35 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Bottom

RPM reading @ 110km/h, survey

imperialrealcs
post Aug 1 2008, 06:40 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

to all the pro, im a little dumb to comprehend all the super word here lol laugh.gif
so would like to ask..
if ori 13" rim can cover 1m per revolution
so a 15" can cover 1.15m per revolution correct?
that means in actual speed, taking 13" as relative figure
100km/h in 13" = 115km/h in 15" but the meter in 15" still showing 100km/h?
please dont bother about the actual figure, juz a sample
heavencloud
post Aug 1 2008, 06:41 PM

346 posts

my iswara clocked 110kmh at 3.5k rpm sad.gif
sleepwalker
post Aug 1 2008, 06:46 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(alkt @ Aug 1 2008, 06:15 PM)
doh.gif
tonight how?

my car is 110km/h at 3100 rpm sad.gif
Tonight not free leh....

My car is 110km/h at 2700 rpm. tongue.gif

Added on August 1, 2008, 6:51 pm
QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Aug 1 2008, 06:40 PM)
to all the pro, im a little dumb to comprehend all the super word here lol laugh.gif
so would like to ask..
Again, you are thinking about tyre. Speedometer takes the reading from gearbox, not the tyre. To the speedometer, your tyre only turned 1 revolution. It does not car how far you traveled because the calculation has been set by the manufacture to take the revolution of the tyre and calculate based on a preset of formula done by the manufacturer.

That is why when you change to a tyre that does not match your OEM overall diameter (OD), then your speedometer will no longer as accurate. The speedo will still show you the same speed (number of tyre revolutions still same) but you are traveling faster (if you have bigger tyres).

Understand now?

Edited: Going to use your formula..

-Correct but it is still 1 revolution of the tyre.

-Correct because if it took 100 revolutions to reach 100km/h in 13 inch, it also takes 100 revolutions to reach 115km/h in 15".
-Your speedo is based on the 100 revolutions and not the distance.

-Understand now? (Ignore figures.. ahahha)

This post has been edited by sleepwalker: Aug 1 2008, 06:56 PM
wb4j
post Aug 1 2008, 07:00 PM

443 posts

honda civic eg 1.6L Auto - 3100rpm @ 110km/h
b00n
post Aug 1 2008, 07:01 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Aug 1 2008, 06:40 PM)
so would like to ask..

Too keep it simple....yes your assumption is correct.
It is advisable for those that changes their rim size to re-calibrate their speedo. But obviously who wants to go through that hassle.
Also, lack of equipment to do that too.

imperialrealcs
post Aug 1 2008, 07:26 PM

IMPERIAL DEATH STAR!
6,724 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Aug 1 2008, 07:01 PM)
Too keep it simple....yes your assumption is correct.
It is advisable for those that changes their rim size to re-calibrate their speedo. But obviously who wants to go through that hassle.
Also, lack of equipment to do that too.
so where can i 're-calibrate' my speedo?
i changed to 4G92 MIVEC halfcut from Mirage Cyborg (or is it ASTI?)
anybody know what is the ori rim size?
sleepwalker
post Aug 1 2008, 07:35 PM

Need sleep....
5,568 posts

QUOTE(imperialrealcs @ Aug 1 2008, 07:26 PM)
so where can i 're-calibrate' my speedo?
i changed to 4G92 MIVEC halfcut from Mirage Cyborg (or is it ASTI?)
anybody know what is the ori rim size?
The difference would be so small that it would not matter. Furthermore, most Proton cars are based on the pre 96 Mitsu's and most likely use the similar tyre sizes. Even if there is a difference, it would be in the region of 1 to 2 percent. Not worth the effort.
! Love Money
post Aug 1 2008, 07:44 PM

permanently unavailable
Validating
2,073 posts

QUOTE(invisiblelim @ Aug 1 2008, 10:11 AM)
i wanna ask.. i driving Kancil 850 Auto, RPM is maintain 3k when i was on 80km/h, is count normal or got problem? full tank RM60, can only go for 200+ km, count as normal??
try adjust the caburator setting such as AFR... recently after adjusted my full tank RM50 can go 350km++ rclxms.gif
but my kancil is 660cc manual tranny installed with 14" rim, so at 110km/h is 4.2krpm
since bought new car, my kancil never cruising highway anymore lo
persona 110km/h @ 3.2krpm shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by ! Love Money: Aug 1 2008, 07:47 PM
xxboxx
post Aug 1 2008, 08:26 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Aug 1 2008, 09:12 AM)
Hi all. Is it true that the lower the rpm reading, the better of the car's fc?

