Photography Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V7!, DigitalRebelz, X0D, XD Territory!

vincent_audio
post Aug 7 2008, 01:05 AM

1,161 posts

canon come bundle with it's software Digital Photo Professional (DPP). I use that to view my RAW, i found that rather more easy to use than the complicated Lightroom / CS3
vincent_audio
post Aug 8 2008, 12:20 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(wjie20 @ Aug 8 2008, 12:18 AM)
Since we are talking about flash...how does it work anyway?
Like does it take the reading and fires off with the proper amount of light...
ya, it's the E-TTL function which takes the reading and predict the proper amont of light / power to emit
vincent_audio
post Aug 8 2008, 12:23 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Aug 8 2008, 12:21 AM)
can we override this and control the flash's power to our own preference?
yes u can set it to M mode which is Manual and set 1/1 (full power), 1/2, 1/4, 1/8, 1/16, 1/32
vincent_audio
post Aug 8 2008, 12:25 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(bunvirus @ Aug 8 2008, 12:24 AM)
so, which setting do u all usually use?
E-TTLII or manual?
for me E-TTL for ease of use
vincent_audio
post Aug 9 2008, 02:37 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(nicotine @ Aug 9 2008, 02:09 AM)
wow unexpected super fast replies hhahaha thanks sifuz, will try to get some landscape and building also ler , but my main purpose is to test my new tammy 90mm macro lolz ngam ngam grab from midvalley fotodata... damage 1.32k sweat.gif
congratulation ! that's a nice lens, faster show some photos smile.gif
vincent_audio
post Aug 10 2008, 10:57 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(mengsuan @ Aug 10 2008, 09:14 PM)
Want to organise an street photography outing? We'll assign you to try this shooting style. tongue.gif
i don't think it's safe to do like that in malaysia smile.gif

u might end up like the reporter
vincent_audio
post Aug 11 2008, 06:54 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(barlogteoh @ Aug 11 2008, 06:44 PM)
Hi Canon sifu...

My budget is RM2500, i have finalist my DSLR between Sony A300 twin kit lens(28-70 & 55-200), EOS 400D, 1000D & 450D.
I dun plan to invest much in future except for flash.

1. A300 twin kit lens
    What i like most
    - fit my budget(cheap) , SSS, wireless flash, tilting LCD, very good Live View

What i dun like
  - big and heavy, more noise, less choise and expensive lens

2. 400D
  What i like most
  - well built, light weight, overall good perfomance, more choise of lens

What i dun like
  - IS lens expensive, no live view, no spot metering, smaller LCD

3. 1000D
  Any comment? price? quality?

4. 450D
  - Definately is the best among them, but over my budget. How is the live view perfomance?

Pls advice ... thanks  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
how about ur upgrade path ?

a 400D is a great camera to start off with, there is a cheap IS kit lens 18-55 IS selling for around RM 400 (used) and also the cheap tele 55-250 IS selling for around RM 700 (new)
vincent_audio
post Aug 11 2008, 07:58 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(gogo2 @ Aug 11 2008, 06:56 PM)
yeah, no spot metering can use AE lock. THe one with * button.
i have never had problem with my 400D without spot metering. The 400D partial metering works just great, i never encounter such small focusing object which require me to totally under/over the background.

I always found background to be something good to have
vincent_audio
post Aug 11 2008, 10:38 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(shahrumm @ Aug 11 2008, 10:20 PM)
the metering actually is for what?any effect is it?
metering will estimate and provide the 'proper' setting for shutter and aperture, and thus control the output of the picture. However, that said it could be trick sometimes if the subject is too bright or too dark, in which u will need EV, exposure compensation or sometimes spot/partial metering.

Spot metering basically meter only that particular spot which 1%-5% on the centre. that is it could easily under/over exposure your picture

This post has been edited by vincent_audio: Aug 11 2008, 11:15 PM
vincent_audio
post Aug 12 2008, 10:26 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(|sorcerer| @ Aug 12 2008, 09:31 AM)
morning guys
i saw someone post about raynox 250
do u know the diameter its supported?
58mm can used this raynox filter?
it is a clip on, so it is able to clip on to anything between 52 to 67mm diameter.

