66 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Bottom

Serious Talk Inspirational Stories, Pictures, Quotes...

TSMayAnne
post Feb 1 2010, 11:19 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

Its All How You Look At Things

A very old lady looked in the mirror one morning. She had three remaining hairs on her head, and being a positive soul, she said, "I think I'll braid my hair today." So she braided her three hairs, and she had a great day.

Some days later, looking in the mirror one morning, preparing for her day, she saw that she had only two hairs remaining. "Hmm, two hairs... I fancy a centre parting today." She duly parted her two hairs, and as ever, she had a great day.

A week or so later, she saw that she had just one hair left on her head. "One hair huh...," she mused, "I know, a pony-tail will be perfect." And again she had a great day.

The next morning she looked in the mirror. She was completely bald.

"Finally bald huh," she said to herself, "How wonderful! I won't have to waste time doing my hair any more.."

This is to remind us to always look for the positive side in things. A positive outlook, more than positive events, makes a person much happier. So why hurt ourselves and our sense of happiness by looking for what is wrong. It is much easier finding wrong than right but what is the point?

smile.gif smile.gif smile.gif
Joey Christensen
post Feb 2 2010, 10:49 AM

Purgamentum init, exit purgamentum
3,651 posts

“Logic will get you from A to B. Imagination will take you everywhere.”~~~Albert Einstein

Regards, Joey
Serendipity123
post Feb 3 2010, 12:46 PM

175 posts

"Among the things you can give and still keep are your word, a smile and a grateful heart." - Zig Zaglar
alphalim
post Feb 3 2010, 03:00 PM

Hi, all, first time posting after lurking for awhile.
This thread is like a breath of fresh air, an antidote for the world "out there".
Thank you for sharing.

Lately, I've been involved in a project to share the love and share the laughs among Malaysians.
It's a bunch of cute caricatures of Malaysian people and Malaysian life, and I think it'll make you smile.

Check out Rojak Song and create your own positive greeting to share the love among Malaysians!

http://www.rojaksong.com.my

RaubianGeek
post Feb 4 2010, 04:18 PM

@ wu ming: House is it? Ground floor?

Yeah, a lot of my friends got kena. Usually they case out your place in the evenings, pretending to be joggers or something. Then strike when semester break. Or even during semester itself. These people damn cunning, know that MMU students usually come pre-loaded with computers and gaming equipment.
TSMayAnne
post Feb 6 2010, 11:01 AM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

Why Things Happen

Hello my name is Janet and about 4 years ago I was living alone with my 2 cats in Wisconsin. On one of the coldest winter nights, I was outside and slipped and fell on the ice. I guess I landed on the back of my head.

The next day, Sunday, my parents had become worried about me because they could not reach me by telephone. They came over and realized something had happened to me because my hands and knees were all bloody which was caused by my crawling to my apartment the night before after falling.

They took me to the Emergency Room where the last thing I remember was the doctor cutting off the rings on my fingers. When I asked why, she replied that your fingers are frostbitten. The doctors told my parents that I would probably not survive the night, but I did. I understand I was in ICU for a day and then in the hospital for a month. I had to learn how to walk, talk and eat. I learned that I had a brain stem injury and all my fingertips had turned black from frostbite. Luckily they did not have to amputate my fingers.

After the month in the hospital, I was told that I could not live on my own, so I was moved to a nursing home. There I underwent physical, speech and occupational therapy. One night I was working in the computer room for us residents, and I noticed a man sitting in a chair watching me. He was there visiting his mother who had been in a car accident and was also residing in the same nursing home. Ray asked me if he could e-mail me and I said yes. He e-mailed me and asked me out to dinner. So every weekend when he came up to visit his mother, he would take me out to dinner. After I had been in the nursing home for 8 months, I was finally released to live on my own. And from that point on Ray and I have been together ever since. And that is how I found my one true love in a nursing home.

Everything happens for a reason, even if we don't understand why. Often one has to undergo very difficult challenges to bring him or her to a soul mate or further along the mission that one has in this world.

~ Have a beautiful weekend! ~ smile.gif

Hitmanz
post Feb 6 2010, 09:38 PM

428 posts

lol once my neighbours gate grill got cut off and stolen, you know those gold painted type. It happen in broad day light, the most stupid thing is my old maid bring my baby bro out to watch the guy cut off the grill. Dumb ass maid and the house was on sale that time

This post has been edited by Hitmanz: Feb 7 2010, 12:22 PM
Polaris
post Feb 7 2010, 01:07 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

“Your work is going to fill a large part of your life, and the only way
to be truly satisfied is to do what you believe is great work.
And the only way to do great work is to love what you do.
If you haven’t found it yet, keep looking, and don’t settle.
As with all matters of the heart, you’ll know when you find it.“
~ Steve Jobs

unknown warrior
post Feb 7 2010, 01:48 AM

/k/ Legend
6,240 posts

Feet Tapping, Head nodding Feel Good Song.

TSMayAnne
post Feb 8 2010, 04:34 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

The Boomerang Effect

A father and a son were taking a walk in the mountains. Suddenly, the son falls, hurts himself and screams: "AAhhhhh!" To his surprise, he hears the voice repeating, somewhere in the mountain: "AAhhhhh!"

Curious, he yells: "Who are you?" He receives the answer: "Who are you?"

Angered at the response, he screams: "Coward!" He receives the answer: "Coward!"

He looks to his father and asks: "What's going on?" The father smiles and says: "My son, pay attention." And then he screams to the mountain: "I admire you!" The voice answers: "I admire you!" Again the man screams: "You are a champion!" The voice answers: "You are a champion!"

