YTL power, Well managed company

TSdarkknight81
post Nov 11 2008, 05:12 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(spriggan @ Nov 11 2008, 06:08 PM)
i will hold untill march. but i know nothing about this stock. just know they will be a sharebuy back... so seek advice from SIFU
If you plan to hold until march then totally forget about this counter... tongue.gif If you tell me you are going to hold it for more then 5 years then we can discuss lol....This is 99% non trading stock unless you are broker which can have 4 - 5 sen gain every day and earn the commision.

spriggan
post Nov 11 2008, 05:15 PM

325 posts

hoho..is better than FD but not for trading...oh i c ...
htt
post Nov 11 2008, 05:15 PM

4,305 posts

QUOTE(spriggan @ Nov 11 2008, 05:08 PM)
i will hold untill march. but i know nothing about this stock. just know they will be a sharebuy back... so seek advice from SIFU
Forget about that then. You might lose to the broker. tongue.gif
TSdarkknight81
post Nov 11 2008, 05:16 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(spriggan @ Nov 11 2008, 06:15 PM)
hoho..is better than FD but not for trading...oh i c ...
If you holding it for long term you probably will get an average of 10% return per year on the cash dividend and bonus shares....
But this is definitely not enough for most of the traders....
spriggan
post Nov 11 2008, 05:19 PM

325 posts

oh. thanks man ! i can recomend this to mine mom.
TSdarkknight81
post Nov 11 2008, 05:21 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(spriggan @ Nov 11 2008, 06:19 PM)
oh. thanks man ! i can recomend this to mine mom.
Yup this is an apek and amar favourite counter tongue.gif
mo_meng
post Nov 11 2008, 05:25 PM

2,646 posts

wow say like tat .. i planning to buy in this stock lea .. but i plan hold for div purpose seem this counter is good in div paying

i tempted to buy in this stock but the stock price really not down or even up alot .. so should i buy in some now?
spriggan
post Nov 11 2008, 05:26 PM

325 posts

yeah la. mine mom put FD also 3 something might as well buy this share. haha
jasontoh
post Nov 11 2008, 10:42 PM

8,447 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 11 2008, 05:16 PM)
If you holding it for long term you probably will get an average of 10% return per year on the cash dividend and bonus shares....
Based on the price currently...what is the DY? I've plan to re-buy this counter
SKY 1809
post Nov 11 2008, 10:46 PM

23,851 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 11 2008, 05:16 PM)
10% for long term is very good. Rule of 72. Double up in 7.2 years thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by SKY 1809: Nov 11 2008, 11:03 PM
TSdarkknight81
post Nov 11 2008, 11:08 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

Just received YTL power 2008 annual report today. biggrin.gif

2008 2007

REVENUE 4.24 BILLION 4.07 BILLION

PROFIT BEFORE TAX 1.385 BILLION 1.296 BILLION

PROFIT AFTER TAX 1.038 BILLION 1.175 BILLION

DIVIDEND PER SHARE 12.5 SEN 17.5 SEN

NET ASSET PER SHARE 1.21 1.18

From here we can see there is increase in revenue and profit before tax ....

But we can see that profit after tax has decreased....I suspect is due to

1. IPP WINDFALL TAX

2. DEPRECIATION OF POUND STERLING.

Taxation for 2008 = RM 34.68 MLLIION

Taxation for 2007 = RM 12 MILLION

Rising 289 % in taxation !!!

This post has been edited by darkknight81: Nov 11 2008, 11:30 PM
TSdarkknight81
post Nov 11 2008, 11:20 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(jasontoh @ Nov 11 2008, 11:42 PM)
Based on the price currently...what is the DY? I've plan to re-buy this counter
Previous year DPS

2008 12.5 SEN

2007 17.5 SEN

2006 10 SEN

2005 10 SEN

All i have mentioned above are cash dividend...

Where as for bonus share distribution records are:

2005 1/25 bonus share redistribution

2007 1/25 bonus share redistribution

2008 1/40 bonus share redistribution.

