Photography Canon EOS Family, One Big EOS Family - V7!, DigitalRebelz, X0D, XD Territory!

vincent_audio
post Aug 18 2008, 11:48 AM

1,161 posts

kalvinkhoo: when is the outing ? u bring me along lar, i try my best to help u smile.gif well depending on wat u want to shoot, portrait 50mm f1.8, if u want some landscape, kitlens

exposure lock is *, if u do not lock your exposure, half press will AF only. The exposure will be determine when you actually take the photo unless u lock the exposure.

vincent_audio
post Aug 18 2008, 12:02 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Aug 18 2008, 11:51 AM)
ah ok now i understand. better use * to AE lock since i dun want it to mess with the subject i wanna snap after right? so leave it to halfpress for focus lick and * for AE lock is better

betul ka?  laugh.gif
it depends on ur style of shooting. Sometimes u might not have enough time to even press *.
vincent_audio
post Aug 18 2008, 12:50 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 18 2008, 12:46 PM)
Orh!! But i though kit lens images will be no sharp.
erm... will be soon need to prepare first.You from penang?
I don't really understand the exposure lock is.

Still cant get it.
Woot!!
NO! NO! i not going to hold that lens. I will poison like HELL.  whistling.gif
Anyway, where your all from?

I'm from KL. aiseh, gonna shoot at penang ar ? when ?
vincent_audio
post Aug 18 2008, 03:07 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Aug 18 2008, 01:07 PM)

Added on August 18, 2008, 1:10 pmPoison shields UP!!

http://www.jessicaclaire.net/index.cfm?postID=360

200-2.0 IS @wedding
it's not the lens, it's the photog

Added on August 18, 2008, 3:11 pm
QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 18 2008, 01:02 PM)
Woot!!
KL so far away.Because i'm are Penang im only 16.  laugh.gif
I need to ask her she allow me to take one or not, and you going to come all the way from KL.  ohmy.gif
let me know earlier, i'll try to plan for it smile.gif

This post has been edited by vincent_audio: Aug 18 2008, 03:11 PM
vincent_audio
post Aug 18 2008, 04:06 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 18 2008, 03:26 PM)
orh!! ok!
you got msn?
you got PM smile.gif
vincent_audio
post Aug 18 2008, 05:29 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(|sorcerer| @ Aug 18 2008, 05:26 PM)
err.. guys, i just know this from other forum
but need to ask for conformation 1st
is this true?
1st time heard it tho
i heard the same thing from Sony also. Well my question is, since when u have seen someone carrying 300mm/ 400mm/ or 500mm IS lenses without a monopod / tripod ?
vincent_audio
post Aug 19 2008, 12:18 AM

1,161 posts

i wonder how many off their IS here, unless monopod different

This post has been edited by vincent_audio: Aug 19 2008, 12:19 AM
vincent_audio
post Aug 20 2008, 10:29 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(sherren @ Aug 20 2008, 10:27 PM)
oo same gang  biggrin.gif  the best part where the earlier months during Kokuri, i dont need to go for uniform or club  biggrin.gif  laugh.gif  just shoot stuffs around school thats all, too bad our school doesn't have a photography club . but we form our private club  brows.gif  . me and kalvin khoo, and 1 form 3 , 2 teacher's [ kena poison by me  laugh.gif ]
u serious u don't have photography club ? that is the most making money club man. Form your own club and u can become President of the Club. Look so nice on ur portfolio
vincent_audio
post Aug 21 2008, 03:02 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(DaRkSyThE @ Aug 21 2008, 02:35 PM)
does that man the 1000D still come short from the 400D?
1000D is better in terms of technology. The newer one is always better. If 450D is short of your budget, 1000D. If that still short of budget, get a second hand 400D. Not worth getting new one already. The difference in term of Image Quality between 400D and 1000D is too little if you know how to use it

This post has been edited by vincent_audio: Aug 21 2008, 03:02 PM
vincent_audio
post Aug 21 2008, 03:21 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(bunvirus @ Aug 21 2008, 03:10 PM)
weih.. mana hilang la theVOIP? long time didnt see his replies.. tongue.gif
i get to know he has been put on vacation for a couple of days for posting something that against the someone who we should not be named.
vincent_audio
post Aug 21 2008, 09:43 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Aug 21 2008, 09:43 PM)
no lah.. no selling..

this weekend cannot lah.. but if anyone is interested, got bridal fair in Mid valley. Fashion show at 3-4pm
bridal fair ? my wife is going for some baby fair
vincent_audio
post Aug 22 2008, 10:14 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(low98944 @ Aug 22 2008, 09:53 AM)
Just wondering, since I will go to KL for 1 day only, can any sifu tell me what is Canon EOS 450D's price in KL? For Body only price and Body + Kit Len price. 

