post May 13 2009, 01:11 AM

4,716 posts

QUOTE(ahjames @ May 12 2009, 09:02 AM)
stay renaissance is best thumbup.gif

very comfort on the executive deluxe room, oni rm330++
executive room is only RM300 at Malacca Straits rclxms.gif

Added on May 13, 2009, 1:13 am
QUOTE(ellekaypee @ Apr 10 2009, 12:12 PM)
here u go hope that it helps:
breakfast-beef/pork rib mee'pai gu mee' at bachang(famous taiwanese noodle)
                or
              - yong tau fu at bukit cina near round about traffic light beside yoke yew food court (i love the fishball and ' fried fu pei')
                or
            - 'hee kiau' mee i think i prefer the one in 'wang jiau'wang food court beside continetal hotel or opposite gov. klinik pergigian melaka;the     
              name of the  stall is "di 3 tai" (3rd generation) *i like it because not that oily
              or
            -bak kut teh (soon huat bak kut teh) in melaka raya is at the back street of a car showroom( cant remember wat car showroom d);a lot
              of choices(pork ribs/pork parts/ trotter/fish soup..etc) but i like the fish soup.
              or
            - duck noodle at tengkera before sampan bistro or can go for the duck noodle at bukit beruang a coner coffee shop
                next to it is a  photo  shop
                or
              - roti canai at bukit beruang ( a malay stall under the bukit;corner) if from the direction of mbmb office/jusco then the shop will b on ur left
                it is slightly opposite a school.The roti is garing and with asam pedas sauce.

Lunch- Chicken rice ball (dun really fancy it coz im a malaccan i still prefer ordinary chicken rice ) famous in jongker with ah xian picture there but
          u can oso go to their another branch in melaka raya opposite public bank.Try their assam fish.
          or
          -Aunty Lee Nyonya food in ujong pasir.The best in town. More like home cook style.Must try their ikan chili garam,pongteh,ommelete with
          cincalok, itik tim,cendol...etc. must call for reservation normally full house(open for dinner too)
            or
          - wok and pan (western+peranakan+chinese cusine) variety of choices.near dataran pahlawan.exact location plaza mahkota (open for lunch n dinner)
          or
          -pork satay in plaza mahkota .Ming satay house
          or
          - mee siam/nyonya laksa/tau kuah/cendol...etc (near jongker) the shop down stair sell pimeapple tarts & cendol updstairs sell mee siam/
            laksa etc. is at the back street of heeren guest house/heeren street hotel o something like dat.Is at the other end of it and at the back
          street
Dinner- Protugese sentlement in ujong pasir  (i prefer 1st stall sea farer if im not mistaken price reasonable)
          Or
          -Umbai ikan bakar (a bit out of town). malay stalls
          Or
          -ikan bakar/western food at bert in klebang (environment is nice still can have sea view but soon gonna b reclam land too). price
          will b a bit more expensive
          or
          - jongker hawker food( asam laksa,nyonya laksa,cendol,chicken rice ball,fried carrot cake etc ) fri,sat n sun nite only
          or
        - asam pedas beside pasar borong. a chinese stall ,the asam pedas is cook in claypot .i think is the best in town
          or
      - pohpiah in front madam king or near renaissance hotel; branch in newton food court opposite dataran pahlawan/menara taming sari
          or
        -nasi lemak ujong pasir(malay stall got sell satay too) is a coffee shop somewhere opposite the junction to protugese sentlement
          or
        -satay celup(ong kim wee street)
This is wat i can think of. some of them is my favourite. but dun come during public holidays.
u might need 2 squeeze like sardin and need 2 que for very long.
due to that the cook will cook in a hurry and the food will not taste good as well.
this is wat i think. tongue.gif
you forget to add in Oh Chien nearby before that Popiah near Madam King's there...the best!

