to help establish this school.

Source
Btw, you haven't answered my question: do you think an academic strong non-bumi student but from average-income family shouldn't do medicine if he cannot secure a place in the IPTA?

QUOTE(haya @ Aug 13 2008, 09:43 AM)
So you are saying there all doctors from the 3rd world are incompetent and should be politically removed? Bare in mind that many doctors in Msia are from 3rd world schools which are recognized by MoH (mostly India). Also, UM's high medical standard (previously) was achieved by lecturers from India.

QUOTE(haya @ Aug 13 2008, 09:43 AM)

Putting words into my mouth.

Pray, tell me where did I say in that post that "all doctors from the 3rd world are incompetent"?

Let me repeat myself: Like politicians, incompetent doctors can be weeded out. It is just the political will thats lacking. In the same way no one has the political will to remove (amongst others) Khairy, anyone who thinks about setting up a "MMC Examination" better start drafting their resignition letter.

Apple and oranges? I still don't think so.
Mind you, we are discussing about 3rd world medical graduates whose degrees are recognized by the MoH, not the competency issue. Someone here has generalized that these medical graduates are generally not up to par. And i am trying hard to point out that there are many such doctors working in Msia, regardless of being competent or not. Therefore, if one has grudge against such doctors, he/she better moves to other 1st world countries where the population of such doctors is less.

Btw, some doctors from the so called 1st world schools are also incompetent. Competency depends on individual, not the schools from which he's from (of course not those really terrible ones which are not listed in IMED)

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 13 2008, 11:59 AM
hypermax
post Aug 13 2008, 07:10 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 13 2008, 12:51 PM)
sigh.......that's why have to repeat, some people too dense to get it the first time......

see above............point 2, the basis of all my comments.......

where did i say all 3rd world doctor not up to par........?

for the other question, see point 3.....
None of your statements above answered my question. As i have said before, money is currently one of the determining factor for which Uni you can enroll in. This is unlikely to change in the near future.

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 13 2008, 02:36 PM)
eh.......they did look at his degree, and they did NOT recognise it, and want him to prove himself.....that is why he had to sit for the qualification exams in uk and nz........

bottom line: you have to prove yourself individually, since the standards are too variable for blanket acceptance.......
Come on, even Harvard graduates have to take PLAB in order to work in UK. So are you saying that medical education in Harvard is not good enough?
You should know that licensing exams are not solely for competency test. There's political element involved too.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 13 2008, 07:12 PM
hypermax
post Aug 14 2008, 01:35 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 14 2008, 07:20 AM)
back to the usual passion vs intelligence debate.......sigh.......

i suspect most here know that based on strict merit based criteria, they may not have got into med school, hence desperately holding onto the belief that people should be allowed to try out, based on interest rather ability.....

oh well......

Added on August 14, 2008, 7:42 amRevised principles

1. Selection of medical students should firstly be based on academic merit. There are more than adequate number of potential candidates with interest and passion in the profession from a group of top 5% students in any cohort. (in msia, that is 10,000+ students)

2. From this group, final selection should be done based on applitude, attitude, interest, compassion and other attributes.

3. money should NOT be a factor in the selection process. The practice of buying places is bad.......

4. developed countries are consistent in their selection and training process, based on 1, 2 and 3. and thus has the best record of consistent, quality med education....

5. ipta/ipts and many (not all) 3rd world schools suffer from selection and training (mostly assessment) issues, resulting in inconsistent quality of students and graduates.

6. Exceptions occur, but cannot be used as justification for allowing poorly qualified students to 'try' medical education.
I do agree that certain standards must be met for students to be offered places in medical schools. However, i doubt that there's much difference between people getting TER95 and TER98 in med schools.
Take example students from IMU PMS program. Many of them cannot get into 1st world schools directly. However, many of such graduates are doing well around the world. If i am not mistaken, there's one fellow currently working in Mayo Clinic. Do remember that luck plays an important role in exams, therefore, if one does better than the others in an exam, doesn't mean that he/she is superior to the rest. Is the consistency which counts. You placed too much emphasis on one particular exam (SPM).
The principles you listed down do not and will not be applied in Msia. The current situation in Msia is just too screwed up. Unless the quota is removed, no students can compete with the others on equal ground.

People like someone in the forum, who look down upon graduates of certain schools before even seeing what they are capable of are childish and immature. This is the 3rd world mentality among msians which should be eliminated.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 14 2008, 07:59 PM
hypermax
post Aug 14 2008, 07:26 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Aug 14 2008, 02:32 PM)
1. Yes...you are quite right...not much difference, which is why ENTER above 99 is preferred. smile.gif
http://www.medicine.unimelb.edu.au/future/ugradselect.html (It says min 96, but look at the actual figures [CSP=subsidized fee, CSP-bonded=subsidized fee but bonded to rural areas for about 5 years)
It doesn't say anything about international students though, but I'm guessing more than 98...

2. I would like to know how you define 'lucky' in writing critical analytical essays (remember, having the points is not enough-your way of argument and presenting it is also very important)

3. If you notice...we are actually dissing SPM, not supporting it due to its low quality.

4.  Ok...lets say you are from Manipal and you did a A-levels before that (or something equivalent) and obtained 4As. You have this friend 'B' who also did A levels but got something like 4Cs and got into Manipal. Another friend 'C', got into another uni is Russia with just his SPM results. How would you feel?

