ozak
post Jul 7 2010, 09:55 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(denhock @ Jul 2 2010, 10:00 AM)
did u open port 837 at your router

Note: for off-site backups, the following ports need to be opened  on the remote DiskStation ( both party)

* 873 = Data Channel
    * 22 = Encryption Channel, if used

about the server name or IP: you can

1) servername.xxx.xxx
or
2) WAN IP for the remote DS.

u can try to use the WAN IP of the remote DS first and if work than u try the servername.xxx.xxx
BTW, did u set any rule in Firewall ( in the DS) ? if yes, please enable the access right for the network backup as well as remote backup.

Thanks for the feedback. smile.gif

I was able to backup the file to my home NAS from office. But haven't try it out from home to office. It seems like the problem is from the open port 873 or 22 in the router. Both router party have been port open with this 2 no. No error so far.

Damn why the manual didn't mention about this port open. rclxub.gif
ozak
post Jul 30 2010, 01:05 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jul 30 2010, 11:24 AM)
I plan to get a WD sharespace 4TB this PC fair. Anyone know WD got any promotion this pc fair?
Ain't it expensive with that not much feature?
ozak
post Jul 31 2010, 02:41 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jul 31 2010, 08:33 AM)
WD comes with 4TB which costs around 800 in total. This means the 4 bay raid 5 capable enclosure only costs 1000.

I can't find any 4 bay raid 5 enclosure on market that costs 1k only.

For the software part, I use openVPN to connect to servers in US/cyberjaya/etc to do my bt download and I going setup an atom PC to handle that.
I am also going to setup at DC++ hub to serve file within Malaysia uniFi users.
If someone can tell me an enclosure that has a build in openVPN function with customizability of a PC, I can consider other brands.

Got online review says WD sharespace is SLOW. Maybe I should build an ATOM PC with a RAID controller instead.
Did I read the wrong thing? The WD website state US639.99 = RM2048. hmm.gif

Why don't just get 1 that can handle all which don't need a pc?
ozak
post Jul 31 2010, 09:22 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(yushin @ Jul 31 2010, 04:39 PM)
Compuzone price state RM1800.
Until now I still don know which enclosure can handle bt/download over openVPN without a PC.
What is openVPN? What you need to configure? Can it be configure in router?

Qnap or synology have this feature?
ozak
post Aug 7 2010, 09:27 AM

17,014 posts

Total space is 2.79TB.
ozak
post Aug 7 2010, 02:25 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Aug 7 2010, 12:56 PM)
So, 1 HDD is the redundancy ?
Any 1 of the 4 drive spoil can be replace easily without power off the NAS...
Not sure about that. Anyway, just for safety, power off to change is prefer. It doesn't effect anything.

Added on August 7, 2010, 2:27 pm
QUOTE(zsnipes @ Aug 7 2010, 01:43 PM)
Oh Thanks.
Usually will the rebuilding take more than 30 minutes in a 4 x 1TB HDD setup (RAID-5) ?
I heard sometime take few day. maybe depend on data inside the HDD.

I using 4x2TB HDD raid5. I wonder take how long to rebuild? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by ozak: Aug 7 2010, 02:27 PM
ozak
post Aug 14 2010, 11:49 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(zsnipes @ Aug 11 2010, 11:57 PM)
Thanks. In that case, i think i go for Synology DS411+.

By the way, is there any NAS has USB3.0 now ?

I just went to check the specs for Synology DS411+, is does not has Hot Swappable HDD, but DS1010+ has it.
If no Hot Swappable HDD, in RAID-5, 1 HDD Spoil cannot replace on-the-fly ? How it work RAID-5 if no Hot Swappable HDD ?
Hot swappable and non hotswappable, the HDD still can replace and rebuild.

Is there any advantage beside that?
ozak
post Sep 16 2010, 01:23 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(fenture @ Sep 15 2010, 12:48 PM)
Any nas that can also function as a media centre?  Which I can connect to tv to view directly instead of adding another device to it.

Has anyone tried to hack a notebook to hook 2 hdd to it?  remove optical drive, and connect it w/ another hdd.  Possible?

My need is just simple.  A nas to do raid 1 mirroring, and able to watch movie.
Please read back. They is one brand NAS with player together and can brought from local.

My Dell laptop have this feature which I can swap between optical drive and another HDD. The bay is same.
ozak
post Sep 16 2010, 10:27 AM

17,014 posts

Can you go into the NAS management and check the status?

You can check the synology forum.
ozak
post Oct 12 2010, 11:43 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(Kelv @ Oct 12 2010, 10:49 PM)
Attempting to update Synology firmware to DM3.0 but no luck.
Error message: Data can not be applied.

Tried twice, downloaded from http://download.synology.com/download/firm...1_110j_1342.pat for my ds110j.

sad.gif
I will wait and see. Not in a hurry to upgrade. Since it not downgrade able.
ozak
post Oct 18 2010, 03:01 PM

17,014 posts

Is it your streaming is from synology NAS --> router --> media player --> TV ?

I m using this way. But cannot play the file. I only can see the folder and the file. When try to play it, it keep skip to another file.

