6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

Nokia [Nokia N82 Official Thread V3], Storytelling rediscovered continues...

cute_boboi
post Aug 4 2008, 11:07 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(nTHtoSEy @ Aug 3 2008, 11:27 PM)
just bought a Sandisk 8GB ULTRA MicroSDHC...RM149 from pc fair.

comes with the small usb card read thingy and free rm10 petrol voucher.

wanted to get the normal 8GB MicroSDHC which is RM119 but it doesnt come with the usb card read thing, which i realy need. and if want buy it's RM28 -.-

anyway, quite satisfied with the speed, reading speed can reach up to 12mb/s....xD
You can get Sandisk 8GB micro SDHC from LYPlaza @RM105.

In PC Fair Aug'08, you can get it at Sandisk booth for RM119. Then goto Intel counter, get a few chops and redeem a USB 2.0 microSD adapter rolleyes.gif

Edit: Yeah! I'm in page 1 also tongue.gif *kiasu*

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Aug 4 2008, 02:21 PM
cute_boboi
post Aug 4 2008, 01:32 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Aug 4 2008, 11:52 AM)
im looking forward for the 16gb too
no sign of it in PC Fair but some forumer said he/she saw 32gb selling for Rm600+- rclxub.gif
Yes, that's SDHC. tongue.gif Not micro-SDHC sweat.gif
Expect the new 16GB micro-SDHC to sell at RM250-300 initially.

QUOTE(Wuahaha @ Aug 4 2008, 01:14 PM)
Wow .. V3 already ... good! rclxms.gif

Got an issue here, I connect my N82 to PC using USB and chooses PC Suite.
I open One Touch Access from Nseries to try use my phone as a 3G modem.
But it says no modem found. shocking.gif
I remember I could use it when I first got my phone last time. Maybe is the software updates?

Any suggestions? icon_question.gif
I use the Standard PC Suite 6.8x and I don't have problem to dial-up *99# with either USB/BT as PC Suite connection (phone).

Just saw Standard PC Suite 7.0x is out since early July '08 sweat.gif Downloaded and planning to install to test.

cute_boboi
post Aug 5 2008, 10:54 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

My 112th post doh.gif on how long N82 authorised set battery can last, from full charge, unplug and use.
No themes, no applications running in background.

1) Play games (pool, car racing, bejeweled, etc.) non stop = <3 hrs

2) GPS <2 hrs (you definitely need a car cigarette adapter charger if you travel often)

3) 3G/GPRS data download non-stop 1.5-2.5 hrs. Not much difference to use USB/Bluetooth connection

4) Plain talking non stop >60 minutes. I give up after that.

5) Standby only, <10 minutes call, <10 sms, no games/GPS/3G/GPRS. Can standby 3-4 days.

Anything I miss ?
cute_boboi
post Aug 5 2008, 11:47 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

ziggy87,

I have never tried long video or camera pictures. tongue.gif I use N82 for adhoc <5 pictures only. The response is too slow. If I want better photography, I'll bring along my prosumer S5IS thumbup.gif

Imagine the time taken for N82 (or any other camera phone) to start the camera, auto focus, capture the picture, wait for it to save, display on the screen and proceed to capture next picture. At least 10-20 seconds.

I can switch on my S5IS, auto-focus, burst shot 3-5 pictures, switch off and put on table in <10 sec. N82 just reach auto-focus part only doh.gif Of course this is comparing durian to banana, but I won't be using N82 to take a lot of pictures. rolleyes.gif So no statistics on this from me. sweat.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 5 2008, 12:57 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

MP3, the longest I tested around 2-3 hours continuous only. My ear cannot tahan already, need to give it some fresh air. From full charge, not a single bar drop. Of course, I don't press around to light up the LCD screen, which will drain more juice.

Volume set at 60% to 80% most of the time.

cute_boboi
post Aug 5 2008, 03:07 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(vtec-ing @ Aug 5 2008, 12:21 PM)
hey folks,

what is the proper way of upgrading new memory card? Just copy everything over to new card?
My 12th post on copying memory cards: brows.gif

For those who are upgrading/copying to another new micro-SD card, below are some guidelines:
1) Take out existing µSD. Use N82 "Remove Memory Card" option.
2) Plug in new µSD into N82 and format it. Ignore all apps errors at this moment.
3) Plug both µSD into PC and copy all files (including hidden & system files)
4) If you don't have two card readers, copy with care, don't open the folder/files in PC HDD, as it might create some unnecessary files like thumbs.db. Overwrite whatever in the formatted new card.
5) Plug the new µSD into N82, and all the apps should work as before.