This post has been edited by vincent_audio: Aug 12 2008, 10:26 AM
vincent_audio
post Aug 12 2008, 12:20 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(CrossFirE @ Aug 12 2008, 12:09 PM)
hey guys, is it normal that when i convert the RAW file to Jpeg, the picture will seems like lose of detail? when i use the canon original software to edit the RAW picture, it seems so nice but after i convert to Jpeg, it seems like it has loss some of the great detail and feel not so nice. is it normal?
ya that is quite normal, u can get very close to it by fine tuning it, however, it won't be the same
vincent_audio
post Aug 12 2008, 05:03 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(goliath @ Aug 12 2008, 04:59 PM)
Anybody know how much does Canon BP-511A (battery for Canon EOS 40D) cost now?
ori is selling for around RM200, 3rd party is @ RM 70 only
vincent_audio
post Aug 12 2008, 06:25 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(|sorcerer| @ Aug 12 2008, 05:59 PM)
based from my read in most photo forum, the best macro lens is said to be EF 100mm f/2.8 Macro USM  hmm.gif
u can view some of the shot from that lens here :
http://photography-on-the.net/forum/showthread.php?t=158427
poison poison canon 100mm f2.8 macro

vincent_audio
post Aug 12 2008, 06:29 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Aug 12 2008, 06:27 PM)
hehe.....

If choose 400d and 450d , which one you guys prefer ?

450D color is richer ?
never technology is better most of the time smile.gif if 450D is within your budget, go for it
vincent_audio
post Aug 13 2008, 10:52 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(beehawk @ Aug 13 2008, 10:25 AM)
rm 900++
that is almost the price of 430 EX, how much is the 430 EX selling now ?
vincent_audio
post Aug 15 2008, 03:07 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Aug 15 2008, 02:52 PM)
I have a question here. erm, if i'm want to set custom wb right, does it necessary to shoot on a white plain paper? can i shoot on a white wall? or maybe white shirt?
anything white will do, that's wat i normally do
vincent_audio
post Aug 15 2008, 11:22 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Grajindo @ Aug 15 2008, 11:01 PM)
but last time i went for a concert and their lightning is kinda poor... or maybe is because i'm lousy.. suppose to be the 2nd reason hmm.gif  tomorrow will try to take some pics and get suggestions from pros here smile.gif
you need this

vincent_audio
post Aug 17 2008, 04:16 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Aug 17 2008, 12:16 AM)
I took some RAW + L Jpeg today of my new house renovation and transferred the file to my PC.

My Photoshop CS3 cannot open the RAW files and which download should I get from Adobe? At this link: http://www.adobe.com/products/photoshop/cameraraw.html, is it the Camera Raw 4.5? This will allow me to view RAW in Photoshop CS3?

At the same time, I have downloaded (not yet install), this http://www.arcsoft.com/products/Rawviewer/

I am looking for something that let me edit my photos like dummies, sliders to determine the brightness, colors and contrast, etc. Is Canon software the best itself?
Canon DPP works great, but if u want more editing, convert it to PS3, i think the short cut is Alt + P
vincent_audio
post Aug 18 2008, 01:00 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Pennywise @ Aug 18 2008, 12:53 AM)
Havent been paying much attention to my user manuals.

that is the problem smile.gif

i suppose it's better for u to use the preset mode, use landscape for this, and try to understand the shutter speed, aperture and iso used.

vincent_audio
post Aug 18 2008, 10:58 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(kenlui @ Aug 18 2008, 10:54 AM)
@pennywise

Flashbounce means bouncing the flash off a ceiling for example. The light goes up and reflects back for a 'softer' light. If you're shooting outdoor, you can choose to use a omnibounce, a white plastic thing which you cover your flash head, it'll diffuse the flash output.

Your camera is able to 'meter' the exposure which you can read on your camera screen, the small -2 to +2 graph I assume on 40D. In the case you mentioned, 'meter' means taking the exposure of the background instead of your subject.
i do think you should meter your subject rather than the background. Cause end of the day, the subject matter to you the most.

0.0522sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 12:46 PM