QUOTE(pspfan @ Jan 19 2009, 09:00 AM)
guys im considering a compact and i cant decide bt the LX3 and also the FX150. can someone pls help 
thks
if u ask here sure get LX3 as answer thks
if u never shoot indoor or at nite, then can consider fx150
Photography Panasonic LX-3 King of the King of digicam Updated, LEICAF2.0,1/1.63 sensor,24mm,HD,hotshoe
Jan 19 2009, 09:15 AM
7,559 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jan 19 2009, 09:16 AM
2,865 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Jan 19 2009, 09:22 AM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Jan 19 2009, 02:19 AM) I thought somebody here said that Pan will announce the successor to this camera. Now I just know that this camera is 3 months old. Okay, I shall not wait then. I'm struggling between the Sony alpha and LX3 now. alpha no a good choice. with the kitlens ,very bad for indoor / low light.alpha high iso is very poor compared to its rivals. and sony dun have a cheap fast lens. 2nd hand minolta 50mm f/1.7 would cost Rm500 edi. ( and u might get prob with old lens, as i did canon brand new 50mm f/1.8 only RM300 and sony service is damn sux. send my cam to fix front-focus probl also they can't solve. if size doesn't matter, suggest u get canon 1000d instead of LX3 |
Jan 19 2009, 09:46 AM
437 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
hi guys, newbie in camera stuff here..planning to get a camera this week (b4 CNY) .actually already set my mind to get the canon IXUS 870IS for RM1200 (current price)....somehow go through this forum n heard LX3 n G10 had some good reviews...i m not a professional or hardcore photographer, just need a clear camera for my upcoming trip in Feb, do u guys think i should stick back with my 870IS or fork out roughly RM550 more to get the LX3/G10
i just need some normal shooting on the scenary...does that LX3/G10 provide some really good features compare to the 870IS? thx |
Jan 19 2009, 09:57 AM
QUOTE(ccc8910 @ Jan 19 2009, 09:46 AM) hi guys, newbie in camera stuff here..planning to get a camera this week (b4 CNY) .actually already set my mind to get the canon IXUS 870IS for RM1200 (current price)....somehow go through this forum n heard LX3 n G10 had some good reviews...i m not a professional or hardcore photographer, just need a clear camera for my upcoming trip in Feb, do u guys think i should stick back with my 870IS or fork out roughly RM550 more to get the LX3/G10 if u only shoot outdoor (day light) 870is is sufficient.i just need some normal shooting on the scenary...does that LX3/G10 provide some really good features compare to the 870IS? thx with LX3 & G10, u get much better image for indoor/low light. |
Jan 19 2009, 10:24 AM
680 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Klang, Malaysia |
guys, know where can i get the Ricoh LC-1 lens cap?
other than yamiya? This post has been edited by kiawin: Jan 19 2009, 10:30 AM |
Jan 19 2009, 12:40 PM
3,749 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Johor |
QUOTE(daruma @ Jan 19 2009, 09:22 AM) alpha no a good choice. with the kitlens ,very bad for indoor / low light. Hey Daruma, thanks for the advice. So, is Sony high end camera good? Is 1000D definitely a winner over the LX3 in every aspects except size and weight? alpha high iso is very poor compared to its rivals. and sony dun have a cheap fast lens. 2nd hand minolta 50mm f/1.7 would cost Rm500 edi. ( and u might get prob with old lens, as i did canon brand new 50mm f/1.8 only RM300 and sony service is damn sux. send my cam to fix front-focus probl also they can't solve. if size doesn't matter, suggest u get canon 1000d instead of LX3 Regards. |
Jan 19 2009, 12:57 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Jan 19 2009, 12:40 PM) Hey Daruma, thanks for the advice. So, is Sony high end camera good? Is 1000D definitely a winner over the LX3 in every aspects except size and weight? image quality sure 1000d better. but LX3 is more user friendly. got many modes for newbies.such as better liveview and face detection, intelligent Auto ( auto scene) Regards. |
Jan 19 2009, 01:59 PM
516 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
just ordered my lx3 from iambloodysick
Jan 19 2009, 02:13 PM
630 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Jan 19 2009, 02:19 AM) I thought somebody here said that Pan will announce the successor to this camera. Now I just know that this camera is 3 months old. Okay, I shall not wait then. I'm struggling between the Sony alpha and LX3 now. QUOTE(hellfire8888 @ Jan 19 2009, 08:13 AM) i shall wait till march then.. the new mFT in a much reduce size body.. and also the next FUJI EXR sensor. Please remember that LX-3 is a copy of Leica D-Lux-4. It's not like Panasonic doesn't want to release a successor. Unless Leica announce D-Lux-5, don't put your expectation on LX-4. We still don't know what package mFT (G1, anyone?) and Fuji EXR comes with. QUOTE(daruma @ Jan 19 2009, 12:57 PM) image quality sure 1000d better. but LX3 is more user friendly. got many modes for newbies.such as better liveview and face detection, intelligent Auto ( auto scene) For quality, 1000d is much superior than LX3. If you are looking for all-occasion camera, especially for people and action, better take LX3. You definitely won't want to miss those candid moment. This post has been edited by Aurora: Jan 19 2009, 02:16 PM |
Jan 19 2009, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(Aurora @ Jan 19 2009, 02:13 PM) Please remember that LX-3 is a copy of Leica D-Lux-4. It's not like Panasonic doesn't want to release a successor. Unless Leica announce D-Lux-5, don't put your expectation on LX-4. We still don't know what package mFT (G1, anyone?) and Fuji EXR comes with. but lx3 comes out before d-lux 4 wor For quality, 1000d is much superior than LX3. If you are looking for all-occasion camera, especially for people and action, better take LX3. You definitely won't want to miss those candid moment. |
Jan 19 2009, 06:08 PM
Really? Anyway, it doesn't really matter, does it? The blueprint still come from the master.