Many thanks.
you can refer to this thread http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/701300/+1620
vincent_audio
post Aug 22 2008, 10:48 AM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Xannava @ Aug 22 2008, 10:43 AM)
Question, I'm not sure if this is in the right topic so oh well. I love to photograph horses, and sometimes they have indoor competitions. Should I buy a 85mm 1.8 or a 55-250 IS? That's about the range that I can afford. Thanks.
the 85mm f1.8 will be useful when used indoor/lowlight, but u might not have enough reach.

the 55-250 IS has the reach but might not be fast enough

how about 70-200 f2.8 ??? that could solve both problem smile.gif

This post has been edited by vincent_audio: Aug 22 2008, 10:48 AM
vincent_audio
post Aug 22 2008, 11:32 AM

1,161 posts

well the 70-200 f2.8 cost more, it's also about getting the job done. If you are paid to do the job, make sure u get it done. Think of it as an investment. If you do a good job now, they'll find you for next job, so it's not wasted. You make full use of it
vincent_audio
post Aug 22 2008, 11:30 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Aug 22 2008, 11:22 PM)
the 18-270 is tammy, not siggy smile.gif

camedemac, u can go FF to solve ur wide angle problem  rolleyes.gif

Added on August 22, 2008, 11:25 pm

you can get a 28-300 L for the time being laugh.gif
u r super, most poisonous ppl in LYN smile.gif
vincent_audio
post Aug 22 2008, 11:56 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(168257061 @ Aug 22 2008, 11:53 PM)
Non Canon / L lens biggrin.gif

How many people will think about this Siggy prime ? 30mm f/1.4 smile.gif
I think this is a very nice lens.

I think someone ( macam one of the mod ) own it before ?

sample , not mine . from others .

more from http://www.pixel-peeper.com/lenses/?lens=278&p=1
ya the siggy 30mm f1.4 is a great lens, if i did not upgrade, i should have gotten that lens
vincent_audio
post Aug 23 2008, 12:26 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(SkyBlue® @ Aug 23 2008, 10:47 AM)
Dear all,

Is anyone of you can kind enough to explain briefly to me what is metering mode are for and how to use it?

I know there are 4 type such as evaluative metering, partial metering, spot metering and center-weighted average. I have read up the manual but still don't understand. What are the different for all  these metering? icon_question.gif
it's the area taken by the metering to evaluate and return you the correct aperture/shutter.

in evaluative metering, it takes 21-zone (area)

in partial metering, it takes 10-15% of the entire area

spot, will take in < 5% of the area

center weighted will takes in 60%-80% of the center area

the challenge is always when to use it. In normal situation when the entire scene is balance, you can use evaluative or center weighted. It is when you are shotting a subject which very dark or very bright background which you need to use partial or spot.

depending on the size of ur subject on the area, u choose between partial or spot.
vincent_audio
post Aug 23 2008, 01:04 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(Petre @ Aug 23 2008, 10:51 AM)
personally i dun have much complaint about the 50mm f/1.8. that price, i'd feel guilty. no usm, no IS, all plastic, like many would say, feels more like a toy than a lens...

i dun think i notice OOF with my copy, when pics not as sharp, i would assume its because its too lightweight on my 450D that resulted in little shake.

still i think the whole point of getting this lens is because it does a decent job at a very very very cheap price. if i have some extra $, definitely i wont go for a f/1.4 or the f/1.2. 50mm isnt exactly a convenient focal length to me, but then again, its always based on your shooting style and needs  notworthy.gif

if you guys dun mind, can always let go of your unit and get another one right? its cheap enough to afford some hunting  brows.gif

perhaps using AI servo when using this lens will help counter the OOF?
wat shutter speed u using ? u need to maintain 1/80s minimum. If you try shooting at f1.8 u got a very shallow DOF. That might cause u to OOF also. My typical setting 1/80 @ f2.8. It normally give me consistent result

Added on August 23, 2008, 1:06 pm
QUOTE(kalvinkhoo @ Aug 23 2008, 12:38 PM)
hey vincent,
The smoke you make, how the colour is different?
i don't get your question, wat do u mean by how the colour is different ? well the colour is blended in and it's different colour

This post has been edited by vincent_audio: Aug 23 2008, 01:06 PM
vincent_audio
post Aug 23 2008, 01:57 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Aug 23 2008, 01:52 PM)
just got back from mountain biking in Taman Tun Trail. Saw Hellfire there with his "other".

torture test man.. pushing the bike uphill like 50% of the time.

Going downhill was fun though..
ouch, u mountain bike also, never invite. My KHS is left outside collecting dusk. Is this the TTDI we normally go photo shoot ?
vincent_audio
post Aug 23 2008, 02:09 PM

1,161 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ Aug 23 2008, 02:00 PM)
damn it, 85mm f1.2 shooting a 200mm f1.8, damn poisonous...

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0585sec    0.52    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 04:46 AM