Currently I'm driving a b14 sentra '97(A).
RPM = 2700 @ 110km/h
The FC is around 11-13km /l

I'm interested to know others car like toyota seg 1.6, myvi 1.3, toyota vios, city idsi, hyundai getz 1.4. Both auto and manual............
others model are welcome also, thanks.

your main interest is in the fuel consumption rite?
the lower the RPM, the better the fuel consumption. only true when you're cruising and maintaining the same pressure on the accelerator.

but lets say (for Auto) you're driving at the lowest RPM with the lightest pressure on the accelerator, the gearbox might not change to the final gear, thus you're wasting petrol because slower when compare to final gear speed at the same RPM.

and for Manual, because of the assumption that lower RPM gives better FC, you might change gear too early and thus need to have higher pressure on the accelerator to build more momentum, which lead to wasting petrol.

basically to get lowest FC, is to get the optimum pressure on the accelerator vs the RPM speed.
but this is my theory lar. tongue.gif
correct me if i'm wrong.
sphiroth
post Aug 1 2008, 08:35 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(xxboxx @ Aug 1 2008, 08:26 PM)
your main interest is in the fuel consumption rite?
the lower the RPM, the better the fuel consumption. only true when you're cruising and maintaining the same pressure on the accelerator.

but lets say (for Auto) you're driving at the lowest RPM with the lightest pressure on the accelerator, the gearbox might not change to the final gear, thus you're wasting petrol because slower when compare to final gear speed at the same RPM.

and for Manual, because of the assumption that lower RPM gives better FC, you might change gear too early and thus need to have higher pressure on the accelerator to build more momentum, which lead to wasting petrol.
basically to get lowest FC, is to get the optimum pressure on the accelerator vs the RPM speed.
but this is my theory lar. tongue.gif
correct me if i'm wrong.
I also don't think lower rpm=lower FC. Using proper gear and throttle control is. Last time my car got vacumm meter, I can easily see how much I depressed the gas pedal. if I'm doing 50km/h, I use 4th gear.
fir3f0x
post Aug 1 2008, 08:38 PM

447 posts

i usually onli go to max 2.5k rpm.
shift2
post Aug 1 2008, 09:49 PM

412 posts

my car oso 2700 rpm @11km/h
calvin_9370
post Aug 2 2008, 07:23 PM

erm...my civic ej6 b16a manual 4k rpm at 110kmh..but last time auto reach 3k at 110kmh....so manual sux?????
awetan
post Aug 2 2008, 07:29 PM

319 posts

camry 2.4L (08) -after settle down to final gear: 2100 rpm @ 110 km/h

anyone driving accord / mazda 6 care to share similar info?
sphiroth
post Aug 2 2008, 07:31 PM

2,804 posts

QUOTE(calvin_9370 @ Aug 2 2008, 07:23 PM)
erm...my civic ej6 b16a manual 4k rpm at 110kmh..but last time auto reach 3k at 110kmh....so manual sux?????
AT and MT uses different gear ratios. Ratios is all about compromise, you may get lower rpm in the top end but at the expense of the low end.
ben83
post Aug 2 2008, 09:11 PM

IT & GADGETS ELITE SPECIALIST
1,602 posts

Civic FD 1.8, 110 km/h @ 2.1k rpm
eastwest
post Aug 2 2008, 10:52 PM

1,608 posts

QUOTE(shift2 @ Aug 1 2008, 09:49 PM)
Wow, what a number. tongue.gif
popnyat
post Aug 3 2008, 03:02 AM

28 posts

QUOTE(shift2 @ Aug 1 2008, 09:49 PM)
thats fast dude.. 1st gear eh? laugh.gif
AHBOON
post Aug 3 2008, 03:05 AM

1,278 posts

QUOTE(joanalooidog @ Aug 1 2008, 09:12 AM)
Hi all. Is it true that the lower the rpm reading, the better of the car's fc?

Currently I'm driving a b14 sentra '97(A).
RPM = 2700 @ 110km/h
The FC is around 11-13km /l

I'm interested to know others car like toyota seg 1.6, myvi 1.3, toyota vios, city idsi, hyundai getz 1.4. Both auto and manual............
others model are welcome also, thanks.
ur fc are soo safe?wat did u mod btw?
my rpm for kelisa is 3k plus when reach 110km/h cry.gif
Oly
post Aug 3 2008, 03:11 AM

Permanent Banned
3,827 posts

proton wira...3.7k rpm...sweat.gif

35 Pages « < 4 5 6 7 8 > » Top

0.0232sec    0.78    6 queries    GZIP Disabled