For year 2008, let say the average price for YTL power = RM 1.90

1/40 BONUS SHARES = RM 0.0475 SEN PER SHARE

Plus 12.5 sen dividend = RM 0.17.25 SEN

Which equivalent to dividend yield of almost 10%

rayloo
post Nov 12 2008, 07:27 AM

467 posts

Year 2006 no bonus share ?
calmwater
post Nov 12 2008, 10:35 AM

391 posts

QUOTE(darkknight81 @ Nov 11 2008, 11:08 AM)
Just received YTL power 2008 annual report today.  biggrin.gif
                                            2008                            2007

REVENUE                          4.24 BILLION                  4.07 BILLION

PROFIT BEFORE TAX          1.385 BILLION                1.296 BILLION

PROFIT AFTER TAX            1.038 BILLION                1.175 BILLION

DIVIDEND PER SHARE        12.5 SEN                        17.5 SEN

NET ASSET PER SHARE        1.21                              1.18

From here we can see there is increase in revenue and profit before tax ....

But we can see that profit after tax has decreased....I suspect is due to

1. IPP WINDFALL TAX

2. DEPRECIATION OF POUND STERLING.
Taxation for 2008 = RM 34.68 MLLIION

Taxation for 2007 = RM  12 MILLION

Rising 289 % in taxation !!!
For 2007 Profit before tax - profit after tax is 1.296 Billion - 1.175 Billion = 121 Million.

For 2008 Profit before tax - profit after tax is 1.385 Billion - 1.038 Billion = 347 Million.

That 347 Million lost to whatever is a lot of difference from the 121 Million for 2007.

2008 profits are about 15% less than 2007 profits even though the revenue was up by about 7%.

IPP WINDFALL TAX if it was about $100 Million ( I doubt it is this much but assuming it is ), still shows that the adjustment for Pound depreciation is quite a lot.

As ytlpower is down about 20% from it's expected price - from $2.20 to presently at $1.74

The share price is showing the effects of this lower profits. So it is not just the weaker market but this counter is

being affected by the factors mentioned above.

Going forward have to keep an eye on Pound as it is still going down. Presently 1 to 5.6 conversion rate. Just one

month ago was 1 to 6.2 All this is due to their falling interest rates which are expected to be cut some more in

coming months to ward off poor economy.

For long term hold the price now looks attractive.

TSdarkknight81
post Nov 12 2008, 12:43 PM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(calmwater @ Nov 12 2008, 11:35 AM)
For 2007 Profit before tax - profit after tax is 1.296 Billion - 1.175 Billion = 121 Million.

For 2008 Profit before tax - profit after tax is 1.385 Billion - 1.038 Billion = 347 Million.
That 347 Million lost to whatever is a lot of difference from the 121 Million for 2007.

2008 profits are about 15% less than 2007 profits even though the revenue was up by about 7%.

IPP WINDFALL TAX if it was about $100 Million ( I doubt it is this much but assuming it is ), still shows that the adjustment for Pound depreciation is quite a lot.

As ytlpower is down about 20% from it's expected price - from $2.20 to presently at $1.74

The share price is showing the effects of this lower profits. So it is not just the weaker market but this counter is

being affected by the factors mentioned above.

Going forward have to keep an eye on Pound as it is still going down. Presently 1 to 5.6 conversion rate. Just one

month ago was 1 to 6.2  All this is due to their falling interest rates which are expected to be cut some more in

coming months to ward off poor economy.

For long term hold the price now looks attractive.
Yup current price can buy and hold at the same time you can have dividend.

I would say holding the mother share is better compare to warrant as you still have income from the dividend.

This post has been edited by darkknight81: Nov 12 2008, 12:44 PM
calmwater
post Nov 13 2008, 03:28 AM

391 posts

British Pound has been struck by a virus!!!

Yesterday, 1 Pound = 5.6 Ringgit

Today, 1 Pound = 5.38 Ringgit

TSdarkknight81
post Nov 13 2008, 08:19 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

The pound is down 22% against the dollar and about 11% against the euro this year. It closed Tuesday at $1.5388, its lowest in more than six years and down from a peak of $2.1160 last November. The last time the pound fell at this speed, in 1992, it helped the U.K. claw its way out of recession as the country's goods became more competitive abroad.