The boy is surprised, but does not understand. Then the father explains: "People call this Echo, but really this is Life. It gives you back everything you say or do."

Our life is simply a reflection of our actions. If you want more love in the world, create more love in your heart. If you want more competence in your team, improve your competence.

This relationship applies to everything, in all aspects of life. Life will give you back everything you have given to it." Your life is not a coincidence; It is a reflection of you.

Life is a boomerang... you get out what you put in.

slushie
post Feb 9 2010, 01:58 AM

257 posts

"Without sorrow, we will never know what happiness is." (I've already experienced the sorrow, am slowly finding the happiness smile.gif )

Be who you are and say what you feel, because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind ~ Dr. Seuss

TSMayAnne
post Feb 9 2010, 03:17 PM

Faith Hope Love
3,170 posts

When You Feel Small Or Insignificant...

Many years ago I was taking a prayer walk. I lived in the high desert and much sage brush grew. As I was walking I noticed the tiniest flower I had ever seen. Stopping to stand and look over it I spoke outwardly to the flower: "Youre so little and all alone. What are you doing out here where no one can see you?" Just then I heard a still small voice inside of me say: "You see it just as I see you." The next time you feel small or insignificant, remember even the littlest of things are noticed by someone... including God.

~ Rev Dr Ruth Plante ~
winston_light
post Feb 10 2010, 10:27 AM

114 posts

What doesn't kill you just make you stronger
GaminPro
post Feb 13 2010, 08:22 PM

310 posts

QUOTE(hantu77 @ Feb 12 2010, 01:45 AM)
my housing area here..the fella incharge of the security and guards just kena rob
Can yout tll more in detail such as what happen,where.what lost!
Polaris
post Feb 16 2010, 04:05 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

The fastest way to break the cycle of perfectionism and become a fearless is mother is to give up the idea of doing it perfectly - indeed to embrace uncertainty and imperfection.
~ Arianna Huffington

DaiLagann
post Feb 17 2010, 05:16 PM

15 posts

probably near CNY they are stealing money for the reunion dinner
(no offence guys) anywayz its not that safe anymore
DaiLagann
post Feb 17 2010, 05:34 PM

15 posts

QUOTE(MayAnne @ Aug 2 2008, 05:57 PM)
My first story here...
There are two days in every week about which we should not worry.  Two days which should be kept free from fear and apprehension.

One of these days is yesterday, with its mistakes and cares, its faults and blunders, its aches and pains. Yesterday has passed forever beyond our control.  All the money in the world cannot bring back yesterday. We cannot undo a single act we performed.  We cannot erase a single word we said.  Yesterday is gone!!

The other day we should not worry about is tomorrow, with its possible adversities, its burdens, its large promise and poor performance.  Tomorrow is beyond our immediate control.  Tomorrow's sun will rise, whether in splendor or behind a mask of clouds. But it will rise.  Until it does we have no stake in tomorrow, for it is yet unborn.

This leaves only one day: today.

Any man can fight the battles of just one day.  It is when you and I add the burdens of two awful eternities - yesterday and tomorrow, that we break down.

It is not necessarily the experience of today that disturbs one's peace of mind. It is often time the bitterness for something which happened yesterday and the dread of what tomorrow may bring.  Let us therefore live one day at a time.

This is to remind all of us that while we should remember the past and plan and anticipate the future, it is critical that we don’t get paralyzed by either.  By focusing on making the best of the present, we can actually make the past a sweeter learning experience, and make tomorrow’s hopes and dreams closer to reality.

Cheers!  smile.gif
thats like everyday. is that what it means ?? except the prexent where we should try our best ?!?!
haziq152
post Feb 18 2010, 10:43 PM

good example...anyway if u guys have time read my blog at http://haziqtruth.blogspot.com/
room507
post Feb 19 2010, 01:59 AM

hi , im not sure whether this is a crime 'crime' or a big crime. im an ex housemaster in nilai area. the reason ive been moving out to KL is because my housemate is african christian who's got a malay girlfriend moslem. they are staying together not married and have a baby and i heard that they give away the baby to the girlfriend aunty but the fact is the auntie sell the baby to other person OR them sell the baby to auntie. im really not sure about this but now the babys gone. why i know everything, becuase the african use to telling me all the stuff, but since we have an issues and i also moving out, im lack of info. recently the new housemaster telling me the couples always have a fight and worst.

my question is can i report them to the Jabatan Islam Negerisembilan or should i go to police?and how much for take it out the car from the impound?remembering im not a local, im afraid the police will turn it back to me about this stuff. and also now they are threatning me / ugut me, about the car that i lost it one year ago but now the police already found it and its in impound, waiting for the owner to take. its funny they ask 14000RM for kancil '93 or else they might go make a report.i dnt know what kind of report they want to make. but i already told the girl i want replace with a same car, but she refuse it and she tell in me all the crappy lame excuse.

can you guys help me to provide me the info and advice me with smthing that might be useful..thnks

note: the african loves to drink and when drunk beat the girlfriend.

This post has been edited by room507: Feb 19 2010, 02:04 AM
SUSd3m0n
post Feb 19 2010, 04:37 AM

Just A Member
898 posts

Hello all, my little brother and his friends got robbed recently at my housing area. As usual, Mat Rempit. They were riding a white/red Honda EX5 plate number WTJ 2665/2685. They took their phones and wallet but was 'kind' enough to give their IC back. If any of you see this motorcycle with the said plate number anywhere in KL or Selangor do give me a call at 013-8080303 ASAP. Ini orang mau mati ooo.. Thanks guys.

66 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 > » Top

0.0222sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:10 AM