This post has been edited by ozak: Oct 18 2010, 03:03 PM
ozak
post Oct 18 2010, 11:21 PM

17,014 posts

There is AV type homeplug in market now. The speed is faster. It specially for AV.

WIFI N type not fast enough?
ozak
post Oct 20 2010, 11:39 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Oct 20 2010, 10:00 PM)
I read a few pages back but still can't decide which NAS is better.

My department decide to buy a dedicated storage server for sharing files. The files include office files (excel, word, pdf etc.) and some video. All users (up to 6 users) use varieties of windows OS from XP to Win 7 and most have only basic IT knowledge so most probably they only know how to use ms office and internet browsing.

Currently, we are using shared folder but I found out it not really user friendly and some how slow. For some computer, it hard to get connected.

So, anyone can suggest me a good NAS or may be a microserver which is easier to manage and easier to access files from end userpc? Looking for 2 bays although 500gb of storage is actually more than enough.
qnap and synology should be good enough. Get the 2bay type for backup. Easy to use and can access anytime, anywhere and any OS.

My office and spore branch use synology. Have been using 3yrs now.
ozak
post Oct 21 2010, 08:02 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(qwerty79 @ Oct 21 2010, 01:23 AM)
Which model you use?
My office using ds107+. Spore branch using ds207. And my home using ds409+.

Any model will do as long it is 2bay. All the model access the OS and setup is same.
ozak
post Dec 10 2010, 12:52 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(trix @ Dec 9 2010, 08:18 PM)
btw, i didn't set any raid/spanned volume as i can't afford to lose all my data in case of disk failure.
do tell if any one of you know how to set the drives to raid5 on Windows.
for now i just mount the drives on a single folder for easier sharing and access.
Am I read wrong? If you can't afford to lose the data, you should set the 4hdd to raid 5or6. That would protect your data incase disk failure.

Last 4day ago, 1 out of 4 2tb hdd got problem and the volume degrade. Swap it out and replace with another hdd. The server will generate back the data and everything back to normal with no lost data. Thanks to raid.
ozak
post Dec 24 2010, 10:43 AM

17,014 posts

You have to register too to get your IP address. Cause you are in dynamic IP. Go here --> www.dyndns.com
ozak
post Jan 11 2011, 02:03 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(felix2212 @ Jan 11 2011, 01:38 PM)
Read thru all the post...

Still not so clear what to choose....

D-Link, QNAP, Synology or HP Microserver??

Hope all the senior here can give me advise on my NAS,

I plan to get 4 bays for 4x2TB SATA to be Home use Storage,
1) able to backup all the data, but is that Raid is safe? Raid 10 or Raid 5?
2) able connect to >5 users, 4 notebooks, 1PCs and Media Player for LCD.

Will plan to upgrade existing PC for downloading --> store in NAS --> Notebook users / Network Media Player --> LCD
* Better Speed of transferring and reading.

3) able to safe shut down automatic when power low in UPS.
4) better protection on virus and disk tools to maintain disk.
5) able to connect from oversea to get a file.

Plan to using Windows 7 for new PC and a notebook using windows xp.
If you not expect in server or want easy job, just get those qnap or synology. Those spec you mention above is no problem with this 2 brand.

Or cheaper like hp if you expect.
ozak
post Jan 11 2011, 04:45 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(felix2212 @ Jan 11 2011, 03:02 PM)
Ya, as cheaper as possible loh.

4x2TB SATA will be cost me around RM 1,200
2xUPS can last 30mins time I think will be around RM 1k (1 for NAS, All the PCs, another one for LCD and Media Player)

So, for the devise better within RM 1k++...

Even I never use server or NAS before,
But can learn from all the sifu here mah~
tongue.gif
I m not expert. So I choose synology for easy to use, maintain, security and provide ready function. I don't need to wirte some code or search some software to install and run.

So far my invest on NAS is NAS-rm2k, 4x2TB sata-rm1.3k and UPS-rm600 = rm3.9k.
ozak
post Jan 11 2011, 05:05 PM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(felix2212 @ Jan 11 2011, 04:53 PM)
But you're experience user for Synology mah.

I just found something....HP Microserver need 200W vs Synology/Qnap is lower right?
and HP as a PC need to setup and install OS but Synology/Qnap dont need right?

Then now.....
can some one explain clearly what is the difference between Synology vs Qnap?
Very basic only. As long as it don't give me problem, that good enough.

1 thing I choose synology is because it run lower watt. Run at 56w only. I run the NAS 7/11. For 200w, the bill is killing me.

No different between this 2. Just fighting each other for market. I choose synology cause my office and branch using 1. And look like more user. If have problem can ask easlly.
ozak
post Jan 18 2011, 08:21 AM

17,014 posts

QUOTE(nyunyu @ Jan 17 2011, 06:26 PM)
hey guys, can anyone tell me where can I get AC Adapter for dlink 323? Mine was dead. It is freakin hard to get a replacement.

Oh, if you have recommended QNAP seller here do let me know, might get 1 unit of ts-210
Lowyat and imbi got alot. Unless the adaptor running crazy voltage rate.

9 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0538sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:32 AM