This time, the U.K. economy isn't yet seeing a benefit and may not see a significant gain. Usually, a falling currency helps exporters who can then juice a country's economy, helping through a downturn. But since 1992, the U.K. economy has moved more into exporting goods and services that are less price-sensitive, such as pharmaceuticals and creative industries such as music and book publishing.

Slowdowns in the economies of Britain's main trading partners, the European Union and U.S., mean they are less likely to increase consumption of British-made goods. And many exporters that might sell more goods can't get financing to expand production, with banks cutting back lending amid the credit crisis.

"It's only likely from 2010, when the global economy picks up, that we will really see the benefits from the fall of sterling," says Jamie Dannhauser, an economist at Lombard Street Research in London.

Prime Minister Gordon Brown said Tuesday that the government will take steps to boost the flagging U.K. economy, with details to be announced later this month. The plan is expected to include tax cuts and accelerated government-spending projects, people familiar with the matter say.

U.K. government figures on Tuesday showed exports of traded goods, excluding oil, rose by just 2% in September from August. That is an improvement over the decline of 5% in August from July, but export growth for this year is roughly flat.

October's manufacturing purchasing managers survey showed export orders contracting at the fastest rate in seven years. Exports make up about 40% of the U.K.'s annual gross domestic product; manufacturing is about 15%.

To be sure, some companies are seeing gains when they convert sales earned in dollars, euros and yen back into pounds. Advertising giant WPP Group PLC recently posted a 16% gain in third-quarter revenue, but stripping out currency effects and acquisitions, revenue was up just 3%. Drug giant GlaxoSmithKline PLC also reported a big earnings boost from the pound's fall.

But exporters haven't been using the fall in currency to lower their prices in an attempt to win market share, says Malcolm Barr, U.K. economist at J.P. Morgan in London. Instead they are just booking the extra profit, Mr. Barr says. Companies want to boost profitability at a time when high inflation has been eroding it, he says.

Meanwhile, the U.K. is producing fewer goods and services that are particularly price-sensitive than in the past. In the past decade, exports of electrical machinery, which competes with rivals from lower-cost countries, have fallen by over £10 billion to £24.2 billion ($37.8 billion) last year. By contrast, exports of less price-sensitive pharmaceutical chemicals have almost tripled to £14.5 billion last year, according to government figures.

Sterling's big gyrations recently also have made it harder for businesses to plan or hedge. Walkers Shortbread Ltd., in the Scottish Highlands, shipped a large part of its yearly inventory of cookies to the U.S. over the summer, before the pound fell sharply, so it isn't seeing a big benefit yet. About 30% of the company's costs are in other currencies, so those costs are now higher compared with the pound.

"There's not so much benefit when it is up and down like a yo-yo," said James Walker, a managing director.

Paul Hooper of Alumasc Group PLC estimates the pound's falls could cost his company £500,000 to £700,000 this year on expected revenues of about £126 million, unless it makes up the shortfall elsewhere. The engineering and building products company manufactures in the U.K. but also imports some products and parts from abroad -- and those costs are rising, Mr. Hooper says.

—Gary Stride contributed

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB1226440919...=googlenews_wsj

calmwater
post Nov 13 2008, 09:36 AM

391 posts

I wonder how low it may go? Another 10%? or 20%?

If ytlpower follows the decline, it may go down to about $1.50 ??

Not good lah. Even good company can get whacked in the short to

medium term.

Have to be soooooooo patient. Yaaaaaaaaawn.

mo_meng
post Nov 13 2008, 09:39 AM

2,646 posts

patient ..
TSdarkknight81
post Nov 13 2008, 10:18 AM

$$$$$$$$$$
3,944 posts

QUOTE(calmwater @ Nov 13 2008, 10:36 AM)
I wonder how low it may go? Another 10%? or 20%?

If ytlpower follows the decline, it may go down to about $1.50 ??

Not good lah. Even good company can get whacked in the short to

medium term.

Have to be soooooooo patient. Yaaaaaaaaawn.
As long as i can get cash dividend + bonus share dividend between 5 - 10 % i am happy with that. tongue.gif The moment i bought in my 360 lots of ytl power i am prepare to hold for at least 5 years already. biggrin.gif

126 Pages « < 19 20 21 22 23 > » Top

0.0202sec    1.27    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 11:24 PM