Jan 19 2009, 07:34 PM
70 posts Joined: Jan 2006 From: ¯\(°_o)/¯ |
LX3 have new Firmware update at
http://panasonic.jp/support/global/cs/dsc/.../LX3/index.html now it is V1.2 Firmware Article from: http://www.dpreview.com/news/0901/09011604...mwareupdate.asp Jan 16th 2009 Panasonic has released a firmware update for the Lumix DMC-LX3 digital compact camera. With version 1.2, the EXIF data is correctly displayed on all JPEG files. It also improves the white balance in flash mode when connected to the DMW-FL220 flash unit. Furthermore, the shutter speed is now correctly set while the image stabilization is turned on in the Intelligent Auto and Scene mode |
Jan 19 2009, 10:15 PM
105 posts Joined: Apr 2006 From: Penang-Perth |
i just got a black color unit for 1620RM(4gb+case) yesterday and updated to 1.2 as well, now still playing around with it haha. Btw, anyone has any recommendation for the case for it ? seriously need a replacement for the cheapo looking lumix case.. Anyone ?
Jan 19 2009, 11:44 PM
437 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Petaling Jaya |
yuren..mind if i asking where u bought it....i gona get 1 by this week but still duno which shop to go...i saw TS posted some info "Rm 1550(with 4 gig pana card)"..tq
Jan 20 2009, 02:55 AM
3,749 posts Joined: Jan 2005 From: Johor |
QUOTE(Aurora @ Jan 19 2009, 02:13 PM) Please remember that LX-3 is a copy of Leica D-Lux-4. It's not like Panasonic doesn't want to release a successor. Unless Leica announce D-Lux-5, don't put your expectation on LX-4. We still don't know what package mFT (G1, anyone?) and Fuji EXR comes with. Hmm.. The obstacle is that I also want a camera to be capable to attach to a telescope. I think I shall get the LX3 with a dedicated TEC cooled CCD camera for my astrophotography purpose. I am a bit closer to LX3 now. HahaFor quality, 1000d is much superior than LX3. If you are looking for all-occasion camera, especially for people and action, better take LX3. You definitely won't want to miss those candid moment. Does anyone think that the price is going to be lower before CNY or after CNY? |
Jan 20 2009, 10:34 AM
598 posts Joined: Oct 2008 |
QUOTE(yuren09 @ Jan 19 2009, 11:15 PM) i just got a black color unit for 1620RM(4gb+case) yesterday and updated to 1.2 as well, now still playing around with it haha. Btw, anyone has any recommendation for the case for it ? seriously need a replacement for the cheapo looking lumix case.. Anyone ? I pinjam my bro's Crumpler the Bundle medium sized one. It fits in just nice. If want something abit bigger can try the large Bundle, or Lowepro 50.Must return my bro's case so need to get one for my own, so if anyone know the price of Crumplers and where to get i'd be grateful! |
Jan 20 2009, 12:01 PM
69 posts Joined: Nov 2008 |
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Jan 20 2009, 02:55 AM) Hmm.. The obstacle is that I also want a camera to be capable to attach to a telescope. I think I shall get the LX3 with a dedicated TEC cooled CCD camera for my astrophotography purpose. I am a bit closer to LX3 now. Haha i don't think the price is gonna change much, for this current price getting a semi pro camera it's really worth it.Does anyone think that the price is going to be lower before CNY or after CNY? well, the sooner u get ur camera, u will have better chances/excuses to use it. Since CNY is coming, u may test shoot or shoot with great memories.. Been seeing you wanting to buy this camera since nov anyway. |
Jan 20 2009, 02:26 PM
QUOTE(Mr.LKM @ Jan 20 2009, 02:55 AM) Hmm.. The obstacle is that I also want a camera to be capable to attach to a telescope. I think I shall get the LX3 with a dedicated TEC cooled CCD camera for my astrophotography purpose. I am a bit closer to LX3 now. Haha I saw that you already have a set of astronomy camera? Try getting a smaller lense camera if you want to attached to your telescope. Or you may need to do some hard modding and machining your owned adaptor.Does anyone think that the price is going to be lower before CNY or after CNY? |
Jan 20 2009, 03:26 PM
202 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
You guys really poison me kau kau until I bought the LX3. Thanks!!!
Pls add me to the list of LX3 owners Location: Selangor LX3 color: Black |
| Change to: | 0.0280sec
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 07:32 AM |