This post has been edited by beck_ken: May 13 2009, 01:13 AM
beck_ken
post Nov 5 2009, 01:18 AM

4,716 posts

been to Melaka almost every CNY.

so any more nice foods (that is not famous because of being publish by eatery books and local eat show) to intro for a one day eating trip?

beck_ken
post Nov 5 2009, 04:49 PM

4,716 posts

any Chinese foods will do.

not only CNY, sometimes normally weekend will go there spend a night walking around there with my gf

well, I can said I only tried those famous one that appeared in the cookery books and appear in the tv before but any foods beyond book and tv show, i never really try before.

well...these are the things I tried before:

1. Chiken rice ball (no need to say, every shop at Jonker Street I tried before..so far the best one for me is the one at the entrance of Jonker Street with Ah Xian cupboard standing there, forget the name)

2. Satay Celup (few shops but the one near Lorong Bukit Cina one so far in my top list..Capitol if not mistaken)

3. Oh Jian (tried few stalls but the one near Bunga Raya is my top list.)

4. Sotong bakar (yao yu), siham etc etc (of course tried the one near Bunga Raya too)

5. Poppiah (of course so far the best for me is the one infront of Mdm King's Store)

6. wan tan mee (one of the shop lot behind jonker street, Jln Tun Tan Cheng Lock if not mistaken...not so special about it)

7. breakfast at Juat Lye coffee shop before too. Haha, this one near industry area around Tesco, tried their coffee, curry mee and prawn mee..nothing special also

please recommend some that is nice

Added on November 5, 2009, 4:50 pm
QUOTE(mars1069 @ Nov 5 2009, 04:31 PM)
ya, dun come during CNY coz everything charge extra, not worth. come after CNY then u can save some money & not so crowded.
usually we don't go restaurant. Just jalan jalan makan makan

This post has been edited by beck_ken: Nov 5 2009, 04:50 PM
beck_ken
post Nov 5 2009, 05:11 PM

4,716 posts

cuz all i follow the cookery books. that's why i need LOCAL Malacca people for help.... don't lar face palm me tongue.gif

recommend the good place for those wrong one and the location, next round I go I will try it. That's the purpose of jalan jalan cari makan with my gf. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by beck_ken: Nov 5 2009, 05:13 PM
beck_ken
post Nov 5 2009, 09:53 PM

4,716 posts

no one give full recommendation for me where to eat the correct foods that I ate at the wrong places
beck_ken
post Nov 5 2009, 11:14 PM

4,716 posts

melaka baru...where is it?

what's the name of the stall?

Added on November 5, 2009, 11:16 pm
QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Nov 5 2009, 11:07 PM)
fenix inn area there has many hotels...feel no worry about it... even equatorial hotel around there
yes, if Equatorial full...drive further down abit...Malacca Strait is there for u. Last time me go on Hari Raya..all hotel full except this. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by beck_ken: Nov 5 2009, 11:16 PM
beck_ken
post Nov 6 2009, 04:48 PM

4,716 posts

QUOTE(soonlee33 @ Nov 6 2009, 12:13 AM)
lol dat hotel previously was a hospital
haha
are u thinking wad im thinking?
lol
oh, really?

stay there for quite some times, didn't encountered anything unusual
beck_ken
post May 25 2010, 05:35 PM

4,716 posts

I'm going to Melaka wih friends this coming friday! I've been to Melaka like almost every year but every year also eat the same old things. This coming trip is a day trip and we plan to drop by Jalan-jalan then makan makan. I want to ask to fellow malaccans to tell me any good places to eat beside those already famous plus pack with tourist food stalls? I mean for example chicken rice ball, tourists come to melaka sure go to that particular shop that already famous and q up like mad, I'm sure there's other stall that is nice and not pack with ppl but only local Melaka ppl will know.

My day trip plan is reach Melaka before 9, take breakfast then jalan jalan around then eat then walk till evening we will headed back to kl. So please share to
me any good and nice foods to eat beside those already famous that pack with ppl. If can please provide the locations

beck_ken
post May 26 2010, 04:57 PM

4,716 posts

QUOTE(akihiko2 @ May 26 2010, 04:03 PM)
wouldnt there be a very bad traffic tis coming friday, since its wesak??
I know Melaka trend already. If you manage to go in Melaka town before 10am, then you won't facing any jam cuz usually it will start crowded and jam after 10am

0.0424sec    0.77    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 10:34 PM