5. I shall chose to ignore the other unnecessary parts.
Opps, my post was reported. Lol. If you have the guts to bash both UM and Manipal in the first place, why are you so afraid that people commenting about what you have done?

Also, i wasn't replying you. Limeuu here thinks SPM is very important as it is the final common pathway for Msian students. Therefore, to him it's like a benchmark for all Msian students. I myself think SPM is a worthless junk.

Also, no one can enter MMMC with the results of 4Cs. Also, by meeting min requirement doesn't mean that you will be guaranteed a place. You should know that. Also, i personally have no problem with people entering Russia Us with 4Cs or even Ds, as long as they graduate to be competent and dedicated doctors. Of course, it is rare.

Luck means the topics you are well versed in actually come out for the exam you are taking. Let's say you are well versed only in the course of axillary nerve and nothing else, you will still have good grades in your exam if question on axillary nerve actually comes out.

Btw, selection of students into medical schools is not based solely on academic performance, but also aptitude, attitude, and etc.This explains why some JPA scholars, despite having good grades, cannot enter MMMC. I believe the selection of Melb U should be similar, not solely based on academic performance.

In addition, the link you posted is wrong. That's for Nepal dude. How can you make blunder as such, since you are good in "analytical essay" and stuff?? rolleyes.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 14 2008, 07:33 PM
hypermax
post Aug 14 2008, 07:29 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(zltan @ Aug 14 2008, 06:23 PM)
So, you're not talking about what happen during medical years? Fine...then don't attend med school and proclaim yourself a doctor after SPM.

Seriously, do you know what OSCEs or clinicals are? Have you heard of anyone being nice to patients for 5 years and then being the direct opposite after that? Because, by denying the relevance OSCEs and clinicals, you are denying the practical part of medicine; interaction between doctors and patients. OSCEs are not just showing how well you can do a physical exam, but also your communication, body language, empathy, and how well you connect/make the patient comfortable. Failure to do so in any of these fields=repeat of the semester.

In clinicals, you deal with real patients and they won't pass you if you are an insensitive person.

And I see that you've resorted to personal attacking....
If you have data of hundreds being suspended, then please show proof too.
Isn't this your specialty? rolleyes.gif whistling.gif

Added on August 14, 2008, 7:31 pm
QUOTE(nokia2003 @ Aug 14 2008, 07:29 PM)
as much as i hate to disrupt the massive argument going on here, do you guys want me to close this thread? just seeking feedbacks, thats all. thanks
Nah, there's no need to. It's fun to see how opinions differ among people in the medical field. I actually learned something here, although some of us may sound harsh.

Perhaps you should change it to Royal Rumble for medical students. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 14 2008, 07:31 PM
hypermax
post Aug 14 2008, 07:41 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Aug 14 2008, 07:37 PM)
we have certainly gone slightly off topic.......although i have tried to explain why manipal's problems may be not unfounded........but it's all reasonable arguing so far, some good, some rather pathetic......to be expected of the mixed bag of medical students taken in by med schools here......
Hmmm, see? Mix bag of students (and you are telling me you are not biased). What gives you the rights to say that?
Why dun you define which post is pathetic and which post is good?
Also, you were wrong about MMMC's degree. Therefore, you are not qualified to explain Manipal's problem when you dun even know a thing about Manipal.

Btw, many questions have been unanswered.

Just answer this, you implied that the licensing exams (UK, US, OZ, NZ) are for competency test, then how come a medical grad from Harvard has to take PLAB in order to work in UK?

Btw i would like to stress my point again:
People like someone in the forum, who look down upon graduates of certain schools before even seeing what they are capable of are childish and immature. This is the 3rd world mentality among msians which should be eliminated.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 14 2008, 08:03 PM
hypermax
post Aug 20 2008, 12:17 PM

2,524 posts

Kasturba Medical College, Manipal and Manglore have yet to be officially de-recognized by the Indian Ministry of Health. Click the link below. Updated on 18/8/08.

IMED

Opps, someone here has been proven wrong. biggrin.gif

As i have said before, it's all due to political issues, not quality of teaching or lack of facilities as claimed by IMC.

This post has been edited by hypermax: Aug 20 2008, 12:19 PM
hypermax
post Aug 20 2008, 09:33 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Aug 20 2008, 03:40 PM)
As for SPM, they'll push most of the bumiputras into the diploma programmes. Or give them mdedical JPA scholarships to India even with just 7As (my mother's student, so no disputes)

STPM is a different story la. But during my time, all 4 flats got into the courses they want. Not too sure about the present.
Wow, serious arr?? Damn. For non bumis must get as least 11 A1s in order to secure JPA scholarship for medicine. vmad.gif
hypermax
post Aug 22 2008, 03:05 AM

2,524 posts

Hey, how come people always off topic in this thread? sweat.gif
hypermax
post Aug 22 2008, 04:16 PM

2,524 posts

QUOTE(edge85 @ Aug 22 2008, 04:35 AM)
Haha, just like when u go yum cha...you'll never stick to the same topic....
Yeah, true. Perhaps the title of this thread should be changed to yam cha session for medical students.

0.0271sec    0.90    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:30 AM