I did mine from 2GB->8GB upgrade previously. No problem. Also did another copy from 2GB->2GB, no problem too.

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Aug 5 2008, 03:12 PM
cute_boboi
post Aug 6 2008, 11:49 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Ok, some freebies for S60v3 club. thumbup.gif Since I'm N82 owner, I'll share it here only tongue.gif I think some of you have been looking for this item before.

Just for today 6th Aug 2008

Advanced Device Locks for Nokia S60 3rd edition 1.07 for FREE

Short description: Advanced Device Locks is a Symbian OS application for locking the phone or selected applications only, such as Messages, Pictures, Contacts, Video or any other.

Redeem Free Voucher Code: ADL100

This is how it works:

1. Put the product(s) in the shopping cart.
2. Log in (or register if you are new to our shop).
3. Enter the given code in the field "redeem voucher" and click on "redeem voucher" or "go"
4. The reduced price will be shown in the basket.
5. Every voucher can only be redeemed once per client.

cute_boboi
post Aug 6 2008, 12:05 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(seraph8660 @ Aug 6 2008, 11:50 AM)
anyone ever try to set offline mode on the airplane?
i wanna try but don dare..  hmm.gif
Yes, tried it before to listen MP3 and secretly record video of the plane taking off.

There were several times I put the h/p inside notebook bag (faster when going through x-ray and metal detector check than pulling out all coins, etc.) and forgot all about it until touch down and take out the h/p. It is still switched on all the time (not offline). sweat.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 6 2008, 12:07 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

lucaswjk and everyone,

The website is a bit slow, which I think due to the high demand for FREE stuff tongue.gif So, be patient and follow the steps. Remember you need to put in your Device Code (IMEI). So don't ask to share or send it out, it won't work.

I just downloaded and installed, going to try it soon.

Added on August 6, 2008, 12:42 pmUpdate: Advanced Device Locks for Nokia S60 3rd edition 1.07 works. thumbup.gif If you follow all the steps, after install it is still in trial version. Just activate it over the GPRS/3G (Internet). I can lock Messaging and Gallery. Two of the most important folder. rclxms.gif

In fact, it list down all the applications installed, and you can choose which ones to lock. Maximum security is 7-digit.

I can also set it to lock everytime it switch on or when changed sim card. Hopefully this can prevent usage if stolen. Anyway to reset factory default if the phone is locked during switch on ? sweat.gif

Note: Remember to install in Phone Memory. Otherwise, if someone take out the Memory Card, I'm not sure whether the program still works or not. hmm.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Aug 6 2008, 12:43 PM
cute_boboi
post Aug 6 2008, 01:49 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(aurion @ Aug 6 2008, 12:47 PM)
What other handy applications are there for the N82? I don't have any idea on what to install or interesting things to look for.
Windows Explorer type of application, similiar to Tools -> File Manager, but more powerful.

If you play games, what type of games you like ? Racing ? Brain/IQ ? Cards ? etc.

Applications ? Office ?

Tools ?

QUOTE(knightg @ Aug 6 2008, 12:49 PM)
i'm using it now, it's working, thanks for sharing this info smile.gif
Welcome smile.gif I think tomorrow will have some more... wink.gif Keep checking. I'm also late and miss out on two FREE applications. sad.gif

QUOTE(klk89 @ Aug 6 2008, 12:53 PM)
T_T I can't even download this application, it looks cool and useful. My Nokia N82 is still on the workshop. I want my Nokia N82 back. Missing it for almost 3 days. T_T
Why can't download ? Just follow the steps. You may need to register an account there. You can download to PC and install later. Just ensure you have the IMEI code with you. hmm.gif

cute_boboi
post Aug 7 2008, 10:30 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(chicaman @ Aug 6 2008, 09:14 PM)
wht u all use to protect this baby? I bought a silicon but doesnt fit nicely >.< ~
Depends on what you like. I tried silicon (white), but it is not really transparent. The rubbery feel prevents it from sliding here and there.

Crystal case looks better, transparent. But can scratch/crack easily.

I don't use pouch, as it is too thick and no place to hang when wearing bermuda pants.

Some may use specialised skin to protect it, but I heard some minor problem covering the keys.

cute_boboi
post Aug 7 2008, 10:33 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Free for today only 7th Aug 2008:

X-plore 1.22

Redeem Voucher Code: xplore100

This is how it works:

3. Enter the given code in the field "redeem voucher" and click on "redeem voucher" or "go"

cute_boboi
post Aug 7 2008, 05:31 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(lucaswjk @ Aug 7 2008, 01:19 PM)
guys!!! u better hurry install this one...
i personally HIGHLY RECOMMENDED this file explore, the best i ever tested!!!
thanx boboi  thumbup.gif
hey, thanks smile.gif I've installed it, not yet try. How does it compare to FExplorer, Y-Browser, SysExplorer, etc. ? Stability ? Functionality ?

cute_boboi
post Aug 7 2008, 07:39 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(Jason @ Aug 7 2008, 05:34 PM)
what kinda battery life you guys getting? i have to charge every 2 days.. which is kinda..disappointing.
I have to charge on average every Mon, Wed, Fri.
Sometimes need to charge on Tue/Thu if I play games and finish up the batteries. tongue.gif

Rarely play in weekend, as don't want to charge at home (electricity expensive, kiamsiap) sweat.gif , which means it can last me from Fri evening (full charge) until Mon morning. thumbup.gif

So, now you know where I charge my N82 rolleyes.gif

QUOTE(ziggy87 @ Aug 7 2008, 05:41 PM)
im not techie enuf to talk about stability and stuff but i switched from FExplorer to it..
Why not write a short report on FExploere vs X-plore ? Advantages and Disadvantages ? smile.gif

Added on August 7, 2008, 7:40 pm
QUOTE(vtec-ing @ Aug 7 2008, 07:27 PM)
i not dare o. After all mine is ori set. dont want kiss goodbye to my warranty shakehead.gif
Mine also original/authorised warranty. I still h@ck *cough* whistling.gif

This post has been edited by cute_boboi: Aug 7 2008, 07:40 PM
cute_boboi
post Aug 8 2008, 10:55 AM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Free for today only 8th Aug 2008:

Not really useful for us all... hmm.gif

EUROPAinfo 1.0

Redeem Voucher Code: EUinfo100

Short description: A usefull tool for all Europeans and all other interested parties.

This is how it works:

cute_boboi
post Aug 8 2008, 05:43 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Jason,
GMXT for MY & SG
Nokia Maps for other countries

cute_boboi
post Aug 8 2008, 10:18 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Fearless,

Take some SU-8W pictures and review for us rclxms.gif

ziggy87,

I use N82 default browser can load, view, reply to LYN Forum.

cute_boboi
post Aug 9 2008, 02:50 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Free for today only 9th Aug 2008:

Advanced Brain Trainer Edition 1 (S60 V3) 1.03

Redeem Voucher Code: ABT100

Short description: Train your brain with no pain! With Advanced Brain Trainer Edition 1, enjoy 5 training modules and a coach's advices to improve your calculation, logic and reaction time.

This is how it works:

cute_boboi
post Aug 10 2008, 07:20 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

Free for today only 10th Aug 2008:

Handy Alarm 1.05

Redeem Voucher Code: HandyAlarm100

Short description: Handy Alarm is your alarm for every day and any case. Work days alarm will wake you up in the morning and once or repeated alarms will remind you about important meeting.

This is how it works:

cute_boboi
post Aug 17 2008, 09:54 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

I notice most (if not all) of the N82 users who have hardware problems are AP sets. Hang, LCD screen, gap, etc. hmm.gif

Anyone using authorised set ("original") has problem with their N82 ?

Note: I remember there is a way to hack the standby menu to add/remove some lines. But it is a bit risky, have to search back. whistling.gif

I have installed/uninstalled 100+ apps/games. Recently, when I click contact and try to edit details, it hang. Need to press End Call (red button) and click Contacts again. Finally take out the micro-SD and Contacts work fine. Fast. So I plug the micro-SD into USB card reader and perform Defragment in PC. After that, plug back in, and Contacts work fine again, albeit a bit slower compared without the micro-SD card taken out of N82. thumbup.gif

6 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.0456sec    0.63    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 12:14 AM